SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Novel Face Synthesis for Face Recognition in Video Surveillance - By : Fania Mokhayeri,

Novel Face Synthesis for Face Recognition in Video Surveillance


Fania Mokhayeri
Fania Mokhayeri Author profile
Fania Mokhayeri is currently a Ph.D. candidate in LIVIA Laboratory at ÉTS. Her research interests include computer vision, machine learning, face recognition, and video surveillance applications.

Surveillance camera in an airport

The featured image was bought on istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Face recognition is a challenge in video surveillance due to uncontrolled capture conditions (pose variations, expression, illumination, blur, scale, etc.), and the limited number of reference stills. One effective solution to improve the robustness of these systems is to augment the reference set by generating synthetic faces based on the original still. This paper introduces a novel algorithm for face synthesis that generates a compact set of synthetic faces under real-world capture conditions. Keywords: Face Recognition, Video Surveillance, Face Synthesis.

Face Recognition in Video Surveillance

 Face recognition (FR) in video surveillance has received significant interest due to covert capture using surveillance cameras, flexible control, high performance to cost ratio, and the possibility of live feed analyses. In recent years, public security organizations have deployed several video surveillance cameras. Despite the recent progress in computer vision and machine learning, designing a robust system for FR in video surveillance under uncontrolled capture conditions remains a challenge. This is due in part to the limited number of representative reference stills per target individual. In addition, reference still images may differ significantly from those captured in videos.

Domain-Specific Face Synthesis

 This research aims to address the limited reference still images as well as facial appearance variations by generating multiple synthetic face images per reference still in order to improve the representativeness of face models. This paper introduces a face synthesizing approach that harnesses discriminant information on the generic set for the face synthesis process. The new algorithm, called domain specific face synthesis (DSFS), maps representative variation information from the generic set to the original reference stills. This way, a compact set of synthetic faces is generated, representing reference still images and probe video frames under common capture conditions.

As shown in Fig. 1, the DSFS technique involves two main steps: (1) characterizing capture condition information from the Operation Domain (OD), (2) generating synthetic face images based on the information obtained in the first step. Prior to operation (during the camera calibration process), a generic set is collected from video captured in the OD. A compact and representative subset of face images is selected by clustering this generic set in a capture condition space defined by pose, illumination, blur. The 3D model of each reference still image is reconstructed using a 3D morphable model and rendered based on pose representatives. Finally, the illumination-dependent layers of the lighting representatives are extracted and projected on the rendered reference images with the same pose. In this manner, domain-specific variations are effectively transferred onto the reference still images.

Images created by the DSFS algorithm

Figure 1 Overview of the proposed DSFS algorithm to augment the reference gallery set.

The main advantage of the proposed approach is the ability to provide a compact set that can accurately represent the original reference face with relevant intra-class variations in pose, illumination, motion blur, etc., corresponding to capture conditions.

Still-to-Video Face Recognition Using Face Synthesis

 In a particular implementation for still-to-video FR (see Fig. 2), original and synthetic face images are used to design a structural dictionary with powerful variation representation abilities for Sparse Representation-based Classification (SRC). The dictionary blocks represent intra-class variations computed from either the reference faces themselves or the synthetic faces. Combining the SRC with the proposed DSFS improves the SRC robustness for video-based FR in a single sample per person scenario to domain variations.

Still-to-video face recognition

Figure 2 Block diagram of the proposed domain-invariant SRC-based still-to-video FR system.

The main steps of the proposed domain-invariant still-to-video FR with dictionary augmentation are summarized as follows:

  • Step 1. Generation of Synthetic Facial Images: In this step, a set of synthetic face images is generated for each image of the reference gallery set using the DSFS.
  • Step 2. Augmentation of Dictionary: The synthetic images generated through the DSFS technique are added to the reference dictionary to design a cross-domain dictionary. The presented dictionary design in this work enables SRC to perform recognition with only one reference still image and makes it robust to the visual domain shift.
  • Step 3. Classification: Given a probe sample, the SRC first codes the probe sample as a sparse linear combination of all the training reference and synthetic samples, and then classifies the probe sample by evaluating which class leads to the minimum representation error.
  • Step 4. Validation: In practical FR systems, it is important to detect and then reject invalid probe images. A sparsity concentration index criteria is used for this purpose.

Results

 Fig. 3 shows examples of synthetic images generated under different pose, illumination and contrast conditions using the DSFS technique on the Chokepoint dataset, where Basel Face Models are used as generative 3D shape model.

Images generated by the DSFS technique from the Chokepoint bank

Figure 3 Examples of synthetic images generated under different capture conditions using the DSFS technique with Chokepoint dataset.

For proof-of-concept validation, an augmented dictionary with a block structure based on DSFS is designed, and face classification is performed within a SRC framework. Our experiments on the Chokepoint dataset show that augmenting the reference discretionary of still-to-video  FR systems using the proposed DSFS face synthesis approach can provide a higher level of accuracy compared to state-of-the-art approaches, with only a moderate increase in its computational complexity.

Additional Information

 For more information on the design of a robust still-to-video face recognition in changing surveillance environments using face synthesizing, please refer to the following research paper:

Mokhayeri, Fania, Eric Granger, and Guillaume-Alexandre Bilodeau. “Domain-Specific Face Synthesis for Video Face Recognition From a Single Sample Per Person.” IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security 14, no. 3 (2019): 757-772.

Fania Mokhayeri

Author's profile

Fania Mokhayeri is currently a Ph.D. candidate in LIVIA Laboratory at ÉTS. Her research interests include computer vision, machine learning, face recognition, and video surveillance applications.

Program : Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVIA – Imaging, Vision and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory 

Author profile


comments
  1. Face recognition is becoming more common day by day as every security system in significant places is relying on it. I have seen so many people get caught just because of this system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Synthétiser des visages pour améliorer la reconnaissance faciale - Par : Fania Mokhayeri,

Synthétiser des visages pour améliorer la reconnaissance faciale


Fania Mokhayeri
Fania Mokhayeri Profil de l'auteur(e)
Fania Mokhayeri est étudiante au doctorat au LIVIA de l’ÉTS. Ses domaines de recherche comprennent la vision artificielle, l’apprentissage machine, la reconnaissance faciale et les applications de surveillance vidéo.

Caméra de surveillance dans un aéroport

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La reconnaissance faciale représente un défi en vidéosurveillance en raison de conditions de capture non contrôlées (variations de pose, expression, éclairage, flou, échelle, etc.) et du nombre limité d’images de référence. Une solution efficace pour améliorer la robustesse de ces systèmes consiste à augmenter l’ensemble de références en générant des visages synthétiques à partir d’une image originale. Cet article présente un nouvel algorithme de synthèse faciale générant un ensemble compact de visages synthétiques dans des conditions de capture réelles. Mots clés : Reconnaissance faciale, vidéosurveillance, synthèse faciale.

Reconnaissance faciale en vidéosurveillance

 La reconnaissance faciale (RF) en vidéosurveillance suscite un grand intérêt en raison des images captées discrètement par caméras de surveillance ainsi que du contrôle flexible, du rapport élevé performances/coûts et des possibilités d’analyses en temps réel qu’elle offre. Ces dernières années, les organisations de sécurité publique ont déployé plusieurs caméras de surveillance vidéo. Malgré les progrès récents réalisés en vision artificielle et en apprentissage machine, la conception d’un système robuste de RF en vidéosurveillance dans des environnements non restreints représente toujours un défi. Ce fait est dû en partie au nombre limité d’images de référence par personne cible. De plus, les images de référence peuvent différer considérablement des images captées par vidéos.

Synthèse faciale par domaine spécifique

 L’objectif de cette recherche est de pallier le nombre d’images de référence limité et les variations d’apparence du visage en générant plusieurs images de visage synthétiques pour chacune des images de référence afin d’améliorer la représentativité des modèles de visage. Cet article présente une approche qui exploite les informations discriminantes de l’ensemble générique pour synthétiser des visages. Le nouvel algorithme, nommé synthèse faciale par domaine spécifique ou DSFS (domain specific face synthesis), cartographie les variations représentatives de l’ensemble générique des images de référence d’origine. De cette manière, un ensemble compact de visages synthétiques est généré, représentant des images de référence et des séquences vidéo captées dans des conditions courantes.

Comme le montre la figure 1, la technique DSFS comporte deux étapes principales : (1) la caractérisation des informations sur les conditions de capture du domaine d’opération (DO) ; (2) la génération d’images de visage synthétiques selon les informations obtenues à la première étape. Avant la mise en service de la caméra (pendant le calibrage), un ensemble générique est produit à partir de la vidéo captée dans le DO. Un sous-ensemble compact et représentatif d’images de visage est sélectionné en regroupant cet ensemble générique à des spécimens de conditions de capture définis par la pose, l’éclairage, le flou. Le modèle 3D de chaque image de référence est reconstruit à l’aide d’un modèle 3D modifiable et rendu à l’aide de représentations de pose. Enfin, les couches dépendant du niveau de luminosité sont extraites et projetées sur les images de référence obtenues avec la même pose. De cette manière, les variations spécifiques à un domaine sont transférées efficacement sur les images de référence.

Images créées par l’algorithme DSFS

Figure 1 Représentation de l’algorithme DSFS proposé pour enrichir l’ensemble de référence.

Le principal avantage de l’approche proposée est la production d’un ensemble compact représentant avec précision le visage de l’image de référence d’origine avec des variations intra-classes pertinentes dans la pose, l’éclairage, le flou de mouvement et autres, correspondant aux conditions de capture.

Reconnaissance faciale d’images-à-vidéo à l’aide de la synthèse faciale

Dans une application particulière de RF images-à-vidéo (voir figure 2), des images de visage originales et synthétiques servent à concevoir un dictionnaire structurel doté de puissantes capacités de représentation des variations pour la classification basée sur la représentation fragmentée ou SRC (Sparse Representation-based Classification). Les blocs de dictionnaire représentent les variations intra-classes calculées à partir des visages de référence-mêmes ou des visages synthétiques. Combiner la méthode SRC à l’algorithme DSFS proposé améliore la robustesse de la SRC pour la RF sur vidéo en intégrant des variations de domaine lorsqu’un seul échantillon existe pour une personne.

Reconnaissance faciale images-à-vidéo

Figure 2 Schéma fonctionnel du système proposé de RF images-à-vidéo en SRC à invariance de domaine

Les principales étapes du système proposé de RF images-à-vidéo à invariance de domaine, avec dictionnaire enrichi, se résument comme suit :

  • Étape 1. Génération d’images faciales synthétiques : À cette étape, un ensemble d’images de visage synthétiques est généré pour chaque image de l’ensemble de référence à l’aide de la technique DSFS.
  • Étape 2. Enrichissement du dictionnaire : Les images synthétiques générées par la technique DSFS sont ajoutées au dictionnaire de référence afin de produire un dictionnaire inter-domaines. Le concept de dictionnaire présenté dans ce travail permet à la SRC d’effectuer la reconnaissance à partir d’une seule image fixe de référence et d’en assurer la robustesse malgré les changements de domaine visuel.
  • Étape 3. Classification: À partir d’un échantillon de capture, la SRC codifie d’abord l’échantillon comme sous forme de combinaison linéaire fragmentée de tous les échantillons de référence d’apprentissage et de synthèse, puis classe l’échantillon en déterminant la classe qui comporte le moins d’erreurs de représentation.
  • Étape 4. Validation: Dans les systèmes de RF, en pratique, il importe de détecter, puis de rejeter les images captées non pertinentes. Un critère d’indice de concentration minimale est utilisé à cette fin.

Résultats

 La figure 3 montre des exemples d’images synthétiques générées dans différentes conditions de pose, d’éclairage et de contraste à l’aide de la technique DSFS sur l’ensemble de données Chokepoint, où des modèles de visage de Bâle servent à générer un modèle 3D.

Images générées par la technique DSFS à partir de la banque Chokepoint

Figure 3 Exemples d’images de synthèse générées dans différentes conditions de capture à l’aide de la technique DSFS à partir de l’ensemble de données Chokepoint

Pour la preuve de concept, un dictionnaire enrichi, structuré en blocs et basé sur le DSFS, est élaboré et la classification des visages est effectuée au moyen de la SRC. Nos expériences sur l’ensemble de données Chokepoint montrent qu’augmenter la référence discrétionnaire de systèmes de RF images-à-vidéo au moyen de l’approche proposée de synthèse faciale par DSFS fournit un niveau de précision supérieur à celui des approches de pointe, moyennant une augmentation modérée de la complexité computationnelle.

Information supplémentaire

 Pour plus d’informations sur la conception de reconnaissance faciale images-à-vidéo robuste dans des aires de surveillance changeantes à partir de la synthèse faciale, consulter l’article de recherche suivant :

Mokhayeri, Fania, Eric Granger et Guillaume-Alexandre Bilodeau. “Domain-Specific Face Synthesis for Video Face Recognition From a Single Sample Per Person.” IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security 14, no. 3 (2019): 757-772.

Fania Mokhayeri

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fania Mokhayeri est étudiante au doctorat au LIVIA de l’ÉTS. Ses domaines de recherche comprennent la vision artificielle, l’apprentissage machine, la reconnaissance faciale et les applications de surveillance vidéo.

Programme : Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVIA – Laboratoire d'imagerie, de vision et d'intelligence artificielle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)