SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Three Tips to Prepare for a Master’s during Undergraduate Studies - By : Substance,

Three Tips to Prepare for a Master’s during Undergraduate Studies


Three painted arrows on asphalt

The featured image was bought from Shuttertock.com and is protected by copyright.

Master’s Degree in Engineering (research profile)

Three tips for preparing for graduate studies

Antoine Langevin is a PhD student at LACIME

Antoine Langevin is a PhD student at LACIME

Are you an undergraduate student who is planning to move on to a Master’s program? Are you having a hard time deciding between a Master’s with Project and a Master’s with Thesis? There are some important questions to consider. For example, you may be daunted by the prospect of having to find a Research Director for your thesis, and you may be wondering whether research is really right for you. Rest assured that many students have asked themselves these same questions. Antoine Langevin, a Ph.D. student in Electrical Engineering, offers three tips to help you make a more informed decision.

1. Do a research-based work-term before making a long-term commitment

“When I was an undergraduate student in Electrical Engineering, I decided that my third work-term would be research-based. This helped me to really experience what it was like to be involved in research. It was also a good way to immerse myself in research work without making a long-term commitment. Four months is long enough to determine whether you enjoy research or not.”

2. Choose a project that you find interesting

“Take a look at the list of professors and their research projects. This will allow you to choose a professor who shares your interests. It’s much more fulfilling to do your Master’s project on a subject that you are passionate about, rather than a subject that is mostly of interest to your professor.”

3. Discuss the options with your professors

Ghyslain Gagnon is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department and the Director of LACIME

Ghyslain Gagnon is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department and the Director of LACIME

“Don’t be afraid to discuss your options with professors who share your interests. You may be surprised at how accessible they are, especially when you are discussing projects close to their hearts, like their own research. Remember that they were once undergraduate students too. They don’t expect you to have the same level of understanding as them.”

Ghyslain Gagnon, a professor at LACIME who was Antoine’s Project Director at the Master’s level and is currently his Co-Director at the Ph.D. level, is in full agreement! “Right from the very beginning of his undergraduate studies, Antoine took the time to discuss elements of the material that he was interested in with his professor. He also carried out a number of personal projects in his free time in order to gain a deeper understanding of certain subjects. He really enjoyed what he was doing, and he was very curious and passionate about it. That is very appealing to a professor who is looking to recruit students”.

..

 

Ready to get started? Here is your first mission!

Attend the LACIME congress, which will be held at Student House from 8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on February 21, 2019. You will have an opportunity to meet with professors and learn more about their research projects, and you can put Antoine’s tips to the test. LACIME Congress

Who is Antoine Langevin?

Antoine Langevin holds a DCS in Computer Systems Technology from Gérald-Godin CEGEP, and was poised to join the labour market in 2012 after completing his collegiate studies. However, he decided to pursue a Bachelor degree in Electrical Engineering at ÉTS instead. This decision had a major impact on his subsequent studies. It was at ÉTS where Antoine discovered a passion for artificial intelligence, which led him to carry out research work with Ghyslain Gagnon and Mohamed Cheriet, two of the leading researchers at ÉTS.

 


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Trois astuces pour se préparer à la maîtrise dès le bac - Par : Substance,

Trois astuces pour se préparer à la maîtrise dès le bac


Trois flèches peintes sur le bitume

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Shutterstock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

La maîtrise en génie de type recherche
Trois astuces pour s’y préparer dès le baccalauréat

Antoine Langevin, étudiant au doctorat au LACIME

Antoine Langevin, étudiant au doctorat au LACIME

Vous étudiez au baccalauréat et vous envisagez de poursuivre vos études à la maîtrise? Entre la maîtrise avec projet et la maîtrise avec mémoire, votre cœur balance? Il y a cependant une ombre au tableau : la perspective de devoir trouver un directeur de recherche pour votre mémoire vous préoccupe. Et puis, la recherche, est-ce fait pour vous? Rassurez-vous : beaucoup d’étudiants se sont posé les mêmes questions. Antoine Langevin, aujourd’hui étudiant au doctorat en génie électrique, vous fournit trois astuces pour y voir plus clair.

1. Faites un stage de recherche avant de vous engager à plus long terme

« Quand j’étais étudiant au baccalauréat en génie électrique, j’ai décidé de faire mon troisième stage en recherche. Cette expérience m’a permis de vivre concrètement ce qu’était la recherche. Il s’agit aussi d’une excellente façon de plonger dans la recherche sans avoir à s’engager à long terme. Quatre mois, c’est suffisant pour savoir si vous aimez la recherche ou pas. »

2. Choisissez un projet qui vous intéresse

« Jetez un œil sur la liste des professeurs et de leurs projets de recherche. Vous pourrez ainsi choisir un professeur qui partage vos intérêts. C’est beaucoup plus intéressant de faire son projet de maîtrise sur un sujet qui vous passionne plutôt que sur un sujet qui intéresse davantage votre professeur. »

3. Discutez avec des professeurs

Ghyslain Gagnon, professeur au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS et directeur du LACIME

Ghyslain Gagnon, professeur au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS et directeur du LACIME

« N’ayez pas peur de discuter avec les professeurs qui partagent vos intérêts. C’est étonnant de voir à quel point ils sont accessibles, surtout quand vous discutez de projets qui les allument, comme leurs travaux de recherche. Rappelez-vous qu’ils ont déjà étudié au baccalauréat; ils ne s’attendent pas à ce que votre niveau de connaissances soit le même que le leur. »

Sur ce point, Ghyslain Gagnon, professeur au LACIME qui a dirigé Antoine à la maîtrise et qui le codirige actuellement au doctorat, est bien d’accord! « Déjà, au tout début de son baccalauréat, Antoine prenait le temps de discuter avec son enseignant des éléments de la matière qui l’avaient intéressé. Il réalisait aussi beaucoup de projets personnels dans ses temps libres pour mieux comprendre certains sujets. Il aimait vraiment ce qu’il faisait; il était curieux et passionné, et ça, c’est très intéressant pour un professeur qui cherche à recruter des étudiants ».

..

 

Vous êtes prêt à vous lancer? Voici une première mission!

Participez au congrès du LACIME qui aura lieu le 21 février prochain, de 8 h 30 à 18 h 30, à la Maison des étudiants. Vous aurez l’occasion de rencontrer des professeurs et d’en apprendre davantage sur leurs projets de recherche. De plus, vous pourrez mettre en pratique les astuces d’Antoine.  Congrès du LACIME.

Qui est Antoine Langevin?

Titulaire d’un DEC en technologie des systèmes ordinés du cégep Gérald-Godin, Antoine Langevin aurait pu se lancer sur le marché du travail, en 2012, à la fin de ses études collégiales. Il a plutôt choisi de poursuivre ses études universitaires à l’ÉTS, au baccalauréat en génie électrique. Cette décision aura un grand impact sur la suite de ses études : c’est à l’ÉTS qu’Antoine se découvrira une passion pour l’intelligence artificielle. Une passion qui l’amènera à faire de la recherche auprès de Ghyslain Gagnon, puis de Mohamed Cheriet, deux éminents chercheurs de l’ÉTS.