SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
New Optogenetic Implant Controls the Brain Using Light - By : Hanen Hattab,

New Optogenetic Implant Controls the Brain Using Light


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Optogenetics

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

A new field of research called Optogenetics—a name coined by Nathalie Janel and Mark J. Schnitzer in 2006—combining studies in neurology and optics, introduced a method to control and study neural activity using light. A team of researchers at the University of Arizona has created a new autonomous optogenetic implant much more efficient than previously available devices.

Optogenetics

Before presenting the innovation created at the Department of Biomedical Engineering, here is a description of the optogenetic method. It involves implanting algal proteins called opsins, which render the host areas sensitive to light, in certain neurons. These photosensitive proteins transform light energy into electrical activity, thereby acting on cerebral electrical signals to map, stimulate, and manipulate neural activity. Host areas are exposed to light through an optogenetic system.

Overcoming Limitations

In addition to studying the brain in real time, the proposed method will facilitate the advancement of research on mental illnesses and neurodegenerative pathologies like Parkinson’s disease. Initially, optogenetic research was done using fibre optics implanted in the brain. The subjects had to be attached to external devices. Then, a wireless electronic device allowed some movement, but remained cumbersome. Plus, according to Philipp Gutruf, professor of biomedical engineering and lead author of the study, these systems could not accurately modulate light frequencies and intensities and could stimulate only one area of the brain at a time. These aspects are very important, because they allow researchers to target areas of the brain, and limit heat generated by light waves that could accidentally activate some neurons.

The research conducted by the University of Arizona team has resolved the technical limitations of external and implanted devices. The resulting device is autonomous and can be inserted under the scalp. It stimulates several areas of the brain simultaneously and modulates the intensity and frequency of emitted light. Inserting the device under the skin requires a common surgical procedure not unlike the one used to implant a neurostimulator.

Brain neurons

 

Technical Characteristics of the New Optogenetic System

The electricity needed for this type of optogenetic implant, wireless and battery-free, is produced by an oscillating magnetic field. The research team managed to improve signal reception transmitted to the system. In previous models, signal strength depended on brain positioning, consequently varying with different angles of the head. To solve this problem, the team created a new component with two antennas. Gutruf noted that this new system could be used in the manufacture of other types of battery-free implants, like cardiac simulators, to increase intervals between their replacement.

The new optogenetic system was tested on animals. To assess the effects of the technique on bones and tissue, the team used two types of imaging, computer tomography and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). This allowed them to observe the state of the implant. Tests have proven that the system is safe.

The study entitled “Fully implantable, optoelectronic systems for battery-free, multimodal operation in neuroscience research” was published in Nature Electronics on December 13, 2018.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un implant optogénétique pour contrôler le cerveau par la lumière - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un implant optogénétique pour contrôler le cerveau par la lumière


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

optogénétique

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

L’optogénétique est un nouveau domaine de recherche dont le nom a été inventé par Nathalie Janel et Mark J. Schnitzer en 2006. Il est le fruit d’études combinées en neurologie et en optique, qui ont introduit une nouvelle méthode permettant de commander et d’étudier les activités neuronales par la lumière. Une équipe de chercheurs de l’Université d’Arizona a créé un nouvel implant optogénétique autonome beaucoup plus performant que ce qui existait auparavant.

L’optogénétique

Avant de présenter l’innovation créée au sein du Département d’ingénierie biomédicale, il est primordial d’expliquer la méthode optogénétique. Celle-ci consiste à implanter dans certains neurones des protéines d’algues, appelées opsines, qui rendent les zones hôtes sensibles à la lumière. En effet, ces protéines photosensibles transforment l’énergie lumineuse en activité électrique donc permettent d’agir sur les signaux électriques cérébraux, afin de cartographier, de stimuler et de manipuler l’activité neuronale. Les zones hôtes sont exposées à la lumière grâce à un instrument optogénétique.

Plusieurs limites surmontées

En plus d’étudier le cerveau en temps réel, la méthode proposée promet de faciliter l’avancement dans les recherches sur les maladies mentales et les pathologies neurodégénératives, comme la maladie de Parkinson. À l’origine, les recherches en optogénétique étaient effectuées à l’aide de fibres optiques implantées dans le cerveau. Les sujets étaient donc contraints de rester attachés à des appareils extérieurs. Par la suite, un système électronique sans fil a permis un certain mouvement, mais demeurait encombrant. De plus, selon Philipp Gutruf, professeur en ingénierie biomédicale et auteur principal de l’étude, ces systèmes ne permettaient pas de moduler avec précision la fréquence et l’intensité de la lumière et ne pouvaient stimuler qu’une zone du cerveau à la fois. Or ces aspects sont très importants, car ils permettent aux chercheurs de bien cibler les zones du cerveau et de limiter la chaleur générée par les ondes lumineuses afin d’éviter l’activation accidentelle de certains neurones par la chaleur.

La recherche menée par l’équipe de l’Université de l’Arizona a permis de résoudre les limites techniques des systèmes externes et implantés. L’instrument inventé est autonome et peut être intégré sous le cuir chevelu. Il permet de stimuler simultanément plusieurs zones du cerveau et de moduler l’intensité et la fréquence de la lumière émise. L’intégration de l’instrument sous la peau nécessite une intervention chirurgicale courante, comme celle réalisée pour implanter un neurostimulateur.

Neurones du cerveau

Caractéristiques techniques du nouvel instrument optogénétique

L’électricité alimentant ce type d’implant optogénétique sans fil et sans pile est produite par champ magnétique oscillant. L’équipe de recherche a notamment amélioré la réception des signaux transmis à l’instrument. Dans les modèles précédents, la force du signal dépendait de la position du cerveau, donc variait avec l’angle de la tête.  Pour résoudre ce problème, l’équipe a créé un nouveau composant muni de deux antennes. Gutruf a fait remarquer que ce nouveau système pourrait être utilisé dans la fabrication d’autres types d’implants sans pile, comme les simulateurs cardiaques, afin d’espacer leur remplacement.

Le nouvel instrument optogénétique a été testé sur des animaux. Pour vérifier les effets de la technique sur les os et les tissus, l’équipe a eu recours à deux types d’imagerie, soit la tomographie par ordinateur et l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM). Cela a notamment permis d’observer l’état de l’implant. Les tests ont prouvé que l’instrument est sûr.

L’étude s’intitule « Fully implantable, optoelectronic systems for battery-free ». Elle a été publiée dans Nature Electronics le 13 décembre 2018.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *