SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The Industry 4.0 to Aerospace 4.0 Transition: How it’s Being Done - By : Hany Moustapha,

The Industry 4.0 to Aerospace 4.0 Transition: How it’s Being Done


Hany Moustapha
Hany Moustapha Author profile
Hany Moustapha is a professor at ÉTS and directs AÉROÉTS. In 2011, he was named Senior Research Fellow of P&WC in 2011. He wrote and co-authored over 100 publications and two books on gas turbines.

AÉROÉTS started the AEROSPACE 4.0 to help companies

The featured image was bought on Istock.com. Copyrights.

Industry 4.0: History

The term “Industry 4.0” first appeared in 2010 as part of a strategic high-tech project prepared by Acatech, the German Academy of Science and Engineering, at the request of the German government. The purpose of this project was to promote computerization in the manufacturing industry [1].

Unlike other industrialized countries, Germany has managed, over the past decade, to stabilize employment in the production sector, despite higher wages. Due notably to its medium-sized but highly innovative manufacturing industry, this country has had better control than many others over the economic impacts of the financial crisis [2]. Germany wanted to play a key role in implementing the fourth manufacturing revolution, Industry 4.0. The project was first presented to the public in 2011 at the Hanover Trade Fair, the world’s largest industrial technology exhibition.

 

On April 8, 2013, at the suggestion of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Acatech presented the final project report at the Hanover Fair, which became the Industry 4.0 platform and included recommendations for its implementation as well as the associated research program [3].

Industry 4.0 in 100 Countries Worldwide

On January 12, 2018, the World Economic Forum published the first issue of a report describing the readiness of countries around the world [4]:

[This report] evaluates the readiness of 100 countries for the future of production based on 59 indicators covering two main components: the structure of production and the drivers of production. The global benchmark and related analysis presented in this report are intended to highlight the development of modern industrial strategies by showing strengths, weaknesses, trends and opportunities linked to the changing nature of production.

(Source : http://www3.weforum.org/docs/FOP_Readiness_Report_2018.pdf – pp. 3, 11)

World Economic Forum

Industry 4.0 started in Germany in 2010

The top 25 countries most ready to transition to Industry 4.0 are (in alphabetical order): Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Industry 4.0: Nine Related Technologies

Industry 4.0 encompasses nine technologies that combine to revolutionize manufacturing production.

Nine technologies are related to the industry 4.0

A description of these technologies is provided in the article “Aerospace 4.0: The Fourth Industrial Revolution Applied to Aerospace,” published on Substance, February 27, 2018.

New Skills Required

Implementing these nine new technologies will oblige many companies to train their employees, technicians and engineers. According to a study by the MMB Institute, about 30% of German businesses believe that their employees do not have the proper skills to successfully transition to Industry 4.0 [5]. Since 2015, the MMB Institute has completed 26 studies, analyses and research reports on the required skills. These skills have been classified into four categories:

  1. Technical skills: basic and specialized skills.
  2. Computer and analytical skills, data management: skills linked to management, use and verification of data-driven systems, including analysis, security and protection of data.
  3. Social skills: interdisciplinary cooperation, project management, communication skills, organizational and leadership skills, decision-making skills.
  4. Personal skills: self-learning skills, analytical thought, problem solving, abstract thought, openness, flexibility.

Aerospace 4.0™

In 2016, the AÉROÉTS group at the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) of Montréal created an integrated research and teaching program called Aerospace 4.0™. The objective of the program is to support Canadian aerospace industry businesses in the transition to Industry 4.0 technologies. Aerospace 4.0TM is not only focus on factories and production, it addresses the entire business, from design to customer service, including supply chain, development, manufacturing, production, and maintenance [6].

The Aerospace program of AÉROÉTS

Lately, Quebec media have been giving more attention to the issues surrounding “Industry 4.0”, but ÉTS professors have been conducting research in the technological areas associated with this topic for many years. For example, the NUMÉRIX laboratory, launched in 2013, brings together a dozen experts who focus on sustainable supply and value chain engineering, integrated digital enterprises and enterprise engineering for innovation.

In addition, launching the Aerospace 4.0TM program in 2016 made it possible for ÉTS to involve a greater number of stakeholders in developing an integrated approach to research and teaching specific to the challenges of the aerospace industry.

Over the last two years, several companies in the sector have been contacted to better define their needs and develop new research collaborations. These steps have proven fruitful, namely through the launch of four key projects.

Aero 4.0 Performance Indicators

In collaboration with Hamburg Aviation (Germany) and the Aéro Montréal cluster, this project will define Aerospace 4.0 performance indicators based on eight elements:

  • multidisciplinary design optimization,
  • simulation and test data management,
  • multidisciplinary factory optimization,
  • product development process,
  • enterprise resource planning,
  • customer relationship management,
  • supply chain management,
  • product lifecycle management.

MACH FAB 4.0

This project, led by the Aéro Montréal industrial cluster, will raise Quebec SMEs’ awareness of the realities of the fourth industrial revolution. MACH FAB 4.0 will conduct a diagnosis of the technological maturity level of participating SMEs in relation to 4.0 technologies, allowing the leaders to develop an action plan to meet the challenges of transitioning to 4.0.

Research Project with Siemens

An ambitious research program with Siemens is being launched in 2018. It will involve some twenty professors from ÉTS, Concordia University and McGill University over the next five years. The three main subjects will be:

  • Digital multidisciplinary analysis and design optimization
  • Advanced manufacturing automation, digitization and optimization
  • A digital technology platform for supply chain.

Aside from these 3 projects, discussions are ongoing with various companies interested in the expertise of ÉTS, including Pratt & Whitney and Bombardier.

Aerospace 4.0 Training

New short-term training sessions are offered in the spring of 2018 for engineers and professionals who wish to learn more about the Aerospace 4.0 subjects, through the Centre for Aerospace Professional Education (a collaboration between ÉTS and McGill University). Other academic initiatives will be announced in the coming months.

Hany Moustapha

Author's profile

Hany Moustapha is a professor at ÉTS and directs AÉROÉTS. In 2011, he was named Senior Research Fellow of P&WC in 2011. He wrote and co-authored over 100 publications and two books on gas turbines.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : Siemens Research Chair on Technological Integration of Industry 4.0  NSERC/P&WC Industrial Research Chair on Propulsion System Integration and Optimization 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La transition Industrie 4.0/Aérospatiale 4.0 : mode d’emploi - Par : Hany Moustapha,

La transition Industrie 4.0/Aérospatiale 4.0 : mode d’emploi


Hany Moustapha
Hany Moustapha est professeur à l’ÉTS et directeur d’AÉROÉTS. En 2011, il a été nommé Fellow sénior de la recherche par Pratt & Whitney Canada. Il est auteur et co-auteur de plus de 100 publications et de 2 livres sur les turbines à gaz.

AÉROÉTS a démarré le programme Aérospatiale 4.0 pour aider les entreprises

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com. Des droits d’auteurs s’appliquent.

Industrie 4.0 : historique

Le terme « Industrie 4.0 » fait son apparition en 2010 dans le cadre d’un projet stratégique de haute technologie préparé par l’Acatech, l’Académie allemande des sciences de l’ingénieur, à la demande du gouvernement allemand. Ce projet avait pour objet de faire la promotion de l’informatisation dans l’industrie manufacturière [1].

Contrairement à d’autres pays industrialisés, l’Allemagne a réussi, au cours des dix dernières années, à stabiliser l’emploi dans le secteur de la production, malgré des salaires élevés. En raison notamment de son industrie manufacturière de taille moyenne mais très innovante, ce pays maîtrise mieux que beaucoup d’autres les effets économiques de la crise financière [2].  L’Allemagne voulait jouer un rôle clé dans l’implantation de cette 4e révolution manufacturière, l’Industrie 4.0. Ce projet a été présenté pour la première fois au public en 2011 à la foire de Hanovre, qui est le plus grand salon de la technologie industrielle au monde.

 

Le 8 avril 2013, à la foire de Hanovre, l’Acatech a présenté, à l’instigation du ministère fédéral de l’Éducation et de la Recherche (BMBF), le rapport final du projet devenu la plate-forme Industrie 4.0, les recommandations pour sa mise en œuvre ainsi que le programme de recherche qui lui est associé [3].

Industrie 4.0 dans 100 pays du monde

Le 12 janvier 2018, le World Economic Forum a publié la première édition d’un rapport décrivant l’état de préparation des pays du monde [4] :

« [Ce rapport évalue] la préparation à la production du futur de 100 pays selon 59 indicateurs couvrant deux dimensions principales : la structure de la production et les facteurs incitatifs de production. Ce référentiel mondial et l’analyse connexe présentés dans ce rapport ont pour but d’éclairer le développement de stratégies industrielles modernes en révélant les forces, les faiblesses, les tendances et les opportunités liées à la nature changeante de la production. » (Traduction libre)

World Economic Forum

L'industrie 4.0 est apparu en Allemagne en 2010

Les 25 pays les plus prêts à faire la transition vers l’Industrie 4.0 sont les suivants (par ordre alphabétique) : Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique, Canada, Chine, Danemark, Espagne, Estonie, États-Unis, Finlande, France, Irlande, Israël, Italie, Japon, Malaisie, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Singapour, Slovénie, Suède, Suisse, République de Corée, République tchèque et Royaume-Uni.

Industrie 4.0 : neuf technologies associées

L’Industrie 4.0 se caractérise par neuf technologies qui se combinent pour révolutionner la production manufacturière.

9 technologies sont associées à l'industrie 4.0

Vous trouverez une description de ces technologies dans l’article « Aérospatiale 4.0 : la 4e révolution industrielle en aérospatiale! » paru sur Substance le 27 février 2018.

De nouvelles compétences à développer

La mise en place de ces neuf technologies nouvelles nécessitera, pour beaucoup d’entreprises, la formation de leurs employés, techniciens et ingénieurs. Selon une étude réalisée par l’Institut MMB, environ 30 % des entreprises allemandes estiment que la qualification de leurs employés est inadéquate pour réussir la transition vers l’Industrie 4.0 [5]. De 2015 à aujourd’hui, 26 études, analyses et rapports de recherche relatifs aux compétences requises ont été effectués par l’Institut MMB. Ces compétences ont été classifiées en quatre catégories :

  1. Compétences techniques : compétences de base et compétences spécialisées
  2. Compétences informatiques et d’analyse et gestion de données : compétences associées à la gestion, à l’utilisation et à la vérification des systèmes basés sur les données ainsi qu’à l’analyse, la sécurité et la protection des données.
  3. Compétences sociales : coopération interdisciplinaire, gestion de projet, compétences en communication, compétences organisationnelles et de leadership, compétence décisionnelle.
  4. Compétences personnelles : compétences d’apprentissage autonome, pensée analytique, résolution de problèmes, capacité de pensée abstraite, ouverture, flexibilité.

Aérospatiale 4.0™

En 2016, le regroupement AÉROÉTS de l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) de Montréal a créé un programme intégré de recherche et d’enseignement appelé Aérospatiale 4.0™. Ce programme vise à appuyer les entreprises du secteur de l’industrie aérospatiale canadienne dans la transition vers les technologies de l’Industrie 4.0. L’Aérospatiale 4.0 ne vise pas seulement les usines ou la production, mais plutôt l’entreprise dans son entièreté, de la conception au service à la clientèle, en passant par la chaîne d’approvisionnement, le développement, la fabrication, la production et la maintenance [6].

Le programme Aérospatiale 4.0 de AÉROÉTS

Les médias québécois s’attardent davantage aux enjeux de l’« Industrie 4.0 » depuis quelque temps, mais les professeurs de l’ÉTS réalisent des travaux de recherche dans les domaines technologiques qui y sont associés depuis de nombreuses années. Le laboratoire NUMÉRIX, par exemple, créé en 2013, rassemble une dizaine d’experts qui se penchent sur l’ingénierie des chaînes de valeur et d’approvisionnement durables, l’entreprise numérique intégrée et l’ingénierie des entreprises innovantes.

Cependant, la création du programme Aérospatiale 4.0TM en 2016 a permis de mobiliser un plus grand nombre d’acteurs pour développer une approche intégrée de recherche et d’enseignement spécifique aux défis qui touchent l’industrie aérospatiale.

Au cours des deux dernières années, plusieurs entreprises du secteur ont été contactées pour définir leurs besoins et développer de nouvelles collaborations de recherche. Ces démarches ont porté fruit, notamment par la création de quatre  projets majeurs.

Indicateurs de performance Aéro 4.0

En collaboration avec Hamburg Aviation (Allemagne) et la grappe Aéro Montréal, ce projet vise à définir des indicateurs de performance pour l’Aérospatiale 4.0 dans huit volets  :

  • l’optimisation multidisciplinaire de la conception
  • la gestion des données de simulation et de tests
  • l’optimisation multidisciplinaire des usines
  • le processus de développement de produits
  • la planification des ressources d’entreprise
  • la gestion des relations client
  • la gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement
  • la gestion du cycle de vie du produit

MACH FAB 4.0

Ce projet mené par la grappe industrielle Aéro Montréal vise à sensibiliser les PME québécoises aux réalités de la quatrième révolution industrielle. MACH FAB 4.0 réalisera un diagnostic du niveau de maturité technologique des PME participantes par rapport aux technologies du 4.0, ce qui permettra aux dirigeants de définir un plan d’action pour faire face aux défis inhérents à la transition vers le 4.0.

Projet de recherche avec Siemens

Un ambitieux programme de recherche avec Siemens verra le jour en 2018. Celui-ci mobilisera une vingtaine de professeurs de l’ÉTS, de l’Université Concordia et de l’Université McGill sur les cinq prochaines années. Les trois grands thèmes abordés seront :

  • L’optimisation multidisciplinaire et l’analyse numérique du développement de produits
  • L’automatisation, la numérisation et l’optimisation de la fabrication avancée
  • Une plate-forme numérique technologique pour la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Mis à part ces trois projets, les discussions se poursuivent avec différentes entreprises intéressées par les expertises de l’ÉTS, dont Pratt & Whitney et Bombardier.

Formation Aérospatiale 4.0

De nouvelles formations de courte durée seront offertes dès le printemps 2018 pour les ingénieurs et les professionnels qui souhaitent se familiariser avec les thèmes de l’Aérospatiale 4.0, par le biais du Centre aérospatial de perfectionnement (une collaboration de l’ÉTS et de l’Université McGill). D’autres initiatives d’enseignement seront annoncées dans les prochains mois.

Hany Moustapha

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hany Moustapha est professeur à l’ÉTS et directeur d’AÉROÉTS. En 2011, il a été nommé Fellow sénior de la recherche par Pratt & Whitney Canada. Il est auteur et co-auteur de plus de 100 publications et de 2 livres sur les turbines à gaz.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie aérospatial 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *