SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Monitoring Old Age Diseases through Nail Movements - By : Hanen Hattab,

Monitoring Old Age Diseases through Nail Movements


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Deformed hand due to osteoarthritis

Header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

Portable technologies are enriching the pool of scientific data in the health sector and are achieving progress in miniaturization, making their use less restrictive and more discreet. This article focuses on an innovation that will facilitate the daily monitoring of treatments for neurodegenerative diseases like Parkinson’s.

An IBM Research team recently designed a system that monitors changes in hand movements brought on by old age and neurodegenerative disorders. The system detects the patient’s grip and handling strength and allows physicians to track the progress of the disease and make better care decisions. It evaluates daily movements—opening a jar or cutting with a knife—and analyzes the data from these manual activities, pointing physicians to health problems related to a number of diseases, including schizophrenia.

The system includes a small device worn on the fingertip, a smart watch with a dedicated application and an artificial intelligence algorithm. The device can recognize reaction time, and hand and finger movements, as well as the strength of the grip. The technology can be used in many other applications since gripping force is useful in assessing heart disease progression and detecting psychological stress. The system could also inspire an innovation for quadriplegics.

Description and Operation

The device includes strain gauges mounted with an accelerometer and connected to a microcontroller and a battery. Man suffering from Parkinson’s diseaseThe researchers chose to apply it on the nail because its surface is hard and can provide good adhesion. Stability of the device is crucial because it ensures the detection of several parameters. The gauges are placed on the nail, on the part of the finger that is responsible for haptic perception. It is also an area connected to the palm of the hand that performs the gripping action. Whenever a hand gesture is made, the nail distorts very slightly, by a few microns. This distortion, invisible to the naked eye, is measured by the strain gauges. The accelerometer is a sensor that measures linear acceleration and it is used to measure hand movement and speed. The microcontroller, positioned on the skin of the finger, is used to collect data from the accelerometer and gauges. It also plays the role of antenna, sending the data to the watch. The watch, in turn, sends its results to a cloud database. It uses machine learning to evaluate bradykinesia, tremors and dyskinesia, symptoms of Parkinson’s disease.

Tests have shown that the system can recognize activities performed by the patient, which involve pronation and supination, such as turning a key or a door handle or using a screwdriver. It can also detect a more complex activity like writing with the finger.

The study entitled “Wearable Nail Deformation Sensing for Behavioral and Biomechanical Monitoring and Human-Computer Interaction” was published in Scientific Reports on December 21, 2018. It was co-authored by Katsuyuki Sakuma, Avner Abrami, Gaddi Blumrosen, Stanislav Lukashov, Rajeev Narayanan, Joseph W. Ligman, Vittorio Caggiano and Stephen J. Heisig.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Surveiller les maladies de la vieillesse par les mouvements de l’ongle - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Surveiller les maladies de la vieillesse par les mouvements de l’ongle


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Main déformée par l’arthrose

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les technologies portables sont en train d’enrichir le capital des données scientifiques des secteurs de la santé et de gagner en miniaturisation, rendant leur usage moins contraignant et plus discret. Cet article s’intéresse à une innovation qui facilitera le suivi quotidien des traitements des maladies neurodégénératives, comme le Parkinson.

Une équipe d’IBM Research a récemment conçu un système qui permet de surveiller les modifications des mouvements de la main liés aux maladies de la vieillesse et aux troubles neurodégénératifs. Le système détecte la force de préhension et de manipulation du patient et permet aux médecins de suivre l’évolution de la maladie et de prendre de meilleures décisions en matière de soins. Il évalue les gestes quotidiens, comme ouvrir un pot ou couper à l’aide d’un couteau, et analyse les données découlant de ce type d’activités manuelles afin d’indiquer aux médecins divers problèmes de santé liés à plusieurs maladies, dont la schizophrénie.

Le système est composé d’un petit appareil qui se porte à l’extrémité du doigt, d’une montre intelligente munie d’une application et d’un algorithme d’intelligence artificielle. Le dispositif est capable de reconnaître le temps de réaction et les mouvements de la main et des doigts de même que la force de la poigne. Cette technologie peut servir dans plusieurs autres applications puisque la force de préhension s’avère utile pour évaluer la progression de maladies cardiaques, ainsi que pour détecter le stress psychologique. Le système pourrait inspirer aussi une innovation destinée aux quadriplégiques.

Description de l’appareil et de son fonctionnement

Le dispositif est composé de jauges de contrainte surmontées par un accéléromètre et connectées à un microcontrôleur Homme souffrant de la maladie de Parkinson. et une batterie. Les chercheurs ont choisi l’ongle parce que sa surface est dure et peut assurer une bonne adhésion. La stabilité du dispositif est importante parce qu’elle assure la détection de plusieurs paramètres. En effet, les jauges sont situées sur l’ongle, en dessus de la partie du doigt qui assure la perception haptique. Il s’agit aussi de la zone reliée à la paume de la main qui effectue la préhension. Chaque fois qu’un geste de la main est effectué, l’ongle se déforme très légèrement, de quelques microns seulement. Cette déformation, invisible à l’œil nu, est mesurée par les jauges de contrainte. L’accéléromètre est un capteur qui permet de mesurer l’accélération linéaire. Il est utilisé afin de mesurer le déplacement et la vitesse de la main. Le microcontrôleur, positionné sur la peau du doigt, sert à collecter les données de l’accéléromètre et des jauges. Il joue aussi le rôle d’antenne et assure l’envoi des données à la montre. Celle-ci transmet à son tour ses résultats à une base de données infonuagique. La montre a, entre autres, recours à l’apprentissage machine afin d’évaluer la bradykinésie, les tremblements et la dyskinésie, qui sont les symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson.

Les essais ont permis de montrer que le système est, en outre, capable de reconnaître les activités effectuées par le patient, qui impliquent la pronation et la supination, telles que tourner une clé, ouvrir une poignée de porte ou utiliser un tournevis. Il a aussi réussi à détecter une activité plus complexe, à savoir l’écriture avec le doigt.

L’étude s’intitule « Wearable Nail Deformation Sensing for Behavioral and Biomechanical Monitoring and Human-Computer Interaction » et a été publiée dans Scientific Reports le 21 décembre 2018. Elle a été coécrite par Katsuyuki Sakuma, Avner Abrami, Gaddi Blumrosen, Stanislav Lukashov, Rajeev Narayanan, Joseph W. Ligman, Vittorio Caggiano et Stephen J. Heisig.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *