SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Using Artificial Light to Power Electronic Devices - By : Hanen Hattab,

Using Artificial Light to Power Electronic Devices


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

photovoltaic cell

Purchased on Istock.com. Copyright

In recent years, the quantity of electrical appliances per household has increased significantly. While home automation and the Internet of Things offer energy-saving solutions, some use them for other purposes, leading to additional sources of power consumption. Daily use of these new technologies can add to the electrical bill, a matter of concern to researchers at the INAMORI Frontier Research Center and the Department of Applied Chemistry at Kyushu Imperial University in Fukuoka, Japan.

To reduce the demand on the power grid, the team created a device that produces and supplies electricity using light. In spite of its method of energy production, the device is not intended to be exposed to solar rays. Rather, it is designed to be used indoors as it is able to convert ambient light, or even artificial light, into electrical energy. The device is equipped with organic photovoltaic cells.

Organic Photovoltaic Cells

These cells consist of at least one active layer made from organic molecules. Researchers indicated that these cells function more efficiently under indoor artificial lighting than under sunlight. In this regard, it is important to note that organic cells have an efficiency level of about 15%, while that of silicon-based cells can reach a level of 24%. In addition to their low environmental footprint, they cost less to manufacture than inorganic photovoltaics. Increasing the performance of organic cells is a significant technological challenge.

 

Operating these cells is similar to cells based on inorganic materials. Organic cells transform light into electricity through the photovoltaic effect, whose efficiency depends on the structure of the material. This is why optimizing the polymers used in manufacturing the active layer of the organic cell contributes to improving the rate of energy conversion.

Manufacturing and Testing

Using small molecules called BDT-2T-ID, pretreated in a solution, the team dramatically improved cell performance. To test their efficiency, the researchers designed six modules connected in series, with an active surface area of approximately 10 cm2. Tests showed that the cells reached a conversion rate of over 16% under white LED lighting. In particular, they offer a power surface density (average amount of electricity produced relative to the cell’s surface area during a specific time frame) ranging from 12.4 to 65.3 μWcm-2 when illumination of the cell surface ranges between 200 to 1000 lx. Even in a low light of 200 lx, the cells are able to generate about 4.2 volts. Although the technology is still a work in progress, these results indicate that the cells can be used as indoor power sources for stand-alone electronics.

The study entitled “High-Performance Organic Energy-Harvesting Devices and Modules for Self-Sustainable Power Generation under Ambient Indoor Lighting Environments,” published in ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces on February 21, 2019, was co-authored by Ryota Arai, Seiichi Furukawa, Yu Hidaka, Hideaki Komiyama, and Takuma Yasuda.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Alimenter les appareils électroniques grâce à la lumière artificielle - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Alimenter les appareils électroniques grâce à la lumière artificielle


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

cellule photovoltaïque

Achetée sur Istock.com. Droits d’auteur.

Ces dernières années le nombre d’appareils électriques par ménage a augmenté de façon importante. Bien que la domotique et l’Internet des objets offrent des solutions d’économie d’énergie, certains les utilisent à d’autres fins et représentent de fait des sources de consommation électrique supplémentaires. L’utilisation quotidienne de ces nouvelles technologies peut donc alourdir la facture d’électricité, un problème qui préoccupe des chercheurs du INAMORI Frontier Research Center et du Department of Applied Chemistry de l’Université impériale de Kyūshū à Fukuoka, au Japon.

Pour réduire la demande au réseau électrique, l’équipe a créé un appareil qui produit et fournit de l’électricité grâce à la lumière. Contrairement à ce que peut laisser croire le moyen de production d’énergie, l’appareil n’est pas destiné à être exposé aux rayons solaires. Bien au contraire il est conçu dans le but d’être utilisé à l’intérieur, car il est capable de convertir la lumière ambiante, voire même la lumière artificielle, en énergie électrique. L’appareil est muni de cellules photovoltaïques organiques.

Les cellules photovoltaïques organiques

Ce type de cellules se composent d’au moins une couche active, fabriquée à partir de molécules organiques. Les chercheurs ont indiqué que ces cellules fonctionnent plus efficacement sous éclairage artificiel intérieur que sous la lumière du soleil. À ce propos, il est important de remarquer que les records de rendements des cellules organiques avoisinent les 15 %, alors que les cellules à base de silicium par exemple offrent un rendement de 24 %. Par ailleurs, en plus de leur faible impact environnemental, leurs coûts de fabrication industrielle est moindre que celui du photovoltaïque inorganique. L’augmentation du rendement des cellules organiques représente de fait un défi technologique considérable.

 

Le mode de fonctionnement de ces cellules est semblable à celui des cellules à base de matériaux inorganiques. Les cellules organiques transforment la lumière en électricité par l’effet photovoltaïque, dont l’efficacité est tributaire de la structure du matériau. C’est pourquoi l’optimisation des polymères utilisés dans la fabrication de la couche active de la cellule organique participe à améliorer le taux de conversion de l’énergie.

Fabrication et tests

Grâce à de petites molécules appelées BDT-2T-ID prétraitées dans une solution, l’équipe a amélioré considérablement le rendement des cellules. Pour tester leur efficacité, les chercheurs ont conçu six modules connectés en série, dont la surface active mesuraient environ 10 cm2. Les tests ont prouvé que les cellules atteignaient un taux de conversion supérieur à 16 % sous éclairage DEL blanc. Elles offrent notamment des densités surfaciques de puissance (la quantité moyenne d’électricité produite par rapport aux surfaces des cellules pendant une période bien déterminée) élevées, allant de 12,4 à 65,3 µWcm-2 lorsque l’éclairement de la surface des cellules varie de 200 à 1000 lx. Même sous un faible éclairage de 200 lx, les cellules sont capables de générer environ 4,2 volts. Bien que la technologie ne soit pas encore au point, ces résultats indiquent que ces cellules peuvent être utilisées comme sources d’énergie électrique intérieures pour alimenter les appareils électroniques autonomes.

L’étude, intitulée « High-Performance Organic Energy-Harvesting Devices and Modules for Self-Sustainable Power Generation under Ambient Indoor Lighting Environments », a été publiée dans ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces le 21 février 2019. Elle a été coécrite par Ryota Arai, Seiichi Furukawa, Yu Hidaka, Hideaki Komiyama, et Takuma Yasuda.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *