SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Preparing for Tomorrow’s Industry - By : Charles Despins, Hany Moustapha,

Preparing for Tomorrow’s Industry


Charles Despins
Charles Despins Author profile
Charles Despins, Director of Faculty Affairs, Research and Partnerships at ÉTS, is also a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering

Hany Moustapha
Hany Moustapha Author profile
Hany Moustapha is a professor at ÉTS and directs AÉROÉTS. In 2011, he was named Senior Research Fellow of P&WC in 2011. He wrote and co-authored over 100 publications and two books on gas turbines.

ÉTS is joining Next Generation Manufacturing Canada

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Canada’s Superclusters

Last spring, the Government of Canada announced the creation of five superclusters, aiming to transform regional innovation ecosystems in order to stimulate job creation and GDP growth.

Canada’s Five Superclusters

Canada’s Five Superclusters

These innovation superclusters are public-private partnerships with companies of all sizes, universities and research centres joining forces to conduct research in specific fields of activity. The Government of Canada’s investment could reach $950 million and is being matched by the private sector.

ÉTS has joined Next Generation Manufacturing Canada as the only Quebec partner of this Ontario group, which is particularly focused on the automotive industry. ÉTS, with its large concentration of professors working in the field of Industry 4.0, as well as its links with many industrial partners and types of industry, including aerospace, is a partner of choice for this supercluster.

Industry 4.0: An Essential Step

Industry 4.0 includes the necessary migration that any company, whatever its size, must embark upon to fully digital processes for all operations: supply chain, manufacturing, management… It is a major transition, requiring complementary expertise, as shown in the following figure.

Nine technologies are related to the industry 4.0

For ÉTS, this supercluster is an opportunity to transfer its expertise to Industry 4.0, from the aeronautics sector to the automotive industry, and to increase its network of Ontario partner companies by supporting them in this migration. In the longer term, the goal is to monitor common challenges related to the transition to Industry 4.0 for different types of industry while addressing their individual challenges.

Training with Tangible Benefits in a Multidisciplinary Setting

The training offered by ÉTS at all three academic levels will also benefit from involvement in Next Generation Manufacturing. In fact, the supercluster will provide additional undergraduate internships as well as continuing education opportunities. For graduate studies, it will serve as a vector for the creation of targeted and fundamental research projects, while being part of a larger context of existing organizations. Master’s and PhD students will have the opportunity to develop contact networks with both technology creators and users, and to be constantly in touch with project stakeholders in a multidisciplinary framework. In addition to acquiring advanced training, these graduates will enjoy excellent job prospects as demand for this kind of profile, already quite high, will only increase.

Charles Despins

Author's profile

Charles Despins, Director of Faculty Affairs, Research and Partnerships at ÉTS, is also a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Author profile

Hany Moustapha

Author's profile

Hany Moustapha is a professor at ÉTS and directs AÉROÉTS. In 2011, he was named Senior Research Fellow of P&WC in 2011. He wrote and co-authored over 100 publications and two books on gas turbines.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : Siemens Research Chair on Technological Integration of Industry 4.0  NSERC/P&WC Industrial Research Chair on Propulsion System Integration and Optimization 

Author profile


Get the latest scientific news from ÉTS
comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Préparer l’industrie de demain - Par : Charles Despins, Hany Moustapha,

Préparer l’industrie de demain


Charles Despins
Charles Despins Profil de l'auteur(e)
Charles Despins est directeur des affaires professorales, de la recherche et des partenariats de l’ÉTS. Il est aussi professeur au Département de génie électrique.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Hany Moustapha
Hany Moustapha est professeur à l’ÉTS et directeur d’AÉROÉTS. En 2011, il a été nommé Fellow sénior de la recherche par Pratt & Whitney Canada. Il est auteur et co-auteur de plus de 100 publications et de 2 livres sur les turbines à gaz.

L’ÉTS joint la Supergrappe de la fabrication de pointe

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les supergrappes du Canada

Au printemps dernier, le gouvernement du Canada annonçait la création de cinq supergrappes, dont l’objectif est de transformer les écosystèmes d’innovation régionaux afin de stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance du PIB.

Les 5 supergrappes du Canada

Les cinq supergrappes du Canada

Ces supergrappes d’innovation sont des partenariats publics-privé regroupant des entreprises de différentes tailles, des universités et des centres de recherche, qui unissent leur force pour mener des recherches sur certains domaines d’activité.  L’investissement du gouvernement du Canada pourrait atteindre 950 millions de dollars et fait l’objet d’une contrepartie équivalente du secteur privé.

L’ÉTS s’est jointe à la Supergrappe de la fabrication de pointe (Next Generation Manufacturing Canada) comme unique partenaire québécois de ce regroupement ontarien, dont l’accent est surtout mis sur l’industrie automobile. C’est la forte concentration de professeurs de l’ÉTS œuvrant dans le domaine de l’industrie 4.0 qui en fait un partenaire de choix pour cette supergrappe ainsi que ses liens avec de nombreux partenaires industriels et types d’industrie, dont l’aérospatiale.

L’industrie 4.0 : un passage obligé

L’industrie 4.0 vise la migration obligatoire que doit entreprendre toute entreprise, quelle que soit sa taille, vers des processus entièrement numériques pour toutes ses opérations : chaîne d’approvisionnement, fabrication, gestion… C’est une transition majeure, nécessitant plusieurs expertises complémentaires, comme montré à la figure suivante.

Domaine d’expertise de l’industrie 4.0

Neuf domaines d’expertise de l’industrie 4.0

Pour l’ÉTS, cette supergrappe est l’occasion de transférer son savoir-faire en industrie 4.0 du domaine aéronautique vers celui de l’industrie automobile et d’augmenter son réseau d’entreprises partenaires ontariennes en les accompagnant dans cette migration. À plus long terme, l’objectif est de déceler les défis communs liés au passage à l’industrie 4.0 des différents types d’industrie tout en relevant les défis particuliers à chacun.

Des formations aux retombées concrètes dans un cadre pluridisciplinaire

La formation offerte à l’ÉTS bénéficiera aussi de sa participation à la Supergrappe de la fabrication de pointe, et ce, aux trois cycles. En effet, la Supergrappe permettra d’alimenter les stages du baccalauréat ainsi que l’offre de formation continue. Pour les cycles supérieurs, elle sera un vecteur de création de projets de recherche ciblée et fondamentale, mais s’inscrivant dans un contexte plus global d’entreprises réelles. Les étudiants à la maîtrise et au doctorat auront l’occasion de développer leur réseau de contacts tant avec les créateurs de technologies qu’avec ses utilisateurs, d’avoir un dialogue constant avec les différents intervenants du projet dans un cadre multidisciplinaire. En plus d’acquérir une formation de pointe, ces diplômés bénéficieront d’excellentes perspectives d’emploi, la demande pour ce genre de profil, déjà grande en ce moment, ne fera que croître.

Charles Despins

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Charles Despins est directeur des affaires professorales, de la recherche et des partenariats de l’ÉTS. Il est aussi professeur au Département de génie électrique.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hany Moustapha

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hany Moustapha est professeur à l’ÉTS et directeur d’AÉROÉTS. En 2011, il a été nommé Fellow sénior de la recherche par Pratt & Whitney Canada. Il est auteur et co-auteur de plus de 100 publications et de 2 livres sur les turbines à gaz.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie aérospatial 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *