SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Supporting Industry 4.0 while Respecting the Environment - By : Substance,

Supporting Industry 4.0 while Respecting the Environment


Industry 4.0

Purchased on Istock.com. Copyright.

Lucas Hof, a Montrealer for the past five years and professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering for the last few months, specializes in advanced manufacturing to support Industry 4.0. His area of ​research: designing mass production customized processes for high-precision parts using non-traditional materials … and at the lowest possible price. His challenge: achieving his goal while minimizing negative impacts on the environment.

Industry in general (smart phone manufacturers, biomedical industry, aeronautics, etc.) strives to meet consumer demand for mass-produced customized goods at lower cost. Professor Hof is presently working on new processes, exploring the possibilities of additive manufacturing, hybrid technologies, etc.

Another step: the newly appointed professor wishes to “develop innovative ‘remanufacturing’ processes based on digital technologies (Industry 4.0) within the concept of a circular economy.” He wants to reuse recycled parts to produce high-precision products with a special focus on hard-to-machine materials such as glass. His goal is ecological, of course, but also economical since the use of recycled parts allows the industry to reduce costs. “We have no choice but to take the demand for customization into account, but I feel we have to minimize the impact on the environment,” he says.

 

Circular economy integrated to Industry 4.0

 

Passionate about Applied Science

Lucas Hof, professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTSAfter graduating from the Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands, Lucas Hof completed his PhD at Concordia University, with Professor Rolf Wuthrich’s group, where he was involved in electrochemical machining technology from co-development to industrial deployment, in collaboration with the Swiss company Posalux. His path also took him to Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland.

Professor Hof also has a stint in the entrepreneurial world to his credit. After working for a non-profit organization, he co-founded and directed a manufacturing company that designed and developed interactive toys adapted for the disabled and the elderly.

The reason he decided to return to research after several years in business was that he “loves technology, likes to develop, innovate and contribute to help improving the world,” he says.

Professor Hof has over five years of teaching experience, namely at Concordia University. He chose this career because it allows him more independence. He wanted to join ÉTS because “this University is a bridge between academia and industry,” similar to his own career, he says. He will teach ÉTS students the basics of Industry 4.0, particularly advanced manufacturing technologies.

He has led several projects with manufacturing companies, particularly in the aerospace and rapid prototyping sector and wishes for as many fruitful collaborations with ÉTS.


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Soutenir l’industrie 4.0 tout en respectant l’environnement - Par : Substance,

Soutenir l’industrie 4.0 tout en respectant l’environnement


Industrie 4.0

Achetée sur Istock.com. Droits d’auteur.

À Montréal depuis cinq ans et professeur au Département de génie mécanique depuis quelques mois, Lucas Hof est spécialisé dans la fabrication avancée pour soutenir l’industrie 4.0. Son domaine de recherche : la conception de processus de fabrication de pièces de haute précision, personnalisées, en masse, à l’aide de matériaux non traditionnels… et au prix le plus bas possible. Le défi : atteindre cet objectif tout en limitant au maximum les conséquences néfastes pour l’environnement.

Le souhait de l’industrie en général (fabricants de téléphones intelligents, industrie biomédicale, aéronautique, etc.) est de répondre à la demande de personnalisation des consommateurs tout en produisant en masse et à un moindre coût. Le travail du chercheur sur les nouveaux processus explore notamment les possibilités qu’offrent la fabrication additive, l’apprentissage machine, etc.

Autre étape : le nouveau professeur veut « développer des processus innovants de « refabrication » basés sur les technologies numériques (industrie 4.0) selon le concept d’économie circulaire ». Ainsi, il souhaite réutiliser les pièces recyclées pour fabriquer des produits de haute précision. Son but est bien sûr écologique, mais aussi économique puisque l’utilisation de pièces recyclées permet à l’industrie de diminuer ses coûts. « On n’a pas le choix de prendre en compte la demande de personnalisation, mais j’ai à cœur d’en réduire au maximum l’impact sur l’environnement », confie-t-il.

Économie circulaire intégrée dans l’industrie 4.0

Un passionné de la science appliquée

Lucas Hof, professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTSDiplômé de l’Université de technologie de Delft, aux Pays-Bas, Lucas Hof a fait son doctorat à l’Université Concordia, au sein du groupe du professeur Rolf Wuthrich, où il a codéveloppé une technologie électrochimique d’usinage jusqu’à son déploiement industriel, en collaboration avec la société suisse Posalux. Son parcours l’a également mené à Lausanne (EPFL), en Suisse.

Le professeur a aussi à son actif une incursion dans le monde entrepreneurial. Après avoir travaillé dans un organisme à but non lucratif, il a cofondé et dirigé une entreprise de conception et de fabrication de jouets interactifs adaptés aux handicapés et aux personnes âgées.

S’il a décidé de retourner à la recherche après plusieurs années en entreprise, c’est qu’il « aime la technologie, il aime la développer, innover et contribuer à améliorer le monde », affirme-t-il.

Le professeur Hof a à son actif une expérience d’enseignement de plus d’une dizaine d’années, notamment à l’Université Concordia. Une carrière qu’il a choisie pour l’indépendance qu’elle lui permet. Il a souhaité rejoindre l’ÉTS, car « l’École fait le trait d’union entre l’académique et l’industrie », à l’image de son propre parcours, explique-t-il. Il enseignera aux étudiants de l’ÉTS les bases de l’industrie 4.0, notamment les technologies de fabrication de pointe.

Il a mené plusieurs projets avec des entreprises manufacturières, notamment dans le secteur aérospatial. Des collaborations qu’il souhaite aussi nombreuses et fructueuses à l’ÉTS.


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *