SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Extreme Precipitation: What Does the Climate of Tomorrow Hold? - By : Jean-Luc Martel, Alain Mailhot, Francois Brissette, Daniel Caya,

Extreme Precipitation: What Does the Climate of Tomorrow Hold?


Jean-Luc Martel
Jean-Luc Martel Author profile
Jean-Luc Martel is a PhD student and Lecturer in the Department of Construction Engineering at ÉTS. After submitting his thesis, he now works at the consulting engineering firm Lasalle | NHC.

Alain Mailhot
Alain Mailhot Author profile
Alain Mailhot is Professor of Urban Hydrology at the Eau Terre Environnement Center at the INRS (Institut national de recherche scientifique). He is a world-renowned expert on the issue of extreme precipitation related to climate change.

Francois Brissette
Francois Brissette Author profile
François Brissette is a Professor in the Department of Construction Engineering at ÉTS. He is a pioneer in the development of climate change impact studies at the watershed scale. He has worked on projects with Hydro-Québec and OPG.

Daniel Caya
Daniel Caya Author profile
Now retired, Daniel Caya was Senior Research Scientist at the Ouranos Consortium on Climate Change and Regional Climatology, and Assistant Professor at ÉTS.

Extreme precipitations

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Several studies suggest that global warming induced by human activity will also cause an increase in the intensity of extreme precipitation events. However, the great variability of the latter makes it difficult to detect significant increases in the short to medium term. Indeed, it is likely that the detection of an upward trend in some Quebec regions will be delayed until the middle of the 21st century. However, a seemingly absent trend should not be detrimental to the implementation of adaptation measures against climate change.

There is a consensus among scientific studies that global warming is induced by human action through greenhouse gas emissions[1]. In addition, several studies suggest that a warmer atmosphere would store more moisture, causing an increase in the intensity of extreme precipitation events[2,3]. Since extreme precipitation is used as one of the main design criteria for several urban infrastructures, any increase would have significant repercussions.

Detecting a long-term increase (or upward trend) in anthropogenic climate change (i.e. human-induced) in extreme precipitation time series can be an essential step in ensuring that our infrastructures are adapted accordingly. However, the climate’s chaotic nature leads to natural variability that could temporarily mask an increasing trend[4.5]. Thus, the main objective of this study was to assess how natural climate variability affects the ability to detect trends caused by anthropogenic climate change in extreme precipitation series.

To achieve this, climate models were used to simulate the different physical processes generating the climate using a grid covering the entire planet[6] (Figure 1). Projections of greenhouse gas emissions have also been incorporated to assess future trends[7]. In addition, several simulations were run using the same parameters, except for an atmospheric micro-perturbation, similar to the flapping of a butterfly’s wings. Due to the chaotic nature of the climate, the simulations diverged after only a few weeks, resulting in different equiprobable versions of a future climate[8]. This approach makes it possible to better quantify the contribution of natural climate variability in relation to anthropogenic climate change.

Climate model

Figure 1 Schematic representation of a climate model.
From NOAA

An ensemble of 50 simulations covering the period from 1950 to 2100 is presented in Figure 2, illustrating how natural variability can mask the trend of climate change. The observed trend of increasing temperatures is stronger (blue curve) than the relatively small natural variability (envelope of the gray curves), which makes it easier to detect a trend even nowadays. However, although a trend is visible by the end of the 21st century for extreme precipitation, this is less pronounced and the variability is greater, making it difficult to detect a short-term trend. It is also expected that this same natural variability will be larger at the local scale (e.g., the city of Montreal) compared to the regional scale (e.g., southern Quebec).

Temperature and precipitation simulations

Figure 2 Ensemble of 50 climate simulations for the grid point corresponding to the city of Montreal

In this study, a criterion was developed to determine the decade (e.g., 2041–2050) when it becomes very likely that a trend caused by climate change will be detected. The 1950–2000 period is first analyzed for each of the simulations using a statistical test to determine if a trend is detected in the annual maximum daily precipitation time series[9] (e.g., gray curves in Figure 2). The percentage of simulations with a significant trend of the same direction (increasing or decreasing) is then evaluated. When this percentage reaches 90%, it becomes very likely that a trend will be detected during this decade.

Then, to compare the impact of the local and regional scale, a regional variant of the methodology, using nine grid points rather than just one, was carried out[10]. The regional analysis allows to raise the detection threshold of a statistically significant regional trend from several local series with no statistically significant trend. For example, time series from 9 weather stations could all have upward but statistically insignificant trends. Individually, no conclusion can be drawn from any of these stations. However, the probability of these 9 stations all having an increasing trend is so small that a statistically significant trend at the regional level can be concluded.

The results obtained (Figure 3) indicate that the likelihood of a trend detection at the regional scale will be delayed until the middle of the 21st century due to natural variability in many parts of the world, and particularly in Quebec. In the case of detection at the local scale, the role of natural variability is even greater, possibly delaying potential detection until the end of the century. Thus, to the extent possible, it is recommended to conduct regional rather than local analyses to minimize the effect of natural variability on trend detection.

Years of detection relative to an upward trend

Figure 3 Results at the local and regional scales. The black dots represent the grid points for which the detection decade has been reached

Finally, it is likely that the analysis of one or more weather stations does not show a statistically significant trend. However, a seemingly absent trend should not be detrimental to the implementation of adaptation measures to anthropogenic climate change, as a lack of action could have a significant impact in the medium and long term.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following paper:

Martel, J. L., Mailhot, A., Brissette, F., & Caya, D. (2018). Role of natural climate variability in the detection of anthropogenic climate change signal for mean and extreme precipitation at local and regional scales. Journal of Climate31(11), 4241–4263.

Jean-Luc Martel

Author's profile

Jean-Luc Martel is a PhD student and Lecturer in the Department of Construction Engineering at ÉTS. After submitting his thesis, he now works at the consulting engineering firm Lasalle | NHC.

Program : Environmental Engineering 

Research laboratories : DRAME – Research group specialized in Development and Applied Research in Environmental Modeling 

Author profile

Alain Mailhot

Author's profile

Alain Mailhot is Professor of Urban Hydrology at the Eau Terre Environnement Center at the INRS (Institut national de recherche scientifique). He is a world-renowned expert on the issue of extreme precipitation related to climate change.

Author profile

Francois Brissette

Author's profile

François Brissette is a Professor in the Department of Construction Engineering at ÉTS. He is a pioneer in the development of climate change impact studies at the watershed scale. He has worked on projects with Hydro-Québec and OPG.

Program : Environmental Engineering 

Research laboratories : DRAME – Research group specialized in Development and Applied Research in Environmental Modeling 

Author profile

Daniel Caya

Author's profile

Now retired, Daniel Caya was Senior Research Scientist at the Ouranos Consortium on Climate Change and Regional Climatology, and Assistant Professor at ÉTS.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Précipitations extrêmes : que nous réserve le climat de demain? - Par : Jean-Luc Martel, Alain Mailhot, Francois Brissette, Daniel Caya,

Précipitations extrêmes : que nous réserve le climat de demain?


Jean-Luc Martel
Jean-Luc Martel Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jean-Luc Martel est doctorant et chargé de cours au Département de génie de la construction de l’ÉTS. Ayant déposé sa thèse, il travaille chez la firme de génie-conseil Lasalle | NHC.

Alain Mailhot
Alain Mailhot est professeur en hydrologie urbaine au Centre Eau Terre Environnement de l’Institut national de recherche scientifique et un expert mondialement reconnu sur les précipitations extrêmes liées à l’évolution du climat.

Francois Brissette
Francois Brissette Profil de l'auteur(e)
François Brissette est professeur au Département de génie de la construction de l’ÉTS. Il a été précurseur dans les études de l’impact des changements climatiques sur les bassins versants nordiques et a travaillé avec Hydro-Québec et OPG.

Daniel Caya
Maintenant à la retraite, Daniel Caya a été chercheur scientifique senior au Consortium Ouranos sur les changements climatiques et la climatologie régionale et professeur associé à l’ÉTS.

Précipitations extrêmes

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Plusieurs études scientifiques indiquent que le réchauffement planétaire causé par l’influence humaine engendrera également une augmentation de l’intensité des événements extrêmes de précipitation. Toutefois, la grande variabilité de ces derniers rend difficile la détection d’augmentations significatives à court et moyen termes. En effet, il est probable de devoir attendre jusqu’au milieu du 21e siècle avant de pouvoir détecter une vraie tendance à la hausse pour certaines régions du Québec. Toutefois, l’absence apparente d’une telle tendance ne devrait pas empêcher la mise en place de mesures d’adaptation contre les changements climatiques.

Il y a un consensus parmi les études scientifiques indiquant que le réchauffement planétaire est causé par l’action humaine, par l’intermédiaire des émissions de gaz à effet de serre[1]. De plus, plusieurs études suggèrent qu’une atmosphère plus chaude emmagasinerait une plus grande quantité d’humidité, causant une augmentation de l’intensité des événements extrêmes de précipitation[2,3]. Ces événements étant pris en compte pour établir les critères de conception de plusieurs infrastructures, leur augmentation aurait des répercussions importantes.

La détection d’une augmentation à long terme (ou d’une tendance à la hausse) attribuable aux changements climatiques anthropiques (c.-à-d. d’origine humaine) des séries de précipitations extrêmes peut se révéler une étape essentielle afin que nos infrastructures soient adaptées en conséquence. Toutefois, la nature chaotique du climat entraîne une variabilité naturelle qui pourrait masquer toute tendance[4,5]. Ainsi, l’objectif principal de cette étude était d’évaluer comment la variabilité naturelle du climat affecte la capacité de détection des tendances causées par les changements climatiques anthropiques dans les séries de précipitations extrêmes.

Pour y arriver, des modèles climatiques ont été utilisés pour simuler les différents processus physiques générant le climat à l’aide d’un maillage couvrant entièrement la planète[6] (figure 1). Des projections d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre y ont aussi été incorporées, permettant d’évaluer les tendances futures[7]. De plus, plusieurs simulations ont été lancées en utilisant exactement les mêmes paramètres, à l’exception d’une micro-perturbation atmosphérique, similaire aux battements d’ailes d’un papillon. En raison de la nature chaotique du climat, les simulations ont divergé après seulement quelques semaines, présentant différentes versions équiprobables d’un climat futur[8]. Cette approche permet de mieux quantifier la contribution de la variabilité naturelle du climat par rapport aux changements climatiques anthropiques.

Modèle climatique

Figure 1 Représentation schématique d’un modèle climatique.
Tirée de NOAA

 

Un ensemble de 50 simulations couvrant la période de 1950 à 2100 est présenté à la figure 2, illustrant comment la variabilité naturelle peut masquer la tendance des changements climatiques. La tendance observée des températures à augmenter est plus forte (courbe bleue) que la variabilité naturelle, qui est relativement faible (enveloppe des courbes grises), ce qui facilite la détection d’une tendance, même en date d’aujourd’hui. Toutefois, malgré le fait qu’une tendance soit visible d’ici la fin du 21e siècle pour les précipitations extrêmes, cette dernière est moins marquée et la variabilité est plus importante, rendant difficile la détection d’une tendance à court terme. Il est aussi attendu que cette même variabilité naturelle soit plus importante à l’échelle locale (p. ex. la ville de Montréal) comparativement à l’échelle régionale (p. ex. le sud du Québec).

Simulations des températures et des précipitations

Ensemble de 50 simulations climatiques pour la maille correspondant à ville de Montréal

Dans cette étude, un critère a été élaboré afin de déterminer la décennie (p. ex. 2041-2050) quand il devient très probable qu’une tendance causée par les changements climatiques soit détectée. La période de 1950-2000 est d’abord analysée pour chacune des simulations à l’aide d’un test statistique pour déterminer si une tendance est détectée dans les séries de maxima annuels de précipitations journalières[9] (p. ex. courbes grises de la figure 2). Le pourcentage de simulations ayant une tendance significative du même signe (à la hausse ou à la baisse) est ensuite évalué. Lorsque ce pourcentage atteint 90 %, il devient très probable qu’une tendance sera détectée durant cette décennie.

Ensuite, pour comparer l’impact aux échelles locale et régionale, une variante régionale de la méthodologie, utilisant neuf mailles plutôt qu’une seule, a été utilisée[10]. L’analyse régionale permet de rehausser le seuil de détection d’une tendance régionale statistiquement significative, et ce à partir de plusieurs séries locales n’ayant individuellement aucune tendance statistiquement significative. Par exemple, des séries provenant de 9 stations météorologiques pourraient toutes présenter des tendances à la hausse, mais statistiquement non significatives. Individuellement, aucune conclusion ne peut être tirée à partir de chacune de ces stations. Cependant, la probabilité que ces 9 stations aient toutes une tendance à la hausse est tellement faible qu’elle permet de conclure à la présence d’une tendance statistiquement significative à l’échelle régionale.

Les résultats obtenus (figure 3) indiquent qu’il est probable que la détection d’une tendance à l’échelle régionale soit retardée jusqu’au milieu du 21e siècle à cause de la variabilité naturelle pour de nombreuses régions du monde, et notamment au Québec. Dans le cas de la détection à l’échelle locale, l’influence de la variabilité naturelle est encore plus importante, pouvant retarder une détection potentielle jusqu’à la fin du siècle. Ainsi, dans la mesure du possible, il est recommandé de réaliser des analyses régionales, et non locales, pour minimiser l’effet de la variabilité naturelle sur la détection d’une tendance causée par les changements climatiques.

Temps de détection d’une tendance à la hausse

Figure 3 Résultats à l’échelle locale et régionale. Les points noirs représentent les mailles pour lesquelles la décennie de détection a été atteinte

 

Finalement, il est probable que l’analyse d’une ou de plusieurs stations météorologiques ne présente pas de tendance statistiquement significative. Toutefois, l’absence apparente de tendance ne devrait pas empêcher la mise en place de mesures d’adaptation face aux changements climatiques anthropiques, car un manque d’action pourrait avoir des répercussions importantes à moyen et long terme.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article suivant :

Martel, J. L., Mailhot, A., Brissette, F., & Caya, D. (2018). Role of natural climate variability in the detection of anthropogenic climate change signal for mean and extreme precipitation at local and regional scalesJournal of Climate31(11), 4241-4263.

Jean-Luc Martel

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-Luc Martel est doctorant et chargé de cours au Département de génie de la construction de l’ÉTS. Ayant déposé sa thèse, il travaille chez la firme de génie-conseil Lasalle | NHC.

Programme : Génie de l'environnement 

Laboratoires de recherche : DRAME – Groupe de recherche spécialisé en développement et en recherche appliquée à la modélisation environnementale 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Alain Mailhot

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Alain Mailhot est professeur en hydrologie urbaine au Centre Eau Terre Environnement de l’Institut national de recherche scientifique et un expert mondialement reconnu sur les précipitations extrêmes liées à l’évolution du climat.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Francois Brissette

Profil de l'auteur(e)

François Brissette est professeur au Département de génie de la construction de l’ÉTS. Il a été précurseur dans les études de l’impact des changements climatiques sur les bassins versants nordiques et a travaillé avec Hydro-Québec et OPG.

Programme : Génie de l'environnement 

Laboratoires de recherche : DRAME – Groupe de recherche spécialisé en développement et en recherche appliquée à la modélisation environnementale 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Daniel Caya

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Maintenant à la retraite, Daniel Caya a été chercheur scientifique senior au Consortium Ouranos sur les changements climatiques et la climatologie régionale et professeur associé à l’ÉTS.

Profil de l'auteur(e)