SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Data Science Explained - By : Hamidreza Pourzarei,

Data Science Explained


Hamidreza Pourzarei
Hamidreza Pourzarei Author profile
Hamidreza Pourzarei is a PhD student in the Construction Engineering & Systems Engineering Department.

The header image was purchase on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

Data Science

Nowadays, data is one of the most significant values in the world. Huge amounts of data are produced and compiled every day of our lives. This ocean of data and information should be used the right way to optimize the factors that impact our daily lives.

To benefit from data or consider it as a value, we must first collect, analyze, and adapt it to specific needs or requirements. In the past, the concept of Data Mining was defined as meeting this need. Data mining is the practice of examining large databases in order to generate new information, which is then used to increase efficiency or solve complex problems.

With time, this concept has evolved and was named Data Science. Data science has several definitions. Generally, data science is the multidisciplinary knowledge of data, mathematics (statistics) and algorithms, and a technology that aims to propose solutions to complex situations and problems. Data Science journal explains this concept as follows:

“Data science means almost everything that has something to do with data: collecting, analyzing, modeling… yet, the most important part is its applications—all kinds of applications.”

In other words, the objective of data science is not to complicate models or produce an amazing visual, and is not limited to reading codes, it is a science that creates impacts or added value in different ways by using data for our benefit. The figure below illustrates the kind of knowledge required to be a data scientist, data analyst, or data engineer.

Data professionals and their skills

 

 

Data Science Lifecycle

 

There are various types of classification for the data science lifecycle. Based on previous research, the stages of this classification can be divided into 5, 6, or 7 phases. Here, we consider the complete version that contains the seven stages of the data science lifecycle.

  1. Business Understanding—the idea behind this stage is to identify the needs and requirements of the system, factors likely to influence the project, products, The ultimate goal should be determined in this phase.
  2. Data Collection—simply put, data gained or collected. The important thing at this stage is to collect the data related to the factors specified in the previous stage.
  3. Data Preparation—or data cleaning, which means increasing data quality for next level analysis. Inconsistencies, misspelled attributes, missing or duplicate values must be eliminated.
  4. Exploratory Data Analysis—this step aims to find a pattern for the collected data, in other words, define and refine the selection of features, variables that will be used in the model development. It should be mentioned that this is the most important step in the data science lifecycle because all the modeling and analysis will be based on it.
  5. Modeling—once obtained, the dataset needs to be modeled with one of the available techniques, for instance, machine learning technique (KNN, Decision Tree, Naive Bayes, ).
  6. Model Evaluation—each proposed model should be evaluated to validate its performance. This evaluation allows the data scientist to choose the model showing the best fit to business requirements.
  7. Model Deployment—after the model is validated, a deployment plan is developed, as a project summary, a tool, or a dashboard used on a regular basis.

The Importance of Data Science

Data science can be used for different types of requirements in our daily lives. For instance, below are some of the domains using data science:

  • Genomic data provide a deeper understanding of genetic issues.
  • Logistics companies like DHL or FedEx have discovered the best shipping times and routes.
  • Human resource managers can predict employee attrition and understand the variables that influence employee turnover.
  • Airline companies can easily predict flight delays and notify passengers.

Now, the question is: why should you become a data scientist? Actually, recent research proves that data science was deemed the best job in the United States in the past three years (2016, 2017, and 2018) according Glassdoor’s 2018 Rankings. Also, since the amount of data is increasing daily, demand for this position will increase, offering incredible opportunities for those in the field!

Hamidreza Pourzarei

Author's profile

Hamidreza Pourzarei is a PhD student in the Construction Engineering & Systems Engineering Department.

Program : Construction Engineering 

Author profile

Field(s) of expertise :

BigData & Data science 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La science des données démystifiée - Par : Hamidreza Pourzarei,

La science des données démystifiée


Hamidreza Pourzarei
Hamidreza Pourzarei Profil de l'auteur(e)
Hamidreza Pourzarei est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie de la construction et des systèmes.

Scientifique des données

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

La science des données

De nos jours, les données constituent l’une des valeurs les plus importantes au monde. D’énormes quantités de données sont produites et compilées chaque jour de notre vie. Cette mer de données et d’informations doit être utilisée de manière appropriée pour optimiser les facteurs qui ont une incidence sur notre vie quotidienne.

Pour tirer parti des données ou les considérer comme une valeur, nous devons d’abord les collecter, les analyser et les adapter à des attentes ou à des exigences ciblées. Dans le passé, le concept d’exploration des données (data mining) était considéré comme répondant à ce besoin. L’exploration de données consiste à examiner des mégas bases de données afin de générer de nouvelles informations, utilisées par la suite pour accroître l’efficacité ou résoudre des problèmes complexes.

Avec le temps, ce concept a évolué et a été renommé science des données (data science). La science des données se définit de plusieurs façons. En règle générale, c’est la connaissance multidisciplinaire des données, des mathématiques (statistiques) et des algorithmes, et une technologie visant à proposer des solutions à des situations et à des problèmes complexes. La revue Data Science explique ce concept ainsi :

« La science des données recouvre presque tout ce qui a trait aux données : collecte, analyse, modélisation… Pourtant, la partie la plus importante concerne ses applications, toutes sortes d’applications. »

En d’autres termes, l’objectif de la science des données n’est pas de compliquer les modèles, ni de produire un montage visuel exceptionnel, ni de lire des codes. C’est une science qui peut influer ou créer une valeur ajoutée de différentes façons en utilisant les données à notre avantage. La figure ci-dessous illustre le type de connaissances nécessaires au scientifique, analyste ou ingénieur de données.

Professionnels des données et leurs expertises

 

Cycle de vie de la science des données

Il existe différents types de classification relatifs au cycle de vie de la science des données. Des recherches antérieures démontrent que les étapes de cette classification peuvent se diviser en 5, 6 ou 7 phases. Ici, nous considérons la version complète, soit les sept étapes du cycle de vie de la science des données.

  1. Compréhension des affaires : l’idée sous-jacente ici est d’identifier les besoins et les exigences du système, les facteurs susceptibles d’influencer le projet, les produits, etc. L’objectif ultime sera déterminé à cette étape.
  2. Collecte de données : en gros, données acquises ou collectées. L’important à ce stade est de collecter les données liées aux facteurs déterminés à l’étape précédente.
  3. Préparation des données : ou nettoyage des données, soit améliorer la qualité des données pour l’étape suivante d’analyse. Les incohérences, les attributs mal orthographiés, les valeurs manquantes ou en double seront éliminés.
  4. Analyse exploratoire des données : cette étape vise à trouver un modèle pour les données collectées, en d’autres termes, définir et affiner la sélection des caractéristiques, variables qui seront utilisées dans l’élaboration du modèle. Il convient de mentionner qu’il s’agit de l’étape la plus importante du cycle de vie de la science des données, car toute la modélisation et l’analyse en découleront.
  5. Modélisation : une fois obtenu, l’ensemble des données sera modélisé à l’aide d’une des techniques appropriées, par exemple l’apprentissage automatique (KNN, Arbre de décision, Naive Bayes, etc.).
  6. Évaluation du modèle : chaque modèle proposé sera évalué afin d’en valider la performance. Cette évaluation permet au scientifique des données de choisir le modèle le mieux adapté aux besoins de l’entreprise.
  7. Déploiement du modèle : une fois le modèle validé, un plan de déploiement sera conçu sous la forme d’un résumé de projet, outil ou tableau de bord qui servira de façon régulière.

L’importance de la science des données

La science des données peut répondre à différents types d’exigences dans notre vie quotidienne. Par exemple, voici quelques domaines utilisant la science des données :

  • Les données génomiques permettent de mieux comprendre les enjeux génétiques.
  • Des entreprises de logistique comme DHL ou FedEx peuvent déterminer les meilleurs itinéraires et horaires d’expédition.
  • Les gestionnaires des ressources humaines peuvent prévoir l’attrition des employés et comprendre les variables qui influent sur le roulement du personnel.
  • Les sociétés aériennes peuvent facilement prévoir les retards des vols et informer les passagers.

Vous vous demander peut-être : pourquoi devenir scientifique des données ? En fait, selon des recherches récentes, la science des données est considérée comme le meilleur domaine d’emploi aux États-Unis depuis trois ans (2016, 2017 et 2018), d’après le classement de Glassdoor de 2018. De plus, comme la quantité de données augmente chaque jour, la demande pour ce type de poste augmentera, offrant des opportunités incroyables pour les gens du milieu!

Hamidreza Pourzarei

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hamidreza Pourzarei est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie de la construction et des systèmes.

Programme : Génie de la construction 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Domaines d'expertise :

Mégadonnées et science des données 

Recevez les dernières actualités scientifiques de l'ÉTS
commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *