SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Improving Heat Pump Performance with Solar Energy - By : Pierre-Luc Paradis, Daniel R. Rousse, Louis Lamarche, Hakim Nesreddine,

Improving Heat Pump Performance with Solar Energy


Most air conditioning systems can be reversed, i.e. they can be used as a heating system. In such a scenario, it is possible to use solar energy to maximize the system’s heating performance. Coupling is even more interesting when photovoltaic modules are used. We find ourselves in a situation where the performance of each component can be simultaneously improved.

 

Pierre-Luc Paradis
Pierre-Luc Paradis Author profile
Pierre-Luc Paradis holds a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from ÉTS. His research focuses on the modeling and design of thermal systems, solar energy and heat pumps.

Daniel R. Rousse
Daniel R. Rousse Author profile
Daniel R. Rousse is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. His research interests include sustainable and renewable energy, Measurements in energy, and transfer, conservation, conversion and production of energy.

Louis Lamarche
Louis Lamarche Author profile
Louis Lamarche is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include heat transfert, simulation of energetic and mechanical systems, geothermal systems and instrumentation.

Hakim Nesreddine
Hakim Nesreddine Author profile
Hakim Nesreddine is a researcher at Hydro Québec's LTE (Laboratoire des technologies de l’énergie). His research focuses on refrigeration systems, heat recovery, energy efficiency and decentralized energy generation.

Building façade peppered with air conditioners

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Heat Pumps

We see more and more residential buildings equipped with air conditioning to maintain the comfort level of occupants during hot summer days. In the case of multi-unit buildings, it is not uncommon to see decentralized systems where each dwelling has its own system, as shown in Figure 1. Typically, a heat exchanger with a fan (also called a fan coil unit) is installed inside the apartment and the rest of the system is located directly on the balcony or on a wall bracket (Figure 1). The external part of the system includes a compressor and a second heat exchanger equipped with a fan that rejects heat into the outside ambient air during summer. These systems are often reversible: in addition to air conditioning, they can serve as a heating system. The system then acts as a “heat pump” since its function is to transfer heat from a cold environment to a warm one. In the summer, the heat pump keeps apartments cool while it is hot outside; in the winter it does the opposite. However, the performance in heating mode is affected by the outside ambient air temperature: the colder it is outside, the lower the performance of the heat pump will be, while at the same time, the building’s heating needs increase.

Building packed with individual air conditioners

Figure 1 Multi-unit buildings equipped with air conditioning systems (photo taken in the Trois-Rivières area)

Coupling with Solar Collectors

To maintain the heat pump’s heating performance despite the decrease in temperature of the outside ambient air, solar collectors can be used, as the outdoor unit of the heat pump is usually installed on the balcony. If the facade of the building is exposed to the sun for much of the day, the glass panes of the balcony railings could simply be replaced with solar collectors. The idea is to use solar collectors to increase the heat pump evaporator capacity, consisting of a heat exchanger and a fan. This way, the sun’s energy is reclaimed, in addition to drawing in the cold outside air to evaporate the heat pump’s refrigerant (heat transfer fluid).

Photovoltaic Module

The advantage is twofold in the case of a photovoltaic (PV) module, a type of solar collector known to convert solar radiation into electricity. The efficiency of a PV module is about 15%. This value fluctuates according to the technology used, but it currently does not exceed 25%. However, such low efficiency leads to parasitic heating of the PV module being used. Its temperature can easily reach 50 °C under rated operating conditions.

Advantages of Coupling

Increasing the temperature of PV cells is detrimental as it reduces their electrical conversion efficiency. Thus, the performance of both the heat pump and the PV module are affected by a temperature variation. By combining these two systems, the heat of the solar collector can be used to boost the heat pump’s heating performance. At the same time, the solar collector’s operating temperature is reduced to maximize its electrical performance.

PV/T Solar Evaporator

To do this, a heat exchanger can be installed on the back of the solar collector, as shown in Figure 2a) and Figure 2b). The heat pump coolant evaporates behind the collector and reclaims its thermal energy. This constitutes a hybrid photovoltaic/thermal (PV/T) solar evaporator that produces both electricity and heat. In Figure 2a), a coil-shaped tube is used as the exchanger. This geometry has the advantage of providing a uniform and constant flow throughout the exchanger. The tube is attached to the back of the panel using an epoxy adhesive containing aluminum particles to maximize its thermal conductivity, as shown in Figure 2b).

Heat exchanger assembly

Figure 2a) Coil-shaped heat exchanger installed at the back of a photovoltaic module; b) Epoxy glue used to attach the heat exchanger behind the solar collector

Types of Solar Collectors

Figure 2c) shows various solar collector concepts being tested on the Michel-Trottier HélioLAB rooftop of Pavilion A at Montréal’s École de technologie supérieure. On the left, the solar collector is simply made of a black-painted steel sheet and a coil-shaped tube glued to the back. In the centre, a hybrid PV/T solar collector includes PV cells, a steel sheet and a coil. On the right, a standard PV module (without heat exchanger) serves as a reference for electrical energy production. The solar collectors on the left and centre are connected in parallel to a CO2 transcritical heat pump prototype, developed in recent years. More details can be found on the Abscisse Énergie website.

Solar panels installed on the École de technologie supérieure rooftop

Figure 2c) Different types of solar collectors installed on the rooftop of Pavilion A at Montréal’s École de technologie supérieure

Additional Information

The three types of solar absorber plate related to the three different solar collector geometries were modeled in detail in the following article:

The photovoltaic/thermal hybrid solar evaporator simulation is described in the following article:

Finally, the use of a CO2 heat pump and a hot water storage tank for hot water production has also been studied in the following article:

Pierre-Luc Paradis

Author's profile

Pierre-Luc Paradis holds a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from ÉTS. His research focuses on the modeling and design of thermal systems, solar energy and heat pumps.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Engineering 

Author profile

Daniel R. Rousse

Author's profile

Daniel R. Rousse is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. His research interests include sustainable and renewable energy, Measurements in energy, and transfer, conservation, conversion and production of energy.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Author profile

Louis Lamarche

Author's profile

Louis Lamarche is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include heat transfert, simulation of energetic and mechanical systems, geothermal systems and instrumentation.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Author profile

Hakim Nesreddine

Author's profile

Hakim Nesreddine is a researcher at Hydro Québec's LTE (Laboratoire des technologies de l’énergie). His research focuses on refrigeration systems, heat recovery, energy efficiency and decentralized energy generation.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
L’énergie solaire pour améliorer les performances des pompes à chaleur - Par : Pierre-Luc Paradis, Daniel R. Rousse, Louis Lamarche, Hakim Nesreddine,

L’énergie solaire pour améliorer les performances des pompes à chaleur


La plupart des systèmes de climatisation ont la capacité d’être inversé c’est-à-dire qu’il peuvent être utilisé comme système de chauffage. Dans un tel scénario, il est possible d’utiliser l’énergie solaire pour maximiser les performances de chauffage du système. Le couplage est d’autant plus intéressant lorsqu’on utilise des modules photovoltaïques. On se retrouve alors dans une situation où on peut améliorer simultanément les performances de chaque composant.

Pierre-Luc Paradis
Pierre-Luc Paradis Profil de l'auteur(e)
Pierre-Luc Paradis est titulaire d’un doctorat en génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la modélisation et la conception de systèmes thermiques, l’énergie solaire et les pompes à chaleur.

Daniel R. Rousse
Daniel R. Rousse Profil de l'auteur(e)
Daniel R. Rousse est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’énergie durable et renouvelable, la métrologie énergétique, le transfert, la conservation, la conversion et la production de l’énergie.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Louis Lamarche
Louis Lamarche est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur le transfert de chaleur, la simulation de systèmes énergétiques et mécaniques, la géothermie et l’instrumentation.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Hakim Nesreddine
Hakim Nesreddine Profil de l'auteur(e)
Hakim Nesreddine est chercheur au LTE d’Hydro Québec. Ses recherches portent sur les systèmes de réfrigération, la récupération des rejets de chaleur, l’efficacité énergétique et la génération d’énergie décentralisée.

Façades d’immeubles remplies de climatiseurs

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur

Les pompes à chaleur

On voit de plus en plus de bâtiments résidentiels équipés de système de climatisation afin de maintenir le confort des occupants durant les chaudes journées d’été. Dans le cas des bâtiments multirésidentiels, il n’est pas rare de voir des systèmes décentralisés où chaque unité d’habitation possède son propre système, comme représenté à la Figure 1. Typiquement, un échangeur de chaleur équipé d’un ventilateur est installé à l’intérieur de l’appartement alors que le reste du système est installé directement sur le balcon ou sur un support mural (Figure 1). La partie extérieure du système comprend le compresseur de même qu’un second échangeur de chaleur équipé d’un ventilateur qui a pour fonction de rejeter la chaleur dans l’air ambiant extérieur en été. Bien souvent ces systèmes sont réversibles c’est-à-dire qu’en plus de climatiser, ils peuvent servir comme système de chauffage. Le système agit alors comme une « pompe à chaleur », car il a pour fonction de transférer l’énergie thermique d’un milieu froid vers un milieu chaud. En été, la pompe à chaleur garde votre appartement frais alors qu’il fait chaud à l’extérieur. L’hiver elle accomplit l’inverse. Ces performances en mode chauffage ont toutefois l’inconvénient d’être affectées par la température de l’air ambiant extérieur. Ainsi, plus il fait froid à l’extérieur, moins les performances de la pompe à chaleur seront intéressantes alors que parallèlement, les besoins de chauffage du bâtiment augmentent.

Bâtiments remplis de climatiseurs individuels

Figure 1 Bâtiments multirésidentiels équipés de systèmes de climatisation (photo prise dans la région de Trois-Rivières)

Couplage avec des collecteurs solaires

Afin de maintenir les performances de chauffage de la pompe à chaleur malgré la diminution de température de l’air ambiant extérieur, il est possible d’utiliser des collecteurs solaires. En effet, l’unité extérieure de la pompe à chaleur est généralement installée sur le balcon. Si la façade du bâtiment est exposée au soleil durant une grande partie de la journée, les panneaux vitrés des garde-corps du balcon pourraient simplement être remplacés par des collecteurs solaires. L’idée est d’utiliser les collecteurs solaires pour augmenter la capacité de l’évaporateur de la pompe à chaleur, constitué de l’échangeur de chaleur et du ventilateur. On récupère ainsi l’énergie du soleil en plus de puiser dans l’air froid extérieur pour évaporer le réfrigérant (le fluide caloporteur) de la pompe à chaleur.

Le module photovoltaïque

L’avantage est double dans le cas d’un module photovoltaïque (PV), un type de collecteur solaire connu pour convertir le rayonnement solaire en électricité. En effet, le rendement d’un module PV est d’environ 15 %. Cette valeur varie en fonction de la technologie utilisée, mais ne dépasse pas 25 % à l’heure actuelle. Or, ce faible rendement conduit à un échauffement parasite du module PV en service. Sa température peut facilement atteindre 50 °C sous les conditions nominales de fonctionnement.

Les avantages du couplage

L’augmentation de température des cellules PV est nuisible, car elle réduit leur rendement de conversion électrique. Ainsi, les performances de la pompe à chaleur et du module PV sont toutes les deux affectées par la température. En combinant ces deux systèmes, on récupère la chaleur du collecteur solaire pour favoriser les performances de chauffage de la pompe à chaleur. Simultanément, on réduit la température d’opération du collecteur solaire pour maximiser ses performances électriques.

L’évaporateur solaire PV/T

Pour ce faire, il est possible de fixer un échangeur de chaleur sur la face arrière du collecteur solaire comme représenté à la Figure 2a) et à la Figure 2b). Le réfrigérant de la pompe à chaleur s’évapore derrière le collecteur et récupère son énergie thermique. On obtient ainsi un collecteur solaire hybride photovoltaïque/thermique (PV/T) capable de produire à la fois de l’électricité et de la chaleur. À la Figure 2a), un tube en forme de serpentin est utilisé comme échangeur. Cette géométrie possède l’avantage de procurer un débit uniforme et constant tout au long de l’échangeur. Le tube est fixé à l’arrière du panneau à l’aide d’une colle époxy intégrant des particules d’aluminium pour maximiser sa conductivité thermique comme représenté à la Figure 2b).

Montage échangeur de chaleur

Figure 2 a) Échangeur de chaleur en forme de serpentin fixé derrière un module photovoltaïque; b) Colle époxy utilisée pour fixer l’échangeur de chaleur derrière le collecteur solaire

Les types de collecteurs solaires

La Figure 2c) présente différents concepts de collecteurs solaires qui sont testés sur le toit de l’HélioLAB Michel-Trottier situé sur le pavillon A de l’École de technologie supérieure de Montréal. À gauche, le collecteur solaire est simplement composé d’une tôle d’acier peinte en noire et d’un tube en forme de serpentin collé à l’arrière. Au centre, un collecteur solaire hybride PV/T comprend des cellules PV, une tôle d’acier et un serpentin. À droite, un module PV standard (sans échangeur de chaleur) sert de référence pour la production d’énergie électrique. Les collecteurs solaires de gauche et du centre sont raccordés en parallèle à un prototype de pompe à chaleur transcritique au CO2, développé au cours des dernières années. On peut trouver plus de détails sur le site  Abscisse énergie.

Panneaux solaires installés sur le toit de l’École de technologie supérieure.

Figure 2 c) Différents types de collecteurs solaires installés sur le toit du pavillon A de l’École de technologie supérieure de Montréal

Information supplémentaire

Les trois types de collecteurs solaires ont été modélisés en détail dans l’article suivant :

La simulation de l’évaporateur solaire hybride photovoltaïque/thermique a été réalisé dans l’article suivant :

Finalement, l’utilisation d’une pompe à chaleur au CO2 pour la production d’eau chaude a aussi été étudié dans l’article suivant :

Pierre-Luc Paradis

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Pierre-Luc Paradis est titulaire d’un doctorat en génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la modélisation et la conception de systèmes thermiques, l’énergie solaire et les pompes à chaleur.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Daniel R. Rousse

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Daniel R. Rousse est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’énergie durable et renouvelable, la métrologie énergétique, le transfert, la conservation, la conversion et la production de l’énergie.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Louis Lamarche

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Louis Lamarche est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur le transfert de chaleur, la simulation de systèmes énergétiques et mécaniques, la géothermie et l’instrumentation.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hakim Nesreddine

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hakim Nesreddine est chercheur au LTE d’Hydro Québec. Ses recherches portent sur les systèmes de réfrigération, la récupération des rejets de chaleur, l’efficacité énergétique et la génération d’énergie décentralisée.

Profil de l'auteur(e)