SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The Crucial Role of Big Data in the Construction Industry - By : Hamidreza Pourzarei,

The Crucial Role of Big Data in the Construction Industry


Hamidreza Pourzarei
Hamidreza Pourzarei Author profile
Hamidreza Pourzarei is a PhD student in the Construction Engineering & Systems Engineering Department.

Digitizing the construction industry

Purchased on Istock.com. Copyrights.

Big data, as the name implies, is using big quantities of data that can be properly analyzed and deployed in a meaningful way. With different tools and algorithms, these huge amounts of data are used for improvements in various fields. In other words, big data refers to extremely large data sets, which makes computers able to predict market trends, identify and understand customer preferences, and optimize business processes [5, 7].

The construction process is one of the complex processes in industry that involves different people utilizing various types of data for different purposes. All the data and information are connected, which has an influence on projects. While it was impossible before to access and analyze all the information, big data is changing that [7].

Big Data in the Construction Industry

Just like in other industries, big data in the construction industry applies to a huge amount of data and information [3]. Several types of data and information are consistently used in construction projects and generally, they are unstructured and paper-based [1].

Using a tablet on a construction site

 

Artificial intelligence and machine learning are helping enterprises to collect and use data and information on projects over the years in order to predict future outcomes, bringing various benefits, such as improving the decision-making process, productivity, safety, and many other issues. Big data can easily become a vital tool for the construction industry as construction projects are becoming more complex [3].

Big data is already used in construction projects at different phases, for instance:

  • Big data, containing building design and modeling, environmental data, stakeholders input, etc., can be used for assessing what to build and where to build.
  • Big data can be gained from weather, traffic, and community and business activities in order to analyze and determine the optimal phasing of construction activities.
  • Big data can be gained by sensors from buildings, bridges and other types of construction to monitor different levels of performance. The data could be fed into a Building Information Modeling (BIM) application to schedule maintenance activities as required [3].

Big Data in the construction field

 

Benefits of Using Big Data in the Construction Industry

In recent years, the construction industry has made significant progress on big data technology, as follow:

  1. Optimizing processes – for a better understanding of where improvement is required and to discover the best way to implement them thanks to high-quality analysis provided by big data [1].
  2. Improving workers’ productivity – the main focus of productivity in construction refers to machines and technologies, although the human factor is also important. Tracking workers and their work progress with big data can improve work productivity. With big data, companies can also analyze how workers interact on the site, and replace tools and materials [1].
  3. Sharing data – sharing data is necessary inside and outside the construction industry and one of the major axioms of big data is the interoperability between software solutions and tools. It is almost impossible to share data, even internally, without interoperability [1].
  4. Creating accurate budget estimates – big data offers the expertise to improve project planning. Better planning implies precise budget estimations, better timing, and cost understanding [4].
  5. Managing safety – future risks can be predicted by analyzing the available data. In order to eliminate safety hazards, especially for temporary workers and contract staff, companies can make adjustments in advance [4].
  6. Making better business decisions – The right data, tools, and people can provide new and improved insight into the projects. It also means that construction companies can make more information-driven decisions [4].

Artificial intelligence in the construction sector

 

Influencing the Future of Construction

Big data will continue to improve in the entire construction industry. Although companies need to learn how to benefit from using big data, it should be said that big data is undoubtedly the most trending tool for this industry [1].

As artificial intelligence technologies are developing, construction companies will be able to use these technologies and big data to predict future outcomes on projects [2]. Big data analysis can provide possibilities to enhance different building aspects. According to a survey of construction companies in 2014:

  • “57% want consistent, up-to-date financial and project information;
  • 48% want to be warned when specific situations occur;
  • 41% want forecasting, allowing them to better prepare for best- and worst-case building events;
  • 14% want online analytics to see, for instance, precisely which factors are affecting profitability and by how much”[3].

Big data has already affected the construction industry, and it is only a matter of time before the pen-and-paper approach will be forgotten. The construction industry is transforming into a tech-based industry and heading toward digital solutions [5].

Hamidreza Pourzarei

Author's profile

Hamidreza Pourzarei is a PhD student in the Construction Engineering & Systems Engineering Department.

Program : Construction Engineering 

Author profile

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Le rôle vital des mégadonnées dans l’industrie de la construction - Par : Hamidreza Pourzarei,

Le rôle vital des mégadonnées dans l’industrie de la construction


Hamidreza Pourzarei
Hamidreza Pourzarei Profil de l'auteur(e)
Hamidreza Pourzarei est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie de la construction et des systèmes.

Numérisation de l’industrie de la construction

Achetée sur Istock.com. Droits d’auteur.

Les mégadonnées, ou Big data, sont d’énormes quantités de données pouvant être analysées et déployées de façon concrète. À l’aide d’outils et d’algorithmes, ces données permettent d’apporter des améliorations dans divers domaines. En d’autres termes, les mégadonnées font référence à des ensembles de données massives permettant aux ordinateurs de prévoir les tendances du marché, de cerner et de comprendre les préférences des clients et d’optimiser les processus d’affaires [5, 7].

La construction est un exemple de processus complexes où différentes personnes utilisent une variété de données à des fins distinctes. Toutes les données et informations sont interreliées, ce qui a une incidence sur les projets. S’il était auparavant impossible d’avoir accès à toutes les informations et de les analyser, les mégadonnées sont en voie de changer la donne [7].

Les mégadonnées dans l’industrie de la construction

Comme dans d’autres industries, les mégadonnées dans le secteur de la construction comportent une quantité énorme de données et d’informations [3]. Plusieurs types de données et d’informations sont systématiquement utilisés dans les projets de construction, mais sont généralement non structurés et sous forme manuscrite [1].

La tablette sur le chantier de construction

L’intelligence artificielle et l’apprentissage machine aident les entreprises à collecter et à utiliser des données et des informations sur les projets au fil des ans pour prévoir les résultats futurs, offrant ainsi divers avantages comme l’amélioration du processus décisionnel, de la productivité, de la sécurité et autres. Les mégadonnées peuvent facilement devenir un outil essentiel pour cette industrie à mesure que les projets deviennent plus complexes [3].

Elles servent déjà dans les projets de construction à différentes phases, par exemple :

  • Les mégadonnées sur la conception et la modélisation des bâtiments, l’environnement, les commentaires des intervenants, et autres, peuvent servir à évaluer ce qui doit être construit et où.
  • Les mégadonnées peuvent provenir des phénomènes météo, de la circulation et des activités communautaires et commerciales pour analyser et déterminer le déroulement optimal des activités de construction.
  • Les mégadonnées peuvent provenir des capteurs de bâtiments, des ponts et autres types de construction pour surveiller différents niveaux de performance. On peut entrer les données dans une application de modélisation des informations sur le bâtiment (BIM) pour planifier les activités d’entretien au besoin [3].

Les mégadonnées dans le domaine de la construction

Avantages des mégadonnées dans la construction

Au cours des dernières années, l’industrie de la construction a réalisé des progrès significatifs en technologie mégadonnées :

  1. Optimisation des processus – mieux comprendre où apporter des améliorations et découvrir le meilleur moyen de les mettre en œuvre par une analyse haute qualité à partir des mégadonnées [1].
  2. Amélioration de la productivité ouvrière – l’objectif principal de la productivité dans la construction concerne les machines et les technologies, mais le facteur humain a aussi son importance. Le suivi des travailleurs et de leurs progrès grâce aux mégadonnées peut améliorer la productivité au travail. Aussi, les entreprises peuvent analyser l’interaction des travailleurs sur le site et remplacer outils et matériel [1].
  3. Partage de données – ce volet est nécessaire à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du secteur de la construction et l’un des principaux axiomes des mégadonnées est l’interopérabilité entre les solutions logicielles et les outils. Il est presque impossible de partager des données, même à l’interne, sans interopérabilité [1].
  4. Production de prévisions budgétaires justes – les mégadonnées offrent l’expertise nécessaire pour améliorer la planification de projet. Une meilleure planification nécessite des estimations budgétaires précises, une meilleure synchronisation et une meilleure compréhension des coûts [4].
  5. Gestion de la sécurité – on peut mieux prédire les risques futurs en analysant les données existantes. Afin d’éliminer les dangers, en particulier pour les travailleurs temporaires et contractuels, les entreprises peuvent procéder à des ajustements à l’avance [4].
  6. Meilleures décisions commerciales – les données, outils et personnes appropriés peuvent apporter une vision des projets nouvelle version. Aussi, les entreprises de construction peuvent prendre de meilleures décisions selon l’information obtenue [4].

L’intelligence artificielle dans le domaine de la construction

Influencer l’avenir de la construction

Les mégadonnées continueront à progresser dans l’ensemble du secteur de la construction. Bien que les entreprises doivent encore apprendre à tirer parti des mégadonnées, force est de constater qu’il s’agit sans aucun doute de l’outil le plus en vue du secteur [1].

À mesure que les technologies d’intelligence artificielle se développent, les entreprises de construction pourront les allier aux mégadonnées pour prévoir les résultats futurs des projets [2]. L’analyse des mégadonnées peut contribuer à améliorer différents aspects du bâtiment. Selon un sondage mené auprès d’entreprises de construction en 2014 :

  • « 57 % veulent des informations financières et sur les projets cohérentes et à jour;
  • 48 % veulent être prévenues en cas de situations précises;
  • 41 % veulent des prévisions leur permettant de mieux se préparer quant aux pires et aux meilleurs scénarios de construction;
  • 14 % veulent que les analyses en ligne déterminent, par exemple, quels facteurs affectent la rentabilité et dans quelle mesure [3]. »

Les mégadonnées influent déjà sur l’industrie de la construction et ce n’est qu’une question de temps avant que l’approche stylo-papier ne soit oubliée. La construction est en voie de se transformer en une industrie fondée sur la technologie et les solutions numériques [5].

Hamidreza Pourzarei

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hamidreza Pourzarei est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie de la construction et des systèmes.

Programme : Génie de la construction 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *