SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
A New Generation of Metalenses - By : Hanen Hattab,

A New Generation of Metalenses


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Metalentils to Correct Astigmatism and Image Shifts

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

This article describes a new invention in optics created by a team at Harvard’s John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. The study, which spans several fields of applications and results from the latest research in nanotechnology, specifically targets bionic contact lens manufacturing for vision correction.

The technology is intended for the development of solutions for people with non-correctable visual impairments and could also be used in several other applications. Its optical properties can revolutionize cameras, optical microscopes, glasses, and virtual and augmented reality devices through zoom and focus optimization. The system converts and assembles longitudinal manipulations of optical components on a lens surface. This research will contribute to optical device miniaturization and will develop interesting associations between the semiconductor and lens production industries. In other words, technologies in computer chip manufacturing will be used to fabricate nanomaterial-based optical components.

A Technology That Will Soon Emerge from the Lab: Improved Metalenses

What could be the next bionic eye is a real-time self-adjusting system that can correct vision disorders. It is composed of a lens with an artificial muscle that functions like the ciliary muscle of the human eye. It is a new generation of metalenses, characterized primarily by a surface made from a metamaterial. The lenses are made of nanomaterials whose structure capture and concentrate light rays with high efficiency, resulting in better image perception. With these properties, metalenses can also instantly change focal lengths, just like the lens of the human eye.

This video explains the optical features of metalenses

The spatial light modulation created by the metasurface corrects astigmatism and problems associated with image shifts. Before this study, this technology was bypassed because the components operating the metasurface were too slow. This represents the greatest contribution of the team, made up of members who had been successful with another research project in optimizing and reducing the cost of manufacturing metalenses. In their study entitled “Adaptive metalenses with simultaneous electrical control of focal length, astigmatism, and shift,” published in Science Advances on February 23, 2018, they had solved the problems related to surface control.

Structure and Operation of the Bionic Lens

The lens has a multilayered surface. The first part is made from an electroactive polymer, a polymer that changes shape or size when electrical voltage is applied. From this group of materials, the team chose a thin, transparent elastomer that limits the diffusion of light. The elastomer is also commonly used in the field of soft robotics. This is the part that acts as a motion actuator due to its physical properties, as a kind of artificial muscle. It stretches or compresses when electrical voltage is applied from the transparent stretchable electrodes on which a metasurface has been transferred.

The metasurface is made from silicon dioxide using photolithographic technology and a plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition process. Its design and manufacture were featured in the article entitled “Large area metalenses: design, characterization, and mass manufacturing,” published January 22, 2018, in Optics Express.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La nouvelle génération de métalentilles - Par : Hanen Hattab,

La nouvelle génération de métalentilles


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Des métalentilles peuvent corriger l’astigmatisme et le déplacement d’image.

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Cet article porte sur une nouvelle invention en optique créée par une équipe de la John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences de Harvard. Touchant plusieurs domaines d’applications et issue des dernières recherches en nanotechnologies, cette étude a particulièrement visé la fabrication de lentilles de contact bioniques pour la correction de problèmes de vision.

La technologie a pour objectif de créer des solutions pour les personnes atteintes de déficiences visuelles non corrigibles. Elle pourra notamment être utilisée dans plusieurs autres applications. Ses propriétés optiques peuvent révolutionner les appareils photos, les microscopes optiques, les lunettes et les dispositifs de réalité virtuelle et augmentée, et ce, en optimisant les fonctions de zoom et d’ajustement focal. Son système transpose et rassemble les manipulations longitudinales des composants optiques sur de la surface d’une lentille. Cette recherche contribuera ainsi à la miniaturisation des dispositifs optiques et à la création de liens intéressants entre les industries œuvrant dans les domaines des semi-conducteurs et des lentilles. Ainsi, les technologies utilisées dans la fabrication des puces d’ordinateur seront utilisées pour fabriquer des composants optiques à base de nanomatériaux.

Une technologie qui sortira bientôt des laboratoires : les métalentilles améliorées

Ce qui pourrait être le prochain œil bionique corrige les troubles de la vision grâce à un système qui s’ajuste en temps réel. Il est composé d’une lentille munie d’un muscle artificiel qui fonctionne à l’instar du muscle ciliaire de l’œil humain. Il s’agit d’une nouvelle génération de métalentilles (metalenses), caractérisées principalement par leur surface fabriquée d’un métamatériau. Elles sont réalisées à partir de nanomatériaux dont la structure confère une grande efficacité de captation et de concentration des rayons lumineux, leur permettant de mieux saisir les images. Grâce à ces propriétés, les lentilles peuvent aussi changer instantanément la distance focale, comme le cristallin.

Cette vidéo explique les caractéristiques optiques des métalentilles

La modulation spatiale de la lumière par la métasurface permet de corriger l’astigmatisme et les problèmes de déplacement de l’image. Avant cette étude, cette technologie n’avait pas encore été adoptée, car la vitesse des composants utilisés pour actionner la métasurface n’était pas assez rapide. Il s’agit donc de la grande contribution de cette équipe, dont les membres ont réussi dans une autre recherche à optimiser et à réduire le coût de fabrication des métalentilles. Dans cette étude titrée « Adaptive metalenses with simultaneous electrical control of focal length, astigmatism, and shift » et parue dans la revue Sciences Advances le 23 février 2018, ils ont résolu les problèmes liés à la commande de la surface.

Structure et fonctionnement de la lentille bionique

La surface de la lentille est multicouche. La première partie est fabriquée à partir d’un polymère électroactif, soit un polymère qui change de forme ou de taille lorsque stimulé par un champ électrique. Dans cette famille de matériaux, l’équipe a choisi un élastomère mince et transparent qui limite la diffusion de la lumière. À noter aussi que cet élastomère est communément utilisé dans le domaine de la robotique molle. C’est la partie qui joue le rôle d’actionneur de mouvements grâce à ses propriétés physiques, une espèce de muscle artificiel. Il s’étire ou se comprime lorsque excité par un champ électrique provenant des électrodes transparentes souples sur lesquelles une métasurface a été transférée.

La métasurface est réalisée à partir de dioxyde de silicium en utilisant une technologie photolithographique et le procédé de dépôt chimique en phase vapeur assisté par plasma. Sa conception et sa fabrication ont été présentées dans l’article intitulé « Large area metalenses: design, characterization, and mass manufacturing », paru le 22 janvier 2018 dans la revue Optics Express.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *