SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS

Unobtrusive Sleep Monitoring


Georges Matar
Georges Matar Author profile
Georges Matar is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS, and a research member of CÉAMS, Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (HSCM).

Jean-Marc Lina
Jean-Marc Lina Author profile
Jean-Marc Lina is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include neuro-imaging, complex wavelets, biomedical signal, signal processing and applications.

Julie Carrier
Julie Carrier Author profile
Julie Carrier is a professor in the Department of Psychology at Université de Montréal.

Georges Kaddoum
Georges Kaddoum Author profile
Georges Kaddoum is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include wireless communication systems, space telecommunication, signal processing and secure data transmission.

Woman sleeping

The header image was bought on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Unconstrained sleep monitoring is a promising field of research that consists of evaluating sleep quality without compromising the subject’s comfort, while requiring fewer resources than the conventional sleep test known as Polysomnography (PSG). However, challenges faced during unobtrusive sleep monitoring, such as signal deterioration, make the procedure less reliable and harder to validate clinically. Our study presents a comprehensive review of the proposed materials and methods used in this field, which we hope could pave the way for future research endeavours addressing the question: How to assess sleep stages and sleep quality less intrusively, and reliably. Keywords: actigraphy, body movements, patient monitoring, polysomnography, pressure sensor mattress, cardiac activity, unconstrained sleep monitoring, unobtrusive sleep studies, respiration

Introduction

At least half of people over the age of 65 experience disturbed sleep [1]. This number is expected to grow until 2050, leading to a solid increase in required budget and care resources [2]. In spite of the high prevalence of sleep disorders, a relatively low willingness of the subjects to resort to clinical solutions has been reported. During the conventional sleep test known as Polysomnography (PSG), people are asked to sleep one or several nights in a clinic, wearing at least 22 cables and sensors attached to the body [3]. During the test, the subject is attached to the sensors shown in the following figure:

Workflow of polysomnography (PSG)

Figure 1 Acquisition protocol and general workflow in a PSG procedure

After the test, sleep professionals analyze the results on a graph showing sleep stage evolutions called Hypnogram, which provide insights on sleep quality and the presence of disorders. Typically, sleep architecture is the repetitive occurrence of same sleep stages, namely NREM1, NREM2, NREM3, REM, and wakeup. Researchers have been trying to propose alternative solutions to PSG to lessen the imposed constraints during sleep tests, and requiring fewer resources. In this article, we propose a review of these methods based on three categories: cardiac, breathing and movements activities.

Unobtrusive Sleep Monitoring: Physiological Patterns, Sensing and Processing Techniques

Unobtrusive sleep studies could be divided into several categories depending on the categorization criteria used: 1) activity-based—physical, cardiac, breathing, 2) techniques-based—camera, microphone, electrodes, 3) acquisition protocol-based—wearing a belt or a wristwatch, and 4) parameter-based—heart rate or breathing rate. The diagram depicted in Figure 1 shows the three categories of unobtrusive sleep monitoring methods depending on the measured physiological activity, with the corresponding acquisition method, hardware, and the obtained physiological parameters split accordingly. In the following sections, we discuss the techniques used to monitor sleep in an unobtrusive way using cardiac, breathing, and body movements activity.

List of unobtrutive sleep monitoring methods

Figure 2 Unobtrusive sleep monitoring methods

Cardiac-Based

Heart rate variability over time is a proven powerful biomarker giving insights on sleep stages. For instance, the most popular proposed methods have been classified as a time or frequency domain, geometric, and non-linear methods, in which the ratio of several frequency ranges is quantified and assigned to a specific sleep stage [4]. In each category, the methods could be parametric or nonparametric, depending on whether the prediction was model-based or data-driven, respectively. Sensing techniques mainly include 1) conductive coupling that require a direct contact between an electrode and the skin, and could be integrated into clothing or undergarment belts and straps; 2) capacitive coupling that consists of isolating the skin and the conductive electrodes with the subject’s clothes, and where electrodes are often integrated into the mattress; we collected and studied different electrodes placement on the mattress as follows:

Location of capacitive electrodes on mattress

Figure 3 Capacitive electrodes placement on mattress in unobtrusive signal acquisition scenarios

Measurements using reference and the measuring electrodes could be performed from different body regions depending on the application and constraints; and 3) other sensing techniques such as ballistocardiography or accelerometer, or light-based such as photoplethysmography and actigraphy, respectively.

Breathing-Based

Respiration has been widely monitored during sleep for subjects suffering from sleep-disordered breathing [5]. The following figure shows a pressure sensor based respiratory effort signal we succeeded to derive using multi sinusoidal model based Kalman filter:

Signal from a pressure sensor mattress

Figure 4 Respiratory effort signal derived using a pressure sensor mattress from a subject sleeping in a dorsal position

Moreover, breathing activity defined by the depth and frequency of breaths becomes irregular during waking epochs, with a tendency to be more regular during NREM 1, and regular with few disturbances in NREM 2 and 3. During REM, breathing becomes irregular with intermittent alternations of breathing and breath-holding epochs. Sensing technologies include photoplethysmography, respiratory inductance plethysmography, respiratory belts, pressure mattresses, nasal airflow sensors, and camera monitoring.

Activity-Based

Body movements activity [6] and posture [7,8] have been widely used in estimating general sleep parameters and sleep stages [9–11]. Activity counting, in counts per minute (CPM), is shown to be highly correlated with general sleep parameters like Total Sleep Time (TST) [12]. Other applications include the identification of specific sleep disorders like periodic limb movements (PLM). Sensing techniques include infrared and red-green-blue cameras, pressure mattresses, ballistography, actigraphy, and others.

Application Challenges

The clinical application of these methods remains limited due to several factors, mainly the lack of validation. Several issues make clinical validation a challenging task, namely the complications that stem from clinical experimentation and database availability, maintaining conformity of the proposed techniques to the existing norms and regulations, signal deterioration due to specific conditions, leading to under- or over-estimation of sleep parameter values, and other factors [6].

Conclusion

Although still in its early stages, unobtrusive sleep monitoring is a prominent research area that requires combined multidisciplinary efforts to yield the expected results. Future research endeavours must tackle the challenges of the application, towards a wider and consistent clinical application, making sleep studies comfortable, reliable, and requiring less material and human resources.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please read the following research paper:

Matar, G., Lina, J. M., Carrier, J., & Kaddoum, G. “Unobtrusive sleep monitoring using cardiac, breathing and movements activities: an exhaustive review.” 2018 IEEE Access, 6, 45129–45152

Georges Matar

Author's profile

Georges Matar is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS, and a research member of CÉAMS, Hôpital Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (HSCM).

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Author profile

Jean-Marc Lina

Author's profile

Jean-Marc Lina is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include neuro-imaging, complex wavelets, biomedical signal, signal processing and applications.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Author profile

Julie Carrier

Author's profile

Julie Carrier is a professor in the Department of Psychology at Université de Montréal.

Author profile

Georges Kaddoum

Author's profile

Georges Kaddoum is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include wireless communication systems, space telecommunication, signal processing and secure data transmission.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : ETS Research Chair on Physical Layer Security in Wireless Networks 

Research laboratories : LACIME – Communications and Microelectronic Integration Laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Surveillance non intrusive du sommeil - Par : Georges Matar, Jean-Marc Lina, Julie Carrier, Georges Kaddoum,

Surveillance non intrusive du sommeil


Georges Matar
Georges Matar est étudiant au doctorat au département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS et chercheur au CÉAMS, Hôpital Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (HSCM).
Programme : Génie électrique 

Jean-Marc Lina
Jean-Marc Lina est professeur au département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la neuro-imagerie, les ondelettes complexes, le signal biomédical, le traitement du signal et les applications.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Julie Carrier
Julie Carrier est professeure au département de psychologie de l’Université de Montréal.

Georges Kaddoum
Georges Kaddoum Profil de l'auteur(e)
Georges Kaddoum est professeur au département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les systèmes de communication sans fil, les télécommunications spatiales, le traitement du signal et la transmission sécurisée de données.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Femme endormie

L’image a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La surveillance du sommeil non intrusive est un domaine de recherche prometteur qui consiste à évaluer la qualité du sommeil sans compromettre le confort du sujet, tout en nécessitant moins de ressources que le test de sommeil classique appelé polysomnographie (PSG). Toutefois, les difficultés liées à la surveillance non intrusive du sommeil, comme la dégradation du signal, rendent le procédé moins fiable et plus difficile à valider cliniquement. Notre étude présente une revue complète des méthodes et du matériel utilisés dans ce domaine qui, nous l’espérons, pourrait ouvrir la voie à de futures recherches sur la question : comment évaluer la qualité du sommeil de manière la moins intrusive tout en restant fiable? Mots-clés : actigraphie, mouvements du corps, surveillance du patient, polysomnographie, matelas à capteurs de pression, activité cardiaque, surveillance sans contrainte du sommeil, études non intrusives du sommeil, respiration.

Introduction

Près de la moitié des personnes de plus de 65 ans éprouvent des troubles du sommeil [1]. Ce nombre devrait augmenter jusqu’en 2050, entraînant une forte augmentation des ressources et du budget alloués aux soins [2]. En dépit de la prévalence élevée des troubles du sommeil, on rapporte une volonté relativement faible des sujets à recourir à des solutions cliniques. Pendant le test de sommeil classique, appelé polysomnographie (PSG), la personne doit dormir une ou plusieurs nuits dans une clinique avec une vingtaine de câbles et de capteurs placés sur le corps [3]. Pendant le test, le sujet est relié aux capteurs, comme illustré à la figure suivante :

Déroulement de la polysomnographie (PSG)

Figure 1 Protocole d’acquisition et déroulement général relatifs à la PSG

Après le test, les professionnels du sommeil analysent les résultats sur un hypnogramme, graphique montrant la séquence des différents stades du sommeil et fournissant des informations sur la qualité du sommeil et la présence de possibles dysfonctionnements. Normalement, l’architecture du sommeil est la répétition de stades typiques du sommeil, à savoir le sommeil lent ou NREM (acronyme pour non-rapid eye movement : NREM1, NREM2, NREM3), le sommeil paradoxal ou REM (rapid eye movement) et le réveil. Les chercheurs ont tenté de proposer des solutions de rechange à la PSG pour réduire les contraintes imposées lors des tests de sommeil et nécessitant moins de ressources. Dans cet article, nous proposons une revue de ces méthodes divisée en trois catégories : l’activité cardiaque, respiratoire et mouvements du corps.

Surveillance non intrusive du sommeil : schémas physiologiques, techniques de détection et traitement

Les mesures non intrusives du sommeil peuvent être divisées en plusieurs catégories en fonction des critères de catégorisation : 1) l’activité – physique, cardiaque, respiratoire, 2) les techniques – caméra, microphone, électrodes, 3) le protocole d’acquisition – ceinture, montre-bracelet, et 4) les paramètres – fréquence cardiaque ou respiratoire. Le diagramme à la figure 1 montre les trois catégories de méthodes de surveillance non intrusive du sommeil selon l’activité physiologique mesurée, et indique le mode d’acquisition et le matériel correspondants ainsi que les paramètres physiologiques obtenus. Dans les sections suivantes, nous discutons des techniques qui permettent de surveiller le sommeil de manière non intrusive, à partir de l’activité cardiaque, de la respiratoire et des mouvements du corps.

Liste des méthodes de surveillance non intrusive du sommeil

Figure 2 Méthodes de surveillance non intrusive du sommeil

Activité cardiaque

La variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque avec le temps est un biomarqueur puissant et éprouvé qui donne un aperçu des phases du sommeil. Par exemple, les méthodes proposées les plus populaires ont été classées comme étant du domaine temporel ou fréquenciel, géométriques et non linéaires, où le rapport de plusieurs plages de fréquence est quantifié et attribué à une phase de sommeil précise [4]. Dans chaque catégorie, les méthodes peuvent être paramétriques ou non, selon le cas où la prédiction est fondée sur un modèle ou sur les données elles-mêmes. Les techniques de détection sont principalement : 1) le couplage conductif avec contact direct électrode-peau et pouvant être intégré à des ceintures ou ganses de vêtements ou de sous-vêtements; 2) le couplage capacitif isolant la peau et les électrodes conductrices au moyen des vêtements, et où des électrodes sont souvent intégrées au matelas. Nous avons agencé et étudié différents emplacements d’électrodes sur le matelas, à savoir :

Emplacement des électrodes capacitives sur le matelas

Figure 3 Placement des électrodes capacitives sur le matelas pour scénarios d’acquisition non intrusives de signaux

Les mesures de référence et le placement des électrodes peuvent se faire à partir de différentes parties du corps en fonction de l’application et des contraintes ; et 3) autres techniques de détection comme la ballistocardiographie ou l’accéléromètre, ou en utilisant lumière comme la photopléthysmographie et l’actigraphie, respectivement.

Activité respiratoire

La respiration pendant le sommeil a fait l’objet de nombreuses études chez les sujets souffrant de troubles respiratoires du sommeil [5]. La figure suivante montre un signal d’effort respiratoire généré par un capteur de pression que nous avons réussi à obtenir à l’aide d’un filtre de Kalman à modèle multisinusoïdal :

Signaux provenant d’un matelas à capteurs de pression

Figure 4 Signal d’effort respiratoire d’un dormeur en position dorsale détecté par un matelas à capteurs de pression

De plus, l’activité respiratoire, définie par la profondeur et la fréquence des respirations, devient irrégulière pendant les épisodes de réveil et a tendance à être plus régulière pendant le NREM1, et régulière avec peu de perturbations pendant les NREM2 et 3. Pendant le REM, la respiration devient irrégulière avec alternance d’épisodes de respiration et de respiration retenue. Les technologies de détection sont la photopléthysmographie, la pléthysmographie d’inductance respiratoire, les ceintures respiratoires, les matelas à pression, les capteurs de débit d’air nasal et la surveillance par caméra.

Mouvements du corps

Les mouvements [6] et la posture [7,8] corporels ont été largement employés pour estimer les paramètres généraux et les phases du sommeil [9–11]. Il existe une étroite corrélation entre le comptage d’activités, en comptes par minute (CPM), et les paramètres généraux du sommeil comme la durée totale du sommeil ou TST (Total Sleep Time) [12]. D’autres applications cernent certains troubles précis du sommeil, comme les mouvements involontaires des membres ou PLM (Periodic Limb Movements). Les techniques de détection comprennent des caméras infrarouge et rouge-vert-bleu, des matelas à pression, de la ballistographie, de l’actigraphie, et d’autres.

Défis de l’application

L’application clinique de ces méthodes est limitée en raison de plusieurs facteurs, et tout particulièrement  le manque de validation. Plusieurs problèmes rendent la validation clinique difficile, à savoir les complications de l’expérimentation clinique et l’accès aux bases de données, la conformité des techniques proposées avec les normes et réglementations en vigueur, la dégradation du signal sous certaines conditions, entraînant mauvaise estimation des paramètres du sommeil, et autres facteurs [6].

Conclusion

Bien qu’étant à ses débuts, la surveillance non intrusive du sommeil est un domaine de recherche important qui nécessite des efforts multidisciplinaires combinés pour produire les résultats tangibles. Les futurs travaux de recherche doivent s’attaquer aux défis de l’application, en vue d’un usage clinique plus large, chez le patient lui-même, et cohérent pour rendre les études du sommeil confortables, fiables et nécessitant moins de ressources matérielles et humaines.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’informations sur cette recherche, veuillez lire les articles suivants :

Matar, G., Lina, J. M., Carrier, J., & Kaddoum, G. “Unobtrusive sleep monitoring using cardiac, breathing and movements activities: an exhaustive review.” 2018 IEEE Access, 6, 45129–45152.

Georges Matar

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Georges Matar est étudiant au doctorat au département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS et chercheur au CÉAMS, Hôpital Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (HSCM).

Programme : Génie électrique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-Marc Lina

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-Marc Lina est professeur au département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la neuro-imagerie, les ondelettes complexes, le signal biomédical, le traitement du signal et les applications.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Julie Carrier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Julie Carrier est professeure au département de psychologie de l’Université de Montréal.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Georges Kaddoum

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Georges Kaddoum est professeur au département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les systèmes de communication sans fil, les télécommunications spatiales, le traitement du signal et la transmission sécurisée de données.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche ÉTS sur la sécurisation de la couche physique des réseaux sans fil 

Laboratoires de recherche : LACIME – Laboratoire de communications et d'intégration de la microélectronique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *