SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Generating and Characterizing Cylindrical Vector Beams - By : Prabin Pradhan, Bora Ung,

Generating and Characterizing Cylindrical Vector Beams


The following text is from one of the finalists in the 2017 SARA Abstract Contest. The writer was awarded First Place for the clarity and quality of the research project abstract. The other texts submitted to the SARA Contest are also available.

Prabin Pradhan
Prabin Pradhan Author profile
Prabin Pradhan is a Ph.D. Student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His current research involves generation and characterization of cylindrical vector beams in a few-mode fiber.
Research laboratories : PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Bora Ung
Bora Ung is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the ÉTS and a member of the Strategic Center for Optics, Photonics and Laser (COPL).
Research laboratories : PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Few-mode fiber to increase transmission capacity

The featured image was bought from Istock.com. Copyrights.

SUMMARY

Fuelled by the ever-increasing demand for high-bandwidth multimedia applications, the ultimate data transmission capacity of a standard single-mode fiber (SMF)—the backbone of the Internet—is predicted to be reached within the next decade. Space division multiplexing (SDM) aims to harness the rich spatial mode diversities available in multimode fibers (MMF) and few-mode fibers (FMF) towards increasing the transmission capacity within a single strand of fiber [1]. Moreover, it has been suggested that the same SDM techniques developed for generating and controlling modal transmission in MMF and FMF, could be utilized towards multi-parameter fiber-optic sensing [2].

Research Objectives

The first objective of this project is to investigate specially designed FMFs as well as develop novel methods for the excitation and control of the elusive higher-order vector modes that can propagate in such specialty FMFs. Contrary to the classical scalar modes of FMF, the vector modes possess special polarization properties as well as the unique ability to carry quantum states of orbital angular momentum (OAM) [3] that provide new degrees of freedom for both optical communications and sensing. The second objective is to apply the developed techniques for the characterization of next-generation SDM communication links towards the multi-parameter distributed fiber-optic sensing (of temperature and strain) in civil engineering structures and for niche biomedical sensors such as spinal cord trauma monitoring.

Methodology

The first task is to design an efficient mode converter to selectively excite the desired vector mode(s). This will be achieved via a tunable mechanical long-period fiber grating (LPFG) [4]. An alternate method of generating the vector modes using a spatial light modulator (SLM) will be investigated and compared with the LPFG. ii) The second task will be to transmit and independently detect at the FMF output the co-propagating modes by means of a de-multiplexing device in the form of a SLM. iii) Next, the accurate characterization of these vector modes will be accomplished via the generation of a dynamic Brillouin grating (DBG) in the fiber, an advanced metrological technique with promising applications in fiber-optic communications [5] and distributed fiber sensing [6]. iv) The final phase will be to harness the vector modes in the development of novel SDM characterization techniques and in multi-parameter distributed fiber-optic sensors.

Results

So far, we have demonstrated the selective excitation of cylindrical vector modes in FMF using a long period fiber grating [4] and studied their non-linear Brillouin properties towards the fully distributed characterization of telecom links with potential applications in distributed fiber sensing [4, 7]. In this paper, we reported the measurement of the Brillouin gain spectra (as shown in Figure 1) of vector modes in a few-mode fiber for the first time using a simple heterodyne detection technique. A tunable LPFG is used to selectively excite the vector modes supported by the few-mode fiber. Further, we demonstrate the non-destructive measurement of the absolute effective refractive indices (neff) of vector modes with ~10−4 accuracy based on the acquired Brillouin frequency shifts of the modes. The proposed technique represents a new tool for probing and controlling vector modes as well as modes carrying orbital angular momentum in optical fibers with potential applications in advanced optical communications and multi-parameter fiber-optic sensing.

The method is based on acquired Brillouin frequency shifts of the modes into the optic fiber.

Fig. 1. Measured Brillouin gain spectra for fundamental and high-order vector modes, and corresponding Gaussian fit curves [7].

Recently, we have been working on the generation of perfect cylindrical vector beams (PCVB) using the Fourier transformation of Bessel-Gauss vector beams [8]. Precise control over the ring diameter and ring width of vortex beams (i.e. beams carrying OAM) was recently achieved through the generation of perfect vortex beams, as demonstrated by a number of research groups [9, 10]. These recent works report the ability to maintain the dimensions of the beam intensity pattern irrespective of their topological charge. Furthermore, the reported new class of perfect vector vortex beams has been demonstrated with tailorable ring diameter irrespective of the polarization order. Though to the best of our knowledge, the independent control of the ring diameter and ring width for PCVB has not yet been demonstrated in its entirety. So far, efforts towards the generation of PCVBs that would enable one to fully tailor the intensity profile of the CVBs of interest have yielded PCVBs with tunable ring diameter only that were of limited purity [11] (showing residual light intensity in the beams’ centre) via a method of limited flexibility due to the use of static (Pancharatnam-Berry phase) optical element [11]. In this work, we demonstrate the generation of arbitrary PCVBs whose transverse intensity profile (i.e. ring width and ring diameter) can be independently and easily controlled via an iris and a diffractive phase mask implemented on a programmable SLM as shown in Figure 2.

generation of arbitrary perfect cylindrical vector beams

Fig 2. Experimental and simulated generation of PCVBs. The type of PCVB generated (TM01, TE01, even and odd HE21) depends on the specific topological charges and phase differences ascribed to each interfering beam [8].

The demonstration of PCVBs is implemented via an interferometric method employing a spatial light modulator that allows the independent control of the ring diameter and ring width of the PCVB. The proposed scheme enables to generate different types of CVB with precise user-defined transverse dimensions. The dynamic control of the ring width, ring diameter, and the specific type of PCVBs desired (in this work: TM01, TE01, odd and even HE21 modes) is theoretically as well as experimentally demonstrated. The ability to generate perfect cylindrical vector beams has implications for the efficient launch of exotic optical modes in specialty fibers, in the field of optical trapping as well as for super-resolution microscopy.

IMPACT

The proposed research will contribute to revealing the underlying physics that guide the rich light-matter interactions inside few-mode fibers and develop new scientific methods to generate, transmit, shape and characterize the vector modes that constitute the fundamental basis set of light propagation in these important waveguides. In doing so, the research outcomes will have a direct impact on the development of novel metrological techniques for next-generation communication networks, a strategic area of contemporary socioeconomic development, as well as in the field of distributed fiber-optic sensing that promises new practical advances for the live remote monitoring of civil engineering structures and in biomedical research.

Additional information

For more information on this research, please read the following articles:

Pradhan, P., et al., The Brillouin gain of vector modes in a few-mode fiber. Scientific Reports, 2017. 7.

Pradhan, P., Sharma, M., & Ung, B. (2018). Generation of perfect cylindrical vector beams with complete control over the ring width and ring diameter. IEEE Photonics Journal, 10(1).

Prabin Pradhan

Author's profile

Prabin Pradhan is a Ph.D. Student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His current research involves generation and characterization of cylindrical vector beams in a few-mode fiber.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Author profile

Bora Ung

Author's profile

Bora Ung is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the ÉTS and a member of the Strategic Center for Optics, Photonics and Laser (COPL).

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Author profile


Research laboratories :

PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La génération et caractérisation des faisceaux cylindriques vectoriels - Par : Prabin Pradhan, Bora Ung,

La génération et caractérisation des faisceaux cylindriques vectoriels


Le texte qui suit est l’un des articles finalistes du concours de résumés du SARA 2017. Il s’est mérité le premier prix pour sa clarté et la qualité de la présentation du projet de recherche. Vous pouvez aussi consulter les autres textes soumis dans le cadre du concours du SARA.

Prabin Pradhan
Prabin Pradhan est doctorant au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la génération et la caractérisation de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques dans une fibre faiblement multimodale.
Programme : Génie électrique 
Laboratoires de recherche : PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Bora Ung
Bora Ung est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS et membre du regroupement stratégique Centre d’optique, photonique et laser (COPL).
Programme : Génie électrique 
Laboratoires de recherche : PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Fibre faiblement multimodale pour augmenter la capacité de transmission

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Confrontée à la demande toujours croissante d’applications multimédias à large bande passante, la capacité ultime de transmission de données d’une fibre optique monomode standard, l’épine dorsale de l’Internet, devrait être atteinte au cours de la prochaine décennie. Le multiplexage spatial vise à exploiter la grande diversité de modes spatiaux existant dans les fibres multimodes et les fibres faiblement multimodes en vue d’augmenter la capacité de transmission à l’intérieur d’une seule fibre [1]. De plus, on estime que les mêmes techniques de multiplexage spatial, conçues pour générer et réguler la transmission modale dans les fibres multimodes et les fibres faiblement multimodes, pourraient être utilisées pour fabriquer des capteurs multiparamétriques [2].

Objectifs de recherche

Le premier objectif de ce projet est d’étudier des fibres faiblement multimodes spécialement conçues et d’élaborer des méthodes novatrices d’excitation et de régulation des modes vectoriels d’ordre supérieur qui peuvent se propager dans ces fibres spécialisées. Contrairement aux modes scalaires classiques, les modes vectoriels possèdent des propriétés particulières de polarisation ainsi que la capacité unique de transporter des états quantiques de moment angulaire orbital [3], ce qui offre plus de flexibilité autant pour les applications en communications optiques que celles en détection. Le deuxième objectif est d’appliquer les nouvelles techniques de multiplexage spatial utilisées pour la caractérisation des liens de communication à une nouvelle génération de capteurs à fibre distribués multiparamétriques (pour la température et les contraintes mécaniques) pour les structures de génie civil et les capteurs biomédicaux spécialisés tels que le suivi des traumatismes à la moelle épinière.

Méthodologie

La première étape consiste à concevoir un convertisseur de mode efficace pour exciter de manière sélective le ou les modes vectoriels souhaités. Ce convertisseur sera réalisé à même la fibre au moyen d’un réseau à longue période mécaniquement accordable [4]. Une autre méthode pour générer des modes vectoriels, utilisant un modulateur spatial de lumière, sera étudiée et comparée à la première. ii) La deuxième étape consistera à transmettre des modes simultanément et à les détecter séparément à la sortie de la fibre multimode au moyen d’un dispositif de démultiplexage spatial. iii) Ensuite, la caractérisation précise de ces modes vectoriels sera réalisée en générant un réseau de Brillouin dynamique dans la fibre, une technique métrologique avancée prometteuse pour les communications par fibre optique [5] et les capteurs à fibre distribués [6]. iv) La phase finale consistera à exploiter les modes vectoriels pour le développement de nouvelles techniques de caractérisation de multiplexage spatial et de capteurs multiparamétriques distribués.

Résultats

Jusqu’à présent, nous avons démontré l’excitation sélective des modes vectoriels cylindriques au sein de fibres faiblement multimodes au moyen d’un réseau à fibre de longue période [4] et étudié leurs propriétés Brillouin non linéaires dans le but de caractériser sur toute leur longueur les liaisons de télécommunication à fibre optique, ainsi que pour étudier leur potentiel dans les applications de capteurs à fibre distribués [4, 7]. Dans cet article, nous avons présenté pour la première fois la mesure des spectres de gain de Brillouin (voir la figure 1) de modes vectoriels dans une fibre faiblement multimode en ayant recours à une simple technique de détection hétérodyne. Un réseau à longue période mécaniquement accordable est ici utilisé pour exciter de manière sélective les modes vectoriels transmis par la fibre faiblement multimode. En outre, nous démontrons la mesure non destructive des indices de réfraction effectifs absolus (neff) des modes vectoriels avec une précision de ~10–4. Une technique qui repose sur les changements de fréquence Brillouin de ces modes. Cette technique représente un nouvel outil de mesure et de contrôle des modes vectoriels ainsi que des modes avec moment angulaire orbital dans les fibres optiques, effectuant ainsi un pas en avant dans le développement d’applications en communications optiques avancées et en détection multiparamétrique.

La technique repose sur les changements de fréquence Brillouin des modes dans la fibre optique

Fig. 1. Spectres de gain de Brillouin mesurés pour les modes vectoriels fondamentaux et d’ordre élevé, et courbes de lissage gaussiennes correspondantes [7].

Récemment, nous avons travaillé sur la génération de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques dits « parfaits » à l’aide de la transformation de Fourier des faisceaux vectoriels de Bessel-Gauss [8]. Plusieurs groupes de recherche [9, 10] ont démontré qu’il était possible de générer des faisceaux « vortex parfaits » (c’est-à-dire des faisceaux avec moment angulaire orbital), dont l’anneau d’intensité lumineuse est de diamètre et de largeur précisément contrôlés. Ces travaux récents décrivent la capacité de maintenir la forme de l’intensité du faisceau indépendamment de sa charge topologique. En outre, on a pu démontrer qu’on pouvait ajuster le diamètre annulaire de cette nouvelle classe de faisceaux vectoriels indépendamment de l’ordre de polarisation. Toutefois, à notre connaissance, l’ajustement indépendant du diamètre et de la largeur de l’anneau d’intensité des faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits n’a pas encore été démontré dans son intégralité. Jusqu’à présent, les efforts pour ajuster complètement le profil d’intensité de ces faisceaux ont réussi à obtenir des faisceaux dont seul le diamètre est ajustable et dont la pureté est limitée [11] (montrant une intensité lumineuse résiduelle au centre de l’anneau) par une méthode peu flexible en raison de l’utilisation d’un élément optique statique (phase de Pancharatnam-Berry) [11]. Dans cet article, nous démontrons la génération de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits dont le profil d’intensité transversal (largeur et diamètre de l’anneau) peut être ajusté indépendamment et facilement au moyen d’un iris et un masque de phase inscrits sur un modulateur spatial de lumière programmable, comme le montre la figure 2.

génération de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits

Fig 2. Génération expérimentale et simulée de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits. Le type de faisceau généré (TM01, TE01, HE21 pair et impair) dépend des charges topologiques et des déphasages attribués à chaque faisceau interférant [8].

L’obtention des faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits est possible grâce à une méthode interférométrique employant un modulateur spatial de lumière qui permet d’ajuster indépendamment le diamètre et la largeur de l’anneau d’intensité. Le schème proposé permet de générer différents types de faisceaux présentant des dimensions transversales précises et prédéfinies par l’utilisateur. L’obtention dynamique de différents types de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits (dans cette recherche : modes TM01, TE01, HE21 pairs et impairs) de largeur et de diamètre souhaités a été démontrée de façon théorique et expérimentale. La capacité de générer des faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques parfaits influence la propagation efficace de modes plus exotiques dans des fibres optiques spéciales, dans le domaine des pinces optiques de même qu’en microscopie à très haute résolution.

Retombées

La recherche proposée contribuera à démystifier la physique sous-jacente qui guide les interactions lumière-matière à l’intérieur des fibres faiblement multimode et à élaborer de nouvelles méthodes scientifiques pour générer, transmettre, moduler et caractériser les modes vectoriels qui constituent la base fondamentale de la propagation de la lumière dans ces guides d’ondes essentiels. Ce faisant, les résultats de la recherche auront une influence directe sur l’élaboration de nouvelles techniques métrologiques pour la prochaine génération des réseaux de communication à haute vitesse, un domaine stratégique du développement socioéconomique moderne, ainsi que dans le domaine des capteurs à fibre distribués, qui promettent des avancées dans la télésurveillance en temps réel de structures de génie civil et en recherche biomédicale.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter les articles suivants :

Pradhan, P., et al., The Brillouin gain of vector modes in a few-mode fiber. Scientific Reports, 2017. 7.

Pradhan, P., Sharma, M., & Ung, B. (2018). Generation of perfect cylindrical vector beams with complete control over the ring width and ring diameter. IEEE Photonics Journal, 10(1).

Prabin Pradhan

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Prabin Pradhan est doctorant au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la génération et la caractérisation de faisceaux vectoriels cylindriques dans une fibre faiblement multimodale.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Bora Ung

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Bora Ung est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS et membre du regroupement stratégique Centre d’optique, photonique et laser (COPL).

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *