SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Revolutionary Wearable Gastrointestinal Diagnostic System - By : Hanen Hattab,

Revolutionary Wearable Gastrointestinal Diagnostic System


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

A new method uses electrical signals emitted by the gastrointestinal tract to evaluate its proper functioning.

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

In its attempt to reduce congestion in health facilities, the Internet of Things is also pioneering a new type of wearable diagnosis. Data collected by smart phones represent a gold mine of information on each part of the body and their metabolic rate. The systems, which combine the collection, receiving, sending and analyzing of information, are autonomous means of traceability. Managing the data flow is a major challenge as much at the receiving as at the collection stages. Although the collection function is increasingly accessible due to significant developments in portable sensors, probing some parts of the body is not always easy. This is one technological difficulty that researchers at the GI Innovation Group, at the University of California (UC) in San Diego, have been able to resolve.

While trying to create a gastrointestinal tracking system, the research team was faced with a special challenge. The electrical signals produced by the stomach are ten times weaker than those of the heart, making them difficult to detect among other noises inside the body.

More Accurate Non-Invasive Diagnoses

The system designed by the researchers works like an electrocardiogram. It can monitor gastrointestinal tract activity in real time, a type of examination usually done by specialists. The new technology promises to facilitate and optimize diagnoses by enabling 24-hour at-home follow-ups. Abnormal symptoms like nausea and stomach aches, which occur at any time of the day, can then be recorded even outside clinical settings. Information on vital activities like eating, sleeping, exercising, etc. can also be recorded and combined with electrical signal analyses. In addition, this technology will make it possible for patients to avoid anesthesia.

According to Armen Gharibans, lead author of the study, this system will revolutionize gastroenterologist diagnoses by making them faster, more accurate and personalized. Analyzing gastrointestinal tract mapping can also prove beneficial to healthy people. For example, according to the team, the technology could be used to track top athletes in order to adapt their diets to changes in routine during travel.

Components, Operation and Test Results

Functioning of a wearable used for gastrointestinal diagnostic

The system and its collection, analysis and data transmission stages

The system consists of a device attached to the abdomen and an application. Data received by the intelligent mobile terminal are transmitted to health care personnel. The device consists of a battery-operated 3D-printed box equipped with 10 electrodes that detect electrical activity. The research group led by Todd Coleman, professor of bioengineering at UC San Diego, used their signal processing expertise to create an algorithm that solved the issue of signal discrimination. It is an automatic artifact removal algorithm that selects data by separating abdominal muscle activity, heartbeat, and gastric activity into different frequency bands, allowing clinicians to examine them individually and compare them.

Tests conducted on 11 children and one adult showed that the data collected by the system are similar to those of invasive clinical methods. Results showed changes in gastrointestinal activity not only during meals, but also during sleep, according to circadian rhythms.

Le tractus gastro-intestinal

Gastrointestinal tract

Scientific Research Tool

The system could also be used for advanced research on aging and pregnancy, two important factors in gastric problems that have been poorly studied so far. Monitoring these two vital processes could therefore lead to the creation of technologies, and gastric health prediction and prevention protocols.

Entitled “Artifact Rejection Methodology Enables Continuous, Noninvasive Measurement of Gastric Myoelectric Activity in Ambulatory Subjects,” the study published on March 22, 2018, in Nature, was co-authored by researchers from the Department of Bioengineering, GI Motility & Physiology Program, Department of Pediatrics at UC San Diego and Department of Psychology UC Berkley.

 

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un système de diagnostic gastro-intestinal nomade révolutionnaire - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un système de diagnostic gastro-intestinal nomade révolutionnaire


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Une nouvelle méthode se sert des signaux électriques émis par le tractus gastro-intestinal pour évaluer son bon fonctionnement

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteurs.

En plus de viser à désengorger les établissements de santé, l’Internet des objets se fraye un chemin pour créer une nouvelle forme de diagnostic nomade. Les données récoltées par les cellulaires intelligents représentent une mine d’informations sur chaque partie du corps et son rythme métabolique. Les systèmes combinant récolte, réception, envoi et analyse des informations sont des moyens de traçabilité autonomes. La gestion des flux de données récoltées est un défi important qui se situe aussi bien à l’étape de la réception qu’à celle de la captation. Si cette dernière fonction semble de plus en plus accessible grâce à l’évolution considérable des capteurs portables, sonder certaines parties du corps n’est pas toujours une mince affaire. C’est une des difficultés technologiques que les chercheurs du GI Innovation Group de l’Université de Californie (UC) à San Diego ont réussi à résoudre.

En voulant créer un système permettant de suivre l’activité gastro-intestinale, l’équipe de recherche se heurtait à une contrainte particulière. En effet, les signaux électriques de l’estomac sont dix fois plus faibles que ceux du cœur et sont de fait difficiles à détecter, notamment, parmi les autres bruits intérieurs.

Un diagnostic plus précis et non invasif

Le système conçu par les chercheurs fonctionne comme un électrocardiogramme. Il permet de surveiller l’activité du tractus gastro-intestinal en temps réel, un type d’examen fait habituellement par les spécialistes. La nouvelle technologie promet ainsi de faciliter le diagnostic et de l’optimiser en permettant un suivi de 24 heures chez soi. Les symptômes anormaux, comme la nausée et les maux de ventre, qui peuvent survenir à n’importe quel moment de la journée peuvent être de fait enregistrés, même hors du cadre clinique. Les informations sur les activités vitales comme la prise de repas, le sommeil, l’activité physique, etc., peuvent aussi être enregistrées et couplées aux analyses des signaux électriques. De plus, cette technologie évitera aux patients de passer par l’étape de l’anesthésie.

Selon Armen Gharibans, l’auteur principal de l’étude, ce système révolutionnera le diagnostic du gastro-entérologue en le rendant plus précis, rapide et personnalisé. L’analyse de la cartographie du tractus gastro-intestinal est aussi bénéfique aux personnes en bonne santé. L’équipe a indiqué par exemple que la technologie pourrait être utilisée pour le suivi des sportifs de haut niveau, afin d’adapter leurs régimes alimentaires aux changements de routine pendant les voyages.

Composants, fonctionnement et résultats des tests

Fonctionnement d’un système portable servant au diagnostic gastro-intestinal

Figure Le système et ses étapes de récolte, d’analyse et d’envoi des données

Le système se compose d’un dispositif qui s’attache au niveau de l’abdomen et d’une application. Les données reçues par le terminal mobile intelligent sont transmises au personnel soignant. L’appareil se compose d’une boîte imprimée en 3D comportant en outre la batterie. Elle est munie de 10 électrodes de détection de l’activité électrique. Grâce à l’expertise en traitement des signaux du groupe de recherche dirigé par Todd Coleman, professeur en bio-ingénierie à l’UC San Diego, l’équipe a créé un algorithme qui résout le problème de distinction du signal. Il s’agit d’un algorithme de suppression automatique d’artefacts qui sélectionne les données en séparant l’activité musculaire abdominale, les battements cardiaques et l’activité gastrique en différentes bandes de signaux, permettant aux cliniciens de les examiner individuellement et de les comparer.

Des tests effectués sur onze enfants et un adulte ont montré que les données collectées par le système sont semblables à celles récoltées par la méthode clinique invasive. Les résultats ont montré le changement de l’activité gastro-intestinale non seulement lors des repas, mais aussi pendant le sommeil, suivant de fait le rythme circadien.

Le tractus gastro-intestinal

Un outil de recherche scientifique

Le système pourrait être mis aussi au service de recherches poussées sur le vieillissement et la grossesse, deux facteurs importants de problèmes gastriques peu étudiés jusqu’à présent. Les suivis de ces deux processus vitaux pourront déboucher par conséquent sur la création de technologies, et de protocoles de prédiction et de prévention de la santé gastrique.

Intitulée « Artifact Rejection Methodology Enables Continuous, Noninvasive Measurement of Gastric Myoelectric Activity in Ambulatory Subjects », l’étude a été coécrite par des chercheurs du Département de bio-ingénierie, du GI Motility & Physiology Program, du Département de pédiatrie de l’UC San Diego et du Département de psychologie l’UC Berkley. Elle a été publiée le 22 mars 2018 dans la revue Nature.

 

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *