SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Soft Robotics Acquires an Electronic Skin - By : Hanen Hattab,

Soft Robotics Acquires an Electronic Skin


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

New electronic printed skin

Engineers are looking to avoid using rigid components to ensure robot flexibility and light weight. But motor structures and components like circuit boards and pressure control systems are rigid parts that present several constraints. Rigid materials could mean that the design may need to be changed, and reaching desired movements and speed may be prevented. A multidisciplinary team has created a solution that will lighten robots and optimize their interactions with humans and the environment.

It is an electronic skin that opens up new opportunities in soft robotics. The researchers who developed it are part of the Soft Robotics Research Center, Seoul National University’s Department of Physics and Astronomy, and the Korea Institute of Science and Technology’s Photoelectronic Hybrids Research Center.

Robot Control

The skin is made of two parts with distinct functions:

  • The first side has a touch sensor activated by contact;
  • The second part is removable and is actuated by the first part.

Its material and fragmented circuit makes it flexible, able to adapt to complex shapes and perform articular motions, like those of the hand.

Less than 1 mm thick, the device manufactured by the researchers weighs 0.8 g and is made of a series of integrated electronic circuit components with standard dimensions (<1.5 mm x 1.5 mm). A wireless communication system allows the skin to function as an internal control interface. Its compact structure is also reversible. This allows the design of flexible robots with a drive part that can move in several directions. The first part ensures wireless communication within the skin. The signal is functional at a distance of over 5 m. It controls four states and the built-in coding mechanism makes the communication signal noise-tolerant. The skin can cross into or work within very confined spaces, even smaller than its own surface, because it is able to shrink its different parts.

The following video shows how the robot can get into a bottle and move its parts.

Applications and Opportunities

The skin’s mechanical strength, its smooth and biocompatible surface, and its flexibility widen its application frameworks, including medical applications. It can be used in the design of biological signal monitors, textile sensors, displays and flexible robot controllers.

Tests have shown that the skin designed by the team can control another flexible robot without changing its movements.

The team is exploring the characteristics of electronic skin in order to design robots that can work and communicate with each other. They are studying a feedback system that includes actuators and sensors to allow flexible robots to move and communicate with each other more efficiently. This system will allow, for example, the flexible robot designed from this technology to detect human movement and provide assistance.

The study entitled “Electronic skins for soft, compact, reversible assembly of wirelessly activated fully soft robots” was published in the 18th issue of Science Robotics on May 30, 2018. It is co-authored by Junghwan Byun, Yoontaek Lee, Jaeyoung Yoon, Lee Byeongmoon1, Eunho Oh, Seungjun Chung, Takhee Lee, Kyu-Jin Cho, Jaeha Kim, and Yongtaek Hong.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La robotique molle se dote d’une peau électronique - Par : Hanen Hattab,

La robotique molle se dote d’une peau électronique


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Nouvelle peau électronique imprimée

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les ingénieurs cherchent principalement à éviter l’utilisation de composants rigides afin de garantir aux robots souplesse et légèreté. Or les structures motrices et les composants comme les cartes de circuits et les systèmes de régulation de pression sont des parties rigides qui présentent plusieurs contraintes. Ils peuvent amener à modifier la conception et empêcher d’obtenir les mouvements et la vitesse escomptés. Une équipe multidisciplinaire a créé une solution qui allègera les robots et optimisera leurs interactions avec l’homme et l’environnement.

Il s’agit d’une peau électronique qui ouvre de nouvelles perspectives dans la robotique molle. Les chercheurs qui l’ont créée sont affiliés au Soft Robotics Research Center, au Department of Physics and Astronomy de la Seoul National University et au Photoelectronic Hybrids Research Center du Korea Institute of Science and Technology.

Commande des robots

La peau est dotée de deux parties ayant des fonctions différentes :

  • La première face possède un détecteur tactile et s’active par contact avec la peau;
  • La deuxième partie est amovible et est actionnée par la première partie.

Grâce à son matériau et son circuit fragmenté, la peau électronique est souple, et peut épouser des formes complexes et effectuer des mouvements articulaires comme la main.

Son épaisseur mesure moins de 1 mm. La pièce fabriquée par les chercheurs pèse 0,8 g et est composée d’une série de composants intégrés de circuit électronique imprimé aux dimensions standards (< 1,5 mm sur 1,5 mm). Un système de communication sans fil permet à la peau de fonctionner comme une interface de commande interne. Sa structure compacte est aussi réversible. Elle permet de fait de concevoir des robots souples dont la partie motrice peut se mouvoir dans plusieurs directions. La première partie assure en effet une communication interpeau sans fil. Le signal est fonctionnel à une distance de plus de 5 m. Il commande quatre états et le mécanisme de codage incorporé rend la communication tolérante aux bruits du signal. La peau peut traverser ou fonctionner dans des espaces très confinés voire même plus petit que sa surface, et ce, parce qu’elle est capable de rétracter ses différentes parties.

La vidéo suivante montre comment le robot peut s’introduire dans une bouteille et mouvoir ses parties.

Applications et perspectives

La résistance mécanique de la peau, sa surface lisse et biocompatible, et sa souplesse élargissent ses cadres d’application. Elle peut en outre être utilisée dans les domaines de la médecine. Elle peut être utilisée dans la conception de moniteurs de signaux biologiques, de capteurs textiles, d’écrans et de contrôleurs de robots souples.

Des tests ont montré que la peau conçue par l’équipe peut commander un autre robot souple sans modifier ses mouvements.

L’équipe est en train d’explorer les caractéristiques de la peau électronique afin de concevoir des robots qui peuvent fonctionner et communiquer entre eux. Ils sont en train d’étudier un système de rétroaction comprenant des actionneurs et des capteurs pour que les robots souples se déplacent et communiquent entre eux plus efficacement. Ce système permettra par exemple au robot souple conçu à partir de cette technologie de détecter le mouvement humain et de l’assister.

L’étude s’intitule « Electronic skins for soft, compact, reversible assembly of wirelessly activated fully soft robots » et a été publiée dans le 18e numéro de Science Robotics le 30 mai 2018. Elle est coécrite par Junghwan Byun, Yoontaek Lee, Jaeyoung Yoon, Byeongmoon Lee1, Eunho Oh, Seungjun Chung, Takhee Lee, Kyu-Jin Cho, Jaeha Kim et Yongtaek Hong.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *