SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Tomorrow’s Drones will be Controlled by Torso Movements - By : Hanen Hattab,

Tomorrow’s Drones will be Controlled by Torso Movements


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Drone controlled through torso movements

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Civil and military drones participate in increasingly grueling and often dangerous missions. For example, they fly in hostile and difficult-to-navigate environments to monitor volcanic activity or individuals in a crowd. Using a joystick to effectively control such machines requires a lot of skill. A team from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) has created the Fly Jacket, a more efficient and easier to master method than a remote control device, thanks to an innovative teleoperation system.

Teleoperation of a Non-Humanoid Machine

The system combines virtual reality (VR) with smart clothing. Before presenting the study, here is a quick definition of teleoperation. According to an article in Techniques de l’ingénieur, teleoperation is “a set of techniques that allows humans to remotely replicate their actions in real time (observation, handling) through sensory feedback.” The techniques used are intended to increase the machine’s precision and dexterity. Communication between teleoperator and machine is done through technologies that instantly translate and transmit human movements. In the field of robotics, for example, teleoperation can ensure collaboration and haptic interaction between a humanoid and a human-automated arm. The technological challenge of the Fly Jacket was to ensure the interaction between a pilot and a non-humanoid machine.

 

System Functions

The goal of this technology is to free the hands and attention of the person piloting a drone so that constant visual contact, especially with the surroundings, can be maintained. The jacket allows the teleoperator to focus more on the actions that the machine must perform. To do this, teleoperators use their torso to remotely control the drone through a smart jacket called the Fly Jacket. The jacket is an interface between the operator’s movements and those of the drone. The immersive environment, which could be a screen or VR glasses, makes it possible to see the drone’s flight in real time. The interface must be intuitive, in other words, able to effectively synchronize interactions between human and drone. Silvestro Micera, professor of Biomedical Engineering at the Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna University in Italy, claims that the Fly Jacket technology “significantly improves teleoperation of non-humanoid robots”.

Interface Design

The first step in designing the interface was to determine the number of body motion sensors and their layout in the jacket required to control the drone intuitively. To do this, the team analyzed the torso movements and muscular activities of 17 individuals guiding the machines remotely. The teleoperators wore 19 motion sensors for the tests. They viewed simulated flights with VR glasses. Two types of remote controls were tested: the first using the torso and the second, torso and arms. A study of the collected data showed that 4 sensors placed on the torso were enough to adequately control the machine. Subsequently, the team conducted a comparative study between the jacket and a drone controller with 39 participants. This second experiment proved the efficiency and intuitiveness of the technology when compared to a joystick. The jacket design is in itself unprecedented, because usually machine control strategies are predefined and selected to conform to existing interfaces rather than derived from spontaneous representations of the interaction.

 

The study entitled “Data-driven body-machine interface for the accurate control of drones,” published in PNAS on July 31, 2018, was co-written by Jenifer Miehlbradt, Alexander Cherpillod, Stefano Mintchev, Martina Coscia, Fiorenzo Artoni, Dario Floreano and Silvestro Micera.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Les drones de demain seront pilotés par les mouvements du torse - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Les drones de demain seront pilotés par les mouvements du torse


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Drone commandé par les mouvements du torse

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les drones civils et militaires participent à des missions de plus en plus ardues, souvent dangereuses aussi. Ils volent dans des milieux hostiles et difficiles à parcourir, et ce, par exemple, pour surveiller les activités volcaniques ou certains individus dans une foule. Or utiliser une manette pour piloter efficacement cet engin demande beaucoup d’habileté. Une équipe de l’École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) a créé une méthode plus efficace et plus facile à maîtriser qu’une manette de téléguidage grâce à un système de téléopération innovant, le Jacket Fly.

Téléopération d’une machine non humanoïde

Le système allie la réalité virtuelle (RV) à un vêtement intelligent. Avant de présenter l’étude, définissons rapidement ce qu’est la téléopération. Selon un article de la plate-forme Techniques de l’ingénieur, la téléopération est « un ensemble de techniques qui permettent à l’homme de transposer ses capacités d’action en temps réel (observation, manipulation) à distance grâce à des retours sensoriels. » Les techniques employées ont pour but d’augmenter la précision et la dextérité de la machine. La communication entre le téléopérateur et la machine se fait par le biais de technologies qui traduisent et transmettent instantanément les gestes humains. Dans le domaine de la robotique, par exemple, la téléopération peut assurer la collaboration et l’interaction haptique entre un humanoïde ou un bras automatisé par un humain. Le défi technologique de Jacket Fly a été d’assurer l’interaction entre le pilote et une machine non humanoïde.

Fonctions du système

Le but de la technologie est de libérer les mains et l’attention de la personne qui pilote un drone afin qu’elle puisse garder un contact visuel constant, notamment avec son environnement. La veste permet au téléopérateur de se concentrer davantage sur les actions que l’engin doit accomplir. Pour ce faire, le téléopérateur utilise son torse pour téléguider le drone et cela, grâce à une veste intelligente nommée Fly Jacket. La veste joue le rôle de l’interface qui relie les mouvements de l’opérateur à ceux du drone. L’environnement immersif, pouvant être un écran ou des lunettes de RV, permet de visualiser le vol du drone en temps réel. L’interface doit être intuitive, c’est-à-dire capable de synchroniser efficacement l’interaction entre l’homme et le drone. Silvestro Micera, professeur d’ingénierie biomédicale à l’université Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna en Italie, souligne que la technologie Fly Jacket « améliore de façon significative la téléopération de robots non humanoïdes ».

Conception de l’interface

La première étape de conception de l’interface a consisté à déterminer le nombre de capteurs de mouvements corporels requis et leur disposition dans la veste afin de piloter intuitivement le drone. Pour ce faire, l’équipe a analysé les mouvements des troncs et les activités musculaires de 17 personnes pendant qu’ils téléguidaient les engins. Les téléopérateurs ont effectué les tests en portant 19 capteurs de mouvements. Ils ont visualisé le vol simulé en portant des lunettes de RV. Deux types de téléguidage ont été testés : le premier en utilisant le torse; le deuxième, le torse et les bras. L’étude des données recueillies a montré que 4 détecteurs placés uniquement sur le torse suffisent pour bien piloter l’engin.  Par la suite, l’équipe a réalisé une étude comparative entre la veste et une manette de drone à l’aide de 39 participants. Cette deuxième expérience a prouvé l’efficacité et l’intuitivité de la technologie, comparativement à la manette. La méthode conceptuelle de la veste est elle-même inédite, car habituellement, les stratégies de commande des machines sont prédéfinies et sélectionnées pour se conformer aux interfaces existantes plutôt que dérivées des représentations spontanées de l’interaction.

 

L‘étude titrée « Data-driven body–machine interface for the accurate control of drones » a été publiée dans la revue PNAS le 31 juillet 2018. Elle est coécrite par Jenifer Miehlbradt, Alexandre Cherpillod, Stefano Mintchev, Martina Coscia, Fiorenzo Artoni, Dario Floreano et Silvestro Micera.

 

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *