SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Saving Children through Xbox Cameras - By : Haythem Rehouma, Rita Noumeir, Philippe Jouvet, Sandrine Essouri,

Saving Children through Xbox Cameras


Haythem Rehouma
Haythem Rehouma Author profile
Haythem Rehouma is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His current research focuses on 3D data acquisition and processing in clinical settings.

Rita Noumeir
Rita Noumeir Author profile
Rita Noumeir is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. Her research includes interoperability in healthcare, medical image analysis, treatment and visualization.

Philippe Jouvet
Philippe Jouvet Author profile
Dr. Philippe Jouvet is an intensive care paediatrician, professor in CHU Sainte-Justine’s Paediatric Department.

Sandrine Essouri
Sandrine Essouri Author profile
Dr. Sandrine Essouri is an intensive care physician and paediatrician. She specializes in the respiratory physiology of paediatric conditions, such as bronchiolitis and non-invasive ventilation in acute respiratory failure situations.

Infant in NICU

The header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Children may suffer from respiratory failure due to lung infections. This can be difficult to predict by clinicians, whose analysis includes quantitative measurements (respiration rate) and qualitative observations (inhaled volume and chest indrawing). However, qualitative observation is difficult and imprecise when the volume is small, especially in infants. Researchers at the ÉTS Biomedical Information Processing Laboratory (LATIS), in collaboration with CHU Sainte-Justine, have designed a system to detect respiratory distress in children using 3D data recorded by a Microsoft KINECT camera system. Keywords: Breathing, Intensive Care, KINECT Camera, 3D Data, Surface Reconstruction.

Analyzing Respiratory Function

Analysis of respiratory function through visual examination is an important component in clinical evaluations. However, the accuracy of visual examinations is highly correlated to the clinician’s expertise [1,2]. There is currently no reliable method to quantitatively assess respiratory function in unventilated children. This is usually performed by visual examination and is therefore subjective. The purpose of our study is to standardize the assessment of respiratory failure. The main objective is to design and develop a computerized clinical decision support system (CCDSS) to detect respiratory failure in critically ill children (respiration rate, tidal volume, minute respiratory volume and thoraco-abdominal balancing [TAA]). The validation will be performed by comparing the respiratory status assessment by the CCDSS to the ventilator (gold standard).We believe that CDSS validation should have a potential to improve respiratory management especially during patient transportation when healthcare resources such as pediatric expert are limited.

Overview of the CCDSS System

Figure 1—The CCDSS system calculating volume and respiration rate. The Xbox camera provides RGB (Red, Green, Blue) color information as well as the estimated depth for each pixel. These data are processed to perform a 3D reconstruction of the thoraco-abdominal surface.

Xbox Cameras in Intensive Care

We propose a new algorithm to calculate quantitative measures of respiration rate and tidal volume. Our technique is using recorded data from two Xbox cameras placed at two opposite corners of the patient’s bed. The objective of using two cameras is to maximize spatial coverage by recording breathing data of the thoraco-abdominal surface as well as of its lateral sides. The spatial organization, including cables and camera configurations, was optimized to facilitate the system deployment in intensive care units. Indeed, the camera system can easily be integrated in the patient’s bed. This configuration was tested and validated by the Sainte-Justine Hospital equipment inspection team.

CCDSS setup

Figure 2—CCDSS setup in a critical care room

The first step is to align the two camera views in one single frame. A 2D marker was placed along a common line of sight of both cameras. Each camera estimates its relative position using the 2D marker.

The second step is to extract the breathing zones from the unified 3D view. This view, represented as a 3D point cloud, is first converted into a triangular mesh, from which the thoraco-abdominal surface is reconstructed [3]. Mesh discontinuities caused by the absence of chest wall back data are solved by adding a reference plane at a well-defined distance from the subject’s rib cage and its lateral parts.

Signal Generating Using Octree Encoding

The third step is to calculate a scalar value representing the extracted volume using recursive decomposition known as octree approach [4].Starting from a root node in the form of a single large cube, the octree is recursively subdivided into eight equal sized sub-cubes. This subdivision process continues until a predefined maximal depth is reached or if the new sub-regions are empty. The final volume is calculated for each frame by multiplying the number of remaining octrees by the size of a single unit.

Finally, a signal representing the volume variation of the reconstructed surface is calculated based on the previous steps. The signal frequency represents the patient’s respiration rate, while the amplitude variation indicates the inhaled volume [5].

Evaluating the Readings

The experiments were conducted in an intensive care room at Sainte-Justine Hospital in Montreal. The CCDSS was first tested by simulating breathing activity on a mannequin, designed according to neonatal anatomical and physiological characteristics, and then, tested on a real patient. Data were collected simultaneously from the CCDSS and a mechanical ventilator. Different air volumes corresponding to different age categories and weights (ranging from 10 ml to 500 ml) are delivered to the lungs by the ventilator to simulate breathing.

CCDSS mesurements

Figure 3—Depth variation of a torso area over 8 seconds (camera frequency: 30 frames per second)

Although results on the mannequin are slightly better, the CCDSS shows good accuracy and precision in calculating respiration rate and inhaled volume.

The system is an innovative and promising measurement tool intended to assist clinicians to monitor respiratory function. The experimental results show the robustness of the CCDSS in providing quantitative measurements of respiration, which will limit the evaluation subjectivity.

Breathing information captured using a Xbox system

Figure 4—Breathing observation using the Xbox system: (a) on the left, inhaling, (b) on the right, exhaling. The white area indicates moving away from the camera (exhaling) and in black, approaching the camera (inhaling).

Conclusion

We proposed a 3D system to monitor children’s breathing in intensive care units. The system offers high spatial and temporal coverage of the thoraco-abdominal surface. Indeed, the system uses the complete information of breathing (3D data). The results yielded high accuracy and showed significant agreement with gold standard method. The system is a promising tool, helping caregivers in intensive care units. Our 3D imaging system offers an objective method to calculate the most relevant respiratory parameters in detecting respiratory distress.

Additional Information

Rehouma, H.; Noumeir, R.; Bouachir, W.; Jouvet, P.;  Essouri, S. (2018). “3D imaging system for respiratory monitoring in pediatric intensive care environment”. Computerized Medical Imaging and Graphics, 70, 17–28.

Haythem Rehouma

Author's profile

Haythem Rehouma is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His current research focuses on 3D data acquisition and processing in clinical settings.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVIA – Imaging, Vision and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory 

Author profile

Rita Noumeir

Author's profile

Rita Noumeir is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. Her research includes interoperability in healthcare, medical image analysis, treatment and visualization.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVIA – Imaging, Vision and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory  SYNCHROMEDIA – Multimedia Communication in Telepresence 

Author profile

Philippe Jouvet

Author's profile

Dr. Philippe Jouvet is an intensive care paediatrician, professor in CHU Sainte-Justine’s Paediatric Department.

Author profile

Sandrine Essouri

Author's profile

Dr. Sandrine Essouri is an intensive care physician and paediatrician. She specializes in the respiratory physiology of paediatric conditions, such as bronchiolitis and non-invasive ventilation in acute respiratory failure situations.

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Sauver des enfants grâce à des caméras Xbox - Par : Haythem Rehouma, Rita Noumeir, Philippe Jouvet, Sandrine Essouri,

Sauver des enfants grâce à des caméras Xbox


Haythem Rehouma
Haythem Rehouma Profil de l'auteur(e)
Haythem Rehouma est candidat au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur l’acquisition et le traitement des données 3D dans le milieu clinique.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Rita Noumeir
Rita Noumeir est professeure au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’interopérabilité dans le domaine de la santé et l’analyse, le traitement et la visualisation des images médicales.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Philippe Jouvet
Philippe Jouvet Profil de l'auteur(e)
Dr Philippe Jouvet est intensiviste pédiatre, professeur titulaire au Département de pédiatrie du CHU Sainte-Justine.

Sandrine Essouri
Sandrine Essouri Profil de l'auteur(e)
Dre Sandrine Essouri est intensiviste et pédiatre. Elle est spécialisée dans la physiologie respiratoire de pathologies pédiatriques, comme la bronchiolite et la ventilation non invasive dans des contextes d’insuffisance respiratoire aiguë.

Enfant à l’Unité néonatale de soins intensifs

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

L’enfant peut avoir des problèmes d’insuffisance respiratoire dus essentiellement à des infections des poumons. Cette insuffisance est difficile à prévoir et son analyse par le clinicien comporte des mesures quantitatives (fréquence respiratoire) et des observations qualitatives (volume inspiré et signes de tirage). Toutefois, l’observation qualitative est difficile lorsque ce volume est petit, ce qui est le cas chez le nourrisson. Les chercheurs du Laboratoire de traitement de l’information en santé (LATIS) de l'ÉTS, en collaboration avec le CHU Sainte-Justine, ont conçu un système de détection de la détresse respiratoire chez les enfants en utilisant les données 3D enregistrées à partir du système KINECT de Microsoft. Mots clés : Respiration, Soins intensifs, Caméra KINECT, Données 3D, Reconstruction de surface.

L’analyse de la fonction respiratoire

L’analyse de la fonction respiratoire par examen visuel est un élément important de l’évaluation clinique. Toutefois, la précision de l’examen visuel reste fortement corrélée à l’expertise du clinicien [1,2]. En effet, à l’heure actuelle, il n’existe pas de moyen fiable d’évaluer quantitativement la fonction respiratoire chez des enfants non ventilés. Cette tâche est effectuée visuellement par le clinicien et donc sujette à la subjectivité. Le but de notre étude est de standardiser l’évaluation de la détresse respiratoire. L’objectif principal est de concevoir et de développer un système informatisé d’aide à la décision clinique (SIAD-C) pour la détection de l’insuffisance respiratoire aux soins intensifs (fréquence respiratoire, volume respiratoire, ventilation minute et balancement thoraco-abdominale [TAA]) chez les enfants gravement malades. La validation de l’applicabilité du SIAD-C à l’unité des soins intensifs est examinée au moyen d’une série d’expériences cliniques en comparant les mesures quantitatives du SIAD-C à celles du ventilateur (étalon de référence). Nous pensons que la validation du SIAD-C devrait améliorer la surveillance de la détresse respiratoire, en particulier pendant le transport du patient, lorsque les ressources de soins de santé, telles que les experts en pédiatrie, sont limitées.

Figure 1 —Le système SIAD-C pour le calcul du volume et la fréquence respiratoire. La caméra Xbox permet d’obtenir le flux couleur RVB (rouge, vert, bleu) et le nuage de points. L’utilisation de ces deux données permet la reconstruction 3D de la surface thoraco-abdominale.

Des caméras Xbox aux soins intensifs

L’algorithme que nous avons élaboré permet de calculer la fréquence respiratoire et le volume courant à partir des données enregistrées par deux caméras Xbox placées à deux coins du lit du patient. L’objectif des deux caméras est de maximiser la couverture spatiale en enregistrant les données de respiration de la surface thoraco-abdominale et aussi des côtés latéraux. L’organisation de l’espace, dont la configuration des câbles et des caméras, a été optimisée afin de faciliter le déploiement du système dans les chambres des soins intensifs. Ainsi, le système s’intègre facilement au lit du patient. Cette configuration a été vérifiée et validée par l’équipe d’inspection des équipements de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine.

Figure 2 — Configuration du système SIAD-C dans une chambre aux soins intensifs

La première étape consiste à aligner les deux vues des caméras dans un même et seul repère. Pour ce faire, un marqueur 2D a été placé dans le champ de vision des deux caméras. Chaque caméra calcule sa position par rapport au marqueur 2D.

La deuxième étape consiste à effectuer une extraction des régions de la respiration à partir de la vue 3D unifiée. Cette vue, représentée sous forme de nuage de points, est transformée en un maillage triangulaire dans un premier temps, puis finalement, en une surface reconstruite de la région thoraco-abdominale [3]. Les discontinuités du maillage sont fermées en considérant un plan de référence bien défini à l’arrière de la cage thoracique et de ses parties latérales.

Génération d’un signal par arbre d’octants

La troisième étape consiste à calculer une valeur scalaire du volume en utilisant une décomposition récursive de la région extraite en des cubes, nommée arbre d’octants (octree) [4]. Partant d’un nœud racine sous la forme d’un seul grand cube, l’octant est subdivisé de manière récursive en huit sous-cubes de taille égale. Ce processus de subdivision se poursuit jusqu’à ce qu’une profondeur maximale prédéfinie soit atteinte ou que les régions atteintes soient vides. Le volume final est calculé pour chaque image en multipliant le nombre d’octants par la taille d’une seule unité.

Finalement, un signal représentant la variation du volume de la scène reconstruite est calculé à partir des étapes précédentes. La fréquence de ce signal représente la fréquence respiratoire du patient et la variation de l’amplitude indique le volume inspiré [5].

Évaluation de mesures obtenues

Les expériences ont été menées dans une salle de soins intensifs à l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine à Montréal. D’abord, le SIAD-C a été testé en simulant l’activité respiratoire d’un mannequin, conçu selon les caractéristiques anatomiques et physiologiques d’un nouveau-né, et ensuite, sur un patient réel. Les données sont collectées simultanément à partir du SIAD-C et d’un ventilateur mécanique. Différents volumes d’air correspondant à différents poids et différentes catégories d’âge (allant de 10 ml à 500 ml) ont été insufflés par le ventilateur pour simuler la respiration.

 

Figure 3 — Variation de la profondeur d’un point du torse sur 8 secondes (fréquence de la caméra : 30 images par seconde)

Malgré le fait que les résultats sur le mannequin soient légèrement meilleurs qu’en situation clinique réelle, le SIAD-C présente une bonne exactitude et précision dans le calcul de la fréquence respiratoire et du volume inspiré.

Le système est un outil de mesure innovant et prometteur pour assister les cliniciens dans l’évaluation objective de la fonction respiratoire. Les résultats expérimentaux ont démontré la robustesse et l’efficacité du SIAD-C à donner des mesures quantitatives de la respiration, ce qui limitera la subjectivité des observations.

Figure 4 — Observation de la respiration en utilisant le système Xbox : (a) à gauche, inspiration, (b) à droite, expiration. La zone en blanc indique qu’on s’éloigne de la caméra (expiration) et en noire, qu’on s’approche de la caméra (inspiration).

Conclusion

Nous proposons un système 3D pour le suivi de la respiration des enfants aux soins intensifs. Ce système offre une large couverture spatiale et temporelle de la surface thoraco-abdominale, présentant ainsi une excellente précision grâce à l’utilisation de l’information complète de la respiration (données 3D de la zone de respiration). Le système est un outil prometteur pour aider les soignants œuvrant aux unités de soins intensifs. Il offre une méthode objective de calcul des paramètres respiratoires les plus pertinents afin de détecter la détresse respiratoire.

Information supplémentaire

Rehouma, H.; Noumeir, R.; Bouachir, W.; Jouvet, P.;  Essouri, S. (2018). « 3D imaging system for respiratory monitoring in pediatric intensive care environment ». Computerized Medical Imaging and Graphics, 70, 17-28.

Haythem Rehouma

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Haythem Rehouma est candidat au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur l’acquisition et le traitement des données 3D dans le milieu clinique.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVIA – Laboratoire d'imagerie, de vision et d'intelligence artificielle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Rita Noumeir

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Rita Noumeir est professeure au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’interopérabilité dans le domaine de la santé et l’analyse, le traitement et la visualisation des images médicales.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVIA – Laboratoire d'imagerie, de vision et d'intelligence artificielle  SYNCHROMÉDIA – Laboratoire de communications multimédias en téléprésence 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Philippe Jouvet

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Dr Philippe Jouvet est intensiviste pédiatre, professeur titulaire au Département de pédiatrie du CHU Sainte-Justine.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sandrine Essouri

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Dre Sandrine Essouri est intensiviste et pédiatre. Elle est spécialisée dans la physiologie respiratoire de pathologies pédiatriques, comme la bronchiolite et la ventilation non invasive dans des contextes d’insuffisance respiratoire aiguë.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *