SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
A Hundredfold More Powerful Nanofilter for Water Sanitation - By : Hanen Hattab,

A Hundredfold More Powerful Nanofilter for Water Sanitation


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Water purified by nanofilters

Header image is from Pixabay.com. Public Domain.

According to the latest UNICEF report, 663 million people do not have access to adequate water supplies. This situation puts the lives of millions of children at risk. Access to drinking water has proven problematic even in countries with modern infrastructure, as witnessed by the contaminated water scandal in Flint, Michigan. In fact, the Flint River water was not treated properly, which caused pipe corrosion and the release of lead into drinking water. In 2015, residents learned that they had consumed lead-contaminated water, a pollutant that could cause serious illness. Following these revelations, the city’s residents spent a thousand days without access to drinking water. In this regard, researchers from RMIT University in Melbourne and the University of New South Wales in Sydney have created a new water sanitation technology that is fast, reusable and efficient.

Creating a Nanomaterial

The technology consists of a new sustainable, low-cost, environmentally friendly nanofilter, capable of filtering heavy metals and oils from water. It acts at the atomic scale and is one hundred times faster than current solutions. According to researcher Ali Zavabeti of RMIT University, the filter can also eliminate other pollutants. In fact, previous research has already shown that this technology effectively absorbs contaminants such as mercury, sulphates and phosphates.

To make the filter, the team designed and tested a new chemical manufacturing process. The process can be used in the development of other types of metal oxide-based compounds and also in catalysis, electronic, optic and other applications. The depollutant is designed from nanostructures that form on liquid metal. Usually, this type of material is made at very high temperatures, takes a long time and is obtained from toxic metals. The chemical process implemented by the team avoids all these problems. In addition, the material obtained is reusable.

Manufacturing Technique

The researchers created an alloy from liquid gallium and aluminum. When this alloy is brought into contact with water (liquid or vapour), aluminum oxide nanoparticles form on the surface. This operation requires the use of ultrasound. As this video explains, the process is used to activate a chemical reaction by acting on the molecular structure of a material.

Nanofibers, forming extremely thin and hydrophilic layers, appear after 5 minutes of immersion. They are 100,000 times thinner than a human hair and their surfaces are de facto porous. This atomic structure allows water to pass through while aluminum oxide compounds absorb the contaminants. The experiments conducted by the team showed the nanofilter’s effectiveness in absorbing lead and oil.

The study, entitled “Green Synthesis of Low-Dimensional Aluminum Oxide Hydroxide and Oxide Using Liquid Metal Reaction Media: Ultrahigh Flux Membranes,” was published in Advanced Functional Materials on September 21, 2018. It was co-authored by Ali Zavabeti, Bao Yue Zhang, Isabela A. de Castro, Jian Zhen, Benjamin J. Carey, Mohiuddin MD, RobiS. Datta, Chenglong Xu, Adrian P. Mouritz, Christopher F. McConville, Anthony P. O’Mullane, Torben Daeneke, and Kourosh Kalantar-Zadeh.

The research was funded by the Australian Research Council Center for Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies (FLEET).

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un nanofiltre cent fois plus puissant pour l’assainissement de l’eau - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un nanofiltre cent fois plus puissant pour l’assainissement de l’eau


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Eau filtrée par nanofiltre

L’image d’en-tête provient de Pixabay.com. Domaine public.

Selon le dernier rapport de l’UNICEF, 663 millions de personnes « n’ont pas accès à des sources d’approvisionnement en eau adéquates. » C’est donc une situation qui met la vie de millions d’enfants en danger. L’accès à l’eau potable s’est avéré problématique même dans les pays ayant des infrastructures modernes. Le scandale de l’eau contaminée à Flint au Michigan en est la preuve. En effet, l’eau de la rivière Flint n’a pas été traitée convenablement, ce qui a provoqué la corrosion des canalisations et la libération du plomb dans l’eau potable. En 2015, les habitants ont su qu’ils avaient consommé une eau contaminée au plomb, un polluant pouvant causer des maladies graves. À la suite de ces révélations, les habitants de la ville ont passé mille jours sans accès à l’eau potable. À ce propos, des chercheurs de l’Université RMIT à Melbourne et l’Université de Nouvelle-Galles du Sud à Sydney ont créé une nouvelle technologie d’assainissement des eaux rapide, réutilisable et efficace.

Création d’un nanomatériau

Il s’agit d’un nouveau nanofiltre durable, écologique et à faible coût. La solution est capable de filtrer les métaux lourds et les huiles de l’eau. Elle agit à l’échelle atomique et cent fois plus vite que les solutions actuelles. Selon le chercheur Ali Zavabeti de l’Université RMIT, le filtre peut aussi éliminer d’autres polluants. En fait, des recherches antérieures ont déjà montré que cette technologie absorbe efficacement des contaminants, tels que le mercure, les sulfates et les phosphates.

Pour réaliser le filtre, l’équipe a conçu et testé un nouveau procédé de fabrication chimique. Ce dernier peut être exploité dans la création d’autres types de composés à base d’oxydes métalliques et aussi dans d’autres applications de catalyse, en électronique, en optique, etc. Le dépolluant est conçu à partir de nanostructures qui se forment sur un métal liquide. Habituellement, la fabrication de ce type de matériau se fait à très haute température, dure longtemps et s’obtient à partir de métaux toxiques. Le procédé chimique mise en œuvre par l’équipe évite tous ces problèmes. De plus le matériau obtenu est réutilisable.

Technique de fabrication

Les chercheurs ont créé un alliage à partir de gallium liquide et d’aluminium. Lorsque cet alliage est mis en contact avec l’eau (liquide ou vapeur), des nanofeuilles d’oxyde d’aluminium se forment à la surface. Cette opération nécessite la présence d’ultrasons. Comme l’explique cette vidéo, ce procédé est notamment employé pour activer une réaction chimique, et ce, en agissant sur la structure moléculaire d’un matériau.

Des nanofibres apparaissent après 5 minutes d’immersion, formée de couches extrêmement minces et hydrophiles. Celles-ci sont 100 000 fois plus fines qu’un cheveu humain. Leurs surfaces sont de facto poreuses. Cette structure atomique permet à l’eau de passer au travers alors que les composés d’oxyde d’aluminium absorbent les contaminants. Les expériences effectuées par l’équipe ont montré l’efficacité du nanofiltre pour absorber le plomb et le pétrole.

L’étude s’intitule « Green Synthesis of Low‐Dimensional Aluminum Oxide Hydroxide and Oxide Using Liquid Metal Reaction Media: Ultrahigh Flux Membranes ». Elle a été publiée dans la revue Advanced Functional Materials le 21 septembre 2018. Elle a été coécrite par Ali Zavabeti, Bao Yue Zhang, Isabela A. de Castro, Jian Zhen Ou, Benjamin J. Carey, Md Mohiuddin, RobiS. Datta, Chenglong Xu, Adrian P. Mouritz, Christopher F. McConville, Anthony P. O’Mullane, Torben Daeneke et Kourosh Kalantar-Zadeh.

La recherche a été financée par l’Australian Research Council Centre for Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies (FLEET).

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)