SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Fast Forward to 5G: The ENCQOR Initiative - By : Charles Despins,

Fast Forward to 5G: The ENCQOR Initiative


Charles Despins
Charles Despins Author profile
Charles Despins, Director of Faculty Affairs, Research and Partnerships at ÉTS, is also a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering

Smart City

The featured image was bought from Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

Last fall, two sites in Quebec were granted infrastructure and resources to establish a pre-commercial 5th generation wireless network platform: the first at Centech, the ÉTS business incubator, and the second at the Thales Research and Technology Center in Québec City. Three cities in Ontario are also part of the project: Waterloo, Toronto, and Ottawa.

The ENCQOR initiative (Evolution of Networked Services through a Corridor in Québec and Ontario for Research and Innovation) represents a total investment of $400 million and connects five digital giants (Ericsson, Ciena Canada, Thales Canada, IBM Canada, and CGI) to the governments of Canada, Quebec and Ontario.

The Promises of 5G

From a technical viewpoint 5G, which uses high-frequency radio waves, is the result of improvements in wireless access and the centralization of specific network functions. A wireless transmission rate of ten gigabytes per second is expected, a connection that would be 100 times faster than what we know today. Latency, meanwhile, should decrease to a few milliseconds, representing an estimated drop of a factor between 10 and 50, and allowing real-time implementation of a variety of applications. By offering this unparalleled performance, 5G will lead to the creation of new products and services that will markedly transform our lives and the way we manufacture goods. 5G’s impact is expected to be pervasive, and notably in the realm of smart cities, e-health, connected and autonomous vehicles, and advanced manufacturing.

5G application in health care.

 

A Turning Point: Transition to Digital

The corridor that will offer the 5G network is meant to facilitate digital enterprise transformation, a transition to Industry 4.0, essential to maintaining competitive edge. We have entered an era where our infrastructure must accommodate massive data processing and transmission to ensure tomorrow’s economic development. This demand is due to the ever-increasing number of connected objects and the generation of applications that require the transmission of large amounts of data. To meet this demand, businesses and individuals must be able to access the high frequency spectrum that is yet to be used by existing wireless services.

ENCQOR’s two innovation sites in Quebec are open to all SMEs, establishments of higher education, and interested organizations in Quebec. In addition to 5G access, these organizations will receive support in acquiring this technology and use it for research and development purposes.

ÉTS, at the Heart of the ENCQOR Project

Building on the 5G innovation platform at Centech, ÉTS faculty members, working in several business sectors impacted by digital transformation, will benefit from the ENCQOR initiative to offer innovative and multidisciplinary research projects to students who, in turn, will acquire advanced training adapted to industry needs.

Charles Despins

Author's profile

Charles Despins, Director of Faculty Affairs, Research and Partnerships at ÉTS, is also a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Passons en vitesse 5G : l’initiative ENCQOR - Par : Charles Despins,

Passons en vitesse 5G : l’initiative ENCQOR


Charles Despins
Charles Despins Profil de l'auteur(e)
Charles Despins est directeur des affaires professorales, de la recherche et des partenariats de l’ÉTS. Il est aussi professeur au Département de génie électrique.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Ville intelligente

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

 

L’automne dernier, deux sites au Québec se sont vus octroyer des infrastructures et des ressources afin d’établir une plate-forme précommerciale de réseau sans fil de 5e génération : le premier, au Centech, l’incubateur d’entreprises technologiques de l’ÉTS et le second, au Centre de recherche et technologie de Thales, à Québec. Trois villes de l’Ontario font aussi partie du projet : Waterloo, Toronto et Ottawa.

L’initiative ENCQOR (Evolution of Networked Services through a Corridor in Québec and Ontario for Research and Innovation) représente un investissement total de 400 millions de dollars et réunit cinq géants du secteur numérique (Ericsson, Ciena Canada, Thales Canada, IBM Canada et CGI) aux gouvernements du Canada, du Québec et de l’Ontario.

Les promesses de la 5G

D’un point de vue technique, la 5G, qui utilise des ondes radio haute fréquence, est le fruit d’améliorations de l’accès sans fil ainsi que de la centralisation de certaines fonctions de réseau. On s’attend à une vitesse de transmission sans fil de dix gigabits par seconde, soit une connexion cent fois plus rapide par rapport à celles disponibles aujourd’hui. La latence, quant à elle, devrait diminuer à quelques millisecondes, ce qui représente une baisse d’un facteur estimé entre 10 et 50, et permettra de mettre en œuvre une panoplie d’applications en temps réel. En offrant ces performances inégalées, la 5G rendra possible la création de nouveaux produits et services qui transformeront profondément notre quotidien et la façon dont nous fabriquons des biens. Les secteurs touchés seront, entre autres, les villes intelligentes, la santé en ligne, les véhicules connectés et autonomes et le manufacturier avancé.

Application de la 5G dans le domaine de la santé

Un point tournant : le passage au numérique

Le corridor qui offrira le réseau 5G a pour objectif de faciliter le passage des entreprises canadiennes au numérique, soit la transition vers l’industrie 4.0, essentielle au maintien de leur compétitivité. Nous sommes entrés dans une ère où nos infrastructures se doivent d’accommoder le traitement et la transmission de données massives pour assurer le développement économique de demain. Cette demande est causée par le nombre toujours plus grand d’objets connectés et la génération d’applications nécessitant la transmission de grandes quantités de données. Pour satisfaire cette demande, les entreprises et les particuliers doivent pouvoir accéder au spectre de fréquences élevées pas encore utilisées par les services sans fil existants.

Les deux sites d’innovation de ENCQOR au Québec sont ouverts à toutes les PME, établissement d’enseignement supérieur et organisations du Québec intéressées. En plus de l’accès à la 5G, ces entreprises bénéficieront d’un accompagnement pour leur permettre de s’approprier cette technologie et de l’utiliser à des fins de recherche et développement.

L’ÉTS est au cœur du projet ENCQOR

Forts de la plateforme d’innovation 5G au Centech, les professeurs-chercheurs de l’ÉTS œuvrant dans plusieurs secteurs d’activité liés au passage vers le numérique pourront profiter de l’initiative ENCQOR pour offrir des projets de recherche innovants et multidisciplinaires aux étudiants, qui pourront acquérir une formation de pointe, adaptée aux besoins de l’industrie.

Charles Despins

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Charles Despins est directeur des affaires professorales, de la recherche et des partenariats de l’ÉTS. Il est aussi professeur au Département de génie électrique.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *