SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The Lotus Effect on Synthetic Leather - By : Hanen Hattab,

The Lotus Effect on Synthetic Leather


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

New hydrophobic and oil resistant leather.

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

We love the Rock’n Roll look of leather bombers, but the material is not always comfortable, especially if it is made of synthetic leather. A few rays of sunshine in the spring and the parts that touch the skin become sticky and unpleasant. Scientific research found a solution that corrects this imperfection and, in addition, makes the material self-cleaning. A team from Ohio State University explored the microscopic structures of a living organism to construct a hydrophobic synthetic leather. This property makes liquids like water and oil—the main cause of moisture and dirt—roll off the material’s surface.

Today’s synthetic leather is permeable like natural leather but becomes stickier than leather when exposed to heat. The nanotechnology created by the two researchers was inspired by the lotus leaf, a superhydrophobic and self-cleaning aquatic plant. Combining these two properties produces what is referred to as the lotus effect.

This video shows the nanometric roughness of the lotus leaf surface

Manufacturing Water Repellent and Oil Repellent Synthetic Leather

The study entitled “Fabrication of bioinspired superliquiphobic synthetic leather with self-cleaning and low adhesion,” co-authored by Dev Gurera and Bharat Bhushan, was published on May 20, 2018, in the scientific journal Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects.

Bhushan, an expert in biomimicry, and his colleague Howard D. Winbigler, a professor of mechanical engineering, had already developed water-repellent and oil-repellent materials. Their technique involves spraying a silica nanoparticle coating on the material’s surface. But Bhushan and his student Gurera found that this method was not suitable for synthetic leather because of its chemical composition.

As the researchers explained, synthetic leather is made of about 55% polymer—usually polyurethane (PU) or polyvinyl chloride (PVC)—and 40% plasticizers, which are added to make the material more flexible and more resistant. However, these plasticizers prevent nanoparticles from adhering to the surface, especially inside the grooves. To neutralize the effect of this component, the surface is subjected to prior treatment with ultraviolet light commonly used in the manufacture of computer chips. After applying silica nanoparticles, the researchers sealed the layer with a silicone resin. The resulting coating is transparent and does not alter the color and texture of the synthetic leather.

Efficiency and Mechanical Strength Tests

The treatment improved the material’s mechanical properties and kept them intact even when the material was heated to 70° C. Hydrophobicity tests on PU and PVC proved the technology’s effectiveness. In fact, water poured over the synthetic leather rolled at an incline of 2 degrees and oil, which is lighter, rolled at an incline of 4 degrees. A material is considered hydrophobic when the inclination needed is less than 10 degrees.

The coating is also wear-resistant. The researchers scratched the treated material’s surface 100 times with a sapphire and repeated the tests. When the droplets were placed on the worn part, they rolled at an angle of 7 degrees. Even in this state of wear, the synthetic leather retained its hydrophobicity.

To test the self-cleaning property, the researchers sprayed black silicon carbide powder onto the synthetic leather and measured the amount of powder that could be absorbed by a single drop of water. On untreated material, water absorbed about 10% of the powder, while on treated synthetic leather it removed 90% of the powder.

Synthetic leather use in the areas of sportswear and accessories, automobile, leather goods, furniture, etc. will be more varied and it will perform better under extreme conditions.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un similicuir à effet lotus - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un similicuir à effet lotus


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Nouveau cuir hydrophobe et oléofuge

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

On aime le côté Rock’n Roll des perfectos de motards, mais la matière n’est pas toujours confortable, particulièrement le similicuir. Il suffit de quelques rayons de soleil printanier pour que les parties en contact avec la peau deviennent collantes et désagréables. La recherche scientifique a trouvé une solution qui corrige cette imperfection et qui en plus le rend insalissable. Une équipe de la Ohio State University a exploré les structures microscopiques d’un organisme vivant pour fabriquer un similicuir hydrophobe. Grâce à cette propriété, la matière ne retient pas sur sa surface les liquides comme l’eau et l’huile, qui sont les principaux facteurs d’humidité et de salissures.

Le similicuir fabriqué actuellement est perméable comme le cuir naturel et devient plus collant que ce dernier sous l’action de la chaleur. La nanotechnologie créée par les deux chercheurs s’inspire des feuilles de lotus. C’est une plante aquatique superhydrophobe et autonettoyante. On appelle la combinaison de ces deux propriétés l’effet lotus.

Cette vidéo montre la rugosité nanométrique de la feuille de lotus

Technique de fabrication du similicuir hydrofuge et oléofuge

L’étude s’intitule « Fabrication of bioinspired superliquiphobic synthetic leather with self-cleaning and low adhesion ». Elle a été coécrite par Dev Gurera et Bharat Bhushan et publiée le 20 mai 2018 dans la revue scientifique Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects.

Bhushan est expert en biomimétisme et a déjà conçu avec son collègue Howard D. Winbigler, professeur en génie mécanique, des matières hydrofuges et oléofuges. Leur technique consiste à pulvériser un revêtement de nanoparticules de silice sur la surface du matériau. Or Bhushan et son étudiant Gurera ont constaté que cette méthode n’est pas appropriée au similicuir en raison de sa composition chimique.

Les chercheurs ont expliqué que le cuir synthétique est fabriqué à partir, environ, de 55 % de polymère, généralement le polyuréthane (PU) ou le polychlorure de vinyle (PVC), et 40 % de plastifiants. Ces derniers sont ajoutés afin de rendre la matière plus flexible et plus résistante. Toutefois, ces mêmes plastifiants empêchent les nanoparticules d’adhérer à la surface, particulièrement à l’intérieur des rainures. Pour neutraliser l’effet de ce composant, la surface est soumise préalablement à un traitement à la lumière ultraviolette couramment utilisé dans la fabrication de puces informatiques. Après avoir appliqué les nanoparticules de silice, les chercheurs ont scellé la couche d’une résine de silicone. Le revêtement obtenu est transparent et ne modifie pas de fait la couleur et la texture du similicuir.

Tests d’efficacité et de résistance mécanique

Le traitement a amélioré les propriétés mécaniques du matériau et les a maintenues intactes même lorsque la matière a été chauffée jusqu’à 70 °C. Les tests d’hydrophobie sur le PU et le PVC ont prouvé l’efficacité de la technologie. En effet, l’eau versée sur le similicuir s’est déplacée selon une inclinaison de 2 degrés et l’huile, plus légère, a roulé avec une inclinaison de 4 degrés. Un matériau est considéré comme hydrophobe lorsque l’inclinaison obtenue est inférieure à 10 degrés.

Le revêtement est aussi résistant à l’usure. Les chercheurs ont gratté 100 fois la surface du matériau traité avec un saphir et refait les mêmes tests. Lorsque les gouttelettes sont placées perpendiculaires à la partie usée, elles glissent à un angle de 7 degrés. Même dans cet état, le similicuir a conservé son hydrophobie.

Pour tester la propriété d’autonettoyage, les chercheurs ont pulvérisé de la poudre de carbure de silicium noire sur le similicuir et ont mesuré la quantité de poudre pouvant être entraînée par une seule goutte d’eau. Sur le matériau non traité, l’eau a emporté environ 10 % de la poudre, tandis que sur le similicuir traité, l’eau a éliminé 90 % de la poudre.

Les applications du similicuir dans les domaines des vêtements et accessoires de sport, l’automobile, la maroquinerie, le mobilier, etc. seront plus variées et plus performantes dans les conditions extrêmes.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *