SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Improving Optical Network Performance through Cognition - By : Stéphanie Allogba, Christine Tremblay,

Improving Optical Network Performance through Cognition


Stéphanie Allogba
Stéphanie Allogba Author profile
Stéphanie Allogba is a PhD student in the Network Technology Laboratory of the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research interests focus on cognitive techniques and machine learning techniques in optical networks.

Christine Tremblay
Christine Tremblay Author profile
Christine Tremblay is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research interests include optical communications, optical networks, silicon photonics, and laser and fibre optics technologies.

Application-based optical network

The featured image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Estimation strategies based on machine learning techniques could prove to be very useful solutions for quickly determining the quality of transmission of signals before establishing a connection in increasingly complex high capacity optical networks. In this paper, we propose a bit error rate (BER) classifier based on the K-nearest neighbors (K-NN) algorithm, which was tested on field BER data collected in a 230-km optical link of the CANARIE network. Results show that classification accuracy increases up to 97.8% depending on the features used in the classification process. Keywords: Quality of transmission, machine learning, K nearest neighbors, bit error rate, cognitive optical network

Introduction

Optical fiber communications have been implemented in the last decades to meet diverse user needs through services with ever-increasing speed, security and quality of transmission. However, the increasing traffic demand and service requirements puts an enormous pressure on optical networks which have to transport higher capacity channels over increasingly long distances (over 10,000 km). Therefore, it can be expected that the impact of performance degradations and link failures will scale with optical network capacity. In this context, one of the solutions is using cognition in optical networks.

 Cognition and Optical Networks

A cognitive system—well known in radio networks—is an intelligent system that has the ability, based on its external environment and history, to make decisions in order to adjust its transmission parameters in relation to its current state [2, 3]. In other words, cognition allows the optical network to make the best use of its monitoring data through an observation and analysis phase. Subsequently, proactive decisions can be made based on predetermined performance objectives and machine learning algorithms.

In this context, we have proposed a bit error rate (BER) classifier based on the K-nearest neighbors algorithm (K-NN) for estimating the quality of transmission of an optical connection before its establishment in an optical network.

BER Data Classification

The BER data classification process was performed in three steps, as shown in figure 1.

Using cognition in optical networks

Figure 1 Classification process

First, the data analysis phase included a statistical analysis of collected BER data to determine the two main classes to be predicted, namely the class of “good BER values” and the class of “weak BER values”.

The second step was to implement the classifier using the K-NN algorithm and external factors that could affect the BER.

The third step made the performance evaluation of the classifier using two methods: splitting data into two groups (80% for training and 20% for testing the algorithm), and a 10-fold cross-validation. As presented in Table 1, the performance analyses were based on three scenarios: temperature and time of day (case 1); hourly average and maximum values of BER (case 2); and using all the parameters (case 3).

Performance of proposed system according to number of parameters

Table 1 Results

Case 3, taking into account the external factors and the statistical characteristics of the BER data, provides the best performance with the highest classification accuracy and the lowest percentage of false positives (i.e. the percentage of erroneous classifications as good BER).

In addition, although the best performance was obtained using cross-validation, the method based on data splitting is the one most suited for real-world applications.

Conclusion

We proposed a BER classifier based on the K-NN algorithm. Using the data’s external factors and statistical characteristics, this classifier made it possible to predict the data classes with 96% classification accuracy.

Because it is based on machine learning algorithms, this solution differs from conventional methods based on the predefinition of a BER threshold. It provides a rapid estimation of network performance through BER classification and could be useful as a performance prediction tool.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following conference paper: S. Allogba and C. Tremblay. 2018. “K-Nearest Neighbors Classifier for Field Bit Error Rate Data” presented (in the “Best Paper Competition”) at the 2018 Asia Communications and Photonics Conference (ACP), held on October 26-29, in Hangzhou, China.

Stéphanie Allogba

Author's profile

Stéphanie Allogba is a PhD student in the Network Technology Laboratory of the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research interests focus on cognitive techniques and machine learning techniques in optical networks.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Author profile

Christine Tremblay

Author's profile

Christine Tremblay is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research interests include optical communications, optical networks, silicon photonics, and laser and fibre optics technologies.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Amélioration des réseaux optiques au moyen de la cognition - Par : Stéphanie Allogba, Christine Tremblay,

Amélioration des réseaux optiques au moyen de la cognition


Stéphanie Allogba
Stéphanie Allogba Profil de l'auteur(e)
Stéphanie Allogba est doctorante au sein du Laboratoire de technologie de réseaux du Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses domaines de recherche portent principalement sur les techniques cognitives dans les réseaux optiques.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Christine Tremblay
Christine Tremblay Profil de l'auteur(e)
Christine Tremblay est professeure au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les communications optiques, les réseaux optiques, la photonique sur silicium et les technologies laser et fibre optique.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Réseau optique pour répondre aux applications

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Les stratégies d’estimation basées sur les techniques d’apprentissage automatique pourraient s’avérer des solutions très utiles pour déterminer rapidement la qualité de transmission d’un signal avant l’établissement d’une connexion dans des réseaux optiques à grande capacité de plus en plus complexes. Dans cet article, nous proposons un classificateur de taux d’erreur sur les bits (BER) basé sur l’algorithme des K plus proches voisins (K-NN). Ce classificateur a été utilisé pour classer les données de BER recueillies dans une liaison optique de 230 km du réseau CANARIE. Les résultats montrent que la précision de la classification augmente jusqu'à 97,8 % en fonction des caractéristiques prises en compte dans le processus de classification. Mots clés : qualité de transmission, apprentissage machine, K plus proches voisins, taux d’erreur binaire, réseau optique cognitif

Introduction

Les communications par fibre optique ont été mises en place dans le but de répondre aux besoins diversifiés des utilisateurs au moyen de services ayant des débits élevés ainsi qu’une sécurité et une qualité de transmission accrues. Cependant, la demande croissante de trafic et d’exigences des applications exerce une pression énorme sur les réseaux optiques qui doivent supporter un trafic de plus en plus important sur des distances de plus en plus grandes (supérieures à 10 000 km). Par conséquent, on peut s’attendre à ce que l’impact des dégradations de performance et des pannes augmente avec la capacité des réseaux optiques. Dans un tel contexte, l’une des solutions serait l’utilisation de la cognition dans les réseaux optiques.

La cognition et les réseaux optiques

Un système cognitif, introduit tout d’abord dans le monde radio, est défini comme un système intelligent qui, en se basant sur son environnement extérieur et sur son historique, a la capacité de prendre des décisions afin d’ajuster ses paramètres de transmission par rapport à son état actuel [2, 3]. En d’autres termes, la cognition permet au réseau optique d’utiliser au mieux ses données de monitoring par une phase d’observation et d’analyse. Par la suite, elle permet de prendre des décisions proactives en fonction d’objectifs de performance prédéterminés à partir des algorithmes d’apprentissage machine.

Nous proposons donc un classificateur de taux d’erreur binaire basé sur l’algorithme des K plus proches voisins (K-NN).

La classification des données de BER

Le processus de classification des données de BER a été effectué en trois étapes, comme montré à la figure 1.

Utilisation de la cognition dans les réseaux optiques

Figure 1 Processus de classification

Premièrement la phase d’analyse des données a été réalisée. Elle consiste à faire une analyse statistique des données de BER collectées afin de déterminer les principales classes à prédire. Cette étape a permis ainsi d’identifier deux classes, à savoir la classe des « bonnes valeurs » de BER et la classe des « faibles valeurs » de BER.

La deuxième étape a été l’implantation du classificateur en utilisant l’algorithme K-NN ainsi que des facteurs externes pouvant  avoir un impact sur le BER.

La troisième étape a permis d’évaluer les performances du classificateur en utilisant deux méthodes : la répartition des données en deux groupes (80 % pour l’entraînement de l’algorithme et 20 % pour les tests) et la validation croisée à 10 plis. Comme présenté dans le Tableau 1, les performances ont été analysées suivant trois scénarios : l’utilisation de la température et de la période de la journée (cas 1); l’utilisation des valeurs moyenne et maximale des données horaires de BER (cas 2) et l’utilisation de tous les paramètres (cas 3).

Tableau 1 Présentation des résultats

Performance du système proposé selon le nombre de paramètres

Le cas 3, prenant en compte les facteurs externes ainsi que les valeurs statistiques des données de BER, fournit les meilleures performances avec la plus grande précision du classificateur et le plus faible taux de faux positifs (taux représentant les mauvaises prédictions faites sur les données de classe faible BER).

Par ailleurs, bien que la meilleure performance obtenue soit la validation croisée, la méthode utilisant la répartition des données est celle qui serait la plus adaptée à des applications réelles.

Conclusion

Nous avons proposé un classificateur de BER basé sur l’algorithme K-NN. Celui-ci, en utilisant les paramètres externes ainsi que les valeurs statistiques des données, a permis de prédire les classes des données et de ce fait, de détecter les anomalies pouvant survenir sur les données de BER observées.

Par ailleurs, étant basée sur des algorithmes d’apprentissage machine, la solution présentée diffère des méthodes classiques basées sur la prédéfinition d’un seuil de BER. En effet, elle permet une estimation rapide de la performance du réseau par la classification du BER et pourrait donc être utile en tant qu’outil de prédiction de performance.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article de conférence suivant : S. Allogba et C. Tremblay. 2018. « K-Nearest Neighbors Classifier for Field Bit Error Rate Data » présenté (dans la session « Best Paper Competition ») lors de la 2018 Asia Communications and Photonics Conference (ACP), tenue du 26 au 29 octobre 2018 à Hangzhou, en Chine.

Stéphanie Allogba

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Stéphanie Allogba est doctorante au sein du Laboratoire de technologie de réseaux du Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses domaines de recherche portent principalement sur les techniques cognitives dans les réseaux optiques.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Christine Tremblay

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Christine Tremblay est professeure au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les communications optiques, les réseaux optiques, la photonique sur silicium et les technologies laser et fibre optique.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *