SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Towards Sustainable Nanomaterials - By : Hanen Hattab,

Towards Sustainable Nanomaterials


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Nanomaterials created for its properties

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Pollution prevention strategies deliver drastic actions that apply mainly to the waste management phase. In addition, recycling, recovery and removal of pollutants do not resolve the problem of hard-to-process toxic substances. A group of Yale researchers has found a way to assess the environmental and health impacts of materials before their commercial production.

To Avoid Withdrawing Marketed Products

Nanomaterials are being increasingly used in civil and military applications. But like other classes of materials during the design stage, researchers focus primarily on cost, and technical and functional performances. Products often end up being taken off the market when they are found to be harmful to humans and nature.

The team led by Julie Zimmerman, professor of chemical engineering and forestry and environmental studies, offers a tool that provides researchers with information on long-term environmental and health impacts of nanomaterials. Going through this step allows industries to avoid the withdrawal of marketed products deemed harmful.

How the Tool Works

This database compares and selects environmentally friendly and sustainable materials. It is a matrix that classifies nanomaterials and evaluates each one according to properties such as size, shape, performance, toxicity, energy consumption, and antimicrobial activity. This information allows researchers to choose the best components and predict possible effects of a material even before it is designed.

The tool is based on Ashby’s material selection strategy. Created by Michael Farries Ashby, a metallurgical engineer and professor at the University of Cambridge, the method is based on a scatter chart. In collaboration with David Cebon, Ashby designed the CMS (Cambridge Materials Selector) software based on a material selection strategy. From graphs, the chart displays two or more properties of many materials or classes of materials making it possible to choose, for example, the most rigid material or a low-density one, and connect them to obtain other characteristics.

An example of the Ashby Materials Selection Strategy application

The team tested the tool in two case studies, the design and selection of antimicrobial substances and nanomaterial-based conductive polymers. The materials were studied based on two parameters, namely efficiency (production costs are part of this criterion) and environmental impacts, by following a two-step comparative approach:

  • In step I, the tool makes a first selection from the major chemical classes;
  • In step II, it chooses from the first selection a physico-chemical class that meets the pre-established constraints.

The database is also designed to allow researchers to enter new data in order to optimize the scatter chart operation. Indeed, the team sees the project as a call to environmental and materials researchers to build a database that will contribute to sustainable design processes.

The study entitled “A framework for sustainable nanomaterial selection and design based on performance, hazard, and economic considerations” was published in Nature Nanotechnology on April 30, 2018. It was co-authored by Mark M. Falinski, Desiree L. Plata, Shauhrat S. Chopra, Thomas L. Theis, Leanne M. Gilbertson and Julie B. Zimmerman.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Vers des nanomatériaux durables - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Vers des nanomatériaux durables


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Nanomatériaux créé pour ses propriétés

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les stratégies de prévention de la pollution mettent en œuvre des actions drastiques qui s’appliquent principalement dans la phase de gestion des déchets. De plus, le recyclage, la récupération et l’élimination des polluants ne résolvent pas le problème des substances toxiques difficiles à traiter. Un groupe de chercheurs de Yale a trouvé un moyen qui permettra d’évaluer l’impact environnemental et sanitaire des matériaux avant leur industrialisation.

Éviter le retrait de produits commercialisés

Les nanomatériaux sont de plus en plus utilisés dans plusieurs applications civiles et militaires. Or tout comme les autres classes de matériaux, pendant la conception, les chercheurs focalisent principalement sur le coût et les performances techniques et fonctionnelles. Des produits finissent souvent retirés du marché parce qu’on a découvert leurs effets nocifs sur l’homme et la nature.

L’équipe dirigée par Julie Zimmerman, professeur de génie chimique et d’études forestières et environnementales, propose un outil qui fournit aux chercheurs des informations sur l’impact environnemental et sanitaire des nanomatériaux à long terme. En passant par cette étape, les industries évitent le retrait de produits commercialisés parce qu’ils s’avèrent nocifs.

Fonctionnement de l’outil

Il s’agit d’une base de données qui sert d’outil de comparaison et de sélection de matériaux écologiques et durables. C’est un tableau qui classe les nanomatériaux et évalue chacun en fonction des propriétés suivantes : la taille, la forme, la performance, la toxicité, la consommation d’énergie et l’activité antimicrobienne. Ces informations permettent aux chercheurs de choisir les meilleurs composants et de prédire les effets possibles du matériau avant même sa conception.

L’outil est basé sur la stratégie de sélection des matériaux d’Ashby. C’est une méthode qui utilise un diagramme de dispersion et qui a été créée par Michael Farries Ashby, ingénieur métallurgiste et professeur à la University of Camridge. Ashby a conçu, en collaboration avec David Cebon, le logiciel CMS (Cambridge Materials Selector) qui applique une stratégie de sélection des matériaux. Le diagramme affiche à partir de graphiques deux ou plusieurs propriétés de nombreux matériaux ou classes de matériaux. Il permet ainsi de choisir par exemple le matériau le plus rigide ou celui qui possède une faible densité, et de les coupler pour obtenir d’autres caractéristiques.

Un exemple de l’application de stratégie de sélection des matériaux d’Ashby

L’équipe a testé l’outil dans le cadre de deux études de cas, à savoir la conception et la sélection de substances antimicrobiennes et de polymères conducteurs à base de nanomatériaux. Les matériaux ont été étudiés en prenant en considération deux paramètres, soit l’efficacité (les coûts de revient font partie de ce critère) et l’impact environnemental, et ce, suivant une approche comparative à deux étapes :

  • À l’étape I, l’outil opère une première sélection à partir des grandes classes chimiques
  • À l’étape II, il choisit, à partir de la première sélection, une classe physico-chimique qui répond aux contraintes préétablies.

La base de données est également conçue pour permettre aux chercheurs d’entrer de nouvelles données afin d’optimiser le fonctionnement du diagramme de dispersion. En effet, l’équipe considère le projet comme étant un appel aux chercheurs en environnement et en matériaux pour constituer une base de données qui contribue aux processus de conception durable.

L’étude s’intitule « A framework for sustainable nanomaterial selection and design based on performance, hazard, and economic considerations » et a été publiée dans la revue Nature Nanotechnology le 30 avril 2018. Elle a été coécrite par Mark M. Falinski, Desiree L. Plata, Shauhrat S. Chopra, Thomas L. Theis, Leanne M. Gilbertson et Julie B. Zimmerman.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *