SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Hercule Steel Bridge—Emotionally Charged Competitions - By : Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule,

Hercule Steel Bridge—Emotionally Charged Competitions


Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule
Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule Author profile
The club members participate annually in inter university competitions for the construction of steel bridges. They must design, build and assemble a steel frame structure based on regulations that are modified yearly.

pont-d-acier-hercule-student-club-ets

The featured image is from the author. Substance CC license applies.

Founded in 2001, the Hercule Steel Bridge Science and Technology Club is made up of approximately 20 members each year

Over the past few years, you’ve probably heard about the team, Hercule having made a name for itself by winning first place two consecutive years at the American national competition, and also, first place in the new Canadian national competition.

Being part of any science and technology club involves facing several exciting technical challenges during both the design phase and the competitions, requiring theoretical knowledge. This is especially true for Hercule, as specifications and rules that change yearly must be followed, hence the need to excel through theoretical and technical innovation.

For example, using chromoly steel for some years now produces smaller, thinner steel shapes with the same efficiency as “regular” steel. In fact, this makes it possible to significantly reduce the weight of the bridge structure. And, in order to obtain parts of impeccable quality, the team is working with Infasco, a Canadian manufacturer that supplies the bolts, as these play a vital role in loading tests.

pont-d-acier-hercule

In fact, each year, members have approximately three months to design the bridge according to the various regulations of the AISC-ASCE (two American competitions) and the CSCE-CISC (the Canadian competition). During the Christmas holidays, team members are already in the workshop cutting parts, machining connections and welding the structure. By the end of March, they must be ready for the final preparation stage, which is also the most important of the competition: the bridge assembly. Assembly sequence and movements of the participants need to be optimized down to the smallest detail to save as much time as possible. For Hercule, experience has shown that a few seconds can make all the difference in the final stage of the competition.

The three competitions are concentrated from the end of April to the end of May. Two of them (regional and national competitions) are held in the United States and the Canadian national competition is naturally held on Canadian soil.

As for the competitions, the first step is to present the bridge to the judges, who make various visual assessments of the structures. Then, the team must make an oral presentation to judges and other universities on, among other things, the structural design and the year’s project planning process. The main day of the competition is devoted to timing the structural assembly, measuring the deflection exerted by different loads and weighing the bridge. During that day, stress levels are at their peak and each team tries to evaluate its performance compared to other teams, even before the closing ceremony and the presentation of the awards. It is definitely a highly emotional experience. Attending the competitions or viewing the videos can give an idea of each member’s passion for the event.

pont-d-acier-Hercule-AISC-ASCE-CSCE-CISC

Being part of a student club is an experience that can make the difference in an engineer’s future career. The hours of work in this group constitute a positive experience that will be remembered forever.

Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule

Author's profile

The club members participate annually in inter university competitions for the construction of steel bridges. They must design, build and assemble a steel frame structure based on regulations that are modified yearly.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Pont d’acier Hercule : des compétitions pleines d’émotions - Par : Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule,

Pont d’acier Hercule : des compétitions pleines d’émotions


Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule
Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule Profil de l'auteur(e)
Les membres de ce club participent annuellement à des compétitions interuniversitaires de construction de ponts en acier. Ils doivent concevoir, fabriquer et assembler une structure à ossature métallique selon différents règlements.

pont-d-acier-hercule-club-etudiants-ets

L’image d’entête provient des auteurs. La licence CC de Substance s’applique.

Fondé en 2001, le club scientifique et technologique Pont d’acier Hercule est composé d’une vingtaine de membres chaque année.

Au cours des dernières années, vous avez probablement entendu des échos de l’équipe puisque Hercule a réussi à s’illustrer en se hissant deux années consécutives à la première place de la compétition nationale américaine et, par ailleurs, à la première place de la nouvelle compétition nationale canadienne.

Faire partie d’un club scientifique technologique et scientifique, quel qu’il soit, c’est faire face à plusieurs défis techniques stimulants lors de la conception et des compétitions, qui font appel à des connaissances théoriques. C’est particulièrement vrai pour Hercule, car le devis et les règlements, qui changent chaque année, doivent être respectés d’où le besoin de se surpasser en innovant tant sur le plan théorique que technique.

Par exemple, utiliser depuis quelques années l’acier chromoly permet d’avoir des profilés d’acier plus petits et plus minces pour la même efficacité que l’acier « régulier ». Concrètement, cela permet de diminuer le poids du pont de manière notable pour la structure. Aussi, l’équipe fait affaire avec un manufacturier canadien, Infasco, pour la fourniture de ces boulons afin d’obtenir des pièces de qualité irréprochable; en effet, les boulons jouent un rôle très important lors des essais de chargement.

pont-d-acier-hercule

Concrètement, chaque année, les membres ont,  une période d’environ trois mois pour faire la conception du pont selon les différents règlements de l’AISC-ASCE (deux compétitions américaines) et de la CSCE-CISC (une compétition canadienne). Pendant la période des fêtes, l’équipe s’affaire déjà en atelier à faire la coupe de pièces, l’usinage des connexions et le soudage de la structure. Vers la fin mars, elle doit être prête à consacrer du temps à la dernière étape de la préparation, qui est aussi la plus importante lors de la compétition : l’assemblage du pont. La séquence d’assemblage et les mouvements des membres doivent être optimisés dans les moindres détails pour gagner le plus de temps possible. Comme l’expérience d’Hercule l’a montré, quelques secondes peuvent faire toute la différence dans le palmarès final.

Ces trois compétitions sont concentrées de la fin avril à la fin mai. Deux d’entre elles (compétitions régionale et nationale américaines) se déroulent aux États-Unis et la compétition nationale canadienne se déroule évidemment en sol canadien.

Pour ce qui est du déroulement des compétitions, la première étape consiste à présenter le pont aux juges, qui font différentes évaluations visuelles des structures. Ensuite, l’équipe doit faire un exposé oral pour, entre autres, présenter le concept de la structure et la planification annuelle du projet aux juges et aux autres universités. La journée principale de la compétition est consacrée à chronométrer l’assemblage de la structure, mesurer la flèche obtenue sous les différents chargements et peser le pont. C’est lors de cette journée que le stress est à son maximum et que chaque équipe cherche toujours à évaluer sa performance par rapport aux autres équipes avant même la cérémonie de fermeture et de remise des prix. Il s’agit sans contredit d’une expérience haute en émotions. Il faut y assister ou voir les vidéos des compétitions pour comprendre toute la passion qui anime les membres des équipes.

pont-d-acier-Hercule-AISC-ASCE-CSCE-CISC

Faire partie d’un club étudiant est une expérience qui fait la différence dans le parcours d’un futur ingénieur. Les heures accumulées dans cette famille constituent des sacrifices positifs qui resteront gravés dans nos mémoires.

Les membres du Pont d'acier Hercule

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Les membres de ce club participent annuellement à des compétitions interuniversitaires de construction de ponts en acier. Ils doivent concevoir, fabriquer et assembler une structure à ossature métallique selon différents règlements.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *