SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Otoacoustic Emissions: an Objective Measure of Hearing Health - By : Vincent Nadon, Jérémie Voix,

Otoacoustic Emissions: an Objective Measure of Hearing Health


Vincent Nadon
Vincent Nadon Author profile
Vincent Nadon is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include signal processing, electronics, acoustics, hearing conservation, and health.

Jérémie Voix
Jérémie Voix Author profile
Jérémie Voix is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS and holds the NSERC-EERS CRITIAS Chair. His research interests include noise control, advanced hearing protection, mechatronics, and signal and data processing.

Otoacoustic emiisions emitted by the ear

The featured image was bought from Istock.com and is protected by copyrights.

SUMMARY

Despite efforts to integrate hearing conservation programs into the workplace, noise-induced hearing loss remains the number one cause of disability among North American workers. To better assess the risk in the workplace, changes in workers' hearing health can be correlated with the level of ambient noise. The purpose of the study presented below is to develop an approach to improve hearing conservation practises by continuously monitoring otoacoustic emissions.

Introduction

Every year, more than 22 million workers (NIOSH, 2016) are exposed to  daily noise that can lead to significant short or long term hearing loss. Despite the efforts of occupational hearing conservation programs,  noise-induced hearing loss remains the most common cause of work-related disability, accounting for 72.5% of registered accepted cases (CNESST, 2017). The means of prevention currently used in industry are outdated and based on historical data that do not necessarily reflect the latest findings related to the functionality of the auditory system. Unfortunately, the intervals between screening and follow-up tests are too long to be able to detect hearing disorders in time, before they become permanent.

Otoacoustic emissions

System measuring otoacoustic emissions with DPOAE

Fig. 1 Representation of the ear with the otoacoustic emission measurement system.

A new auditory health monitoring technique has been integrated in a portable system designed for industrial use. This technique is based on the measurement of  otoacoustic emissions, “oto” meaning of the ear, as presented in Fig.  1. These emissions are small sounds emitted (in red) by the cochlea from inside the inner ear, which can be evoked by a miniature speaker and captured using a small microphone positioned in the occluded ear canal. The sound pressure level of these otoacoustic emissions, measured here with the distortion product otoacoustic emission (DPOAE) technique, indicates the health status of the outer hair cells (Fig.  2). The role of these cells has been discovered recently in the history of audiology, and their function is to amplify or reduce the movement of the basilar membrane, which is then transformed into an electrical signal by the inner hair cells to be sent along the auditory nerve to the auditory cortex, in the brain. When the outer hair cells are affected by noise exposure, the level of otoacoustic emission decreases. It can therefore be deduced that the noise dose received has been harmful to the hearing health. The DPOAE measurement technique has been used for several years already, but recently its use is more frequent and of greater interest in getting more information on hearing health, especially for the inner ear.

The outer hair cells emits otoacoustic emissions

Fig. 2 Organ of Corti in the human ear cochlea

The combined use of a noise dosimeter to measure the sound level of the noise to which the worker is exposed and the measurement of otoacoustic emissions to evaluate the effect of this exposure, gives the possibility to determine the exact causes of hearing loss in an industrial setting and, eventually, prevent it by establishing a personalized maximum dose for each worker based on the changes observed during their previous working day.

Preliminary study

New system measuring otoacoustic emissions with DPOAE

Fig. 3 Illustration of the experiment conducted on participants. The designed system is compared to a reference DPOAE measurement system

A preliminary study was conducted on participants (Fig.  3) with a first portable prototype (Fig.  1) (Nadon, Bockstael, Botteldooren, & Voix, 2017)  designed to measure their otoacoustic emissions in a noisy environment where the average sound level can vary between 65 and 75 dB (SPL). As part of the study, participants were exposed to various types of noise up to 90 dB(SPL), such as industrial noise and broadband noise—also known as white noise—as well as a control condition, without noise. A typical day of noise exposure is presented at the top of Fig.  4.

Results of the Preliminary Study and the Developed Model

The effect of the noise dose on participants’ hearing health is presented at the bottom of Fig.  4. DPOAE levels are lower after approximately 325 minutes (5 hours 25 minutes) of noise exposure and increase gradually during the recovery phase, which extends to the 375th minute approximately. The results of the study have defined a model that shows the effect of noise on the ear (Fig.  5) and to better observe  the onset of hearing loss in humans. This model also makes it possible to assess the recovery rate of the ear following short-term trauma. This study supports the latest research on so-called “hidden” hearing loss (Liberman & Kujawa, 2017) by observing  changes in auditory function not measurable by the audiogram (the traditional hearing test) thanks to otoacoustic emissions.

Otoacoustic emissions level according to noise exposure.

Fig. 4 Top: noise levels to which participants were exposed. Bottom: levels of otoacoustic emissions at different f2 frequencies (in Hz) of stimulation as a function of time. Some data points were rejected due to the high noise levels.

Hearing loss according to frequencies

Fig. 5 Data simulated using the model identified from the data obtained during experimental tests. The onset of the hearing loss is presented according to the f2 frequencies (4000-5667 Hz) and the simulated noise level is presented at the bottom right.

Conclusions

Unfortunately, hearing loss entails high costs for society, particularly for the coverage of hearing aids and the various health care services involved.

The results of the preliminary study indicate that it is possible to establish a dose-response relationship between the noise dose to which participants are exposed and its effects on their hearing health. This way, it will be possible to establish personalized exposure limits for workers and, at the same time, prevent noise-induced hearing loss.

Vincent Nadon and Professor Jérémie Voix are currently testing a second version of the portable system, allowing more advanced otoacoustic emissions tests. The results are collected from a control group with low noise exposure levels and compared with a group working in an industrial environment and exposed to moderate noise levels.

Additional Information

For more information, please refer to the following article:

Nadon, V., Bockstael, A., Botteldooren, D., & Voix, J. (2017). Field Monitoring of Otoacoustic Emissions During Noise Exposure: Pilot Study in Controlled Environment. American Journal of Audiology, 26(3S), 352.

Vincent Nadon

Author's profile

Vincent Nadon is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include signal processing, electronics, acoustics, hearing conservation, and health.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : NSERC-EERS Industrial Research Chair in In-Ear Technologies 

Research laboratories : ÉREST – Research Team in Occupational Safety and Industrial Risk Analysis 

Author profile

Jérémie Voix

Author's profile

Jérémie Voix is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS and holds the NSERC-EERS CRITIAS Chair. His research interests include noise control, advanced hearing protection, mechatronics, and signal and data processing.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : NSERC-EERS Industrial Research Chair in In-Ear Technologies 

Research laboratories : ÉREST – Research Team in Occupational Safety and Industrial Risk Analysis 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Les émissions otoacoustiques : une mesure de la santé auditive - Par : Vincent Nadon, Jérémie Voix,

Les émissions otoacoustiques : une mesure de la santé auditive


Vincent Nadon
Vincent Nadon est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur le traitement de signal, l’électronique, l’acoustique, la conservation de l’ouïe et la santé.

Jérémie Voix
Jérémie Voix est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l'ÉTS et titulaire de la Chaire CRITIAS. Ses recherches portent sur le contrôle du bruit, la protection auditive, la mécatronique et le traitement du signal et des données.

Émissions otoacoustiques émises par l’oreille

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Malgré les efforts pour intégrer les programmes de conservation de l’ouïe en milieu de travail, la perte auditive induite par le bruit demeure la cause numéro un d’invalidité chez les travailleurs nord-américains. Pour mieux évaluer le risque que présente le milieu de travail, on peut corréler les changements de la santé auditive des travailleurs avec le niveau de bruit ambiant. Le but de l’étude présentée ci-dessous est donc de développer une approche qui pourrait améliorer les pratiques de conservation de l’ouïe en effectuant un suivi continu des émissions otoacoustiques.

Introduction

Chaque année plus de 22 millions de travailleurs (NIOSH, 2016) sont exposés à une dose de bruit journalière pouvant entraîner à court ou moyen terme une perte auditive importante. Malgré les efforts des programmes de conservation de l’ouïe en milieu de travail, la surdité professionnelle demeure la plus fréquente cause d’invalidité reliée au travail, représentant 72,5 % des dossiers enregistrés et acceptés (CNESST, 2017). Les moyens de prévention utilisés actuellement en industrie sont dépassés et se basent sur des données historiques qui ne reflètent pas forcément les dernières découvertes liées au fonctionnement du système auditif. Les tests de dépistage et de suivi sont malheureusement effectués à intervalles trop grands pour détecter les troubles d’audition à temps, soit avant qu’ils ne deviennent permanents.

Les émissions otoacoustiques

système de mesure des émissions otoacoustiques par DPOAE

Fig. 1 Représentation de l’oreille avec le système de mesure des émissions otoacoustiques.

Une nouvelle technique de suivi de la santé auditive a été intégrée à un système portable conçu pour un usage en industrie. Cette technique repose sur la mesure des émissions otoacoustiques, « oto » voulant dire de l’oreille, comme présenté à la Fig.  1. Ces émissions sont en fait de petits sons émis (en rouge) par la cochlée depuis l’intérieur de l’oreille interne, qui peuvent être provoqués à l’aide d’un haut-parleur miniature et captés à l’aide d’un petit microphone placé dans le conduit auditif. Le niveau sonore de ces émissions otoacoustiques, ici mesurées par la technique du produit de distorsion (distortion product otoacoustic emission, DPOAE), indique l’état de santé des cellules ciliées externes (Fig.  2). Le rôle de ces cellules a été découvert assez récemment dans l’histoire de l’audiologie, et – expliqué simplement- elles ont comme fonction d’amplifier ou de réduire le mouvement de la membrane basilaire, lequel est ensuite transformé en signal électrique par les cellules ciliées internes afin d’être envoyé le long du nerf auditif vers le cortex auditif, au cerveau. Lorsque les cellules ciliées externes sont affectées par une exposition au bruit, le niveau de l’émission otoacoustique diminue. On peut ainsi en déduire que la dose de bruit reçue a été nocive pour la santé auditive. La technique de mesure des DPOAE date de quelques années déjà, mais son utilisation est de plus en plus fréquente et intéressante pour aller chercher plus d’information sur la santé de l’oreille, plus particulièrement de l’oreille interne.

Les cellules ciliées externes émettent des émissions otoacoustiques

Fig. 2 Organe de Corti dans la cochlée de l’oreille humaine

À l’aide de l’utilisation combinée d’un dosimètre pour mesurer le niveau sonore des bruits auxquels le travailleur est exposé et de la mesure des émissions otoacoustiques pour évaluer l’effet de cette exposition, il sera donc possible de déterminer les causes exactes de la perte auditive en milieu industriel et, éventuellement, de la prévenir en établissant une dose maximale personnalisée pour chaque travailleur en fonction des changements observés lors de sa journée de travail précédente.

Étude préliminaire

Nouveau système de mesure des émissions otoacoustiques par DPOAE

Fig. 3 Illustration de l’expérience conduite sur des volontaires. Le système conçu est comparé à un système de référence de mesure des DPOAE

Une étude préliminaire a été menée sur des volontaires (Fig.  3) avec un premier prototype portable (Fig.  1) (Nadon, Bockstael, Botteldooren, & Voix, 2017) permettant de mesurer leurs émissions otoacoustiques dans un milieu bruyant, dont le niveau sonore moyen peut varier entre 65 et 75 dB (SPL). Dans le cadre de l’étude, les participants étaient exposés à divers types de bruits d’un niveau maximal avoisinant les 90 dB (SPLDéfinition : « niveau de pression acoustique par rapport à 20 µPa ». Réf Wikipedia.org. https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%A9cibel_(bruit)), tels que du bruit industriel et du bruit large bande, aussi appelé bruit blanc, ainsi qu’à une condition contrôle, sans bruit. Une journée d’exposition au bruit est présentée dans le haut de la Fig.  4.

Résultats de l’étude préliminaire et du modèle élaboré

L’effet de la dose de bruit sur la santé auditive des participants est présenté au bas de la Fig.  4. Les niveaux des DPOAE sont plus faibles après environ 325 minutes (5 h 25) d’exposition au bruit et augmentent progressivement pendant la phase de récupération, qui va jusqu’à environ la 375e minute. Les résultats de l’étude ont permis d’établir un modèle montrant l’effet du bruit sur l’oreille (Fig.  5) et permettant de mieux observer comment une perte auditive s’installe chez l’humain.  Ce modèle permet également de vérifier le taux de récupération de l’oreille suivant un traumatisme court terme. Cette étude appuie les dernières recherches en matière de perte auditive dite « cachée » (Liberman & Kujawa, 2017) puisqu’elle permet d’observer des changements de la fonction auditive non mesurables à l’audiogramme, le test d’audition classique, grâce aux émissions otoacoustiques.

Niveaux d’émissions acoustiques selon l’exposition au bruit

Fig. 4 Haut : niveaux du bruit auxquels les participants ont été exposés. Bas : niveaux des émissions otoacoustiques à différentes fréquences f2 (Hz) de stimulation en fonction du temps. Certains points ont été rejetés en fonction du bruit trop élevé.

Perte auditive en fonction des fréquences

Fig. 5 Données simulées à l’aide du modèle construit à partir des données obtenues lors de tests expérimentaux. Le progrès de la perte auditive est présenté en fonction des fréquences (4000-5667 Hz) et le niveau de bruit simulé est présenté en bas à droite.

Conclusions

La perte auditive entraîne malheureusement de grands coûts pour la société, particulièrement pour le remboursement des prothèses auditives et les différents soins de santé connexes.

Les résultats de l’étude préliminaire indiquent qu’il est possible d’établir une relation de dose-effet entre la dose de bruit à laquelle les participants sont exposés et les effets sur la santé auditive. De cette façon, il sera possible d’établir des limites d’exposition personnalisées pour les travailleurs et, du même coup, de mieux prévenir la perte auditive.

Vincent Nadon et le professeur Jérémie Voix sont présentement en période d’essai avec une deuxième version du système portable, permettant de faire des tests d’émissions otoacoustiques plus poussés. Les résultats sont recueillis sur un groupe contrôle ayant une faible exposition au bruit et comparés avec un groupe travaillant en milieu industriel et exposé au bruit de façon modérée.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, veuillez consulter l’article suivant :

Nadon, V., Bockstael, A., Botteldooren, D., & Voix, J. (2017). Field Monitoring of Otoacoustic Emissions During Noise Exposure: Pilot Study in Controlled Environment. American Journal of Audiology, 26(3S), 352.

Vincent Nadon

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vincent Nadon est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur le traitement de signal, l’électronique, l’acoustique, la conservation de l’ouïe et la santé.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie technologies de la santé 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche CRSNG-EERS en technologies intra-auriculaires 

Laboratoires de recherche : ÉREST – Équipe de recherche en sécurité du travail 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jérémie Voix

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jérémie Voix est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l'ÉTS et titulaire de la Chaire CRITIAS. Ses recherches portent sur le contrôle du bruit, la protection auditive, la mécatronique et le traitement du signal et des données.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie technologies de la santé 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche CRSNG-EERS en technologies intra-auriculaires 

Laboratoires de recherche : ÉREST – Équipe de recherche en sécurité du travail 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *