SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Vocktail—It’s All in the Glass - By : Hanen Hattab,

Vocktail—It’s All in the Glass


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Vocktail changes water into drinks

The featured image is from Pixabay, source. Public Domain.

Good news for figure and health-conscious individuals! A team from the National University of Singapore has created a technology allowing you to enjoy drinks without actually drinking them. The invention is called Vocktail, a contraction of Virtual Cocktail.

In 2013, researchers created a technology called Digital Lollipop, a connector at the tip of which is a tab that transmits flavours to the tongue. This type of tongue interface can simulate basic flavours—sweet, sour, salty and bitter. But it does not look very appetizing!

 

Digital Lollipop

Recently, the team came up with a device that makes this taste experience more realistic, the Vocktail glass. The technology reproduces flavours in a healthier way than using artificial flavours.

Taste Bud Stimulator

Vocktail is a glass that simulates the taste, appearance and smell of a drink using water. Its rim is equipped with two electrodes that transmit electrical signals to the tip of the tongue activating the sensation of the desired flavours. The currents used are minimal: 180 microamps, for an acid taste and 80 microamps for a bitter taste.

An LED at the bottom of the glass gives colour to the simulated liquid and influences the perception of taste. Facing the electrodes, a diffuser spreads scent molecules from cartridges, activating the olfactory recognition of the drink and deceiving the brain. The system is powered by micro-air pumps located in the base of the glass. According to the team, the cartridges are as easy to refill as ink cartridges in a copier.

Vocktail

The glass is controlled remotely by a mobile application that can recreate a number of drinks and combine different flavours. The application also makes it possible to send beverages to other Vocktail-connected people, and even to share drinks with them. The researchers conducted their study with simulated lemonade. They were able to reproduce the taste and send it to another glass equipped with the same technology.

Teleporting a glass of lemonade

Sensors collect chemical data such as colour and pH value. The system has three parts:

  1. a lemonade characteristics sensor;
  2. a communication protocol;
  3. a customized cup, acting as a lemonade simulator.

An experimental study was conducted to evaluate this new approach to digital transmission of lemonade based on the following steps:

  1. an assessment of before-taste visual perceptions based on the actual lemonade colour compared to visual perceptions of the digital lemonade;
  2. a taste assessment comparing the actual lemonade to its digital avatar.

Applications: Well-Being and Health

With the glass, a custom cocktail can be tested before ordering it at a bar. The application allows people on a strict diet to savour any drink via a simple glass of water, which reduces their frustration. It can also help people who can no longer perceive flavours due to chemotherapy treatments to recover their sense of taste, since transmitting flavours with electrical signals replaces the similar natural reaction impaired by chemotherapeutic agents.

The team is working on improving Vocktail by making the diffuser quieter. Research will be conducted in order to simulate the temperature and texture of beverages and thus optimize the perception of other liquids.

The study, entitled “Virtual Lemonade: Let’s Teleport Your Lemonade!” was co-authored by Nimesha Ranasinghe, Pravar Jain, Shienny Karwita and Ellen Yi-Luen Do, and presented in Glasgow at the 2nd international workshop on multisensorial approaches to human-food interaction, on November 13, 2017.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments
  1. Nicolas says:

    Whaou, that’s really cool isnt’ it ?
    Well, yes, but still with some serious limitations,
    To go further, here is a gentle critical review of this cool device
    https://www.alimentarium.org/en/magazine/trick-or-truth/ready-virtual-cocktail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Vocktail, un verre qui parle aux papilles - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Vocktail, un verre qui parle aux papilles


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

vocktail change l'eau en boisson

L’image d’en-tête provient de Pixabay, source. Domaine public.

C’est une bonne nouvelle pour les gourmands soucieux de leur ligne et de leur santé. Une équipe de l’Université nationale de Singapour a créé une technologie qui permet de déguster les boissons sans réellement les boire. Cette invention s’appelle Vocktail, une contraction de Virtual Cocktail.

Les chercheurs ont créé en 2013 une technologie qui s’appelle Digital Lollipop. C’est un objet connecté comportant à l’extrémité une languette qui transmet les saveurs à la langue. Cette sorte de langue-interface est capable de simuler des sapidités de base comme le sucré, l’aigre, le salé et l’amer. Mais elle n’a pas l’air très appétissante!

 

Digital Lollipop

Récemment, l’équipe a proposé un objet qui rend cette expérience gustative plus réaliste, le verre Vocktail. La technologie reconstitue de façon plus saine les goûts que l’ajout des arômes artificiels.

Un verre qui stimule les papilles

Vocktail est un verre qui simule le goût, l’apparence et l’odeur d’une boisson à partir de l’eau. Son rebord est muni de deux électrodes qui transmettent des signaux électriques au bout de la langue pour activer la réception des saveurs désirées. Les courants envoyés sont minimes : 180 microampères,  pour le goût acide et 80 microampères, pour le goût amer.

Une DEL installée au fond du verre permet d’obtenir la couleur du liquide simulé et influencer de fait la perception du goût. Un diffuseur placé en face des électrodes propage des molécules odorantes provenant de cartouches, ce qui active la reconnaissance olfactive de la boisson et permet de leurrer le cerveau. Ce système est alimenté par des micro-pompes à air se trouvant dans la base du verre. Selon l’équipe, les cartouches sont aussi facilement rechargeables que l’encre d’une imprimante.

Vocktail

La coupe est télécommandée par une application mobile qui permet de recréer plusieurs boissons et de combiner les saveurs. Elle permet aussi d’envoyer des breuvages à d’autres personnes connectées à un Vocktail ou même de les partager avec elles. Les chercheurs ont effectué cette étude à partir de la simulation d’une limonade. Ils sont parvenus à restituer son goût et à l’envoyer à un autre verre équipé de la même technologie.

Téléportation d’un verre de limonade

Des capteurs récoltent des données chimiques comme la couleur et la valeur du pH. Le système comporte de fait trois parties :

  1. le capteur des caractéristiques de la limonade;
  2. le protocole de communication;
  3. un gobelet personnalisé, agissant comme simulateur de limonade.

Une étude expérimentale a été menée pour évaluer cette nouvelle approche de transmission numérique d’un verre de limonade en se basant sur les étapes suivantes :

  1. évaluation des perceptions avant-goût basées sur la vue de la couleur de la limonade réelle comparées à celles de la limonade digitale;
  2. évaluation du goût en comparant la limonade réelle avec son avatar digital.

Applications : bien-être et santé

La coupe permet ainsi de tester un cocktail personnalisé avant de le commander dans un bar. L’application permet aux personnes qui suivent un régime alimentaire strict de savourer n’importe quelle boisson en se contentant d’un simple verre d’eau, ce qui diminue leurs frustrations. Elle peut également aider les gens ne pouvant plus percevoir les saveurs à cause de traitement de chimiothérapie à retrouver le sens du goût, car la transmission des saveurs par l’envoie des signaux électriques remplace la réaction naturelle similaire altérée par les agents chimiothérapeutiques.

L’équipe est en train d’améliorer Vocktail en essayant de rendre le diffuseur silencieux. Des recherches seront faites notamment afin de simuler la température et la texture des boissons et optimiser ainsi la perception d’autres liquides.

Cette étude s’intitule « Virtual Lemonade: Let’s Teleport Your Lemonade! ». Elle a été coécrite par Nimesha Ranasinghe, Pravar Jain, Shienny Karwita et Ellen Yi-Luen Do et présentée lors du 2d international workshop on multisensorial approaches to human-food interaction le 13 novembre 2017 à Glasgow.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *