SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
ÉTS Solar Panels Dedicated to Education - By : Azzouz Taoussi, Lyne Woodward, Kamal Al Haddad,

ÉTS Solar Panels Dedicated to Education


Azzouz Taoussi
Azzouz Taoussi Author profile
Azzouz Taoussi is in charge of technological applications in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. He is piloting the solar panel project.

Lyne Woodward
Lyne Woodward Author profile
Lyne Woodward is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS and the current director of GREPCI. Her research focuses on modeling, control, real time optimization and optimization algorithms.

Kamal Al Haddad
Kamal Al Haddad Author profile
Kamal Al-Haddad is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include electrical energy conversion, Power Electronics, power quality, harmonics and control.

solar panels-éts-GREPCI

The featured image was bought on Istock.com. Copyrights.

ÉTS will soon have six units of solar panels dedicated to teaching and research, each generating a maximum power of 250 W (a total maximal capacity of 1.5 kW). These panels will be installed on the main building rooftop and will allow students to understand, analyze and experiment the integration of such a clean and renewable energy source into different residential and commercial applications starting in the summer 2018 semester.

Although renewable energy sources are the way of the future, they present several challenges in terms of energy management and conversion because of the generated current variations as a function of the available solar intensity. Indeed, the amount of electricity produced by the panels depends on solar irradiance, which is a seasonal variation. This time varying energy availability constitutes a great challenge when it comes to supplying energy to the load. Therefore, if the excess of energy is not used by the load, it should be directed to the grid or if it is not possible to inject energy into the grid, it is necessary to store it in what is known as energy storage devices (ESD) and then convert it to the load in the most efficient way.

Electricity produced by the solar panels will be sent to two laboratories, one is used for power electronics education and the other for GREPCI‘s power electronics research facility.

More Comprehensive Teaching Labs

teaching laboratory-power electronics-éts

ÉTS Power Electronics Teaching Laboratory

Students in ELE355 (Industrial Power Electronics), part of the ÉTS electrical engineering curriculum, will have access to six lab stations, each connected to a panel. They will experiment the use of such devices starting by identifying the optimal operating current and voltage resulting in the extraction of the maximum power known as maximum power point tracking (MPPT). Then, different conversion stages will be built to efficiently adapt the electrical parameters to the need of the loads. Students will experiment the design of the MPPT, the battery charger operation, and the stand-alone inverter to supply independent load as to replace the Hydro-Québec grid supply. Of course, the power generated will depend on sunlight conditions at any given time during the day. Students will be able to correlate results from the data of a mini-weather station equipped with a surveillance camera. This station will indicate in real time local outdoor temperatures, wind speeds, humidity, sunshine, and other solar panels operating conditions (e.g. snow, rain, dust).

These new panels are part of the ÉTS approach, which focuses on teaching and training students engineers on practical issues to better prepare them to rapidly meet the immediate industry needs and challenges as well.

Research Facility

GREPCI-power electronics

ÉTS GREPCI Power Electronics Laboratory

The solar panels are also connected to the world-class power electronics research facility where the Canada Research Chair in Electric Energy Conversion and Power Electronics CRC-EECPE is located. Therefore, outside the hours of the laboratories dedicated to undergraduate students, Masters and PhD students can merrily use this infrastructure to perform advanced research on power electronics new topologies, develop new algorithms and create new converters for industrial and commercial usage. The researchers of the CRC-EECPE have already transferred more than 23 technologies to the Canadian industries. New technologies will be developed aimed at optimizing the conversion of energy produced by solar panels.

Student-researchers will have access to the panels from dedicated workstations. The panels are flexibly connected so different configurations can be easily tested to meet the need of the application (parallel, series, combination of parallel and series). This permanent installation offers an interesting alternative to the solar panels emulator used widely by university researchers. This infrastructure makes it possible to carry out full-scale tests aimed to identify the real problems that the deployment of this promising technology currently poses. It is to be mentioned that its price per watt is less than 70 cents; solar panel prices have dropped by a factor of 10 since the last 25 years.

 

Azzouz Taoussi

Author's profile

Azzouz Taoussi is in charge of technological applications in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. He is piloting the solar panel project.

Author profile

Lyne Woodward

Author's profile

Lyne Woodward is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS and the current director of GREPCI. Her research focuses on modeling, control, real time optimization and optimization algorithms.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : GREPCI – Power Electronics and Industrial Control Research Group 

Author profile

Kamal Al Haddad

Author's profile

Kamal Al-Haddad is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include electrical energy conversion, Power Electronics, power quality, harmonics and control.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair on Electrical Energy Conversion and Power Electronics 

Research laboratories : GREPCI – Power Electronics and Industrial Control Research Group 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des panneaux solaires à l’ÉTS pour offrir encore plus de pratique - Par : Azzouz Taoussi, Lyne Woodward, Kamal Al Haddad,

Des panneaux solaires à l’ÉTS pour offrir encore plus de pratique


Azzouz Taoussi
Azzouz Taoussi est chargé d’application technologique au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Il pilote le projet des panneaux solaires.

Lyne Woodward
Lyne Woodward est professeure au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS et actuelle directrice du GRECPI. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la modélisation, la commande, l’optimisation en temps réel et les algorithmes d’optimisation.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Kamal Al Haddad
Kamal Al Haddad Profil de l'auteur(e)
Kamal Al-Haddad est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la conversion de l’énergie électrique, l'électronique de puissance, les harmoniques et la commande.
Programme : Génie électrique 

panneaux solaires-éts-GREPCI-electronique de puissance

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com. Des droits d’auteurs s’appliquent.

L’ÉTS disposera bientôt de six panneaux solaires d’une puissance maximale unitaire de 250 W (un total de 1,5 kW), dédiés à l’enseignement et à la recherche. Ces panneaux seront installés sur le toit du bâtiment principal et permettront aux étudiants de comprendre, d’analyser et d’expérimenter l’intégration d’une source d’énergie renouvelable dans des applications résidentielles et commerciales à partir de la session d’été 2018.

Bien que les sources d’énergie renouvelable soient la voie de l’avenir, elles présentent des difficultés de gestion de l’énergie particulières en raison des variations de courant générées. En effet, la quantité d’électricité produite par les panneaux est fonction de l’ensoleillement de la journée et de la saison. Ces variations d’énergie entraînent des difficultés à alimenter des charges électriques de façon constante. L’énergie produite non utilisée peut être acheminée au réseau lorsque possible. Sinon, il faut la stocker dans un dispositif de stockage d’énergie puis la convertir de façon optimale pour être en mesure d’alimenter des charges par la suite.

L’électricité produite par les panneaux solaires pourra être acheminée à deux laboratoires, l’un servant à l’enseignement de l’électronique de puissance et l’autre, aux activités de recherche en électronique de puissance du GREPCI.

Des laboratoires d’enseignement plus complets

laboratoire enseignement-electronique de puissance-éts

ÉTS Power Electronics Teaching Laboratory

Les étudiants du cours ÉLÉ 355 (Machines électriques) offert dans le cadre du baccalauréat en génie électrique de l’ÉTS, auront six stations de laboratoire, chacune connectée à un panneau. Ils expérimenteront cette source d’énergie solaire en commençant par déterminer le courant et la tension de fonctionnement menant à la puissance maximale, soit la poursuite des points de puissance maximale (MPPT). Puis différents montages de conversion seront testés afin d’ajuster les paramètres électriques aux besoins de la charge. Les étudiants feront la conception du MPPT et expérimenteront le fonctionnement d’un chargeur de batterie et d’un onduleur autonome, remplaçant le réseau d’alimentation d’Hydro-Québec. La puissance développée sera bien sûr dépendante des conditions d’ensoleillement du moment. Les étudiants pourront corréler les résultats obtenus aux données d’une mini-station météo équipée d’une caméra. Cette station fournira en temps réel la température extérieure locale, la vitesse du vent, le taux d’humidité et l’ensoleillement en plus de permettre de voir les conditions sous lesquelles les panneaux fonctionnent (p. ex. neige, pluie, poussière).

Ces nouveaux panneaux s’inscrivent dans l’approche de l’ÉTS, qui axe l’enseignement sur la pratique pour former des ingénieurs capables de répondre rapidement aux besoins et défis actuels de l’industrie.

La recherche facilitée

electronique de puissance-GREPCI

ÉTS GREPCI Power Electronics Laboratory

Les panneaux solaires alimenteront aussi le laboratoire de renommée mondiale qui abrite la Chaire de recherche du Canada en conversion de l’énergie électrique et en électronique de puissance. En dehors des heures réservées aux laboratoires du baccalauréat, les étudiants des cycles supérieurs pourront utiliser ces infrastructures pour leurs activités de recherche avancée sur de nouvelles topologies d’électronique de puissance afin d’élaborer de nouveaux algorithmes et de créer des convertisseurs pour des applications industrielles et commerciales. Les chercheurs de la Chaire ont déjà transféré plus de 23 technologies à l’industrie canadienne. De nouvelles technologies seront mises au point pour optimiser la conversion de l’énergie provenant de panneaux solaires.

Les étudiants-chercheurs disposeront de stations de travail dédiées et pourront décider de la configuration répondant le mieux à leur besoin (parallèle, série ou une combinaison des deux). Cette installation permanente leur permettra de travailler sur un montage réel au lieu de se contenter d’un émulateur, seul choix souvent offert aux chercheurs universitaires. Elle rend possible la conduite de tests à pleine échelle qui visent à déterminer les problèmes réels posés par l’exploitation de cette technologie prometteuse. Les essais expérimentaux seront donc plus représentatifs des perturbations rencontrées dans l’exploitation d’un système fonctionnant à l’énergie solaire. Il faut aussi mentionner que le coût des panneaux solaires est 10 fois inférieur à ce qu’il était il y a 25 ans; il est maintenant de 70 cents par watt.

 

Azzouz Taoussi

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Azzouz Taoussi est chargé d’application technologique au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Il pilote le projet des panneaux solaires.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Lyne Woodward

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Lyne Woodward est professeure au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS et actuelle directrice du GRECPI. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la modélisation, la commande, l’optimisation en temps réel et les algorithmes d’optimisation.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : GREPCI – Groupe de recherche en électronique de puissance et commande industrielle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kamal Al Haddad

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kamal Al-Haddad est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la conversion de l’énergie électrique, l'électronique de puissance, les harmoniques et la commande.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en conversion de l’énergie électrique et en électronique de puissance 

Laboratoires de recherche : GREPCI – Groupe de recherche en électronique de puissance et commande industrielle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)