SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS

TiO2 Crystalline Structure “À la Carte”


Jaime Benavides
Jaime Benavides Author profile
Jaime A Benavides is a Ph.D. candidate in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interest includes sol-gel, nanomaterials for aerospace applications, 3D printing technologies, optoelectronics and photovoltaic devices.

Charles Trudeau
Charles Trudeau Author profile
Charles P Trudeau is a Ph.D. candidate in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interest includes printable flexible electronics and semiconductor characterization.

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes
Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes Author profile
Luis Felipe Gerlein R. is a Ph.D. candidate at ÉTS. His research interests include nanofabrication and characterization of optoelectronic devices based on lead chalcogenides, carbon-based nanostructures and perovskite materials.

Sylvain G. Cloutier
Sylvain G. Cloutier Author profile
Sylvain G. Cloutier is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in nanotechnology and optoelectronic materials.

sol-gel process

The featured image was bought on Istock.com and is protected by copyrights.

SUMMARY

Abstract Titanium dioxide is a versatile ceramic material possessing applications in several fields that include water cleaning, energy production and transformation and surface modifications. All these applications of TiO2 stem from its unique optoelectronic properties, which strongly depend on the crystalline structure. From research to industrial applications, the ability to include thin layers of crystalline TiO2 without involving high temperature or additional chemical processes is an essential requirement to expand its uses to additive manufacturing and the emerging 4.0 Industrial Revolution.

Ceramics through Soft Chemistry

Ceramics have been around for thousands of years, and they have plenty of technological uses. They are traditionally produced in laboratory and at industrial scale by making powders react at high temperatures above 1000C. In nature, diatoms—unicellular microorganisms—can produce protective ceramic shells at ambient temperatures, in humid environments like the ocean using the silica dissolved in the water. This process, called “soft chemistry”, requires far less energy than the processes involving high temperatures.

Ceramics produced by soft chemistry

Figure 1. Different ceramic shells produced by diatoms

These days, we can produce ceramics at room temperature using sol-gel chemistry, which originates in soft chemistry. The process has been widely used in industry to produce powders and coatings. One well-known example of this is the European Patent House in Frankfurt, whose windows have a sol-gel architectural coating. The coating controls transmission and absorption of different light wavelengths to give a uniform reflective appearance that is aesthetically pleasing, while also mitigating the building’s “greenhouse effect” and reducing cooling costs during the summer.

Combining two Crystalline Structures to Enhance Properties

In the semiconductor field, the use of ceramics is linked to their optoelectronic properties. Ceramic optoelectronic properties change according to their crystalline structure. Titanium dioxide (TiO2) is a remarkable semiconductor with unique optoelectronic properties[1], ideal for photovoltaics and photocatalytic conversion, and possesses more than two crystalline structures, the most popular being anatase and rutile.

Anatase crystal is a crystalline structure of titanium dioxide

Figure 2 Anatase crystal as it is found in nature

Anatase is mostly used as a blocking layer for optoelectronic or photovoltaic devices, thanks to its wide 3.2eV band gap[2]. Rutile, on the other hand, has a lower electronic band gap of 3.0 eV and is better suited for photoelectrochemical applications[3]. Moreover, combining anatase and rutile has positive consequences on these properties[4], [5]. In the last couple of years, we began reflecting on what could possibly be achieved if mixing crystalline phases could be spatially engineered to effectively control this synergism between anatase and rutile. The next obvious question was How?

Rutile is a crystalline structure of titanium dioxide

Figure 3 Rutile crystal as it is found in nature

To achieve crystallinity and the desired optoelectronic properties starting from amorphous TiO2, it is necessary to use temperatures above 500C for anatase and above 800C for rutile[6]. However, high-temperature crystallization yields either anatase or rutile and limits their combined use. As such, the high temperatures used to reach anatase and rutile can also be quite detrimental to temperature-sensitive devices. Given the wide range of possibilities that TiO2 has to offer in the development of new flexible, lightweight and wearable technologies requiring low-temperature substrates, researchers have tried to crystallize TiO2 before its integration into devices. This approach partially succeeded in avoiding high-temperature crystallization but the degree of crystallinity and the optoelectronic properties of the resulting TiO2 are far from ideal[7]. Other approaches use low intensity laser irradiation of TiO2 powders under vacuum[8] or Fe and Al-doped TiO2 nanoparticles under oxygen-poor conditions to optically induce crystallization[9]. These methods completely avoid high temperatures but the use of vacuum and the lack of precise control for film micropatterning makes them far from being industrially attractive and compatible with the emerging 4.0 Industrial Revolution.

Proposed Method

In this perspective, it seems that achieving high-quality crystalline TiO2 at room conditions remains one of today’s most important technical challenges towards low-cost optoelectronic devices. In response to this, we devised a much simpler method based on sol-gel chemistry to produce an ink of amorphous TiO2 nanoparticles (10nm) that are rich in oxygen vacancies (defects). As a consequence of the high concentration of defects, films created using our amorphous TiO2 ink can absorb energy in the form of light instead temperature and can be crystallized into anatase and rutile at room temperature and ambient air using laser irradiation.

a TiO2 combined anatase-rutile structure

Figure 4 Patterning of crystalline structure “à la carte”

In the same way that controlling the temperature yields anatase (500C) or rutile (800C), in our process we control and pattern a crystalline structure over amorphous TiO2 films simply by adjusting the power density of the laser. Crystallization occurs after 6s of irradiation and Raman spectroscopy is used to confirm the crystallinity of the films. What is even more remarkable is that anatase and rutile are no longer mutually exclusive and can be patterned one next to the other. This brings the possibility of exploring the synergism between anatase and rutile. In fact, we are currently working on patterning anatase and rutile in much larger areas in the order of mm2 using a low-cost commercial laser-engraving setup (BIBO 3D printer). Our ultimate goal is to automate the crystallization process and merge our high-quality crystalline TiO2 films with the flexible printed electronics technology.

Conclusion

We believe this accurate, reproducible, and industrial scalable method of producing crystalline TiO2 opens the door to novel pathways of TiO2-based platforms, especially for energy conversion, storage and environmental applications. Perhaps we are not yet at the level of diatoms to produce ceramics in such an efficient fashion, but we are getting closer by using the transformational power of nanotechnology.

Anatase and rutile structure creating the ÉTS logo

Figure 5 Crystalline structure “à la carte”. Left: ÉTS pattern logo over amorphous TiO2 film. Right: Anatase and rutile patterned areas and Raman spectra. The blue and red colors represent anatase and rutile, respectively.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please read the following paper: Benavides, J.A.; Trudeau, C.P.; Gerlein, L.P.; Cloutier, S.G. 2018. Laser Selective Photoactivation of Amorphous TiO2 Films to Anatase and/or Rutile Crystalline Phases. ACS Appl. Energy Mater. 1, 8, 3607-3613.

Jaime Benavides

Author's profile

Jaime A Benavides is a Ph.D. candidate in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interest includes sol-gel, nanomaterials for aerospace applications, 3D printing technologies, optoelectronics and photovoltaic devices.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices 

Author profile

Charles Trudeau

Author's profile

Charles P Trudeau is a Ph.D. candidate in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interest includes printable flexible electronics and semiconductor characterization.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices  ETS Research Chair on Terahertz (THz) Optoelectronics 

Author profile

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes

Author's profile

Luis Felipe Gerlein R. is a Ph.D. candidate at ÉTS. His research interests include nanofabrication and characterization of optoelectronic devices based on lead chalcogenides, carbon-based nanostructures and perovskite materials.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices 

Author profile

Sylvain G. Cloutier

Author's profile

Sylvain G. Cloutier is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in nanotechnology and optoelectronic materials.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices  ArianeGroup Research Chair on Emerging Materials in the Aeronautics and Space sector 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Structure cristalline de TiO2 « à la carte » - Par : Jaime Benavides, Charles Trudeau, Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes, Sylvain G. Cloutier,

Structure cristalline de TiO2 « à la carte »


Jaime Benavides
Jaime Benavides Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jaime A Benavides est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les solutions sol-gel, les nanomatériaux, l’impression 3D, l’optoélectronique et les dispositifs photovoltaïques.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Charles Trudeau
Charles Trudeau Profil de l'auteur(e)
Charles P Trudeau est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’électronique flexible imprimable et la caractérisation de semi-conducteurs.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes
Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes Profil de l'auteur(e)
Luis Felipe Gerlein est étudiant au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la nanofabrication et la caractérisation de dispositifs optoélectroniques à base de chalcogénures de plomb, de nanostructures à base de carbone et de matériaux pérovskite.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Sylvain G. Cloutier
Sylvain G. Cloutier Profil de l'auteur(e)
Sylvain G. Cloutier est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste des nanotechnologies et des matériaux optoélectroniques.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Procédé sol-gel

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Le dioxyde de titane est un matériau céramique polyvalent utilisé dans plusieurs domaines, notamment le traitement de l’eau, la production et la transformation de l’énergie et la modification de surfaces. Ces applications propres au TiO2 découlent de ses propriétés optoélectroniques uniques, qui dépendent fortement de la structure cristalline. De la recherche aux applications industrielles, la possibilité d’inclure des couches minces de TiO2 cristallin sans procédés chimiques à haute température ou autres est essentielle à la fabrication additive et s’inscrit dans la nouvelle révolution industrielle 4.0.

La chimie douce pour faire de la céramique

La céramique existe depuis des milliers d’années et offre de nombreux usages technologiques. Elle est normalement fabriquée tant au laboratoire qu’à l’échelle industrielle par réaction chimique de poudres à des températures supérieures à 1000 °C. Dans la nature, les diatomées, des microorganismes unicellulaires, peuvent produire des coquilles protectrices en céramique à température ambiante dans des environnements humides comme l’océan, à l’aide de la silice dissoute dans l’eau. Ce procédé, appelé « chimie douce », nécessite beaucoup moins d’énergie que les procédés à températures élevées.

Céramiques issues de la chimie douce

Figure 1 Différentes coquilles en céramique des diatomées

De nos jours, la chimie sol-gel, issue de la chimie douce, nous permet de produire des céramiques à température ambiante. L’industrie utilise largement cette méthode dans la production de poudres et de revêtements. Un exemple bien connu est le Bureau des brevets de Francfort, dont les fenêtres sont dotées d’un revêtement architectural sol-gel. Le revêtement influence la transmission et l’absorption de différentes longueurs d’onde de lumière pour donner un aspect réfléchissant uniforme et esthétique, tout en atténuant « l’effet de serre » du bâtiment, réduisant ainsi les coûts de climatisation en été.

Améliorer les propriétés en combinant deux structures cristallines

Dans le domaine des semi-conducteurs, l’utilisation des céramiques est liée à leurs propriétés optoélectroniques et ces propriétés changent en fonction de leur structure cristalline. Le dioxyde de titane (TiO2) est un semi-conducteur remarquable doté de propriétés optoélectroniques uniques [1], idéal pour la conversion photovoltaïque et photocatalytique. Il possède plusieurs structures cristallines, les plus populaires étant l’anatase et le rutile.

L’anatase est une structure cristalline du dioxyde de titane

Figure 2 Cristal d’anatase à l’état naturel

L’anatase sert principalement de couche bloquante pour les dispositifs optoélectroniques ou photovoltaïques, grâce à sa large bande interdite de 3,2 eV [2]. Quant au rutile, sa bande interdite électronique inférieure, 3,0 eV, convient mieux aux applications photoélectrochimiques [3]. Lorsque l’anatase et le rutile sont combinés, on observe une amélioration des propriétés du TiO2  [4], [5]. Ces dernières années, nous nous sommes penchés sur les possibilités qu’apporterait un mélange de ces deux structures si les phases cristallines étaient réparties exactement comme souhaité pour influencer efficacement cette synergie entre l’anatase et le rutile. La prochaine question évidente était : comment faire?

Le rutile est une structure cristalline du dioxyde de titane

Figure 3 Cristal de rutile à l’état naturel

Obtenir la cristallinité et les propriétés optoélectroniques souhaitées à partir du TiO2 amorphe nécessite des températures supérieures à 500 °C pour l’anatase et à 800 °C pour le rutile [6]. Or, la cristallisation à haute température produit soit de l’anatase, soit du rutile et limite leur utilisation combinée. Aussi, les températures élevées utilisées pour former l’anatase et le rutile peuvent nuire grandement aux dispositifs sensibles à la température. Compte tenu du grand nombre de possibilités offertes par le TiO2 dans la création de nouvelles technologies flexibles, légères et portables nécessitant des substrats à basse température, les chercheurs ont tenté de cristalliser le TiO2 avant de l’intégrer dans les dispositifs. Ils ont partiellement réussi à éviter la cristallisation à haute température, mais le degré de cristallinité et les propriétés optoélectroniques du TiO2 résultant sont loin de l’objectif [7]. D’autres approches possibles sont l’irradiation au laser à faible intensité de poudres de TiO2 sous vide [8] ou de nanoparticules de TiO2 dopées avec du Fe et de l’Al sous conditions anaérobies pour provoquer la cristallisation au moyen de l’optique [9]. Ces méthodes éliminent complètement le recours aux températures élevées, mais les conditions sous vide et l’absence de contrôle précis du motifs des films obtenus en font des solutions non intéressantes pour l’industrie ni compatibles avec la nouvelle révolution industrielle 4.0.

Méthode proposée

Par conséquent, il semble que la production de TiO2 cristallin de haute qualité sous des conditions ambiantes reste aujourd’hui un défi technique majeur pour la production de dispositifs optoélectroniques à faible coût. Nous avons donc mis au point une méthode beaucoup plus simple, basée sur la chimie sol-gel, pour produire une encre de nanoparticules de TiO2 amorphe (10 nm), riche en lacunes d’oxygène (défauts). En raison de la concentration élevée de défauts, les films créés à partir de notre encre amorphe TiO2 peuvent absorber de l’énergie sous forme de lumière au lieu de chaleur et peuvent être cristallisés en anatase et en rutile à la température et à l’air ambiants par irradiation au laser.

Structure combinée anatase-rutile à partir de TiO2

Figure 4 Modelage de structure cristalline « à la carte »

De la même manière que la régulation de la température produit de l’anatase (500 °C) ou du rutile (800 °C), nous déterminons le motif désiré de structure cristalline sur des films de TiO2 amorphes simplement en ajustant la puissance du laser. La cristallisation se produit après 6 secondes d’irradiation et la spectroscopie Raman sert à confirmer la cristallinité des films. Ce qui est encore plus remarquable, c’est que l’anatase et le rutile ne sont plus incompatibles et peuvent coexister ensemble, selon le motif désiré. Ainsi s’ouvre la possibilité d’explorer la synergie entre l’anatase et le rutile. En fait, nous travaillons actuellement à reproduire cette expérience à des échelles beaucoup plus grandes, de l’ordre de mm2, à l’aide d’un graveur au laser commercial peu coûteux (imprimante 3D BIBO). Notre objectif ultime est d’automatiser le procédé de cristallisation et de lier la production de films de TiO2 cristallin de haute qualité à la technologie électronique imprimée flexible.

Conclusion

Nous pensons que cette méthode de production de TiO2 cristallin, précise, reproductible évolutive, et applicable à l’industrie ouvre la voie à de nouvelles plates-formes à base de TiO2, en particulier pour la conversion de l’énergie, le stockage et l’environnement. Nous ne sommes peut-être pas encore capables de produire de la céramique de manière aussi efficace que les diatomées, mais nous y parviendrons grâce au pouvoir révolutionnaire de la nanotechnologie.

Structure anatase-rutile pour produire le logo ÉTS

Figure 5 Structure cristalline « à la carte ». À gauche : logo ÉTS sur un film de TiO2 amorphe. À droite : zones en anatase et en rutile et spectres Raman. Le bleu et le rouge représentent respectivement l’anatase et le rutile.

Information additionnelle

Pour plus d’informations sur cette recherche, veuillez lire l’article suivant : Benavides, J.A .; Trudeau, C.P. ; Gerlein, L.P. ; Cloutier, S.G. 2018. Laser Selective Photoactivation of Amorphous TiO2 Films to Anatase and/or Rutile Crystalline Phases. ACS Appl. Energy Mater. 1, 8, 3607–3613.

Jaime Benavides

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jaime A Benavides est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les solutions sol-gel, les nanomatériaux, l’impression 3D, l’optoélectronique et les dispositifs photovoltaïques.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Charles Trudeau

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Charles P Trudeau est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’électronique flexible imprimable et la caractérisation de semi-conducteurs.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés  Chaire de recherche ÉTS en optoélectronique térahertz (Thz) 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luis Felipe Gerlein est étudiant au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la nanofabrication et la caractérisation de dispositifs optoélectroniques à base de chalcogénures de plomb, de nanostructures à base de carbone et de matériaux pérovskite.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvain G. Cloutier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvain G. Cloutier est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste des nanotechnologies et des matériaux optoélectroniques.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés  Chaire de recherche ArianeGroup sur les matériaux émergents dans le domaine de l’aéronautique et du spatial 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *