SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Yhnova – First Inhabited 3D-Printed House - By : Hanen Hattab,

Yhnova – First Inhabited 3D-Printed House


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Yhnova home in Nantes

The header image is from the Yhnova press kit, source.

In July 2018, a family of five settled in their new home in Nantes, France. This event was far from trivial. In fact, it was a first worldwide: living in 3D-printed social housing. Is the affordable real estate sector entering a new era after prefab architecture? The two approaches use almost the same logistics, as structural elements are manufactured off-site. In addition, XL 3D printing allows greater formal freedom to industrialized and affordable architecture while reducing the home’s environmental impact.

3D Printing for Responsible Energy Consumption

The house in Nantes, measuring 95 sq. m, was named Yhnova. It has five rooms and is characterized by its organic design and clean lines. Designed as part of the BatiPrint3DTM project, construction began during the Nantes Digital Week in September 2017. Several university and government partners, including the Laboratory of Digital Sciences of Nantes, LS2N  (University of Nantes, CNRS, Ecole Centrale, Inria, IMT Atlantique) and the Research Institute in Civil Engineering and Mechanics, GeM (University of Nantes, CNRS, Ecole Centrale) launched this experiment to offer “housing that is affordable, adaptable to the terrain, quickly built and energy efficient,” according to their website.

BatiPrint3DTM is also the name of a design and construction technology sitting at the crossroads of civil engineering and robotics. In addition to the speed and precision in constructing the walls, 3D printing helped create an energy-positive habitat at a lower cost. In this regard, the team estimates that the walls will contribute to “heat savings of around 50%.” What is more, the house cost “approximately 200,000 euros, 20% less than a similar sized construction, built in a conventional manner,” according to an article in Business Insider.

Drawings and Manufacturing

The walls were built inside a hangar. A polyarticulated robot layered a triple-wall insulating and structuring formwork, creating the external walls of the house. The walls consist of two layers of polyurethane foam serving as formwork to a third layer of concrete. The expansive foam provides internal and external thermal insulation. The robotic printer operates with the additive manufacturing method and the material extrusion process.

Two steps made it possible to build a digital model of the house. The first was to draw the geometric representation of the architecture. This work was done by the TICA architectural firm. Thanks to the technical features of BatiPrint3DTM, the creators were able to play around with the inside-outside relationship, offering a view of the landscape without disrupting the wooded area. “The rooms of the home actually span between the trees, at a sufficient distance to preserve the root network, and are interconnected by long curved walls defining a large central living space open to the wooded area,” says TICA architect Charles Coiffier.

Poster of the Yhnova home

 

The second step was to design a digital model called Building Information Modeling (BIM). The model “brings together all the functional and physical characteristics of the house,” as shown in the following video  (in French only). BIM “allows researchers to define the robot commands and trajectories”.

During construction, the printer was moving along the slab of the construction shelter following a laser sensor connected to the BIM mode. The printing process lasted 54 hours. The team then spent four months completing the roof construction and installing doors and windows. Yhnova is equipped with home automation technologies and detectors to evaluate and analyze the behaviour of the materials, and thermal and acoustic quality during the first year of occupation.

In addition to monitoring, the scientific project will continue experimenting with other constraints. In fact, LS2N and GeM wish to explore new avenues by adapting the BatiPrint3DTM technology to the construction of two-storey habitats, the use of biobased materials, etc.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Yhnova, la première maison imprimée 3D habitée - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Yhnova, la première maison imprimée 3D habitée


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Maison Yhnova à Nantes

L’image d’en-tête provient du dossier de presse de Yhnova, source.

Une famille de cinq personnes s’est installée en juillet 2018 dans sa nouvelle maison à Nantes en France. L’événement est loin d’être anodin. Bien au contraire, il marque une première au monde, soit l’occupation d’un logement social imprimé en 3D. Le secteur de l’immobilier abordable passe-t-il ainsi à une nouvelle ère après celle de l’architecture préfabriquée? En effet, il s’agit presque du même principe logistique puisque les éléments de l’ouvrage sont fabriqués hors site. Par ailleurs, l’impression 3D XL permet à l’architecture industrialisée et abordable plus de liberté formelle tout en réduisant l’impact écologique de l’habitat.

L’impression 3D au service d’une consommation énergétique responsable

La maison nantaise, de 95 m2, est baptisée Yhnova. Elle comprend cinq pièces et se caractérise par un design aux lignes organiques. Conçue dans le cadre du projet BatiPrint3D, la construction a débuté lors de la Nantes Digital Week en septembre 2017. Plusieurs partenaires universitaires et gouvernementaux, dont le Laboratoire des Sciences du Numérique de Nantes, LS2N (Université de Nantes, CNRS, Ecole Centrale, Inria, IMT Atlantique) et l’Institut de  Recherche  en  Génie  Civil  et  Mécanique, GeM (Université de Nantes, CNRS, Ecole Centrale) ont lancé cette expérience afin de proposer « des logements à prix abordable, adaptables au terrain, rapidement construits et économes en énergie », peut-on lire sur leur site Web.

BatiPrint3DTM est aussi l’appellation de la technologie de conception et de construction à la croisée du génie civil et de la robotique. En plus de la rapidité et de la précision de la construction des murs, l’impression 3D a permis de réaliser un habitat à énergie positive et à moindre coût. À ce propos, l’équipe a estimé que les murs contribueront à « une économie de chauffage de l’ordre de 50 % ». À savoir aussi que la maison a coûté « environ 200 000 euros, 20 % moins cher qu’un bâtiment de même taille, bâti de façon classique », selon un article de Business Insider.

Dessins et de fabrication

Les murs ont été construits à l’intérieur d’un hangar. Le robot polyarticulé dépose une triple paroi coffrante, isolante et structurante pour ériger les murs externes de la maison. Ceux-ci sont composés de deux couches de mousse de polyuréthane qui servent de coffrage à une troisième couche de béton. La mousse expansive assure l’isolation thermique interne et externe. L’imprimante robotisée a recours à la méthode de fabrication additive et utilise le procédé d’extrusion de matière.

Deux étapes ont permis de réaliser le modèle numérique de la maison. La première consistait à dessiner la représentation géométrique de l’architecture. Ce travail a été effectué par le cabinet d’architecture TICA. Les créateurs ont pu, grâce aux possibilités techniques de BatiPrint3DTM, jouer avec le rapport intérieur extérieur pour offrir une vue sur le paysage sans intervenir sur le terrain arborisé. « Les chambres du logement viennent effectivement se glisser entre les arbres, à distance suffisante afin de préserver le réseau racinaire, et sont reliées entre elles par de longs murs en courbes tendues délimitant un large espace de vie central ouvert sur l’espace boisé », précise Charles Coiffier, un architecte de TICA.

Affiche maison Yhnova

La deuxième étape consistait à concevoir le modèle numérique appelé Bulding Information Modeling (BIM). Celui-ci « rassemble toutes les caractéristiques fonctionnelles et physiques de la maison », comme l’indique la vidéo suivante. Le BIM « permet aux chercheurs de définir les commandes et les trajectoires du robot ».

Pendant la construction, l’imprimante a effectué ses déplacements sur la dalle du hangar en suivant un capteur laser connecté à la maquette BIM. L’impression a duré 54 heures. L’équipe a par la suite passé quatre mois pour achever la construction du toit et l’installation des portes et des fenêtres. Yhnova est équipée de technologies domotiques et de détecteurs qui permettront d’évaluer et d’analyser le comportement des matériaux, et la  qualité  thermique  et  acoustique  durant  sa  1re  année d’occupation.

En plus du suivi, le projet scientifique se poursuivra en expérimentant d’autres contraintes. En fait, LS2N et GeM souhaitent explorer de nouvelles pistes en adaptant la technologie BatiPrint3DTM à la construction d’habitats à un étage, à l’utilisation de matériaux biosourcés, etc.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *