SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Toward the Design of a Prosthetic Ligament for Cattle - By : Lucien Diotalevi, Yvan Petit, Vladimir Brailovski, Éric Wagnac,

Toward the Design of a Prosthetic Ligament for Cattle


Enrolled at ÉTS as part of the PhD exchange partnership with École Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Métiers in France, his country of origin, Lucien Diotalevi won the award of excellence for best master’s thesis among 380 graduates at the graduation ceremony held November 18, 2018.

Lucien Diotalevi
Lucien Diotalevi Author profile
Lucien Diotalevi graduated from École de technologie supérieure (M.Sc.A in Engineering) and from École Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Métiers (engineering degree). His interests focus on biomechanics and biomaterials.

Yvan Petit
Yvan Petit Author profile
Yvan Petit is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include computer-aided design, biomechanics, medical and protective devices, and additive manufacturing techniques.

Vladimir Brailovski
Vladimir Brailovski Author profile
Vladimir Brailovski is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in the design and manufacturing of shape memory alloy devices and in process engineering for additive manufacturing.

Éric Wagnac
Éric Wagnac Author profile
Éric Wagnac is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include biomechanics, computer design, finite element simulation, protective devices and surgical tools.

cow

Image purchased on Istock and protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Cranial cruciate ligament injury is infrequent but disabling in adult cattle. It requires a surgical intervention using ligament substitutes which, unfortunately, are still inadequate because of their lack of workability and a lack of documentation on the actual mechanical properties of the bovine cranial cruciate ligament. Therefore, this research study aims to assess the quasi-static tensile mechanical properties of the healthy ligament in order to develop design specifications for a new substitute. Then, a NiTiNOL filament braid prototype of a prosthetic ligament was designed, manufactured, and tested. Results support the viability of this project and also pave the way for new surgical applications in large and small animals.

Rupture of the Anterior Cruciate Ligament

Anterior cruciate ligament rupture is a common, documented, and easily treated injury in humans [1]. Mainly associated with sports, its occurrence is often overlooked in animals. In cattle, the cranial cruciate ligament (CrCL)—equivalent to the human anterior cruciate ligament (Figure 1)—accounts for 21% of direct cases of instability in the stifle joint—equivalent to the human knee [2].

Anterior cruciate ligament

Figure 1 Torn anterior cruciate ligament in the human knee

The first signs of a torn CrCL appear in an animal as a lameness, followed by an inability to move, then to get up. CrCL rupture leads to rapid degradation of the animal’s general health and compromises its ability to feed itself [3]. With such suffering, the animal can no longer be used for milk production [4, 5] or for reproduction, causing economic loss for producers [6].

Inadequate Synthetic Substitutes

Given farmers’ natural reluctance to slaughter one of their animals, coupled with the fact that this would be an economically unprofitable situation, veterinary surgeons are called upon to stabilize the stifle joint. The surgical procedure, called the “Hamilton Technique”, consists of piercing the femoral and tibial extremities of the animal to pass a ligament substitute through [7]. Currently preferred are synthetic substitutes such as a nylon monofilament or, in other words, a heavy gauge fishing line.

Unfortunately, these materials are difficult to implant and their mechanical properties do not match the few documented mechanical properties of bovine CrCL [8, 9], leading to failure in half of the surgeries. Moreover, the documented properties are inconsistent and insufficient in establishing viable design specifications for an alternative prosthesis.

The objective of this research project carried out in collaboration with the Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de Montréal, was to assess the quasi-static tensile properties of a healthy CrCL, then to establish the preliminary design of a substitute replicating these properties.

Assessment and Mathematical Modeling

The  quasi-static tensile properties assessment of a healthy CrCL was performed on 14 stifles from 7 adult female cows. These animals had all been previously euthanized at the Faculté de médecine vétérinaire for serious health disorders that had no impact on the structure and mechanical properties of their ligaments. Their CrCLs were first mechanically preconditioned and then subjected to a controlled tension until failure. Digital image correlation technology was used to adequately characterize the ligament, its local behavior, and its failure mechanisms. Analysis of the results made it possible to establish a master curve for the mechanical behavior of a healthy CrCL, and an experimental corridor, creating a guide for the design of a new ligament substitute (Figure 2). Since the mechanical properties of a ligament did not appear to be influenced by bovine age, weight, or the hindlimb from which the ligament was extracted, one substitute model can be used in all the circumstances of the present study [10, 11].

Strain rate tests on CrCL substitutes

Figure 2 Load-deformation diagrams of the healthy CrCL, superelastic braid, and nylon monofilament (adapted from [11])

 

Mathematical modeling showed that a superelastic tubular braid of NiTiNOL (equiatomic titanium and nickel alloy) 0.39 mm-diameter filaments, with an inner diameter of 4 mm and braided at an angle of 43° makes it possible to replicate the mechanical properties of a healthy CrCL (Figure 3). A prototype was manufactured and tested in quasi-static tension. The load-deformation diagram of this test closely follows the shape of the CrCL master curve, remaining within its experimental corridor, thus demonstrating the feasibility of such a project (Figure 2). In addition, thanks to the superelastic braid low bending stiffness, when compared to a nylon monofilament, a potential revision of the surgical technique is possible [11].

 

NiTiNOL braid

Figure 3 Manufacturing process of the superelastic braid

The designed and manufactured substitute paves the way to new viable solutions for the treatment of CrCL rupture in adult cattle and could soon be implanted in animals. Ultimately, this substitute could also be adapted to meet similar needs in other animals, like cats and dogs, and could become a common tool for these applications in the veterinary medical field. Since synthetic substitutes for human cruciate ligaments are still showing some shortcomings [12], this work can also offer leads for further exploration. Finally, this project is fuelling an interest in superelastic braids for medical applications presented by École de technologie supérieure in previous work on suture threads [13, 14] and, given the versatility shown in these various research studies, other applications could emerge.

Additional information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following article and thesis:

Diotalevi, Lucien; Petit, Yvan; Brailovski, Vladimir; Nichols, Sylvain; Marchionatti, Emma; Wagnac, Éric. 2018. “Quasi-static tensile properties of the cranial cruciate ligament (CRCL) in adult cattle: towards the design of a prosthetic CrCL”. Journal of the Mechanical Behavior of Biomedical Materials. Volume 79, Pages 239–245.

Diotalevi, Lucien. 2017. “Conception préliminaire d’un câble superélastique pour la stabilisation du grasset des bovins adultes suite à une rupture du ligament croisé crânial”. Master’s thesis in Engineering, Montréal, École de technologie supérieure, 153 p.

Lucien Diotalevi

Author's profile

Lucien Diotalevi graduated from École de technologie supérieure (M.Sc.A in Engineering) and from École Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Métiers (engineering degree). His interests focus on biomechanics and biomaterials.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Engineering Innovations in Spinal Trauma 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Yvan Petit

Author's profile

Yvan Petit is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include computer-aided design, biomechanics, medical and protective devices, and additive manufacturing techniques.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Engineering Innovations in Spinal Trauma 

Research laboratories : ÉREST – Research Team in Occupational Safety and Industrial Risk Analysis  LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Vladimir Brailovski

Author's profile

Vladimir Brailovski is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in the design and manufacturing of shape memory alloy devices and in process engineering for additive manufacturing.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : ETS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing 

Research laboratories : LAMSI – Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory 

Author profile

Éric Wagnac

Author's profile

Éric Wagnac is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include biomechanics, computer design, finite element simulation, protective devices and surgical tools.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Vers la conception d’une prothèse ligamentaire pour les bovins - Par : Lucien Diotalevi, Yvan Petit, Vladimir Brailovski, Éric Wagnac,

Vers la conception d’une prothèse ligamentaire pour les bovins


Inscrit à l’ÉTS dans le cadre du partenariat d’échange diplômant avec l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Métiers, son établissement d’origine en France, Lucien Diotalevi a reçu le prix d’excellence du meilleur mémoire de maîtrise lors de la cérémonie des diplômes du 18 novembre 2018, parmi 380 diplômés de maîtrise.

Lucien Diotalevi
Lucien Diotalevi Profil de l'auteur(e)
Lucien Diotalevi est diplômé de l’École de technologie supérieure (M.Sc.A en génie) et de l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts et Métiers (diplôme d’ingénieur généraliste). Ses intérêts portent sur la biomécanique et les biomatériaux.

Yvan Petit
Yvan Petit est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la conception assistée par ordinateur, la biomécanique, les dispositifs médicaux et de protection et la fabrication additive.

Vladimir Brailovski
Vladimir Brailovski Profil de l'auteur(e)
Vladimir Brailovski est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste en conception et en fabrication de dispositifs en alliages à mémoire de forme et de l'ingénierie des procédés pour la fabrication additive.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Éric Wagnac
Éric Wagnac est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la biomécanique, la conception par ordinateur, la simulation par éléments finis, les dispositifs de protection et les outils chirurgicaux.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Bovin

Image achetée sur Istock et protégée par droit d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La lésion du ligament croisé crânial est occasionnelle mais invalidante chez le bovin adulte. Elle nécessite une intervention chirurgicale employant des substituts ligamentaires qui, malheureusement, sont encore inadéquats en raison de leur manque de maniabilité et du manque de documentation sur les propriétés mécaniques réelles du ligament croisé crânial bovin. Celles-ci ont donc été caractérisées en tension quasi statique dans ces travaux de recherche, en vue d’établir un cahier des charges de conception d’un nouveau substitut. Ensuite, un prototype sous la forme d’une tresse de filaments de NiTiNOL a été conçu, fabriqué et testé. Les résultats obtenus appuient la viabilité du projet et ouvrent également le champ à de nouvelles applications chirurgicales chez les petits animaux.

La rupture du ligament croisé antérieur

La rupture du ligament croisé antérieur est une lésion courante, documentée et aisément traitée chez les humains [1]. Celle-ci étant alors principalement affiliée à la pratique sportive, il est souvent oublié qu’elle est également présente chez les animaux. Ainsi, chez les bovins, la rupture du ligament croisé crânial (CrCL) – l’équivalent du ligament croisé antérieur (Figure 1) – est à l’origine de 21 % des cas directs d’instabilité de l’articulation du grasset – l’équivalent du genou [2].

Ligament croisé antérieur

Figure 1 Ligament croisé antérieur déchiré au sein du genou, chez l’humain

La rupture du CrCL est premièrement indiquée par une boiterie de l’animal, qui s’en suit par une incapacité à se déplacer, puis à se lever. Une rupture du CrCL dégrade donc rapidement sa santé générale et compromet sa capacité à se nourrir [3]. Dans ces conditions de souffrance, l’animal ne peut naturellement plus être exploité pour la production laitière [4, 5] ou dans un contexte reproductif, ce qui engendre des pertes économiques pour les producteurs [6].

Des substituts synthétiques non satisfaisants

Face à la réticence naturelle des éleveurs à abattre une de leurs bêtes, couplée au fait que cela serait une situation économiquement peu profitable, les chirurgiens vétérinaires sont donc amenés à intervenir pour stabiliser le grasset de ces animaux. L’intervention chirurgicale, nommée « technique d’Hamilton », consiste à percer les extrémités du fémur et du tibia de l’animal afin d’y passer un substitut ligamentaire [7]. Les substituts synthétiques, sous la forme d’un câble de nylon monofilamentaire, sont actuellement privilégiés. Autrement dit : du fil de pêche de gros calibre.

Malheureusement, les chirurgiens ont de la difficulté à manipuler ces câbles lors de l’implantation et leurs propriétés mécaniques correspondent mal aux propriétés mécaniques rarement documentées du CrCL bovin [8, 9], menant ainsi à l’échec d’une chirurgie sur deux. De plus, les propriétés documentées sont discordantes et insuffisantes pour établir un cahier des charges viable pour la conception d’une prothèse alternative.

Ce projet de recherche, réalisé en collaboration avec la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de Montréal, avait donc comme objectifs de caractériser les propriétés mécaniques en tension quasi statique du CrCL sain, puis d’établir la conception préliminaire d’un câble répliquant ces propriétés.

Caractérisation et simulations numériques

La caractérisation des propriétés mécaniques en tension quasi statique du CrCL sain a été effectuée sur un cortège de 14 grassets issus de 7 bovins femelles adultes. Ces animaux avaient tous été préalablement euthanasiés à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire pour de graves troubles de santé n’ayant pas d’impact sur la structure et les propriétés mécaniques de leurs ligaments. Chaque CrCL a d’abord été mécaniquement préconditionné, puis sollicité en tension jusqu’à la rupture. Afin de caractériser au mieux le ligament, ses comportements locaux et ses mécanismes lésionnels, la technologie de corrélation d’images numériques a été exploitée. L’analyse des résultats a permis d’établir une courbe type du comportement mécanique du CrCL sain, ainsi que son corridor expérimental, établissant ainsi un guide inédit pour la conception d’un nouveau substitut ligamentaire (Figure 2). Les propriétés mécaniques ne semblaient pas être influencées par l’âge et le poids du bovin, ou la latéralité du membre d’extraction du ligament, indiquant donc qu’un seul modèle de substitut peut servir en toutes circonstances dans le contexte de l’étude présente [10, 11].

 

Essai de tension des substituts de CrCL

Figure 2 Résumé des essais sur CrCL, câbles superélastiques et câbles en nylon sous la forme de diagrammes force-déformation (adaptée de [11])

 

 

Une série de modélisations mathématiques a permis de déterminer qu’une tresse tubulaire superélastique de 20 filaments de NiTiNOL (alliage équiatomique de titane et de nickel) et de diamètre intérieur de 4 mm permet de répliquer les propriétés mécaniques du CrCL sain (Figure 3). Chaque filament fait 0,39 mm de diamètre et est tressé selon un angle de 43°. Un prototype a été fabriqué et testé en tension quasi statique. Son diagramme force-déformation suit étroitement l’allure de la courbe-type du CrCL sain, restant donc nécessairement bien dans son corridor expérimental, démontrant ainsi la faisabilité d’un tel projet (Figure 2). En outre, grâce à une faible rigidité en flexion de ce câble, comparativement à celle d’un monofilament de nylon, la possibilité d’une révision de la technique chirurgicale est également ouverte [11].

Essai de tension des substituts de CrCL

Figure 3 Câble de NiTiNOL en cours de tressage

Le substitut conçu et fabriqué ouvre donc la porte à de nouvelles solutions viables pour le traitement de la rupture du CrCL chez les bovins adultes et pourra, sous peu, être implanté au sein d’animaux. À terme, ce substitut pourrait également être adapté pour répondre à un besoin similaire chez d’autres animaux, tels que les chiens et les chats, et pourrait devenir un outil courant pour ces applications dans le domaine médical vétérinaire. En outre, les substituts synthétiques de ligaments croisés pour humains présentant encore quelques lacunes [12], ces travaux peuvent également y offrir des pistes d’exploration. Enfin, ce projet continue également d’attiser l’intérêt des câbles superélastiques pour les applications médicales qu’avait déjà fait apparaître l’École de technologie supérieure lors de précédents travaux sur les fils de sutures [13, 14] et, étant donné la polyvalence suggérée par ces différents travaux de recherche, d’autres applications pourraient encore voir le jour.

Information supplémentaire

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article et le mémoire suivants :

Diotalevi, Lucien; Petit, Yvan; Brailovski, Vladimir; Nichols, Sylvain; Marchionatti, Emma; Wagnac, Éric. 2018. « Quasi-static tensile properties of the cranial cruciate ligament (CRCL) in adult cattle: towards the design of a prosthetic CrCL ». Journal of the Mechanical Behavior of Biomedical Materials. Volume 79, Pages 239-245.

Diotalevi, Lucien. 2017. « Conception préliminaire d’un câble superélastique pour la stabilisation du grasset des bovins adultes suite à une rupture du ligament croisé crânial ». Mémoire de maîtrise en génie, Montréal, École de technologie supérieure, 153 p.

Lucien Diotalevi

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Lucien Diotalevi est diplômé de l’École de technologie supérieure (M.Sc.A en génie) et de l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts et Métiers (diplôme d’ingénieur généraliste). Ses intérêts portent sur la biomécanique et les biomatériaux.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie technologies de la santé 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en génie pour l'innovation en traumatologie spinale 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yvan Petit

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yvan Petit est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la conception assistée par ordinateur, la biomécanique, les dispositifs médicaux et de protection et la fabrication additive.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie technologies de la santé 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en génie pour l'innovation en traumatologie spinale 

Laboratoires de recherche : ÉREST – Équipe de recherche en sécurité du travail  LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vladimir Brailovski

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vladimir Brailovski est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste en conception et en fabrication de dispositifs en alliages à mémoire de forme et de l'ingénierie des procédés pour la fabrication additive.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche ÉTS sur l'ingénierie des procédés, des matériaux et des structures pour la fabrication additive 

Laboratoires de recherche : LAMSI – Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et les systèmes intelligents 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Éric Wagnac

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Éric Wagnac est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la biomécanique, la conception par ordinateur, la simulation par éléments finis, les dispositifs de protection et les outils chirurgicaux.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *