SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
OminiSkins – Skin that Turns Objects into Robots - By : Hanen Hattab,

OminiSkins – Skin that Turns Objects into Robots


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

The OmniSkins device

The header image is from Smithsonian.com. No known usage restrictions.

Today, soft robotics offer smart components and materials designed to optimize the flexibility and mobility of machines. From a formal point of view, the technology presented in this article functions as a geodesic structure. This geometric model gives it the flexibility to turn any inanimate object into a robot.

It is a robotic skin made by a laboratory research team under Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio, Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science at Yale University (Connecticut). The skin was named OminiSkins. Researchers at the School of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University, Indiana, were also involved in the design of the skin.

OminiSkins – Uses and Applications

Initially, the technology was designed in order to participate in a NASA contest. The agency needs multifunctional and autonomous materials for its space missions, but creating robots that meet all the operational needs in various hostile environments is expensive. The team’s proposed solution is a component that provides any inanimate object with the ability to move. The project submitted to the Agency is entitled “Active Elastic Skins for Soft Robotics.” The prototype created by Kramer-Bottiglio’s team in collaboration with NASA can transform any volume into a useful object for astronauts, such as a robotic arm or a transport device capable of surveying difficult terrain.

While robots are usually designed to meet specific goals, according to Kramer-Bottiglio, this technology could quickly create adaptable and multifunctional machines in any context. The skin has multiple applications because it can perform very complex movements. To test this technology, the team created several prototypes. They showed that the skin can make an object with multiple limbs crawl or “walk”. It can also be used to create smart clothes. In this last phase of the study, researchers tested a device that can correct a person’s posture. Wearable elements created from the robotic skin are connected to an application that receives information on back posture and returns control signals to the wearable elements to correct the position.

OminiSkins – Structure and Components

The robotic skin is made of an elastic fabric equipped with sensors and motion actuators. It can wrap around any articulated or flexible shape to make it mobile. It can give an object different mobility and movement capabilities. Transformed into a robot, it can perform specific tasks depending on the shape of the skin. The technology is in fact compact, reconfigurable, easy to transport, and inexpensive.

Using a light sensor, an object wearing the skin can move towards a light source, as shown in the following video:

Robotic fingers made of skin fitted with a motion sensor can catch and hold an object:

The skin has a modular structure. Parts can be added depending on desired shapes and movements. The designed model allows combined modes of operation like a motion that combines compression and bending. Indeed, by combining several layers of the skin, complex movements can be produced.

 

For this research, Kramer-Bottiglio recently received a $2 million grant from the National Science Foundation, as part of the Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation program. The study that led to the model described here is entitled “OmniSkins: Robotic skins that turn inanimate objects into multifunctional robots.” Co-authored by Joran W. Booth, Dylan Shah, Jennifer C. Case, Edward L. White, Michelle C. Yuen, Olivier Cyr-Choiniere1 and Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio, it was published on Wednesday, September 19, 2018, in Science Robotics.

 

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
OminiSkins, une peau qui transforme les objets en robots - Par : Hanen Hattab,

OminiSkins, une peau qui transforme les objets en robots


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

La peau OminiSkins

L’image d’en-tête provient du site Smithsonian.com. Aucune restriction d’usage connue.

La robotique molle offre de nos jours plusieurs composants et matériaux intelligents qui optimisent la souplesse et la mobilité des machines. La technologie que nous allons présenter dans cet article fonctionne d’un point de vue formel comme une structure géodésique. Ce modèle géométrique lui offre une flexibilité qui lui permet de transformer n’importe quel objet inanimé en robot.

Il s’agit d’une peau robotique fabriquée par une équipe de chercheurs du laboratoire de Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio, professeure assistante en génie mécanique et science des matériaux, à l’Université Yale (Connecticut). Elle a été baptisée OminiSkins. Ont aussi participé à la conception de la peau, des chercheurs de la School of Mechanical Engineering de l’Université Purdue (Indiana).

OminiSkins, usages et applications

Initialement, la technologie a été conçue pour participer à un concours de la NASA. Pour ses missions spatiales, l’agence spatiale a besoin de matériaux multifonctionnels et autonomes. Or la création de robots qui répondent à tous les besoins opérationnels et dans différents environnements hostiles coûte cher. La solution proposée par l’équipe est un composant qui dote n’importe quel objet inanimé du mouvement. Le projet soumis à l’Agence s’intitule « Active Elastic Skins for Soft Robotics ». Le prototype créé par l’équipe de Kramer-Bottiglio en collaboration avec la NASA permet de métamorphoser n’importe quel volume en objet utile pour les astronautes, comme un bras robotique ou un moyen de transport capable d’arpenter un terrain difficile.

Alors que les robots sont habituellement conçus pour répondre à des objectifs bien déterminés, cette technologie permettrait, selon Kramer-Bottiglio, de créer rapidement dans n’importe quel contexte des machines adaptables et multifonctionnelles. Les applications de la peau sont multiples, car elle peut effectuer des mouvements très complexes. Pour tester cette technologie, l’équipe a créé plusieurs prototypes. Ils ont montré que la peau peut entraîner un déplacement par reptation ou faire « marcher » un objet ayant plusieurs extrémités. Elle peut être utilisée aussi pour créer des vêtements intelligents. Dans cette dernière phase de l’étude, les chercheurs ont testé un dispositif qui corrige la posture d’une personne. Des éléments portables créés à partir de la peau robotique sont connectés à une application qui reçoit des informations sur le maintien du dos et renvoie des signaux de commande aux éléments portables pour corriger la position.

Structure et composants d’OminiSkins

La peau robotique est composée d’un tissu élastique muni de capteurs et d’actionneurs de mouvement. Elle peut envelopper n’importe quelle forme articulée ou souple pour la rendre animée. La technologie peut doter un objet de différentes capacités de mobilité et de déplacement. Transformé en robot, il peut ainsi effectuer des tâches en fonction de la forme de la peau. La technologie est de fait compacte, reconfigurable, facile à transporter et en plus, peu coûteuse.

Grâce à un capteur de lumière, un objet portant la peau peut se déplacer vers la source de la lumière comme le montre la vidéo suivante.

Des doigts robotiques réalisés avec une peau munie d’un capteur de mouvements peuvent attraper et tenir un objet :

La structure de la peau est modulaire. On peut de fait rajouter des pièces en fonction de la forme et des mouvements voulus. Le modèle conçu permet notamment d’obtenir des modes d’actionnement combinés, comme un mouvement associant compression et flexion. En effet, la combinaison de plusieurs couches de peau permet d’obtenir des mouvements complexes.

Pour cette recherche, Kramer-Bottiglio a récemment reçu une subvention de deux millions de dollars de la National Science Foundation, dans le cadre du programme Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation. L’étude qui a abouti au modèle décrit ici s’intitule « OmniSkins: Robotic skins that turn inanimate objects into multifunctional robots ». Elle a été coécrite par Joran W. Booth, Dylan Shah, Jennifer C. Case, Edward L. White, Michelle C. Yuen, Olivier Cyr-Choiniere1 et Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio. Elle a été publiée le 19 septembre 2018 dans la revue Science Robotics.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)