SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Soft Robots with Heightened Touch - By : Hanen Hattab,

Soft Robots with Heightened Touch


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Robot hands

Purchased on Istock.com. Copyright.

Soft robotics is of great interest to the fields of scientific research and medicine because its avatars can venture into the most fragile environments, such as coral reefs and the human body. Also, structures made from flexible and lightweight polymers can perfectly reproduce the shapes, movements and motions of living creatures.

Researchers at the Bristol Robotics Laboratory and the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Bristol addressed another biomimetic challenge of soft robotics. They created a system called Skinflow that could, among other things, give soft robots enhanced tactile sensitivity. The applications of this technology are countless, particularly because it can be used in areas where electronic objects are banned in order to avoid electromagnetic interference, for  example, in magnetic resonance imaging scanners (MRI) or nuclear power plants.

True, prostheses and robots equipped with sensors that feel temperature, shapes and textures already exist. The sensors are often installed in specific areas like fingertips to perform the  functions of that part of the hand. In this case, the tactile faculties of these robots are spatially  limited, unlike humans who can feel things on the entire surface of their skin. In their study, the researchers presented three variations of Skinflow, one of which would allow the design of soft robots with skin sensitive to pressure, bending and vibration on its entire surface.

How Skinflow Works

The system combines optical sensors with small soft silicone capillary tubes filled with coloured liquid. When a user touches a tube, the volume of the tube changes, causing the liquid to move. This is where the optical detector comes in: a CCD (charge transfer device) camera captures the liquid movement and sends the information to image processing algorithms to analyze the  change. The algorithms calculate the location and intensity of the user’s interaction with the tube. Based on this principle, the team is proposing the following three devices:

1. An interface composed of four flexible pressure-sensitive buttons.

2. A three-dimensional touchpad consisting of two-layer orthogonal sensors, each layer made up of eight tubes filled with coloured liquid. The sensor can measure the location and intensity of a touch on the pad’s entire surface.

3. A device consisting of a smart camera and a microcontroller. When folded, the tubes adjust in real time to the brightness of three LEDs.

Researchers are currently testing and studying Skinflow for the development of new interactive  handheld devices.

The study entitled “Skinflow: A soft robotic skin based on fluidic transmission” was published on  IEEE Xplore and presented at the 2nd IEEE International Conference on Soft Robotics (RoboSoft) (2019). It is co-authored by Gabor Soter, Martin Garrad, Andrew T. Conn, Helmut Hauser, and Jonathan Rossiter.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des robots mous au toucher plus aiguisé - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Des robots mous au toucher plus aiguisé


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Mains de robots

Achetée sur Istock.com. Droit d’auteur.

La robotique molle intéresse beaucoup les domaines de la recherche scientifique et la médecine, car ses avatars peuvent s’aventurer dans les milieux les plus fragiles comme les récifs coralliens ou encore le corps humain. De plus les structures fabriquées à partir de polymères flexibles et légers peuvent reproduire à la perfection les formes, les déplacements et les mouvements des créatures vivantes.

Un autre défi biomimétique de la robotique molle a été relevé par des chercheurs du Bristol Robotics Laboratory et du Department of Mechanical Engineering de l’Université de Bristol. Ils ont créé un système nommé Skinflow qui pourrait, entre autres, doter les robots mous d’une sensibilité tactile étendue. Si les champs d’application de cette technologie s’avèrent innombrables, c’est en particulier parce qu’elle peut être utilisée où les objets électroniques sont bannis pour éviter les interférences électromagnétiques, par exemple dans les scanners d’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) ou dans les centrales nucléaires.

Certes il existe des prothèses et des robots munis de capteurs qui sentent la température, les formes et les textures. Le composant est souvent installé dans des zones bien déterminées comme les bouts des doigts afin d’accomplir les fonctions de cette partie de la main. Dans ce cas de figure, les facultés tactiles de ces robots sont spatialement limitées contrairement aux humains qui peuvent sentir les choses sur toute la surface de la peau. Dans leur étude, les chercheurs ont présenté trois déclinaisons de Skinflow, parmi lesquelles, l’une permettrait de concevoir des robots mous ayant une peau sensible à la pression, à la flexion et à la vibration sur toute sa surface.

Fonctionnement du Skinflow

Le système est composé d’un capteur optique orienté vers des petits tubes capillaires en silicone souple remplis de liquide coloré. Lorsqu’un utilisateur touche un tube, le volume de celui-ci change, engendrant le déplacement du liquide. C’est à ce moment qu’intervient le détecteur optique : une caméra CCD (dispositif à transfert de charge) capte le mouvement du liquide et envoie les informations à des algorithmes de traitement d’images afin d’analyser ce changement. Ces derniers calculent l’emplacement et l’intensité de l’interaction de l’utilisateur avec le tube.

L’équipe a utilisé ce principe pour proposer les trois dispositifs suivants :

  1. Une interface composée de quatre boutons souples sensibles à la pression.
  2. Un pavé tactile tridimensionnel, constitué de deux couches de capteurs orthogonaux. Chaque couche est composée de huit tubes de liquide coloré. Le capteur est capable de fait de mesurer la position et l’intensité du toucher sur toute la surface du pavé.
  3. Un dispositif composé d’une caméra intelligente et d’un microcontrôleur. Les tubes, lorsque pliés sont utilisés pour ajuster la luminosité de trois voyants DEL en temps réel.

Les chercheurs sont actuellement en train de tester Skinflow et de l’étudier pour créer de nouveaux dispositifs portables interactifs.

L’étude s’intitule « Skinflow: A soft robotic skin based on fluidic transmission ». Elle est publiée sur IEEE Xplore et a été présentée à la 2nd IEEE International Conference on Soft Robotics (RoboSoft) (2019). Elle est coécrite par Gabor Soter, Martin Garrad, Andrew T. Conn, Helmut Hauser et Jonathan Rossiter.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *