SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Nanobots to Wipe Out Cancer - By : Hanen Hattab,

Nanobots to Wipe Out Cancer


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Nanorobots are able to eradicate cancer cells

The featured image was bought from Istock.com. Copyrights.

The term “robot” also applies to microscopic creatures that are not made of metal and electrical wires, but of organic matter—the DNA robot. The idea dates back to the 1980s with the biochemist Nadrian Seeman’s work on DNA nanotechnology, introducing the concept of DNA origami and the construction of life at this scale. Today, medicine wants to use these robots to fight incurable diseases. This article presents the DNA robots that will be used to eradicate cancer cells.

The work of Nadrian Seeman

Nanomedicine has several challenges to overcome in order to properly use DNA robots. To treat cancer with this new generation of drugs, we must make sure that robots do not harm healthy cells.

Researchers at Arizona State University and the National Center for Nanoscience and Technology of China (NCNST) have created nanobots that can reduce tumours by cutting off their blood supply. This therapy can be used in the treatment of several types of cancer because while these cancers develop they form blood vessels that feed their growth. The research spanned five years and has at this stage resulted in conclusive results, presented in the study entitled “A DNA nanorobot functions as a cancer therapeutic in response to a molecular trigger in vivo,” published in Nature Biotechnology on February 12, 2018.

The DNA robots created by the team self-assemble from DNA strands. The construction takes place on a scale that is a thousand times smaller than the diameter of a human hair. Their structure in the form of DNA origami allows them to move and bring the drug molecules to the target, the cancer cells.

This video presents DNA origami robots:

DNA Origami, the Future of Nanomedicine and Synthetic Biology

Each robot is made from a flat rectangular origami sheet measuring 90 nm by 60 nm. The robot chain is composed of an aptamer and thrombin. The aptamer is a synthetic oligonucleotide that can bind to the nucleolin. The nucleolin is a protein found on the surface of endothelial cells involved in the formation of the blood vessels that nourish tumours. Thrombin, attached to the surface of the robot, is responsible for neutralizing the tumours. When self-assembling into a robot, the sheet folds into a tube form.

The Nanobot Carries a Double Agent

Intravenously injected DNA nanobots release thrombin into the tumor-associated blood vessels. Thrombin is an enzyme involved in blood clotting. By penetrating the blood vessels, thrombin causes intravascular coagulation leading to growth inhibition and tumor necrosis. Since nucleolin is only found on affected cells, the nanobots do not attack healthy cells.

The study also found that the nanobots present no danger to the body and are immunologically inert. A few hours after the injection, the nanobots surrounded the tumours. The experiments were conducted on Bama mice and miniature pigs. The guinea pigs had breast, ovarian and lung cancer, as well as melanoma. The study also showed that nanobots did not reach the brain where they could have caused a stroke.

This means making suitable DNA origamis, targets and specific medicinal payloads.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des nanorobots pour éradiquer le cancer - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Des nanorobots pour éradiquer le cancer


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Des nanorobots pourraient tuer les cellules cancéreuses

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur istock.com. Des droits d’auteur la protègent.

L’appellation robot s’étend aussi à des créatures microscopiques qui ne sont pas faites de métal et de fils électriques, mais entièrement avec de la matière organique. Connaissez-vous le robot d’ADN? L’idée remonte aux années 1980 avec les travaux du biochimiste Nadrian Seeman sur les nanotechnologies en ADN, qui ont introduit le concept de l’origami d’ADN et la construction du vivant à cette échelle. Aujourd’hui la médecine veut utiliser ces robots pour combattre les maladies incurables. Dans cet article nous allons présenter des robots d’ADN qui serviront à éradiquer les cellules cancéreuses.

Les travaux de Nadrian Seeman

La nanomédecine a plusieurs défis à surmonter pour bien utiliser les robots d’ADN. Pour traiter le cancer avec cette nouvelle génération de médicaments, il faut s’assurer que les robots ne nuisent pas aux cellules saines.

Des chercheurs de l’Arizona State University et du National Center for Nanoscience and Technology of China (NCNST) ont créé des nanorobots capables de réduire les tumeurs en coupant leur irrigation en sang. Cette thérapie peut être utilisée pour le traitement de plusieurs types de cancer puisque en se formant, ces derniers forment tous des vaisseaux sanguins qui alimenteront les cellules cancéreuses. La recherche a duré cinq ans et a abouti à ce stade à des résultats concluants, présentés dans l’étude intitulée « A DNA nanorobot functions as a cancer therapeutic in response to a molecular trigger in vivo. » Cette dernière a été publiée dans la revue scientifique Nature Biotechnology le 12 février 2018.

Les robots d’ADN créés par l’équipe s’autoassemblent à partir de brins d’ADN. La construction se passe à une échelle mille fois plus petite que le diamètre d’un cheveu humain. Leur structure en forme d’origami d’ADN leur permet de se déplacer et de porter les molécules médicamenteuses vers la cible visée, soit les cellules cancéreuses.

Cette vidéo présente les robots origami d’ADN :

Origami d’ADN, le futur de la nanomédecine et de la biologie synthétique

Chaque robot est fabriqué à partir d’une feuille d’origami plane et rectangulaire mesurant 90 nm sur 60 nm. La chaîne du robot est composée d’un aptamère et de thrombine. L’aptamère est un oligonucléotide synthétique capable de se fixer à la nucléoline. Cette dernière est une protéine qui se trouve à la surface des cellules endothéliales qui participent à la formation des vaisseaux sanguins nourrissant les tumeurs. La thrombine, attachée à la surface du robot, est responsable de la neutralisation des tumeurs. Lors de l’autoassemblage du robot, la feuille se plie pour former un tube.

Le nanorobot transporte un agent double

Les nanorobots d’ADN injectés par voie intraveineuse libèrent de la thrombine dans les vaisseaux sanguins associés aux tumeurs. La thrombine est une enzyme qui participe à la coagulation sanguine. En pénétrant les vaisseaux sanguins, elle provoque une coagulation intravasculaire entraînant une inhibition de la croissance et une nécrose tumorale. Comme la nucléoline se trouve seulement sur les cellules affectées, le nanorobot n’attaque pas les cellules saines.

L’étude a permis aussi de constater que le nanorobot ne présente pas de dangers pour le corps et qu’il est immunologiquement inerte. Quelques heures après l’injection, les nanorobots ont encerclé les tumeurs. Les expériences ont été menées sur des souris et des cochons nains de Bama. Les cobayes étaient atteints de cancer du sein, des ovaires et du poumon ainsi que du mélanome. L’étude a montré aussi que les nanorobots n’ont pas atteint le cerveau où ils pourraient provoquer par exemple un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Selon Hao Yan, le directeur de cette recherche, ces nanorobots représentent aussi un modèle à partir duquel on peut s’inspirer pour créer des traitements d’autres maladies. Ceci revient à réaliser des origamis d’ADN adaptés, des cibles et des cargaisons médicamenteuses spécifiques.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *