SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Shrimp-Inspired Building Material - By : Hanen Hattab,

Shrimp-Inspired Building Material


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Mantis shrimp

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

To prevent damage caused by earthquakes and violent winds, architects use earthquake-resistant systems. Indispensable when it comes to elevated structures, these techniques help strengthen structural elements and foundations. Cylinders, springs, ball bearings, etc., reduce the effect of destructive forces on buildings by making them flexible. A new solution created by civil engineering researchers will increase building resistance by applying the principle of flexibility to the structural elements.

Many of nature’s creatures that inspire biomimetic scientific research, have mechanical properties that enable them to combat external forces similar to those to which buildings are subjected. A team from Purdue University has created a cement-based material by mimicking arthropod exoskeletons. These can resist external forces by propagating them through their constituent layers, increasing their resilience.

The material, which is made using a 3D printing technique, will help increase construction strength when integrated into the manufacture of structural elements more resistant to mechanical constraints, like beams and poles.

Bouligand Internal Assembly

The team mimicked the arthropod cuticle, or outer wall that protects the entire body surface. This layer is characterized by a particular overlapping arc structure. It is also called a Bouligand structure, taking the name of the biologist and surveyor who discovered its geometric and morphogenetic characteristics. The French scientist discovered that the molecular assemblies of the shells and walls of several natural organisms are structured according to well-defined geometric principles, which also give them the observed mechanical resistance. The geometry of the overlapping arc structure is in the form of superimposed planes. Each plane consists of parallel fibrils. The layers are superimposed so that the fibrils are oriented in different directions. This way a crisscrossed and resistant structure is obtained, even in fragile materials. The layering principle corresponds to the morphogenic process of exoskeletons and shells studied by Bouligand.

Crustacean exoskeletons

 

Until recently, engineers faced many challenges in obtaining this type of 3D-printed cement-based structure. The researchers at Purdue University were the first to meet this challenge. In addition to the overlapping arc structures, they created patterns inspired by the shell of the Stomatopoda squill, or squilla mantis, and the rhombohedral structure of a wax cake. As shown in this video, 3D printing of the material evokes the growth principle of the natural structures that it mimics. From the material, it is possible to obtain resistant and flexible honeycomb shapes.

Mechanical Behaviour Observations

The team used X-ray microtomography (micro-CT) to observe the mechanical behaviour of the printed structures on a microscopic scale. Using this visualization technique, high-resolution images can be obtained from very small samples without altering their structures, as explained in this video.

The images make it possible to visualize the material’s characteristics and make it more resistant to mechanical stresses. The following video shows a longitudinal XZ section of a Bouligand architecture.

The study entitled “Additive Manufacturing and Performance of Architectured Cement-Based Materials” was published in Advanced Materials on August 29, 2018. It was co-authored by Mohamadreza Moini, Jan Olek, Jeffrey P. Youngblood, Bryan Magee and Pablo D. Zavattieri. The research was also presented at the first RILEM International Conference on Concrete and Digital Fabrication, held in Zurich on September 9, 2018.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


Field(s) of expertise :

Additive Manufacturing 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un matériau de construction inspiré des crevettes - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un matériau de construction inspiré des crevettes


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Crevette mante

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Pour prévenir les dommages causés par les séismes et les vents très violents, les architectes ont recours aux systèmes parasismiques. Indispensables dans le cas des constructions élevées, ces techniques participent à renforcer les éléments structurels et les fondations. Nous parlons des vérins, des ressorts, des roulements à billes, etc., qui réduisent l’effet des forces destructrices sur les bâtiments en les rendant flexibles. Une nouvelle solution créée par des chercheurs en génie civil permettra d’augmenter la résistance des bâtisses en appliquant le principe de flexibilité aux éléments structurels.

Plusieurs créatures de la nature, qui inspirent les recherches scientifiques biomimétiques, ont des propriétés mécaniques leur permettant de lutter contre des forces extérieures semblables à celles subies par les bâtiments. Une équipe de l’Université Purdue a créé un matériau à base de ciment en mimant les exosquelettes des arthropodes. Ces derniers résistent aux forces externes en les propageant à travers leurs couches constitutives, ce qui augmente leur résilience.

Le matériau, réalisé à partir d’une technique d’impression 3D, participera à augmenter la résistance des constructions, en entrant dans la fabrication d’éléments structurels plus résistants aux contraintes mécaniques, tels que les poutres et les poteaux.

Un assemblage interne de Bouligand

L’équipe a imité la cuticule des arthropodes. Il s’agit de la paroi externe qui protège toute la surface du corps. Cette couche se caractérise par une structure particulière nommée structure en arceaux. Elle est appelée aussi structure de Bouligand parce que ses caractéristiques géométriques et morphogéniques ont été révélées par le biologiste et géomètre du même nom. Ce scientifique français a découvert que les assemblages moléculaires des carapaces et des parois de plusieurs organismes naturels sont structurés selon des principes géométriques bien déterminés, qui leur confèrent en outre la résistance mécanique observée. La géométrie de la structure en arceaux se présente sous forme de plans superposés. Chaque plan est constitué de fibrilles parallèles. Les couches sont disposées les unes sur les autres de telle sorte que les fibrilles soient orientées différemment. Cela permet d’obtenir une structure entrecroisée et résistante même à partir de matériaux fragiles. Le principe d’étagement des couches correspond notamment au processus morphogénique des exosquelettes et des carapaces étudiées par Bouligand.

Exosquelettes de crustacé

 

Jusqu’à dernièrement, les ingénieurs faisaient face à plusieurs difficultés pour obtenir ce type de structure à base de ciment imprimé en 3D. Les chercheurs de l’Université Purdue sont donc les premiers à avoir relevé ce défi. En plus des structures en arceaux, ils ont créé des motifs inspirés de la carapace de la squille Stomatopoda et de la structure rhomboédrique du gâteau de cire. Comme le montre cette vidéo, l’impression en 3D du matériau évoque notamment le principe de croissance des structures naturelles qu’il copie. À partir du matériau, on peut notamment obtenir des formes alvéolées résistantes et flexibles.

Observations du comportement mécanique

L’équipe a utilisé la microtomographie aux rayons X (micro-CT) pour observer à l’échelle microscopique le comportement mécanique des structures imprimées. Cette technique de visualisation permet d’obtenir des images haute résolution à partir d’échantillons très petits, sans altérer leurs structures, comme l’explique cette vidéo.

Les images permettent de visualiser les caractéristiques du matériau qui pourrait le rendre plus résistant aux contraintes mécaniques. La vidéo suivante montre une architecture de Bouligand vue à partir d’un plan de coupe longitudinale XZ.

L’étude s’intitule « Additive Manufacturing and Performance of Architectured CementBased Materials ». Elle a été publiée dans la revue Advanced Materials le 29 août 2018. Elle est coécrite par Mohamadreza Moini, Jan Olek, Jeffrey P. Youngblood, Bryan Magee et Pablo D. Zavattieri. La recherche a été aussi présentée lors de la première RILEM International Conference on Concrete and Digital Fabrication qui a eu lieu à Zurich le 9 septembre 2018.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Domaines d'expertise :

Fabrication additive 

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *