SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Improving High Voltage Cables Using LDPE/CB Conductive Composites - By : Sohrab Azizi, Éric David, Michel Fréchette, Sylvain Nguyen-Tri, Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon,

Improving High Voltage Cables Using LDPE/CB Conductive Composites


Sohrab Azizi
Sohrab Azizi Author profile
Sohrab Azizi is a Ph.D. student in the Construction Engineering Department at ÉTS. He studied polymer engineering and technology. He joined the National Petrochemical Company in Iran as a process engineer and research engineer.

Éric David
Éric David Author profile
Éric David is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include dielectrics, polymers, high-voltage engineering, rotating machines, underground cables and transformers.

Michel Fréchette
Michel Fréchette Author profile
Michel F. Fréchette is an expert on nanodielectrics. He spent 35 years as a senior scientist at the Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec (IREQ).

Sylvain Nguyen-Tri
Sylvain Nguyen-Tri Author profile
Sylvain Nguyen-Tri is an associate professor in the Department of Construction Engineering. His research focuses on composite materials, polymer cristallization, nanomaterials and energy materials.

Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon
Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon Author profile
Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon is a professor in the Construction Engineering Department. Her research interests include materials characterisation and fonctionalisation, alternative concrete, clays, and sustainable development.

Underground cables in polymers

The featured image was bought on Istock.com. Copyrights.

SUMMARY

In recent decades, polymeric composites have received significant interest due to several enhanced properties, such as excellent mechanical, thermal, electrical and light-weight properties. In this regard, carbon-based materials like polymeric matrix reinforced by carbon black and graphene have answered particular requirements for several electrical applications. For example, these composites are commonly used as semi-conductive materials in high voltage underground cables. The 1998 ice storm in Quebec caused catastrophic effects that led to billions of dollars in damages, which could have been prevented by using extruded-underground transmission cables instead of overhead lines. In fact, extruded high-voltage cables feature long durability, lower environmental impact and lower maintenance cost. However, improved design and development of enhanced insulating and semi-conductive composites for use in the different layers of high voltage cables still needs to be done. Therefore, considering the above-mentioned requirements, we studied the electrical, mechanical, and thermal properties of LDPE/CB (low density polyethylene/carbon black) composites and our findings led to the design of an appropriate polymer composite with suitable electrical and thermal conductivity as well as increase mechanical properties for electrical applications. Keywords: Electrical conductivity, composites, carbon black.

Conductive Polymeric Composites

Polymers, materials formed with hundreds to thousands molecules, are considered good candidates to be combined, tailored or blended with fillers due to their suitable processability, recyclability, compatibility and biodegradability. Conductive particles such as carbon black, carbon nanotubes, or graphene are conductive fillers due to their own unique structure, which allows the transport of charge carriers. Combining these conductive fillers with insulating polymers can lead to sufficient electrical conductivity for the composites to be used as a semi-conductive component.

Problem Statement

Using polymeric composite materials presents several issues that need to be addressed. The main issues are described below.

Electrical breakdown strength

Electrical breakdown is defined as a rapid phenomenon that occurs in insulating polymeric materials or non-conductive polymeric composites, where a current surge suddenly occurs through the material leading to its local destruction or carbonisation. Thus, when a electrical breakdown occurs, it causes an irreversible destructive incidents in materials [1].

Thermal Aging

Basically, two types of degradation, chemical and physical, can occur in polymeric composites. This degradation leads to a deterioration of the materials’ initial properties. Thermal aging is one of the most common issues in nanocomposites applicable to high-voltage cables. In fact, the heat generated during the electrical power transmission in cables causes warming in the cable structure which in turn can degrade the composite structure [2].

Resistance to Erosion Due to Corona Discharge

A corona discharge will occur when the strength of the electric field around a conductor is high enough to form a local gaseous plasma, but not high enough to cause a complete electrical breakdown or arcing from one electrode to the other. This intense plasma and the reactive gases created in the plasma usually erode the material’s surface and increase the likelihood of electrical failure [3].

Therefore, these issues require research to solve the existing problems. In our study, by tailoring the carbon black content and distribution in low-density polyethylene (LDPE), we investigated the electrical and thermal properties of the resulting composites.

Results and Discussion

In this study, low-density polyethylene, being one of the most available polymers, was selected due to its suitable mechanical properties (flexibility at a wide range of practical temperatures) and processability. Carbon black with adequate electrical conductivity was chosen. An industrial-friendly fabrication method like extrusion blending was used to prepare the desired composites. Our findings are presented briefly here:

  • Addition of slightly more than 20 wt% carbon black filler led to a significant increase in the electrical conductivity of LDPE/CB composite from 10–15 (S/cm) to 10-1 (S/cm), which gives our composite enough electrical conductivity to be used for both conductor and insulation screens in high-voltage cables (see Figure 1).
Electrical conductivity according to carbon black concentration

Figure 1 Electrical conductivity of the LDPE/CB composites and the schematic of charge transmission throughout the composite

  • At 20 wt% carbon black, LDPE/CB composite showed adequate thermal conductivity to be used as a good composite to release the generated heat from the cable core and avoid thermal aging (see Figure 2).
Thermal conductivity according to carbon black concentration

Figure 2 Thermal conductivity of LDPE/CB composite at different CB concentration

 

  • In addition, LDPE/CB composite revealed significant electrical conductivity-temperature dependency, a behaviour that allows the composite to be used for sensor applications.
  • LDPE/CB composite showed approximately a 10% increase in dielectric breakdown strength with the addition of 5 wt% carbon black filler, which can also be a positive aspect in using said composite as an insulation wall for both AC and DC applications.
  • Carbon black filler increased the composite’s thermal stability by about 36 oC by adding a 20 wt% filler content to LDPE.
  • Adding carbon black filler also increased the mechanical properties of the composite enhancing the toughness.

In a nutshell, these characteristics make the prepared and characterized composites good candidates with suitable electrical, thermal and mechanical properties for some applications in the electricity industry. We also investigated several more material properties, such as filler dispersion and distribution by scanning electron microscopy (SEM) (see Figure 3), composite morphology by atomic force microscopy (AFM), electrical hysteresis in the composite, and filler exfoliation by XRD analysis, as explained in our research paper [4].

Dispersion of Carbon Black within the LDPE matrix

Figure 3 Scanning electron microscopy image of LDPE/CB nanocomposite showing well dispersion of CB particles within the LDPE matrix.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following paper:

  1. Azizi, E. David, M. F. Fréchette, P. Nguyen‐Tri, and C. M. Ouellet‐Plamondon, “Electrical and thermal phenomena in low‐density polyethylene/carbon black composites near the percolation threshold,” Journal of Applied Polymer Science, p. 47043, 2018.

Sohrab Azizi

Author's profile

Sohrab Azizi is a Ph.D. student in the Construction Engineering Department at ÉTS. He studied polymer engineering and technology. He joined the National Petrochemical Company in Iran as a process engineer and research engineer.

Program : Construction Engineering  Mechanical Engineering 

Author profile

Éric David

Author's profile

Éric David is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include dielectrics, polymers, high-voltage engineering, rotating machines, underground cables and transformers.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Author profile

Michel Fréchette

Author's profile

Michel F. Fréchette is an expert on nanodielectrics. He spent 35 years as a senior scientist at the Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec (IREQ).

Author profile

Sylvain Nguyen-Tri

Author's profile

Sylvain Nguyen-Tri is an associate professor in the Department of Construction Engineering. His research focuses on composite materials, polymer cristallization, nanomaterials and energy materials.

Program : Construction Engineering 

Author profile

Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon

Author's profile

Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon is a professor in the Construction Engineering Department. Her research interests include materials characterisation and fonctionalisation, alternative concrete, clays, and sustainable development.

Program : Construction Engineering 

Research laboratories : LCMB – Pavements and Bituminous Materials Laboratory 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des câbles haute tension améliorés grâce aux composites conducteurs - Par : Sohrab Azizi, Éric David, Michel Fréchette, Phuong Nguyen-Tri, Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon,

Des câbles haute tension améliorés grâce aux composites conducteurs


Sohrab Azizi
Sohrab Azizi est étudiant au doctorat au Département de construction de l’ÉTS. Il a fait ses études en ingénierie et en polymères. Il a été ingénieur de procédés et de recherche à la National Petrochemical Company en Iran.

Éric David
Éric David est professeur au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les diélectriques, les polymères, l’ingénierie haute tension, les machines rotatives, les câbles souterrains et les transformateurs.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Michel Fréchette
Michel Fréchette Profil de l'auteur(e)
Michel F. Fréchette est un expert des nanodiélectriques. Il a passé 35 ans à titre de chercheur principal à l’Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec (IREQ).

Phuong Nguyen-Tri
Phuong Nguyen-Tri Profil de l'auteur(e)
Phuong Nguyen-Tri est professeur associé au Département de génie de la construction de l'ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les matériaux composites, la cristallisation des polymères, les nanomatériaux et les matériaux pour l’énergie.

Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon
Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon Profil de l'auteur(e)
Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon est professeur au Département de génie de la construction. Ses recherches portent sur la caractérisation et la fonctionnalisation des matériaux, les bétons alternatifs, les argiles et le développement durable.

Câbles souterrains en polymère

L’image sélectionnée a été achetée sur Istock.com. Droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Ces dernières décennies, les composites polymères ont suscité un grand intérêt en raison de plusieurs propriétés améliorées comme leurs excellentes propriétés mécaniques, thermiques, électriques et de légèreté. Ainsi, les matériaux à base de carbone, comme les matrices de polymères renforcées de noir de carbone et de graphène, conviennent particulièrement à plusieurs applications en électricité. Par exemple, ces composites sont communément utilisés comme matériaux semi-conducteurs pour les câbles haute tension souterrains. Les conséquences catastrophiques de la tempête de verglas de 1998 au Québec ont entraîné des dommages de plusieurs milliards de dollars. La situation aurait pu être évitée par l’utilisation de câbles haute tension souterrains, obtenus par extrusion, au lieu de lignes de transport aériennes. En effet, les câbles haute tension extrudés ont une longue durée de vie, un impact réduit sur l’environnement et un coût d’entretien moindre. Toutefois, il reste encore du travail de recherche à faire afin d’améliorer leur conception et développer des composites isolants et semi-conducteurs améliorés pour les différentes couches des câbles haute tension. Ainsi, compte tenu de ces exigences, nous avons étudié les propriétés électriques, mécaniques et thermiques de composites de PEBD/NC (polyéthylène haute pression/carbone noir). Nos résultats ont permis de mettre au point un composite polymère à conductivité électrique et thermique adéquate, présentant aussi une augmentation importante des propriétés mécaniques pour les applications électriques. Mots clés : Conductivité électrique, composites, noir de carbone.

Les composites polymères conducteurs

Les polymères, matériaux formés de centaines ou de milliers de molécules, peuvent être aisément combinés, adaptés ou mélangés à des matières de charge en raison de leur capacité de transformation, de recyclabilité, de compatibilité et de biodégradabilité. Les particules comme le noir de carbone, les nanotubes de carbone ou le graphène sont des matières de charge conductrices en raison de leur structure particulière, permettant le transport de charges électriques. La combinaison de ces matières de charge conductrices à des polymères isolants confère aux composites suffisamment de conductivité électrique pour les utiliser en tant que composants semi-conducteurs.

Problématique

Avant d’utiliser ces composites polymères, plusieurs défis doivent être résolus, les principaux étant les suivants.

Résistance au claquage électrique

Le claquage électrique est un phénomène soudain survenant dans les matériaux polymères isolants et les composites polymères non conducteurs, où un courant transitoire anormal passe au travers du matériau, entraînant une destruction ou une carbonisation locale. Lorsqu’un claquage survient, il cause un dommage irréversible au matériau qu’il traverse [1].

Le vieillissement thermique

Fondamentalement, deux types de dégradation, chimique et physique, peuvent se produire dans les composites polymères, menant à une détérioration des propriétés initiales des matériaux. Le vieillissement thermique est l’un des problèmes les plus courants des nanocomposites utilisés dans les câbles haute tension. En fait, la chaleur générée lors du transport d’électricité dans les câbles provoque un échauffement qui entraîne à son tour la dégradation du composite [2].

La résistance à l’érosion causée par l’effet couronne

Une décharge causée par effet couronne se produit lorsque la force du champ électrique autour d’un conducteur est assez élevée pour former un plasma gazeux local, mais pas au point de provoquer un claquage électrique complet ou un arc électrique d’une électrode à l’autre. Ce plasma intense et les gaz réactifs qu’il contient érodent la surface du matériau et augmentent le risque de panne électrique [3].

La résolution de ces problèmes nécessite des recherches plus poussées. Dans le cadre de notre étude, nous avons joué avec la teneur et la distribution du noir de carbone dans le polyéthylène basse densité (PEBD). Nous avons étudié les propriétés électriques et thermiques des composites obtenus.

Résultats et discussion

Dans cette étude, nous avons choisi le polyéthylène basse densité, l’un des polymères les plus courants, en raison de ses propriétés mécaniques intéressantes (flexibilité pour un large intervalle de température) et de sa mise en forme facile, et un type de noir de carbone à conductivité électrique appropriée. Un procédé de fabrication adapté à l’industrie, le mélange par extrusion, a servi à préparer les composites souhaités. Voici une brève description des résultats obtenus :

  • L’ajout d’une matière de charge de noir de carbone pour atteindre une concentration massique légèrement supérieure à 20 % a entraîné une augmentation importante de la conductivité électrique du composite de PEBD/NC, soit de 10-15 (S/cm) à 10-1 (S/cm), ce qui confère à notre composite une conductivité électrique suffisante pour intégrer autant l’écran de l’âme que celui de l’enveloppe isolante des câbles haute tension (voir figure 1).
Conductivité électrique selon la concentration de noir de carbone

Figure 1. Conductivité électrique des composites de PEBD/NC et schéma de transmission des charges dans le composite.

  • À une concentration massique de noir de carbone de 20 %, le composite de PEBD/NC a démontré une conductivité thermique suffisante pour libérer la chaleur générée dans l’âme du câble et éviter le vieillissement thermique (voir Figure 2).
Conductivité thermique selon la concentration du noir de carbone

Figure 2. Conductivité thermique du composite de PEBD/NC à différentes concentrations de NC.

  • En outre, le composite de PEBD/NC a révélé une association importante entre conductivité électrique et température, comportement qui le rend intéressant pour les applications de capteurs.
  • Le composite de PEBD/NC a présenté une augmentation d’environ 10 % de la résistance au claquage diélectrique lorsque la concentration massique de noir de carbone est enrichie de 5 %, ce qui le qualifie comme isolant pour les applications CA et CC.
  • Une concentration massique de 20 % de noir de carbone a augmenté la stabilité thermique du PEBD d’environ 36 C.
  • L’ajout d’une charge de noir de carbone a également augmenté les propriétés mécaniques du composite, améliorant sa ténacité.

En résumé, ces caractéristiques font des composites préparés et caractérisés de bons candidats pour le secteur de l’électricité en raison de leurs propriétés électriques, thermiques et mécaniques. Nous avons également étudié plusieurs autres propriétés, comme la dispersion et la répartition des charges par microscopie électronique à balayage (MEB) (voir figure 3), la morphologie des composites par microscopie à force atomique (MFA), l’hystérèse électrique dans le composite et l’exfoliation des charges par analyse de DRX, le tout expliqué en détail dans notre article de recherche [4].

Dispersion de noir de carbone dans la matrice de PEBD

Figure 3. Microscopie électronique à balayage d’un nanocomposite de PEBD/NC montrant une bonne dispersion des particules de NC dans la matrice de PEBD.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article suivant :

  1. Azizi, E. David, M. F. Fréchette, P. Nguyen‐Tri et C. M. Ouellet‐Plamondon, « Electrical and thermal phenomena in low‐density polyethylene/carbon black composites near the percolation threshold, » Journal of Applied Polymer Science, p. 47043, 2018.

Sohrab Azizi

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sohrab Azizi est étudiant au doctorat au Département de construction de l’ÉTS. Il a fait ses études en ingénierie et en polymères. Il a été ingénieur de procédés et de recherche à la National Petrochemical Company en Iran.

Programme : Génie de la construction  Génie mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Éric David

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Éric David est professeur au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les diélectriques, les polymères, l’ingénierie haute tension, les machines rotatives, les câbles souterrains et les transformateurs.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Michel Fréchette

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Michel F. Fréchette est un expert des nanodiélectriques. Il a passé 35 ans à titre de chercheur principal à l’Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec (IREQ).

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Phuong Nguyen-Tri

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Phuong Nguyen-Tri est professeur associé au Département de génie de la construction de l'ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les matériaux composites, la cristallisation des polymères, les nanomatériaux et les matériaux pour l’énergie.

Programme : Génie de la construction 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon est professeur au Département de génie de la construction. Ses recherches portent sur la caractérisation et la fonctionnalisation des matériaux, les bétons alternatifs, les argiles et le développement durable.

Programme : Génie de la construction 

Laboratoires de recherche : LCMB – Laboratoire sur les chaussées et matériaux bitumineux 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *