SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
A Nanocircuit Made from a Single Nanoparticle - By : Hanen Hattab,

A Nanocircuit Made from a Single Nanoparticle


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Nanoparticles used for electronics

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

The main challenge of nanoelectronics is miniaturizing objects and improving their performance. This field focuses on the design of microscopic and nanoscopic nanomaterials, and electronic components, all while reducing manufacturing costs. A team from the Department of Chemistry at Curtin University in Australia, studied the design of an electronic nanocircuit that, in addition to optimizing the structure of intelligent objects, has novel physical characteristics.

Designing a Nanocircuit Based on a Single Particle

According to Yan Vogel, co-author of the study, the results of this research will open up new prospects in the miniaturization of electronics. In fact, with his fellow researchers at the Curtin Institute of Functional Molecules and Interfaces (CIFMI), he created a nanoscale circuit manufacturing and circuit assembly process. The nanocircuit will increase the computing power of smart devices while giving them a more compact structure.

The study entitled “Switching of Current Rectification Ratios within a Single Nanocrystal by Facet-Resolved Electrical Wiring,” published in ACS Nano in July 2018, was co-authored by Yan B. Vogel, Zhang Jinyang, Nadim Darwish and Simone Ciampi. Their work made visualizing the behaviour of a circuit made from a single polyhedral metal oxide nanoparticle possible. This is an important step forward because it is the first circuit created from a single particle.

Ciampi, a researcher in electrochemistry and nanotechnology and lead author of the study, began an important phase of the project in research published in 2017. The study entitled “Single-molecule electrical contacts on silicon electrodes under ambient conditions” describes the creation of the first diode from a single molecule measuring only one nanometer. The component made recently by the team performs functions that normally require several diodes.

Manufacturing the Technology

Diodes are the basic elements of an electronic circuit. Their function is to pass the electric current in one direction while preventing it from going in the opposite direction. They are made from semiconductors. The component is made from a copper oxide nanocrystal prepared on silicon electrodes using scanning tunnelling microscopy.

As explained in the following video, the scanning tunnelling microscope is used, among other things, to visualize matter on an infinitely small scale.

To observe a sample’s behaviour, the tip of the microscope emits a computer-controlled electrical current. An image of the sample profile can only be seen when an electric current is created between the tip of the device and each atom on the surface. This is called a tunnel current. In the field of nanoelectronics, this type of technique is called the bottom-up approach.

Manipulating the copper nanoparticle with this technology made it possible to observe that it possesses electronic signatures matching those of several other elements. Each atom has its own signature. The signature represents the jumps performed by the atom’s electrons. As such, the nanoparticle behaves as a set of diodes connected to each other.

Ciampi points out that current technologies have reached their limit. For the researcher, diodes and molecular or nanoparticle transistors represent the ultimate path of future computing.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Réalisation d’un nanocircuit à partir d’une unique nanoparticule - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Réalisation d’un nanocircuit à partir d’une unique nanoparticule


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Nanoparticules utilisé en électronique

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteurs.

L’enjeu principal de la nanoélectronique est la miniaturisation des objets et l’augmentation de leur performance. Cette discipline s’intéresse à la conception des nanomatériaux et des composants électroniques microscopiques, voire nanoscopiques, tout en visant la réduction des coûts de fabrication. Une équipe du Département de chimie de la Curtin, University, en Australie, a étudié la méthode de conception d’un nanocircuit électronique qui, en plus d’optimiser la structure des objets intelligents, possède des caractéristiques physiques inédites.

Conception d’un nanocircuit à base d’une seule particule

Selon Yan Vogel, coauteur de l’étude, les résultats de cette recherche ouvriront de nouvelles perspectives dans la miniaturisation des objets électroniques. En effet, avec ses collègues chercheurs du Curtin Institute of Functional Molecules and Interfaces (CIFMI), il a créé un procédé de fabrication et de montage de circuit à l’échelle nanométrique. Le nanocircuit permettra d’augmenter la puissance de calcul des appareils intelligents tout en les dotant d’une structure plus compacte.

L’étude s’intitule « Switching of Current Rectification Ratios within a Single Nanocrystal by Facet-Resolved Electrical Wiring ». Elle a été publiée dans la revue ACS Nano en juillet 2018. Elle est coécrite par Yan B. Vogel , Jinyang Zhang , Nadim Darwish et Simone Ciampi. Ces travaux ont permis de visualiser le comportement du circuit fabriqué à partir d’une seule nanoparticule d’oxyde métallique polyédrique. C’est une avancée très importante, car il s’agit du premier circuit créé à partir d’une unique particule.

Ciampi, chercheur en électrochimie et en nanotechnologies et auteur principal de l’étude, avait entamé une étape importante du projet dans une recherche publiée en 2017. Cette dernière a été titrée « Single-molecule electrical contacts on silicon electrodes under ambient conditions ». Elle présente la fabrication de la première diode à partir d’une seule molécule qui mesure environ un nanomètre. Le composant réalisé récemment par l’équipe accomplit, quant à lui, les fonctions requérant normalement plusieurs diodes.

Fabrication de la technologie

Les diodes sont les éléments de base du circuit électronique. Leur fonction consiste à faire passer le courant électrique dans un sens tout en l’empêchant d’aller dans le sens contraire. Elles sont fabriquées à partir de semi-conducteurs. Le composant est fabriqué à partir d’un nanocristal d’oxyde de cuivre. Ce dernier est préparé sur des électrodes de silicium en utilisant une approche de microscopie à effet tunnel.

Comme l’explique la vidéo suivante, le microscope à effet tunnel n’est pas seulement utilisé pour visualiser la matière à l’échelle de l’infiniment petit.

Pour observer le comportement d’un échantillon, la pointe du microscope émet un courant électrique commandé par un ordinateur. Il n’est possible d’obtenir l’image du profil de l’échantillon que lorsqu’il se crée un courant électrique entre la pointe de l’appareil et chaque atome de la surface. Celui-ci est appelé courant tunnel. Dans le domaine de la nanoélectronique, ce type de technique est appelé l’approche bottom-up.

La manipulation de la nanoparticule de cuivre par cette technologie a permis d’observer qu’elle possède des signatures électroniques qui correspondent à celles de plusieurs éléments. Notons que chaque atome se caractérise par sa propre signature. Cette dernière représente les sauts que les électrons de l’atome peuvent effectuer. La nanoparticule se comporte ainsi comme un ensemble de diodes connectées les unes aux autres.

Ciampi souligne que les technologies actuelles ont atteint leurs limites. Pour le chercheur les diodes et transistors moléculaires ou à nanoparticules représentent l’ultime voie de l’informatique du futur.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *