SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Autocatalytic Metallization: Tomorrow’s Wearable Technologies - By : Hanen Hattab,

Autocatalytic Metallization: Tomorrow’s Wearable Technologies


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Extracting liquid from a test tube with a pipette

Header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

A number of industries are now interested in wearable technologies. While advances in electronics and artificial intelligence are accelerating the emergence of new connected apparel and accessories in many sectors, production costs are hampering their expansion. In addition, as they try to make electronic components invisible or lighter, researchers face many technical constraints. Printing electronic metal components on materials made from natural fibers like paper or fabric could solve a number of cost and efficiency issues.

A multidisciplinary team from the Department of Bioengineering at Imperial College London has created an unprecedented method for printing different metals on woven or non-woven fabrics, and other hydrophilic materials like nitrocellulose membranes. What distinguishes this method from electronic circuit printers currently on the market?

To print electronic circuits, existing printers inject a conductive ink containing polymeric binders and a solvent. This technique makes fabrics waterproof and less flexible for circuits. However, flexibility and permeability are important properties for many technologies like sensors and batteries, in which ions in solution must interact with metal electrons.

  Benefits and Applications

The new method does not divest textiles of these initial characteristics. It prints and combines several types of components like sensors, batteries, wireless technologies, notably in the form of patterns. The researchers have also shown that this method significantly reduces manufacturing costs. In this regard, as part of the proof-of-concept study, they were able to print a magnetic frame antenna priced at US$0.001, as opposed to US$0.05 using printers currently available on the market. According to Max Grell, lead author of the study, the technology could be particularly useful in developing countries, where diagnoses often have to be made urgently at lower cost and on site, sometimes far from major centers. The researchers also made a silver oxide battery, electrochemical biosensors for protein detection, and a substrate for surface-enhanced Raman scattering optical detection.

Manufacturing Process

The process consists of wrapping the fiber completely with metal ink instead of covering only the surface. To do this, the researchers first impregnated the textile with microscopic silicon particles. Then they immersed it in a solution of metal ions. These two steps make the metals spread over the entire surface of the fiber. The technique is called autocatalytic metallization activated by Si ink. The electronic functions are incorporated in the textile while preserving its hydrophilic property, as shown in the following video:

The researchers are patenting their technology in collaboration with Imperial Innovations, a UK-based technology marketing and investment company. In the meantime, they are seeking an industrial partnership.

The study entitled “Autocatalytic Metallization of Fabrics Using Si Ink, for Biosensors, Batteries and Energy Harvesting” was co-authored by Max Grell, Can Dincer, Thao Le, Alberto Lauri, Estefania Nunez Bajo, Michael Kasimatis, Giandrin Barandun, Stefan A. Maier, Anthony E. Cass and Firat Güder, and published on November 9, 2018, in Advanced Functional Materials.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La métallisation autocatalytique : les technologies portables du futur - Par : Hanen Hattab,

La métallisation autocatalytique : les technologies portables du futur


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Pipette prélevant un liquide dans une éprouvette

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Plusieurs industries s’intéressent de nos jours aux technologies portables. Même si les avancées en électronique et en intelligence artificielle accélèrent l’apparition de nouveaux vêtements et d’accessoires connectés dans plusieurs secteurs, les coûts de production freinent leur expansion. De plus, en essayant de rendre invisibles ou d’alléger les composants électroniques, les chercheurs se heurtent à de nombreuses contraintes techniques. L’impression des composants électroniques en métal sur des matériaux composés de fibres naturelles, comme le papier ou le tissu, résoudrait plusieurs problèmes liés aux coûts et à l’efficacité.

Une équipe multidisciplinaire du Département de bio-ingénierie de l’Imperial College London a créé une méthode inédite qui permet d’imprimer plusieurs métaux sur des textiles, tissés ou non tissés, et d’autres matériaux hydrophiles, tels que les membranes de nitrocellulose. Par quoi se distingue cette méthode par rapport aux imprimantes de circuits électroniques sur le marché?

Pour imprimer des circuits électroniques, les imprimantes existantes injectent une encre conductrice contenant des liants polymériques et du solvant. Cette technique rend les tissus imperméables et moins flexibles pour les circuits. Or la souplesse et la perméabilité sont des propriétés importantes pour le fonctionnement de nombreuses technologies, notamment les capteurs et les batteries, où des ions en solution doivent interagir avec les électrons des métaux.

Avantages et applications

La nouvelle méthode n’ôte pas au textile ces caractéristiques initiales. Elle imprime et combine plusieurs types de composants comme les capteurs, les batteries, des technologies sans fil, notamment sous forme de motifs. Les chercheurs ont aussi montré qu’elle réduit considérablement le coût de fabrication. À ce propos, dans le cadre de l’étude de validation de principe, ils ont réussi à imprimer une antenne à cadre magnétique dont le prix s’élève à 0,001 USD, alors qu’elle coûte 0,05 USD en utilisant les imprimantes offertes sur le marché. Selon Max Grell, l’auteur principal de l’étude, la technologie pourrait être particulièrement utile dans les pays en voie de développement, où les diagnostics doivent souvent être effectués en urgence à moindre coût et sur le lieu des soins, parfois éloigné des grands centres. Les chercheurs ont aussi fabriqué une pile d’oxyde d’argent, des biocapteurs électrochimiques pour la détection de protéines et un substrat pour la détection optique par diffusion Raman exaltée de surface.

Le procédé de fabrication

Le procédé consiste à envelopper entièrement la fibre d’encre métallique au lieu de couvrir uniquement la surface du textile. Pour ce faire, les chercheurs ont imprégné d’abord le textile de particules microscopiques de silicium. Ensuite, ils l’ont immergé dans une solution à base d’ions métalliques. Ces deux étapes font croître les métaux sur toute la surface de la fibre. La technique s’appelle métallisation autocatalytique activée par encre de Si. Les fonctions électroniques sont ainsi incorporées dans le textile tout en préservant sa propriété hydrophile comme le montre la vidéo suivante :

Les chercheurs ont déposé une demande pour breveter leur technologie en collaboration avec Imperial Innovations, une société britannique de commercialisation et d’investissement dans les technologies. En parallèle, ils sont à la recherche d’un partenariat industriel.

L’étude s’intitule « Autocatalytic Metallization of Fabrics Using Si Ink, for Biosensors, Batteries and Energy Harvesting ». Elle a été coécrite par Max Grell, Can Dincer, Thao Le, Alberto Lauri, Estefania Nunez Bajo, Michael Kasimatis, Giandrin Barandun, Stefan A. Maier, Anthony E. G. Cass et Firat Güder. Elle a été publiée le 9 novembre 2018 dans Advanced Functional Materials.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *