SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Network Virtualization in a WebRTC Strategy for Telecom Operators - By : Duong Tuan Nguyen, Kim Khoa Nguyen, Mohamed Cheriet,

Network Virtualization in a WebRTC Strategy for Telecom Operators


Duong Tuan Nguyen
Duong Tuan Nguyen Author profile
Duong Tuan Nguyen is a PhD student in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include cloud/fog computing, software-defined networking, IoT service chains, network optimization and smart services.

Kim Khoa Nguyen
Kim Khoa Nguyen Author profile
Kim Khoa Nguyen is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS and the Synchormedia laboratory Vice-Director. His research interests include cloud computing, network virtualization and data center architecture.

Mohamed Cheriet
Mohamed Cheriet Author profile
Mohamed Cheriet is a professor in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS and Director of Synchormedia. His research focuses on eco-cloud computing, knowledge acquisition and artificial intelligence systems and learning algorithms.

Virtualization of functions in the cloud environment

Purchased from Istock.com. Copyrights

SUMMARY

The emerging paradigm of the Network Function Virtualization (NFV) technology promises to offer an efficient solution for optimized service deployment in the cloud computing environment, thanks to its ability to add or remove virtual resources dynamically when there is a change in workload. Nevertheless, telecom providers are still facing a challenging issue in efficiently adopting NFV to deploy the Web Real-Time Communication (WebRTC) service on top of the IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS). This article discusses a virtualized interworking system between IMS and WebRTC from the perspective of architecture, and a method to allocate resources optimally considering its constraints, namely Quality of Service (QoS) requirements. The improvement in service costs of the proposed solution is validated on a large scale by simulation and on a small scale by the testbed we developed.

Introduction

In a nutshell, Network Function Virtualization (NFV) enables network services to be provisioned via software-based network functions and network elements—bridges, routers in general-purpose servers—instead of using specialized (and costly) hardware. Adopting an NFV paradigm helps network operators avoid many issues, i.e. space to install new physical servers, skills to design, operate, and manage complex hardware-based infrastructure. It is therefore understandable that NFV has received a great deal of attention from telecom operators, especially when the telecom industry is already in a precarious position—with many markets near the saturation point—and face both increasing supply (new operators, so-called OTTs etc.) and flat or declining demand for basic telephony and messaging services.

Synchomedia Laboratory’s logo

 

As an effort to accelerate the adoption of NFV in practice, the problem from a resource allocation perspective has received a lot of attention from both academic and industrial communities. In a study entitled “NFV-based Architecture for the Interworking between WebRTC and IMS,” published December 2018 in IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management [1], researchers at the Synchromedia laboratory presented a solution to the problem with an NFV-based architecture and an analytic system model. They focused on the interworking between IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) and Web Real-Time Communication (WebRTC). The first is designed to integrate with a high-quality network of telecommunication carriers for pervasive data access to Internet services. The latter aims for real-time communications in the Web environment. Similar to NFV, WebRTC is also interesting to telco service providers due to its ability in expanding the number of potential endpoints for multimedia sessions.

NFV-based Interworking Architecture

The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) Management and Orchestration (MANO) architectural framework describes the functional blocks, data repositories and interfaces in orchestrating virtualized infrastructures, network functions, and services. This architecture, however, cannot fulfill all requirements of an interworking service like that between IMS subscribers and WebRTC users. The proposed architecture in the paper is based on the design of a 5G OS reference architecture [2], detailed in Figure 1, with the 5G OS overall design on the left side and the specific functional components for the interworking scenario on the right side.

Architecture between the IP Multimedia Subsystem and the Web Real-Time Communication

Fig. 1 NFV-based interworking architecture between IMS and WebRTC

Optimal Resource Allocation Mechanism

The author considers three aspects, each represented by either problem constraints or objectives, which are:

  • Quality of Service (QoS) requirements (service latency);
  • Resource availability;
  • System cost incurred by network resource and the penalty caused by QoS violation, if any.

In order to obtain an optimal resource allocation scheme, a Markov-based approximation framework (MARA) was adopted as it can solve combinatorial network problem. The idea of this method was to consider each candidate solution as a state and to construct a Markov chain in which stationary distribution is known and converges toward the optimal solution.

Simulation and Experimental Results

The advantages of the NFV-based architecture and proposed method in providing a high-quality interworking service between IMS and WebRTC are illustrated via both simulation and experimental results under various settings. We compare the proposed MARA with a greedy approach, which is typically deployed in practice due to the simplicity in implementation. Accordingly, the resource is kept being allocated in a greedy manner as long as the system can perform interworking service.

Fig. 2 & 3 illustrate how the proposed Markov-based approach can provide an optimal resource allocation scheme given different levels of service demand (represented by parameter ƛ) from which, the overall system cost is reduced.

Login service delay of MARA vs Greedy

(a) Login session: End-to-End service delay

System cost of MARA vs Greedy

(b) Login session: Total system cost
Fig. 2 Comparison of total system cost between two approaches for login use-case

Calling service delay of MARA vs Greedy

(a) Calling session: end-to-end service delay

System cost of MARA vs Greedy

(b) Calling session: Total system cost
Fig. 3 Comparison of total system cost between two approaches for calling use-case

In Fig. 4, the cost incurred by the proposed approach is always less than when using a greedy algorithm. As the message arrival rate increases (meaning that service demand is high), the greedy approach is much slower than MARA in allocating enough resource and, as a result, causes a higher possibility of violating the Service Level Agreement as well as increasing cost.

Login and calling cost difference between MARA and Greedy

Fig. 4 Comparison of total system cost between two approaches for calling use-case

The results shown in Fig. 5 regarding the amount of allocated resource are aligned with the observations on the system cost.

Allocated CPU for login session

(a) Login session: Total system’s vCPUS

Allocated CPU for calling session

(b) Calling session: Total system’s vCPUs
Fig. 5 Comparison of system resource between two approaches

Conclusion

In this study, a detailed NFV-based reference architecture at a functional component level and an optimal resource allocation method have been illustrated. The architecture designed is based on a 5G Operating System architecture with respect to the heterogeneous requirements of different providers, domains and the adaptation to any change in IMS or WebRTC specifications. Moreover, a real-time inter-domain algorithm (MARA) to optimally allocate resource while reducing service cost is presented. The algorithm has been fully implemented and evaluated via both simulation and experimental settings. The results show that deploying MARA for the interworking IMS <-> WebRTC service can save up to 19% in service cost depending on the service, i.e. login or calling, and its demand.

Duong Tuan Nguyen

Author's profile

Duong Tuan Nguyen is a PhD student in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include cloud/fog computing, software-defined networking, IoT service chains, network optimization and smart services.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Smart Sustainable Eco-Cloud 

Research laboratories : SYNCHROMEDIA – Multimedia Communication in Telepresence 

Author profile

Kim Khoa Nguyen

Author's profile

Kim Khoa Nguyen is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS and the Synchormedia laboratory Vice-Director. His research interests include cloud computing, network virtualization and data center architecture.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : SYNCHROMEDIA – Multimedia Communication in Telepresence 

Author profile

Mohamed Cheriet

Author's profile

Mohamed Cheriet is a professor in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS and Director of Synchormedia. His research focuses on eco-cloud computing, knowledge acquisition and artificial intelligence systems and learning algorithms.

Program : Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Smart Sustainable Eco-Cloud 

Research laboratories : SYNCHROMEDIA – Multimedia Communication in Telepresence 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Stratégie WebRTC de virtualisation de réseau pour opérateurs télécoms - Par : Duong Tuan Nguyen, Kim Khoa Nguyen, Mohamed Cheriet,

Stratégie WebRTC de virtualisation de réseau pour opérateurs télécoms


Duong Tuan Nguyen
Duong Tuan Nguyen Profil de l'auteur(e)
Duong Tuan Nguyen est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie des systèmes de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’infonuagique et l’informatique en brouillard, les réseaux logiciels et les chaînes de services de l’IdO.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Kim Khoa Nguyen
Kim Khoa Nguyen Profil de l'auteur(e)
Kim Khoa Nguyen est professeur au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS et vice-directeur du laboratoire Synchromedia. Ses recherches portent sur l’infonuagique, la virtualisation de réseau et l’architecture de centre de données.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Mohamed Cheriet
Mohamed Cheriet Profil de l'auteur(e)
Mohamed Cheriet est professeur au Département de génie des systèmes de l’ÉTS et directeur de Synchromedia. Ses recherches portent sur l’éco-infonuagique, les systèmes d’acquisition de connaissances et d’intelligence artificielle.

Virtualisation des fonctions en infonuagique

Achetée sur Istock.com. Droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Le nouveau paradigme en technologie de virtualisation des fonctions réseau (NFV) se veut une solution efficace pour optimiser le déploiement de services dans l’infonuagique (cloud computing), grâce à sa capacité d’ajouter ou de supprimer de façon dynamique des ressources virtuelles lors de variations dans la charge de travail. Toutefois, les défis sont de taille pour les fournisseurs de services de télécoms quant à l’adoption efficace de la NFV dans le déploiement de services de communication web en temps réel (WebRTC) de concert avec le sous-système multimédia IP (IMS). Cet article décrit un système d’interfonctionnement virtualisé entre l’IMS et la WebRTC, du point de vue de l’architecture, et une méthode d’attribution optimale des ressources compte tenu des contraintes, soit les exigences de qualité de service (QoS). La réduction des coûts de service de la solution proposée est validée à grande échelle par simulation et à petite échelle par le banc d’essai que nous avons élaboré

Introduction

En un mot, la virtualisation des fonctions réseau (NFV) permet de fournir des services réseau à l’aide de fonctions et d’éléments réseau définis par logiciel (ponts et routeurs des serveurs classiques) au lieu d’utiliser du matériel spécialisé et coûteux. Adopter le paradigme NFV permet aux opérateurs réseau d’éviter de nombreux problèmes, comme l’espace requis par de nouveaux serveurs physiques ou l’expertise pour concevoir, exploiter et gérer une infrastructure matérielle complexe. On comprend donc que les opérateurs télécoms accordent beaucoup d’attention à la NFV, leur industrie se trouvant maintenant dans une situation précaire : nombreux marchés proches de la saturation, concurrence croissante (nouveaux opérateurs, services offerts par contournement (Over the Top), etc.) et demande stagnante ou en baisse pour les services de téléphonie et de messagerie de base.

Logo de Synchromedia

Afin d’accélérer l’adoption de la NFV dans la pratique, les milieux universitaires et industriels se sont penchés sur le défi de l’attribution des ressources. Dans une étude intitulée « NFV-based Architecture for the Interworking between WebRTC and IMS », publiée en décembre 2018 dans IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management [1], des chercheurs du laboratoire Synchromedia présentent une solution au problème, soit une architecture NFV et un modèle analytique du système. Ils se sont concentrés sur l’interfonctionnement entre le sous-système multimédia IP (IMS) et la communication Web en temps réel (WebRTC). L’IMS est conçu pour s’intégrer à un réseau de télécoms haute qualité offrant un accès omniprésent aux données des services Internet, tandis que le WebRTC vise les communications en temps réel dans l’environnement Web. Comme la NFV, la WebRTC intéresse également les fournisseurs de télécoms en raison de sa capacité à augmenter le nombre de points de terminaison possibles pour les sessions multimédias.

Architecture d’interfonctionnement NFV

Le cadre architectural de gestion (MANO) de l’Institut européen de normalisation des télécommunications (ETSI) décrit les blocs fonctionnels, les référentiels de données et les interfaces permettant d’orchestrer des infrastructures virtualisées, des fonctions de réseau et des services. Cette architecture, cependant, ne peut répondre à toutes les exigences d’un service d’interfonctionnement entre des abonnés IMS et des utilisateurs WebRTC. L’architecture proposée dans cette recherche est basée sur la conception d’une architecture de référence basée sur le système d’exploitation (OS) 5G [2], illustrée à la figure 1 : la conception générale du OS 5G est présentée à gauche et les composants fonctionnels propres au scénario d’interfonctionnement, à droite.

Architecture entre sous-système multimédia IP et communication web en temps réel

Fig. 1 Architecture d’interfonctionnement NFV entre le IMS et la WebRTC

Mécanisme optimal d’attribution des ressources

Les auteurs examinent trois aspects, chacun représenté par des contraintes ou des objectifs, soit :

  • Les exigences de qualité de service (QoS) (latence de service);
  • La disponibilité des ressources;
  • Le coût du système lié aux ressources réseau et aux pénalités éventuelles en cas de manquements à la QoS.

Afin d’obtenir un schéma optimal d’attribution de ressources, une approximation fondée sur les modèles de Markov (MARA) a été adoptée, car ce type d’approche peut résoudre les problèmes combinatoires de réseaux. L’idée derrière cette méthode est de considérer chaque solution potentielle comme un état et de construire une chaîne de Markov pour laquelle la distribution stationnaire est connue et converge vers la solution optimale.

Simulation et résultats expérimentaux

Les avantages de l’architecture NFV et de la méthode proposée pour fournir un service d’interfonctionnement de haute qualité entre l’IMS et le WebRTC sont illustrés par les résultats obtenus tant par simulation que par expériences sous divers contextes. Nous comparons le MARA proposé avec une approche gloutonne (greedy), généralement déployée dans la pratique en raison de la simplicité de sa mise en œuvre. Ainsi, la ressource continue d’être attribuée de manière gloutonne tant que le système peut assurer un service d’interfonctionnement.

Les figures 2 et 3 illustrent comment l’approche Markov fournit un schéma optimal d’attribution de ressources en fonction de différents niveaux de demande de service (représentés par le paramètre ƛ), permettant de réduire le coût global du système.

Coût du système selon l’approche MARA et gloutonne

(a) Session de connexion : latence de service de bout en bout

Latence de services de connexion selon l’approche MARA et gloutonne

(b) Session de connexion : coût total du système
Fig. 2 Comparaison du coût total du système entre deux approches selon les cas d’usage de connexion

Coût du système selon l’approche MARA et gloutonne

(a) Session d’appel : latence de service de bout en bout

Latence de services d’appel selon l’approche MARA et gloutonne

(b) Session d’appel : coût total du système
Fig. 3 Comparaison du coût total du système entre deux approches selon les cas d’usage d’appels

À la Fig. 4, le coût de l’approche proposée est toujours inférieur à celui d’un algorithme glouton. Au fur et à mesure que la quantité de messages entrants augmente (demande de service élevée), l’approche gourmande prend beaucoup plus de temps à attribuer les ressources suffisantes que l’approche MARA, présentant un risque de violation de l’accord sur les niveaux de service plus grand et d’augmentation des coûts.

Différence de coût de connexion et d’appel entre les approches MARA et gloutonne

Fig. 4 Comparaison du coût total du système entre deux approches selon les cas d’usage d’appels

Les résultats présentés à la figure 5 sur la quantité de ressources attribuées sont similaires aux observations déjà présentées sur le coût du système.

CPU attribué à la session d’appel

(a) Session de connexion : vCPU totaux du système

CPU attribué à la session de connexion

(b) Session d’appel : vCPU totaux du système
Fig. 5 Comparaison des ressources système entre deux approches

Conclusion

Cette étude décrit de façon détaillée les composants fonctionnels d’une architecture de référence NFV et une méthode optimale d’attribution de ressources. L’architecture conçue est fondée sur le système d’exploitation 5G quant aux exigences hétérogènes des différents fournisseurs et domaines, et son adaptation à toute modification de spécifications IMS ou WebRTC. En outre, on y présente un algorithme interdomaines en temps réel (MARA) permettant l’attribution optimale des ressources tout en réduisant les coûts de service. L’algorithme a été implanté intégralement et évalué au moyen de simulations et d’expériences. Les résultats démontrent que le déploiement du MARA pour le service interfonctionnel IMS <-> WebRTC permettrait d’économiser jusqu’à 19 % des coûts de service, selon le service (connexion ou appel) et la demande.

Duong Tuan Nguyen

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Duong Tuan Nguyen est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie des systèmes de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’infonuagique et l’informatique en brouillard, les réseaux logiciels et les chaînes de services de l’IdO.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la durabilité écologique d'Eco-Cloud 

Laboratoires de recherche : SYNCHROMÉDIA – Laboratoire de communications multimédias en téléprésence 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kim Khoa Nguyen

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kim Khoa Nguyen est professeur au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS et vice-directeur du laboratoire Synchromedia. Ses recherches portent sur l’infonuagique, la virtualisation de réseau et l’architecture de centre de données.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : SYNCHROMÉDIA – Laboratoire de communications multimédias en téléprésence 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Mohamed Cheriet

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Mohamed Cheriet est professeur au Département de génie des systèmes de l’ÉTS et directeur de Synchromedia. Ses recherches portent sur l’éco-infonuagique, les systèmes d’acquisition de connaissances et d’intelligence artificielle.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la durabilité écologique d'Eco-Cloud 

Laboratoires de recherche : SYNCHROMÉDIA – Laboratoire de communications multimédias en téléprésence 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *