SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Living the Meet the Future Experience - By : Jeremy Webb,

Living the Meet the Future Experience


Jérémy Webb, a graduating student in the Bachelor of Automated Manufacturing Engineering program at ÉTS, shares his experience as a member of the Meet the Future 2018 squad.

Jeremy Webb
Jeremy Webb Author profile
Jeremy Webb is graduating in Automated Manufacturing Engineering. He was an ÉTS ambassador for over 2 years and also started a pharmaceutical robotics business at Centech.

Factry’s Meet the Future 2018 event

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Factry’s Meet the Future Event

Last May, I had the good fortune to be invited to attend the Meet the Future event at C2 Montréal.

The organization selected 35 people between the ages of 18 and 35 to form a squad. They were to give their opinion on the guest entrepreneurs’ innovative ideas: a great opportunity to voice their opinion! To be selected for the squad, candidates had to produce a brief video description of themselves, explaining why they felt they deserved to be chosen. The primary purpose of this group was not to participate in all the activities offered on site, but rather to meet as many entrepreneurs as possible and to represent the point of view of this new generation.

Jeremy Webb with Mexican entrepreneurs at the Meet the Future event (Attention: coquille en français à “Future”)

The author, with head of the Mexican delegation Fatima Montiel, and two Mexican entrepreneurs

This experience began with a training session designed to prepare us for the madness of the next three days. We started with icebreaker activities followed by several simulations of the kinds of discussions that were awaiting us. A group of French entrepreneurs even came to meet us to help us with our preparation.

VIP lounges at Meet the Future

Outdoor area of the event and various company VIP Lounges

Snoop Dog’s address under the marquee

The three days of the event can be summarized by a mad rush to meet as many people as possible while enjoying the sensory and creative experiences of the site.

One of my favourite activities was the “braindate”: a meeting with a randomly designated person to discuss a subject of interest to us. Through this activity, I was able to talk to people I would never have dreamed of meeting, like employees of Kinova, Ford, Uber, and many others. Meet the Future really helped me develop my professional network and improve my spontaneous communication skills.

Among the activities presented on site, the most impressive were under the big 360 tent where many conferences were held, given by everyone from Sid Lee to Snoop Dog. In addition, several interactive laboratories located throughout the site hosted various activities ranging from baking cookies to stimulating our five senses. This event is distinguished by its sheer scope and the originality of its attractions. Everything had been planned for a long time and every turn led to a new discovery.

 

 

 

 

Restaurant at the Meet the Future event

The 360 degree restaurant turned non-stop

 

The most striking experience was meeting with the representative of Mexican entrepreneurs, who introduced me to several of them. I had the pleasure of ending the evening in a nice restaurant with more than twenty people from abroad. In a nutshell, this event was an unforgettable experience.

Jeremy Webb at a dinner closing the Meet the Future event

An improvised dinner with several entrepreneurs from around the world

Jeremy Webb

Author's profile

Jeremy Webb is graduating in Automated Manufacturing Engineering. He was an ÉTS ambassador for over 2 years and also started a pharmaceutical robotics business at Centech.

Program : Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Vivre l’expérience « Meet the Future » - Par : Jeremy Webb,

Vivre l’expérience « Meet the Future »


Jérémy Webb, finissant au baccalauréat en génie de la production automatisée à l’ÉTS, nous fait part de son expérience en tant que membre de l’escouade « Meet the Future » 2018.

Jeremy Webb
Jeremy Webb est finissant en génie de la production automatisée. Il a été ambassadeur de l’ÉTS pendant plus de 2 ans et a aussi démarré une entreprise en robotique pharmaceutique au Centech.

Meet the Future 2018 de la Factry

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

L’événement « Meet the Future » de la Factry

Au mois de mai dernier, j’ai eu la chance d’être invité à C2 Montréal dans le cadre de l’événement « Meet the Future ».

L’organisation a sélectionné 35 jeunes âgés de 18 à 35 ans pour former une escouade. Ces jeunes devaient donner leur opinion sur les idées novatrices des entrepreneurs invités : une belle occasion de faire valoir son avis! Afin d’être sélectionnés pour l’escouade, les candidats ont dû faire une brève vidéodescription d’eux-mêmes, expliquant pourquoi ils estimaient mériter d’être choisis. Le but premier de ce groupe n’était pas de participer à toutes les activités offertes sur le site, mais plutôt de rencontrer le plus grand nombre d’entrepreneurs possible et de faire valoir le point de vue de la nouvelle génération.

Jeremy Webb et des entrepreneurs mexicains lors de l’événement Meet the Future

L’auteur accompagné de Fatima Montiel, la responsable de la délégation du Mexique, et deux entrepreneurs mexicains

Cette expérience a commencé par une séance de formation qui visait à nous préparer à la folie des trois jours suivants. Nous avons débuté par des activités brise-glace, puis avons fait plusieurs simulations du type d’échanges qui nous attendaient. Un groupe d’entrepreneurs français est même venu nous rencontrer afin de nous aider dans notre préparation.

Lounges VIP de Meet the Future

L’aire extérieure de l’événement et Lounges VIP des diverses entreprises

 

 

Snoop Dog à l’événement Meet the Future

Conférence de Snoop Dog sous le grand chapiteau

Les trois jours de l’événement se résument par une course folle pendant laquelle on rencontre le plus de gens possible tout en profitant au maximum des expériences sensorielles et créatives du site.

Une des activités que j’ai le plus aimées est le « braindate », qui consistait à rencontrer une personne désignée de façon aléatoire pour discuter d’un sujet qui nous intéressait. Par l’intermédiaire de cette activité, j’ai pu discuter avec des personnes que je n’aurai jamais rêvé de rencontrer, par exemple des employés de Kinova, de Ford, d’Uber et bien d’autres. « Meet the Future » m’a vraiment permis de développer mon réseau professionnel et d’améliorer mes compétences en communication spontanée.

Parmi les activités présentées sur les lieux, les plus impressionnantes étaient situées sous le grand chapiteau 360 où de nombreuses conférences ont eu lieu, allant de Sid Lee à Snoop Dog. De plus, plusieurs laboratoires interactifs, installés un peu partout sur le site, permettaient diverses activités allant de la confection de biscuits à l’immersion des cinq sens. Cet événement se distingue par son ampleur et l’originalité des attractions. Tout avait été longuement planifié; chaque virage permettait de découvrir quelque chose de nouveau.

Restaurant de l’événement « Meet the Future »

Le restaurant 360 degré qui tourne sans cesse sur lui-même

L’expérience qui m’a le plus marqué a été la rencontre de la représentante des entrepreneurs du Mexique, qui m’a présenté à plusieurs d’entre eux. J’ai eu le plaisir de finir la soirée dans un joli restaurant avec plus d’une vingtaine de personnes provenant de l’international. Bref, cet événement a été pour moi une expérience inoubliable.

Jeremy Webb lors d’une souper à la fin de l’événement « Meet the Future »

Un souper improvisé avec plusieurs entrepreneurs provenant de partout dans le monde

Jeremy Webb

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jeremy Webb est finissant en génie de la production automatisée. Il a été ambassadeur de l’ÉTS pendant plus de 2 ans et a aussi démarré une entreprise en robotique pharmaceutique au Centech.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *