SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Improving Drone Performance Using Flight Simulators - By : Maxime Kuitche., Ruxandra Botez,

Improving Drone Performance Using Flight Simulators


Maxime Kuitche.
Maxime Kuitche. Author profile
Maxime Kuitche is a PhD student and research assistant in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS. His research focuses on modeling and simulating methodologies for aircraft flight dynamics, mainly drones.

Ruxandra Botez
Ruxandra Botez Author profile
Ruxandra Mihaela Botez is a professor in the Systems Engineering Department at ÉTS. She specializes in modelling and simulation for aircraft, helicopters, aerial systems and morphing wings.

Unmanned Aerial Systems UAS-S4 from Hydra Technologies

The header image is used with Hydra Technologies’ permission and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Interest in drones is growing given their many fields of application. Consequently, a flight simulator was developed to validate performance improvement techniques for drones. Its general architecture was divided into sub-models: aerodynamics, propulsion, actuation and structure. Each sub-model was then estimated using digital and experimental methods. This methodology was applied to Unmanned Aerial Systems UAS-S4 and UAS-S45 from Hydra Technologies. Results show that the methodology made it possible to obtain a high level of precision flight dynamics simulator.

Introduction

From film production to emergency equipment transportation, including mapping and surveillance, autonomous flight systems or drones are useful in many areas. The rise of autonomous flight systems is closely linked to their ability to perform missions in dangerous environments. What is more, not having pilots exempts them from limitations such as flight duration—82.5 flight hours for the QinetiQ solar Zephir drone versus 11 flight hours for a pilot [1]—or maximum altitude.

The global drone market is expected to exceed $16 billion by 2025 [2]. Consequently, drones represent a very dynamic growth sector for the aviation industry. Improving their performance is becoming a major issue. However, validating a performance improvement technique, for example a new landing algorithm, can be extremely costly and time consuming. Moreover, experimental validation in flight can potentially destroy the aircraft. The use of a high-precision flight simulator is an interesting and important solution, eliminating the risk of drone loss in flight.

Evolution of market value of drones

Figure 1 History of revenues in the drone market

ÉTS LARCASE flight simulator

Figure 2 Cessna Citation X research aircraft flight simulator

A flight simulator is a digital device used to obtain aircraft behaviour from input data (speed, altitude, control surface position, etc.). The core of a flight simulator is the flight model, represented by the aircraft dynamics equations. Several methods are used to design a flight model. In [3], flight tests performed on the Cessna Citation X research aircraft flight simulator were used for its model validation. The method presented in this paper is based on dividing the aircraft’s general architecture into several sub-models, which will constitute the overall flight model.

Drone simulator architecture sub-models

Figure 3 General architecture of UAS-S45 and UAS-S4 drones

UAS-S4 and UAS-S45 drones designed and manufactured by Hydra Technologies were used for this project. The models were divided into aerodynamic, propulsion, structural and actuation sub-models. The flight model design methodology was based on the accurate estimation of each sub-model.

The UAS-S4 from Hydra Technologies

Figure 4 The UAS-S4

Sub-model Estimation Methodology

Aerodynamics

Aerodynamic sub-model estimations involve an accurate prediction of loads, forces and moments that might affect the drone during flight [4]. To obtain this sub-model, the team from the Research Laboratory in Active Controls, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity (LARCASE) developed a code they call Fderivatives [5–7]. The Fderivatives code is based on a collection of equations and charts used to obtain accurate aerodynamic forces of an aircraft from its geometrical data. This is an improvement of the DATCOM procedure (DATa COMpendium) [8–11], one of the best collections of aerodynamic calculation methods for aircraft based on its experimental data.

Fderivatives windows

Figure 5 Main window of the Fderivatives code

Propulsion

The propulsion sub-model was obtained by producing a two-stroke engine model and a digital analysis of its propellers. A two-stroke engine produces power by a thermodynamic combustion process called the Otto cycle [12]. This cycle is described by equations to obtain the power and torque of the motor. A digital analysis was then performed on the propeller to determine the thrust generated by engine power.

Layout of the Otto cycle

Figure 6 The Otto cycle

Structure

The structural analysis of the drones leading to the structural sub-model consisted of determining the mass, centre of gravity and moments of inertia of each drone, as well as their variations based on fuel flow. The drone structure was divided into six parts: wings, fuselage, engines, vertical empennage, horizontal empennage, and landing gear. Each part was represented by basic shapes, triangles, rectangles and trapezoids, to facilitate gravity centre and mass calculations [13–15]. Raymer equations [16] subsequently allowed us to deduce the mass, centre of gravity and moments of inertia for each drone.

Geometry of the UAS-S45 deconstructed into basic shapes

Figure 7 Breakdown of a UAS-S45 into basic shapes

Actuator

Each UAS model was then completed with an actuator sub-model. Since each actuator was a servomotor, a controlled DC motor model was used for modeling.

Comparing Sub-Model Predictions to Experimental Results

Validation was performed for each sub-model. The aerodynamic sub-model obtained with our Fderivatives code and methodology was compared using a CFD analysis, the panel method (VLM) and the DATCOM procedure. The predictions obtained by propulsion, actuation, and structural sub-models were compared with the experimental data. The results demonstrated the accuracy of the sub-models developed, with maximum errors of 5% compared to experimental data.

UAS-S4 simulator estimation of lift coefficient compared with wind tunnel testing

Figure 8a Comparison of estimated lift coefficient variations with angle of attack using three methodologies and codes for the UAS-S4 aerodynamic model design

UAS-S4 simulator estimation of drag coefficient compared with wind tunnel testing

Figure 8b Comparison of estimated drag coefficient variations with angle of attack using three methodologies and codes for the UAS-S4 aerodynamic model design

UAS-S4 simulator estimation of pitching moment compared with wind tunnel testing

Figure 8c Comparison of estimated pitching moment coefficient variations with angle of attack using three methodologies and codes for the UAS-S4 aerodynamic model design

UAS-S45 simulator estimation of lift coefficient compared with wind tunnel testing

Figure 9a Comparison of estimated lift coefficient variations with angle of attack using three methodologies and codes for UAS-S45 aerodynamic model design

UAS-S45 simulator estimation of drag coefficient compared with wind tunnel testing

Figure 9b Comparison of estimated drag coefficient variations with angle of attack using three methodologies and codes for UAS-S45 aerodynamic model design

UAS-S45 simulator estimation of pitching moment compared with wind tunnel testing

Figure 9c Comparison of estimated pitching moment coefficient variations with angle of attack using three methodologies and codes for UAS-S45 aerodynamic model design

Simulated results vs experimental data

Figure 10a Comparison between estimated propulsion sub-model data and experimental data for UAS-S4

Simulated results vs experimental data

Figure 10b Comparison between estimated propulsion sub-model data and experimental data for UAS-S45

 Conclusion and Next Steps

 

The resulting global flight model will be used for the design of a high precision flight dynamics simulator. Simulation results will be compared to the experimental flight test data and will significantly reduce the number of flight tests required to validate the UAS-S4 and UAS-S45 performance improvement techniques [17, 18]. The research project will contribute to the aerospace industry from an economic point of view, as it will save considerable time and money by reducing the number of flight tests.

Additional Information

The UAS-S4 and UAS-S45 flight model design methodology and the results obtained on this research project are presented in the following research paper: Kuitche Maxime and Ruxandra Botez, “Modeling Novel Methodologies for Unmanned Aerial System – Applications to the UAS-S4 Ehecatl and the UAS-S45 Bálaam”, Chinese Journal of Aeronautics, Vol. 32(1), January 2019, pp. 58-77, Elsevier Edition.  

Maxime Kuitche.

Author's profile

Maxime Kuitche is a PhD student and research assistant in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS. His research focuses on modeling and simulating methodologies for aircraft flight dynamics, mainly drones.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

Ruxandra Botez

Author's profile

Ruxandra Mihaela Botez is a professor in the Systems Engineering Department at ÉTS. She specializes in modelling and simulation for aircraft, helicopters, aerial systems and morphing wings.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Améliorer les performances des drones en utilisant des simulateurs de vol - Par : Maxime Kuitche., Ruxandra Botez,

Améliorer les performances des drones en utilisant des simulateurs de vol


Maxime Kuitche.
Maxime Kuitche. Profil de l'auteur(e)
Maxime Kuitche est étudiant au doctorat et assistant de recherche au Département de génie des systèmes de l’ÉTS. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur les méthodologies de modélisation et de simulation de vol des aéronefs et des drones.

Ruxandra Botez
Ruxandra Mihaela Botez est professeure au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Elle est spécialiste en modélisation et simulation de vols d’aéronefs, d’hélicoptères, de systèmes de vol, et d’ailes déformables.

systèmes autonomes de vol UAS-S4

L’image d’en-tête est utilisée avec la permission de Hydra Technologies et est protégée par droit d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

L’intérêt porté au drone est de plus en plus grandissant étant donné leurs nombreux domaines d’application. Dans le but de valider les techniques d’amélioration de performances d’un drone, un simulateur de vol a été développé. Son architecture générale a été divisée en sous-modèles : aérodynamique, propulsion, actionnement et structure. L’estimation de chacun de ses sous modèles a été réalisée à partir de méthodes numériques et expérimentales. Cette méthodologie a été appliquée aux systèmes autonomes de vol UAS-S4 et UAS-S45 de Hydra Technologies. Les résultats obtenus montrent que la méthodologie présentée permet d’obtenir un simulateur de haute précision.

Introduction

De la production cinématographique au transport du matériel d’urgence, en passant par la cartographie et la surveillance, les systèmes de vol autonome ou drones trouvent leur utilité dans de nombreux domaines. L’essor des systèmes de vol autonome est fortement lié à leurs capacités à effectuer des missions en zones dangereuses. Par ailleurs, l’absence de pilotes les dispense de certaines limites comme la durée de vol (82,5 h de vol pour le drone solaire Zephir de QinetiQ contre 11 h de vol pour un pilote [1]) ou encore l’altitude maximale.

Le marché mondial des drones devrait dépasser les 16 milliards de dollars en 2025 [2]. Les drones constituent donc un secteur de l’industrie aéronautique dont la croissance est très dynamique.  L’amélioration de leurs performances devient ainsi un enjeu capital. Cependant, la validation d’une technique d’amélioration de la performance, par exemple d’un nouvel algorithme pour l’atterrissage, peut être très exigeante en argent et en temps. De plus, la validation expérimentale en vol peut conduire à la destruction de l’appareil. L’utilisation d’un simulateur de vol de haute précision est une solution intéressante et importante, sans risques de perte de drone en vol.

Valeur du marché des drones

Figure 1 Évolution des revenus du marché des drones

Simulateur de vol du LARCASE de l’ÉTS

Figure 2 Simulateur de vol de recherche pour l’avion d’affaire Cessna Citation X

Un simulateur de vol est un dispositif numérique permettant d’obtenir le comportement d’un aéronef à partir de données d’entrée (vitesse, altitude, position des gouvernes, etc.). Le cœur d’un simulateur de vol est le modèle de vol, représenté par les équations de la dynamique de l’aéronef. Plusieurs méthodes sont utilisées pour concevoir un modèle de vol [3]. Dans [3], des tests de vol effectués sur le simulateur de vol de recherche pour l’avion d’affaire Cessna Citation X ont été utilisés pour la validation de son modèle.  La méthode présentée dans cet article est basée sur la division de l’architecture générale de l’aéronef en plusieurs sous-modèles, qui constitueront le modèle de vol global.

Sous-modèles de l’architecture du simulateur de drones

Figure 3 Architecture générale des drones UAS-S45 et UAS-S4

Pour la réalisation de ce projet, l’intérêt s’est porté sur les drones UAS-S4 et UAS-S45, conçus et fabriqués par Hydra Technologies [4]. Les modèles de ceux-ci ont été divisés en sous-modèles d’aérodynamique, de propulsion, d’actionnement et de structure. La méthodologie de conception du modèle de vol repose sur l’estimation précise de chacun de ces sous-modèles.

Image de L’UAS-S4 de Hydra Technologies

Figure 4 L’UAS-S4. Tiré de [4]

Méthodologie d’estimation des sous-modèles

Aérodynamique

L’estimation du sous-modèle aérodynamique revient à prédire de manière précise les charges, forces et moments qui agissent sur le drone durant un vol [4]. Pour y parvenir, l’équipe du Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité (LARCASE) a mis sur pied un code appelé Fdérivatives [5-7]. Le code Fdérivatives repose sur une collection d’équations et d’abaques et permet d’obtenir de manière précise les forces aérodynamiques d’un aéronef à partir de ses données géométriques.  C’est une amélioration de la procédure DATCOM (DATa COMpendium) [8-11], qui est l’un des meilleurs recueils des méthodes de calcul aérodynamique pour aéronefs basée sur des données expérimentales.

Fenêtres de Fderivatives

Figure 5 Fenêtre principale du code Fderivatives

Propulsion

Le sous-modèle de propulsion a été obtenu en réalisant un modèle de moteur à deux temps et une analyse numérique des hélices des drones. Un moteur à deux temps produit de la puissance par un procédé thermodynamique de combustion appelé cycle d’Otto [12]. Ce cycle est décrit par des équations permettant d’obtenir la puissance et le couple du moteur. Une analyse numérique a ensuite été effectuée sur l’hélice afin de déterminer la poussée générée en fonction de la puissance du moteur.

Représentation du cycle d’Otto

Figure 6 Le cycle d’Otto

Structure

L’analyse structurelle des drones qui conduit à l’obtention du sous-modèle structurel consistait à déterminer la masse, le centre de gravité et les moments d’inertie de chaque drone, ainsi que leurs variations en fonction du débit de carburant. La structure des drones a été divisée en six parties : les ailes, le fuselage, les moteurs, l’empennage vertical, l’empennage horizontal et le train d’atterrissage [13-15]. Chaque partie a été remplacée par des formes de base, telles que des triangles, des rectangles et des trapèzes, pour faciliter le calcul des centres de gravité et des masses. Les équations de Raymer [16] ont, par la suite, permis de déduire la masse, le centre de gravité et les moments d’inertie de chaque drone.

La géométrie de l’UAS-S45 décomposée en formes de base

Figure 7 Décomposition de l’UAS-S45 en forme de base

Actionneur

Chaque modèle UAS a par la suite été complété avec le sous-modèle d’un actionneur. Chaque actionneur étant un servomoteur, le modèle d’un moteur à courant continu contrôlé a été utilisé pour la modélisation.

Comparaison des prédictions des sous-modèles aux résultats expérimentaux

Une validation a été effectuée pour chaque sous-modèle. Le sous-modèle aérodynamique obtenu avec notre code et méthodologie Fderivatives a été comparé à l’aide d’une analyse CFD, de la méthode des panneaux (VLM) et de la procédure DATCOM. Les prédictions obtenues par les sous-modèles de propulsion, d’actionnement, et de structure ont été comparées aux données expérimentales. Les résultats ont démontré la précision des sous-modèles élaborés, les erreurs maximales étant de 5 % comparativement aux données expérimentales.

Comparaison du coefficient de portance estimé par le simulateur à celui obtenu par tests en soufflerie pour l’UAS-S4

Figure 8a Comparaison des variations du coefficient de portance selon l’angle d’attaque estimées pour la conception du modèle aérodynamique pour l’UAS-S4.

Comparaison du coefficient de traînée estimé par le simulateur à celui obtenu par tests en soufflerie pour l’UAS-S4

Figure 8b Comparaison des variations du coefficient de traînée selon l’angle d’attaque, estimées pour la conception du modèle aérodynamique pour l’UAS-S4.

Comparaison du moment de tangage estimé par le simulateur à celui obtenu par tests en soufflerie pour l’UAS-S4

Figure 8c Comparaison des variations du moment de tangage selon l’angle d’attaque, estimées pour la conception du modèle aérodynamique pour l’UAS-S4

Comparaison du coefficient de portance estimé par le simulateur à celui obtenu par tests en soufflerie pour l’UAS-S45

Figure 9a Comparaison des variations du coefficient de portance selon l’angle d’attaque, estimées pour la conception du modèle aérodynamique pour l’UAS-S45

Comparaison du coefficient de traînée estimé par le simulateur à celui obtenu par tests en soufflerie pour l’UAS-S45

Figure 9b Comparaison des variations du coefficient de traînée selon l’angle d’attaque, estimées pour la conception du modèle aérodynamique pour l’UAS-S45

Comparaison du moment de tangage estimé par le simulateur à celui obtenu par tests en soufflerie pour l’UAS-S45

Figure 9c Comparaison des variations du moment de tangage selon l’angle d’attaque, estimées pour la conception du modèle aérodynamique pour l’UAS-S45

Données expérimentales contre données du model pour l'UAS-S4

Figure 10a Comparaison entre les données estimées par le sous-modèle de propulsion et les données expérimentales pour l’UAS-S4

Données expérimentales contre données du model pour le UAS-S45

Figure 10b Comparaison entre les données estimées par le sous-modèle de propulsion et les données expérimentales pour le UAS-S45

Conclusion et prochaines étapes de recherche

Le modèle de vol global ainsi obtenu sera utilisé pour la conception d’un simulateur de vol de haute précision. Les résultats obtenus en simulation seront comparés aux données de test en vol expérimentales et permettront de réduire de manière significative le nombre d’essais en vol nécessaire pour la validation des techniques d’amélioration de performances de l’UAS-S4 et de l’UAS-S45 [17, 18]. Le projet de recherche apportera alors une contribution à l’industrie aérospatiale d’un point de vue économique, étant donné qu’il offrira une économie de temps et d’argent considérable en réduisant le nombre d’essais en vol.

Informations supplémentaires

La méthodologie de conception des modèles de vol des UAS-S4 et UAS-S45 et les résultats obtenus lors de ce projet de recherche sont présentés dans l’article de recherche suivant : Kuitche Maxime et Ruxandra Botez, “Modeling Novel Methodologies for Unmanned Aerial System – Applications to the UAS-S4 Ehecatl and the UAS-S45 Bálaam”, Chinese Journal of Aeronautics, Vol. 32(1), January 2019, pp. 58-77, Elsevier Edition.

Maxime Kuitche.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Maxime Kuitche est étudiant au doctorat et assistant de recherche au Département de génie des systèmes de l’ÉTS. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur les méthodologies de modélisation et de simulation de vol des aéronefs et des drones.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ruxandra Botez

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ruxandra Mihaela Botez est professeure au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Elle est spécialiste en modélisation et simulation de vols d’aéronefs, d’hélicoptères, de systèmes de vol, et d’ailes déformables.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)