SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Predicting Materials Behaviour by Studying Microstructures - By : Mohammad Jahazi,

Predicting Materials Behaviour by Studying Microstructures


As holder of the Industrial Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys, Mohammad Jahazi received the Board of Directors’ Research Award of Excellence at the ÉTS 2018 Recognition Gala for his prolific research activities. This Chair receives the largest amount of funding at ÉTS.

 

Mohammad Jahazi
Mohammad Jahazi Author profile
Mohammad Jahazi is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research focuses on the interactions between manufacturing processes, material microstructure and mechanical properties

Microstructure of a solid undergoing a forming process

The header image was provided by the author and is subject to Substance’s CC license.

Exploring the Infinitely Small…

It is generally acknowledged that solids, unlike gases and liquids, are inactive. In fact, solids are made of atoms stacked in crystallographic structures formed to minimize energy. These structures vary depending on the atoms present, and the process used to shape the objects, and are at the origin of the differences in properties observed from one solid to another.

Shaping metal objects can create internal stresses, which can in turn cause distortions such that parts no longer conform to the design dimensions of the technical drawings. Sometimes a deviation of plus or minus two degrees is enough to make a part unusable, resulting in losses of several hundred thousand dollars.

Researchers of the Industrial Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys study microstructure evolution under the effect of shaping parameters in order to link them to the final properties of manufactured objects.

… To the Extremely Large!

Designing a metal piece starts with determining the elements that will compose it. Adding a tiny number of atoms to the crystal lattice of another material can drastically change its mechanical properties.

Subsequently, making larger parts like landing gears, turbines or wind turbine blades will usually involve casting: heating the material to its melting point, then solidifying it in a mould. The resulting part is close to being final in about 20 percent of cases after this first shaping. The remaining 80 percent must be subjected to further shaping processes before finishing: rolling, forging, extrusion, etc.

heating the material to its melting point

 

Several variables will affect the resulting properties starting with the casting temperature and the way the parts are cooled. However, it is the parameters of this subsequent secondary shaping that will be crucial to the behaviour of the manufactured object. For example, if a press is used, the rate and percentage of deformation and the temperature at which this operation is performed will have an important impact on the performance of the final object. This impact is not easy to predict because of the interactions between these parameters.

Refroidissement après coulée

From Trial-and-Error to Materials Engineering Using Integrated Modeling

Procédé de mise en forma secondaireManufacturing costs of new parts or materials like aircraft landing gears, turbine or windmill shafts, or a new lighter and stronger alloy for the automotive industry, are prohibitive. New products can no longer be developed using the traditional method of trial-and-error. To limit the trials and their costs, the materials engineer must try to understand how the different shaping parameters impact the microstructure like grain size, shape, composition, distribution of different phases, etc.

Accurate mathematical models must be developed in order to limit manufacturing trials to a minimum and to obtain high-performance products. These highly complex models are used to link the shaping process parameters to the microstructure characteristics of the resulting material and its properties. They must be able to link the characteristics at the microscopic level to the behaviour at the macroscopic level, hence the need to know the laws that govern the evolution of a microstructure.

Mohammad Jahazi

Author's profile

Mohammad Jahazi is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research focuses on the interactions between manufacturing processes, material microstructure and mechanical properties

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : Industrial Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys 

Research laboratories : P2SEL – Products, Processes and Systems Engineering Laboratory  LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Étudier la microstructure pour prédire le comportement des matériaux - Par : Mohammad Jahazi,

Étudier la microstructure pour prédire le comportement des matériaux


Mohammad Jahazi a reçu le prix d’excellence Recherche du Conseil d’administration lors du Gala reconnaissance 2018 de l’ÉTS en raison des activités de recherche prolifiques de la Chaire de recherche industrielle en technologies de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique, dont il est le titulaire. Cette chaire bénéficie du plus important financement à l’ÉTS.

 

Mohammad Jahazi
Mohammad Jahazi Profil de l'auteur(e)
Mohammad Jahazi est professeur au Département de génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les interactions entre les procédés de fabrication, la microstructure des matériaux et les propriétés mécaniques.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Microstructure d’un solide mis en forme

L’image d’en-tête est de l’auteur et est soumise à la licence CC de Substance.

Voyage dans l’infiniment petit…

On considère généralement que les solides, contrairement aux gaz et aux liquides, sont inactifs. En fait, les solides sont constitués d’atomes empilés en structures cristallographiques, formées de manière à minimiser l’énergie. Ces structures varient selon les atomes présents et le procédé utilisé pour mettre en forme les objets, et sont à l’origine des différences de propriétés observées d’un solide à l’autre.

La mise en forme d’objets métalliques peut créer des contraintes internes, lesquelles sont source de distorsions faisant en sorte que les pièces ne respectent plus les dimensions de conception des dessins techniques. Parfois, une déviation de plus ou moins deux degrés est suffisante pour rendre une pièce inutilisable et entraîner des pertes de plusieurs centaines de milliers de dollars.

Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche industrielle en technologies de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique étudient l’évolution des microstructures obtenues sous l’effet des paramètres de mise en forme afin de les relier aux propriétés finales des objets fabriqués.

… jusqu’au très grand!

La conception d’une pièce métallique commence par la détermination des éléments qui la composeront. L’ajout d’une toute petite quantité d’atomes dans le réseau cristallin d’un autre matériau peut changer drastiquement les propriétés mécaniques de ce dernier.

Par la suite, pour fabriquer de grosses pièces, comme un train d’atterrissage ou encore une aube de turbine ou d’éolienne, on effectuera habituellement une coulée, soit le chauffage du matériau jusqu’à sa fusion, puis sa solidification dans un moule. La pièce ainsi obtenue est presque finale dans environ 20 pour cent des cas après cette mise en forme primaire. Les 80 pour cent restants doivent être soumis à des procédés de mise en forme secondaire avant la finition : laminage, forgeage, extrusion…

Refroidissement après coulée

 

Plusieurs variables auront un effet sur les propriétés obtenues à commencer par la température de la coulée et la manière dont les pièces sont refroidies. Toutefois, ce sont les paramètres de la mise en forme secondaire qui auront une importance cruciale sur le comportement de l’objet fabriqué. Par exemple, si une presse est utilisée, la vitesse de déformation, le pourcentage de déformation ainsi que la température à laquelle cette opération est effectuée  auront tous une grande influence sur les performances d’un objet au final. Cette influence n’est pas facile à prédire du fait des interactions qui existent entre ces paramètres.

Refroidissement après coulée

De la méthode essais-erreurs à l’ingénierie des matériaux par modélisation intégrée

Procédé de mise en forma secondaireLes coûts de fabrication de nouvelles pièces ou de nouveaux matériaux, comme un arbre de turbine ou un nouvel alliage plus léger mais plus résistant pour l’industrie automobile, sont exorbitants. On ne peut donc plus se permettre de créer de nouveaux produits par la méthode traditionnelle d’essais-erreurs. Pour limiter les essais et donc les coûts, l’ingénieur en matériaux doit tenter de comprendre comment les différents paramètres de mise en forme influencent la microstructure comme la taille des grains, la forme, la composition, la distribution des différentes phases, etc.

Des modèles mathématiques précis doivent être développés afin de limiter les essais de fabrication au minimum et d’obtenir des produits performants. Ces modèles fort complexes ont pour objectif de relier les paramètres du procédé de mise en forme aux caractéristiques de la microstructure du matériau obtenu ainsi qu’à ses propriétés. Ils doivent être capables de relier les caractéristiques du niveau microscopique au comportement du niveau macroscopique., d’où le besoin de connaître les lois qui régissent l’évolution de la microstructure.

 

 

 

 

Mohammad Jahazi

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Mohammad Jahazi est professeur au Département de génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les interactions entre les procédés de fabrication, la microstructure des matériaux et les propriétés mécaniques.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche industrielle en technologies de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIPPS – Laboratoire d'ingénierie des produits, procédés et systèmes  LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)