SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The Science Behind Personalized Music Recommendations - By : Marie-Anne Valiquette,

The Science Behind Personalized Music Recommendations


Marie-Anne Valiquette
Marie-Anne Valiquette Author profile
Marie-Anne Valiquette obtained a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering at the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) in Montreal. She lives in Silicon Valley, California where she studies artificial intelligence through online platforms like Udacity and deeplearning.ai.

How are music recommendations made?

The featured image is from Pixabay.com, source. Public Domain.

Music is a personal experience, and describing what you love or dislike about a song or an artist is difficult. It makes the task of finding a new favourite song, and discovering new ones near impossible.

Online Music Curation

Multiple streaming music companies are trying to solve this problem with recommendation engines.

Songza logo representation

Figure 1 Songza logo

Back in the 2000s, Songza, now integrated into Google Play Music, started the online music curation scene using manual curation to create playlists for users. They hired “music experts” that would choose songs to create playlists listened by the users. Beats Music would later use the same strategy to create playlists. But there is a slight problem with this strategy: it does not take into account individual tastes.

Pandora logo representation

Figure 2 Pandora logo

Pandora was also one of the original companies in the music curation industry. They used a slightly more advanced approach: they manually selected song attributes by choosing a group of descriptive words for each track and tagged them accordingly. Then, Pandora’s algorithm would simply filter tags to make playlists of similar-sounding music.

Spotify logo representation

Figure 3 Spotify logo

A music intelligence agency from the MIT Media Lab called The Echo Nest developed a different approach to personalized music. The Echo Nest used algorithms to analyze the audio and textual content of music, allowing it to perform music identification, personalized recommendations, playlist creation and analysis. Spotify bought the company in 2014.

Last.fm logo representation

Figure 4 Last.fm logo

Finally, Last.fm used a different technique called collaborative filtering to recommend new songs or bands based on similarities between users.

Every major streaming service developed its ability to learn user tastes and recommend the right song at the right time. However, one major company is ahead in the game with its personalized music recommendation: Spotify’s Discover Weekly.  Discover Weekly is a playlist of songs that automatically appears each Monday in every Spotify user account. It analyzes the user’s listening history, focusing on the music that has played recently. It then compares that insight with other Spotify users. Scanning more than 2 billion playlists, the system finds tracks that are commonly listed alongside the music. Then, it groups those tracks together into a new, 30-song personalized playlist. How does Spotify recommend a list to each person each week?

How does Spotify's Discover weekly work?

Figure 5 Simplified flow chart: creation of Spotify’s Discover Weekly

Spotify combines three of the best strategies used by other services to create their own uniquely powerful Discovery engine:

  1. Collaborative Filtering models, which analyze listener behaviour.
  2. Natural Language Processing (NLP) models, which analyze texts.
  3. Audio models, which analyze raw audio tracks.

 

Collaborative Filtering Models

Collaborative filtering is most commonly seen in Amazon’s “customers who bought this item also bought…” feature or the Netflix “thumb up or down” feature. However, unlike Netflix or Amazon, Spotify doesn’t have those features with which users rate their music. Instead, Spotify’s data uses implicit feedback  like stream counts of the tracks users listen to, and whether they saved the track into their own playlist, or visited the artist page.

Natural Language Processing (NLP) Models

Spotify searches the web, constantly looking for blogs or articles about music to categorize what people are saying about specific artists and songs. Basically, it keeps track of which adjectives and language is used to describe a song, and which other artists and songs are also being discussed. Then, the algorithm associates a weight for each term or word used to describe the music or the artist and eventually creates the probability that someone will describe the musical piece or the artists in those terms.

Similarly, to perform collaborative filtering, the NLP model uses these terms and weights to create a vector representation of the song. These vectors are compared between musical pieces and determine if two pieces are similar.

Raw Audio Models

Unlike the two previous models, raw audio models take into account new songs. Spotify uses convolutional neural networks which is the same technology used in facial recognition. However, in this case, they adapted it to recognize audio data instead of pixels. Spotify understands the song’s characteristics and is able to describe them. It classifies similarities between sounds and songs and therefore recommends songs that users might enjoy based on their own listening history. It is a clever strategy since we all relate to different styles of music. Why? Because the brain creates musical memory templates based on past musical experiences. Then, it releases dopamine, the body’s feel-good drug, when listening to music that is similar to other music heard in the past.

Marie-Anne Valiquette

Author's profile

Marie-Anne Valiquette obtained a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering at the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) in Montreal. She lives in Silicon Valley, California where she studies artificial intelligence through online platforms like Udacity and deeplearning.ai.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La science à la base des recommandations personnalisées de musique - Par : Marie-Anne Valiquette,

La science à la base des recommandations personnalisées de musique


Marie-Anne Valiquette
Marie-Anne Valiquette Profil de l'auteur(e)
Marie-Anne Valiquette a obtenu un baccalauréat en génie mécanique à l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) de Montréal. Elle habite à Silicon Valley en Californie où elle étudie l’intelligence artificielle grâce à des plateformes en ligne comme Udacity et deeplearning.ai.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Comment marche les recommandations personnalisées de musique

The featured image is from Pixabay.com, source. Public Domain.

La musique est une expérience personnelle, et décrire ce qu’on aime ou n’aime pas d’une chanson ou d’un artiste est difficile. Trouver une nouvelle chanson préférée ou simplement découvrir de nouvelles chansons devient alors presque impossible.

La curation de musique en ligne

Plusieurs sociétés de diffusion de musique en continu, ou streaming, tentent de résoudre ce problème avec des moteurs de recommandation.

Représentation du logo de Songza

Figure 1 Logo Songza

Dans les années 2000, Songza, désormais intégrée à Google Play Musique, a lancé la curation de musique en ligne en faisant une sélection manuelle qui permettait de créer des listes de lecture, ou playlists, pour les utilisateurs. Des « experts en musique » intégraient des chansons à des listes de lecture qu’écoutaient les utilisateurs. Beats Music utilisera plus tard la même stratégie pour créer ses playlists. Cette stratégie avait toutefois un défaut : elle ne tenait pas compte des goûts personnels des utilisateurs.

Représentation du logo de Pandora

Figure 2 Logo Pandora

Pandora était également l’un des précurseurs de l’industrie de curation de musique. L’entreprise avait une approche légèrement plus avancée : elle choisissait manuellement les attributs d’une chanson, formant des groupes de mots descriptifs pour chaque piste, et leur apposait une étiquette. Ensuite, l’algorithme de Pandora permettrait simplement de filtrer les étiquettes pour créer des playlists de musiques similaires.

Représentation du logo de Spotify

Figure 3 Logo Spotify

Une agence d’intelligence musicale du MIT Media Lab, appelée The Echo Nest, avait mis au point une approche différente quant à la musique personnalisée. L’Echo Nest analysait, à l’aide d’algorithmes, le contenu audio et textuel de la musique, ce qui permettait d’effectuer une identification musicale, des recommandations personnalisées, la création et l’analyse de listes de lecture. Spotify a acheté l’entreprise en 2014.

Représentation du logo de Last.fm

Figure 4 Logo Last.fm

Enfin, Last.fm a utilisé une technique différente appelée le filtrage collaboratif, fondé sur les similitudes entre utilisateurs, pour recommander de nouvelles chansons ou groupes.

Chaque service important de streaming a développé sa propre capacité à connaître les goûts des utilisateurs et à recommander la bonne chanson au bon moment. Toutefois, une grande entreprise devance les autres dans ce domaine en proposant la recommandation musicale personnalisée : Discover Weekly de Spotify. Discover Weekly est une liste de lecture envoyée automatiquement le lundi à chaque compte d’utilisateur Spotify. L’application analyse l’historique d’écoute de l’utilisateur, se concentrant sur la musique qui a joué récemment. Elle compare ensuite cet aperçu avec d’autres utilisateurs de Spotify. Par l’analyse de plus de deux milliards de listes de lecture, le système trouve les pistes correspondant généralement à la musique déjà écoutée par un utilisateur. Il regroupe ensuite ces pistes dans une nouvelle liste de lecture personnalisée de 30 chansons. Spotify peut recommander une liste à chaque personne chaque semaine. Comment?

Comment fonctionne le Discovery Weekly de Spotify?

Figure 5 Schéma simplifié : Création de Discover Weekly de Spotify

Spotify regroupe trois des meilleures stratégies utilisées par d’autres services pour créer son propre moteur de découverte, unique et puissant :

  1. Modèles de filtrage collaboratif, qui analysent les comportements des usagers.
  2. Modèles de traitement du langage naturel (NLP), qui analysent les textes.
  3. Modèles audio, qui analysent les pistes audio brutes.

 

Modèles de filtrage collaboratif

Le filtrage collaboratif se fait le plus souvent au moyen de la fonction « les clients qui ont acheté cet article ont également acheté… » que l’on retrouve chez Amazon ou de la fonction « pouce vers le haut ou vers le bas » de Netflix. Mais contrairement à Netflix ou à Amazon, Spotify ne dispose pas des fonctionnalités permettant aux utilisateurs d’évaluer la musique. Au lieu de cela, les données de Spotify se fondent sur le retour de pertinence, ou feedback, comme le nombre de pistes que les utilisateurs écoutent, et si les utilisateurs ont enregistré la piste dans leur propre liste de lecture, ou visité la page de l’artiste.

Modèles de traitement du langage naturel (NLP)

Spotify scrute le Web, recherchant constamment des blogues ou des articles sur la musique pour catégoriser ce que les gens disent à propos d’artistes et de chansons en particulier. Fondamentalement, l’application retient les adjectifs et le langage utilisés pour décrire une chanson et les autres artistes et chansons dont les gens parlent. Ensuite, l’algorithme associe un poids à chaque terme ou mot utilisé pour décrire la musique ou l’artiste et crée la probabilité que quelqu’un décrive la pièce musicale ou les artistes dans les mêmes termes .

Ainsi, grâce au filtrage collaboratif, le modèle NLP utilise ces termes et pondérations pour créer une représentation vectorielle de la chanson. Ces vecteurs sont comparés entre les pièces musicales et déterminent si deux pièces sont similaires.

Modèles audio bruts

Contrairement aux deux modèles précédents, les modèles audio bruts prennent en compte les nouvelles chansons. Spotify se sert de réseaux de neurones convolutionnels, soit la même technologie que la reconnaissance faciale. Toutefois, ici, l’approche a été adaptée pour reconnaître les données audio au lieu des pixels. Spotify comprend les caractéristiques de la chanson et est capable de les décrire. Elle classe les similitudes entre les sons et les chansons et recommande par conséquent des chansons que les utilisateurs peuvent apprécier en fonction de leur propre historique d’écoute. C’est une stratégie intelligente puisque nous avons tous des affinités avec différents styles de musique. Et pourquoi? Parce que le cerveau crée des modèles de mémoire musicale fondés sur des expériences musicales passées. Puis, il libère de la dopamine, la molécule du plaisir que produit le corps, lorsqu’on écoute de la musique qui ressemble à d’autres musiques entendues dans le passé.

Marie-Anne Valiquette

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Marie-Anne Valiquette a obtenu un baccalauréat en génie mécanique à l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) de Montréal. Elle habite à Silicon Valley en Californie où elle étudie l’intelligence artificielle grâce à des plateformes en ligne comme Udacity et deeplearning.ai.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Recevez les dernières actualités scientifiques de l'ÉTS
commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.