SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Increasing Agility in Software Development - By : Substance,

Increasing Agility in Software Development


Fast software programming

The header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

Francis Bordeleau, professor in the Department of Software Engineering and Information Technology (IT) at ÉTS

Francis Bordeleau, professor in the Department of Software Engineering and Information Technology (IT) at ÉTS

Professor Bordeleau, a member of the Department of Software Engineering and Information Technology (IT), is an expert in software and model-based engineering. For four years, he was responsible for the development of model-based tools with the central IT group at Ericsson. He also led the establishment a consortium around the Eclipse Papyrus modeling tool.

Driven by the desire to be in business, Francis Bordeleau also founded two companies in Gatineau: Zeligsoft in 2002 and Cmind in 2017. Zeligsoft develops model-based engineering solutions for component-based systems, and Cmind provides open source solutions based on Eclipse Papyrus.

Francis Bordeleau is an expert in improving development process, methods, and tools in software and system engineering. “Before, systems were closed and developed in isolation,” he explains. Today, they no longer evolve alone, but within a system of systems. The question is then: How to build these systems to ensure their continuous improvement, enable integration with other systems, making them adaptable to different environments, deployable in the cloud, etc. In practice, his task is to develop process, methods, and tools to increase the quality of systems and the productivity of development teams while reducing costs.

.

.

.

Knowledge Sharing

Throughout his journey, Francis Bordeleau acquired extensive expertise in the field of open source software. Convinced there is a need for more agility in technology, he was actively involved in this area that makes it possible for companies to develop custom solutions and to take advantage of improvements made by the user community.

Open source code

A professor at Carleton University for a decade, he is passionate about sharing his experience with the younger generation. If he chose to teach at ÉTS, it is because learning is rooted in its reality and applied research, and collaboration with companies are at the core of the school’s mission. “Working with companies is very important to me. Working in software engineering at a theoretical level, without industrial validation, is useless. I want to do software engineering for industry,” says Francis Bordeleau.

Professor Bordeleau has been tasked with setting up a research chair connected to the business world to help organizations develop and improve their methods and tools. A whole new way of working needs to be established. And at its core: agility. Teams must learn to conduct iterative, team-based projects, and to continually adapt to technological change.

Francis Bordeleau will bring to students and ÉTS his technical skills, his business experience and his ability to mobilize communities on projects, as he did with the Eclipse Papyrus industrial consortium.


comments
  1. SAHAR GHASSAMI says:

    I am agree with professor , ” Working in software engineering at a theoretical level, without industrial validation, is useless ”
    it will be my pleasure to be one of the student of professor Bordeleau . i hope to get the acception of ETS that i can be with professor Bordeleau for using his valuable experiences .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Augmenter l’agilité dans le développement de logiciels - Par : Substance,

Augmenter l’agilité dans le développement de logiciels


Programmation rapide de logiciels

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Francis Bordeleau, professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des TI de l’ÉTS

Francis Bordeleau, professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des TI de l’ÉTS

Le professeur Bordeleau, accueilli au Département de génie logiciel et des technologies de l’information (TI), est un expert en ingénierie des systèmes logiciels basés sur les modèles. Pendant quatre ans, il a été responsable du développement des outils de modélisation au sein du groupe central de TI chez Ericsson. Il a également dirigé la création d’un consortium autour d’un outil de modélisation, Eclipse Papyrus.

Mû par le désir d’entreprendre, Francis Bordeleau a également fondé deux entreprises à Gatineau, soit Zeligsoft, en 2002, et Cmind, en 2017. La première développe des outils de modélisation et d’automatisation des systèmes basés sur les composants. La seconde conçoit des produits à code source ouvert (open source), basés sur les solutions d’Eclipse Papyrus.

Francis Bordeleau est un expert en amélioration des méthodes, des outils, et des processus de développement à partir desquels les logiciels sont créés. « Avant, les systèmes étaient fermés et peu compatibles, explique-t-il. Aujourd’hui, ils n’évoluent plus seuls, mais dans un système de systèmes. La question qui se pose alors est : Comment construire ces systèmes pour en assurer l’amélioration continue, comment faire pour qu’ils puissent s’adapter à différents environnements, pour qu’ils puissent être déployés dans le nuage, etc. » Concrètement, sa tâche est de créer des outils et des méthodes pour accroître la qualité des systèmes et la productivité des équipes de développement tout en réduisant leurs coûts.

.

Partage de connaissances

Au gré de ses expériences, Francis Bordeleau a acquis une grande expertise dans le domaine des logiciels à code source ouvert. Convaincu de la nécessité de l’agilité en technologie, il a beaucoup travaillé dans ce domaine qui permet aux entreprises de développer à moindre coût des solutions sur mesure et qui profitent des améliorations effectuées par la communauté d’utilisateurs.

Code ouvert

Enseignant à l’Université Carleton pendant une dizaine d’années, il a à cœur aujourd’hui de transmettre son expérience à la jeune génération. S’il a choisi l’ÉTS pour enseigner, c’est parce que les apprentissages sont ancrés dans le réel, étant donné que la recherche appliquée et la collaboration avec les entreprises sont au cœur de la mission de l’établissement. « Travailler avec des entreprises est très important pour moi. Faire du génie logiciel de façon théorique, sans validation industrielle, ne donne rien. Je souhaite faire du génie logiciel pour l’industrie », souligne Francis Bordeleau.

Le professeur est chargé de mettre en place une chaire de recherche en lien avec le monde entrepreneurial pour aider les entreprises à développer et à améliorer leurs méthodes et leurs outils. C’est toute une façon de travailler qui est à mettre en place. Au cœur : l’agilité. Les équipes doivent apprendre à mener des projets itératifs, en équipe, et à s’adapter de façon continue aux changements technologiques.

Francis Bordeleau saura faire profiter les étudiants et l’ÉTS de ses compétences techniques, de son expérience entrepreneuriale et de sa capacité à mobiliser des communautés autour de projets comme il l’a fait avec le consortium industriel Eclipse Papyrus.


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *