SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Munich and Montreal—Different Eras, Same Water - By : Jules Rodschat,

Munich and Montreal—Different Eras, Same Water


As part of his internship in rainwater management at FRÄNKISCHE, Jules Rodschat, a student in Construction Engineering at ÉTS, took a guided tour of Munich’s 200-year-old canals on May 28, 2018. The Bavarian capital, whose past was marked by epidemics caused by poor sewer systems and treatment plants, has now become a world leader in purifying and discharging wastewater in a sustainable manner. Jules previously studied Montreal’s sewer systems, pushing him to dig deeper and discover more on the two cities’ underground history, to answer a simple question: how do the two systems compare and what are the solutions being developed today?

 

Jules Rodschat
Jules Rodschat Author profile
Jules Rodschat is an undergraduate student in the Construction Department at ÉTS. He was an advisor for the Sustainable Development Fund (FDDAÉÉTS) and is executive member of the Green Building Council (ABD ÉTS).

A seperate rain drain

The header image was bought on istock.com and is protected by copyright.

A look into how the two cities have managed their rainwater

The Island

 From November 11 to November 14, 2015, 4.9 billion liters of wastewater were released into the St-Laurence River because of a major construction project funded by the city of Montreal. Thankfully, this was only a portion of the predicted 8 billion liters, thanks to 89 hours of relentless work.1

Île Ste-helen during the 30s

Although this planned spillage had caused a stir in the scientific, civilian and native communities, it is not uncommon for wastewater to find its way into natural sources.

Waste of Wastewater

Due to a combined sewer system—which does not discriminate between waste and rainwater—the city is often spending money and energy cleaning water with relatively low toxicity. Additionally, unlike other major cities, there is no secondary treatment, i.e. the removal of nitrates and phosphates that cause lakes and rivers to be overpopulated with vegetation—a phenomenon known as eutrophication.

 

Yet, storm water flow or melting snow can become overwhelming for the wastewater treatment plant. Water is then dumped into the receiving waters and inevitably bypasses treatment, dragging along pollutants from the city’s surfaces and sewer system.

As it is, our system is massively counting on the fact that our river can take care of the rest.

Bigger is Better

Montreal was shooting for the stars when they built the largest sewer treatment plant in the Americas and the third largest in the world.

Montreal’s mega wasterwater treatment plant

Unfortunately, the quality of the discharge is breaking other records. Montreal would not only be “the last major city in North America to treat its sewage,” but also remains to this day the second worst city in Canada in the treatment of residual water, according to The National Sewage Report Card published by the Sierra Club in 2004.³ Find more information on the current state of the Montreal underground.

To simplify: Montreal’s treatment plant is working hard, not smart nor well. In fact, it was doomed before its inauguration: the plant was considered obsolete as it was being designed.

For now, the St-Laurence River has self-cleaning properties that can purify the waste. Through natural processes involving vegetation, sedimentation, and bacterial decomposition, many of our toxins can usually be eliminated or have reduced effects on the ecosystem. Nonetheless, as the city grows and natural water cycles change, will it remain LARGE enough?

We Already Know There Is a Problem

In the 2014 overview of the St-Laurence Action plan 2011–2026 it was reported that the state of our river is still at risk. This, despite improvements made during the 20th century. The goal of the program is to continuously improve the health of this major waterway by providing current data and recommendations.

The findings indicate, in particular, that the physical, chemical, and bacteriological water characteristics are significantly degraded after passing through Montreal (27% poor or very poor water quality in the Montreal-Sorel section). Similar results are found when analyzing micro-invertebrates (small biological creatures), invasive species, and toxic contaminants found in the water, sediments, and fish species.²

 

Water quality in the st-lawrence river

In fact, the province’s metropolitan area is far from being the only city with this problem; many European municipalities have been struggling for centuries with the quality of their discharge water.

The Old

The level of comfort we have achieved in terms of water access and control is the result of centuries of hard work from engineers and great minds. In the city of Munich, there was very little development in city-living comfort until a direct link between water quality and human health was found1.

The Munchen Canals in MunichIn 1811, the first closed canal dedicated to rainwater in Munich quickly proved to be insufficient. The 20 km of scattered and non-centralized waterways were being secretly filled by the residents’ waste (which would then flow into the Isar). This resulted in the death of many Bavarians and international visitors during the 1854 industrial exhibition.

When the third cholera epidemic hit in 1873, over 1500 people lost their lives before water management was taken seriously. The city hired many experts, namely J. Gordon—a British engineer—and Pettenkofer to clean up the village of a thousand people. However, they were not able to prevent the Isar’s natural purification capacity to be overwhelmed by the growing population.4

 

The New

Today, 80 million cubic meters of water per year are filtered and purified by the Gut Marienhof. In 1989, the Gut Großlappen, regarded as one of the best water treatment facilities, cost the city of Munich 300 million euros. Its discharge water is even safe for swimming during the summer months. Together, both plants help protect the Isar by servicing 1.5 million Munchen residents and have the capacity for 3 million more.5

Separation Is Key

We now realize that the natural water cycle must be respected in ways that optimize the purification process. FRANKISCHE, the company where I completed my internship, was inspired to simulate this pre-defined system to preserve the effluent streams.

The German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste (DWA) has developed a comprehensive methodology for calculating and planning rainwater management. As an external verifier, the German Institute for Construction Technology (DIBt) then awards certificates for products that have been proven to adhere to these principles.

The first principle is that city waste and rainfall should be separated. When building new facilities, different sets of pipes should be installed so that the purest content is not contaminated by domestic, commercial, and industrial refuse.

The second principle implies that, depending on the catchment area—local rain data, type of surface, and potential for pollution from surrounding human activities—water should be cleaned accordingly.

Finally, the third and fourth principles recommend creating a retention basin to mitigate water flow into the natural water stream and avoid floods.

The picture below illustrates the approach that FRANKISCHE has developed to protect and preserve natural streams and ground water.

Solutions from Fränkische

1-Transport 2-Treatment 3-Storage 4-Effluent: the steps in decentralized storm water management proposed by FRÄNKISCHE.

The Future

It just seems that, around the world, water management has always taken the form of “Fail and Fix”. Europe, having seen firsthand the deterioration of their natural rivers, has finally adopted a proactive and protective methodology.

Hopefully, there are other initiatives in Montreal like Les Ruelles Bleues-Vertes that aim to decentralize rainwater from roofs at a low cost, in order to reduce the burden on municipal sewers. There is a new pilot project with city authorities towards a future where rainfall use would become standard.

Moving forward, there needs to be continuous efforts to preserve the very essence of life. This is our chance to avoid the mistakes that many have made before. The price we pay today for better infrastructure will save the St-Laurence River for tomorrow.

Jules Rodschat

Author's profile

Jules Rodschat is an undergraduate student in the Construction Department at ÉTS. He was an advisor for the Sustainable Development Fund (FDDAÉÉTS) and is executive member of the Green Building Council (ABD ÉTS).

Program : Construction Engineering  Environmental Engineering 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Munich et Montréal : deux fleuves, la même histoire - Par : Jules Rodschat,

Munich et Montréal : deux fleuves, la même histoire


Dans le cadre de son stage en gestion des eaux pluviales à FRÄNKISCHE, Jules Rodschat, étudiant en génie de la construction à l’ÉTS, a participé à une visite guidée des canaux de Munich, vieux de 200 ans, le 28 mai 2018. La capitale bavaroise, dont le passé a été marqué par des épidémies causées par des réseaux d’égouts et stations d’épuration déficients, est devenue un leader mondial en matière de traitement et d’évacuation des eaux usées de manière durable.

Jules, ayant étudié les systèmes d’égout de Montréal, désirait approfondir ses recherches et en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire souterraine des deux villes pour répondre à une question simple : comment se comparent les deux systèmes et quelles sont les solutions mises en œuvre aujourd’hui ?

Jules Rodschat
Jules Rodschat est étudiant au baccalauréat au département de génie de la construction de l’ÉTS. Il a été conseiller au Fonds de développement durable de l’ÉTS et est membre de l’association du bâtiment durable (ABD).

Drain séparé pour la pluie

L’image a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Un aperçu de la gestion de l’eau de pluie dans les deux villes

L’île

 Du 11 au 14 novembre 2015, 4,9 milliards de litres d’eaux usées ont été rejetés dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent en raison d’un important projet de construction financé par la ville de Montréal. Heureusement, il ne s’agissait que d’une partie des 8 milliards de litres prévus, grâce à 89 heures de travail acharné.1

L’île Ste-Hélène dans les années 30

Île Ste-Hélène beach signage—from no littering in 1937 to no bathing in 1941.

Bien que ce déversement planifié ait causé l’émoi dans les communautés scientifiques, civiles et autochtones, il n’est pas rare que les eaux usées se retrouvent dans nos cours d’eau.

Des eaux usées mal gérées

Dotée d’un système d’égout combiné (qui ne fait pas de distinction entre les eaux usées et les eaux pluviales), la ville dépense souvent argent et énergie pour assainir des eaux de toxicité relativement faible. De plus, contrairement à d’autres grandes villes, il n’existe aucun traitement secondaire, soit l’élimination des nitrates et des phosphates responsables de la prolifération de la végétation dans les lacs et les rivières, phénomène connu sous le nom d’eutrophisation.

Pourtant, les eaux pluviales ou provenant de la fonte des neiges peuvent surcharger la station d’épuration des eaux usées. L’eau est alors déversée directement dans les eaux réceptrices, contournant inévitablement le traitement et entraînant les contaminants des rues et du réseau d’égout.

Dans l’état actuel des choses, notre système compte trop sur le fait que le fleuve Saint-Laurent peut s’occuper du reste

Le plus gros, le mieux

Montréal a fait preuve d’une grande ambition en construisant la plus importante station d’épuration d’eaux usées de l’Amérique et la troisième plus grande au monde.

L’immense station d’épuration des eaux usées de Montréal

Malheureusement, la qualité de ses rejets bat d’autres records. Montréal serait non seulement « la dernière grande ville nord-américaine à s’être dotée d’une station d’épuration des eaux usées », mais se classe à ce jour à l’avant-dernier rang au Canada dans le traitement des eaux résiduaires, selon le National Sewage Report Card, publié par le Sierra Club en 2004.³ Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur l’état actuel du Montréal souterrain à Under Montreal.

Bref, la station d’épuration de Montréal travaille fort, mais mal. En fait, elle était vouée à l’échec avant même son inauguration; en effet, la station a été considérée comme désuète dès sa conception.

Pour le moment, le fleuve Saint-Laurent possède des propriétés d’absorption des polluants capables d’épurer les rejets. Grâce à des processus naturels découlant de la végétation, de la sédimentation et de la décomposition bactérienne, il peut habituellement éliminer bon nombre de toxines ou en réduire les effets sur l’écosystème. Néanmoins, à mesure que la ville grandira et que les cycles naturels de l’eau changeront, en sera-t-il toujours CAPABLE?

Nous savons déjà qu’il y a un problème

Le Portrait global 2014 du Plan d’action Saint-Laurent 2011–2026 rapportait que notre fleuve est toujours en danger, et cela, malgré les améliorations apportées au 20e siècle. Le programme vise à bonifier en permanence la santé de cette grande voie navigable en fournissant des données à jour et des recommandations.

Les analyses indiquent notamment que les caractéristiques physiques, chimiques et bactériologiques de l’eau se dégradent considérablement après son passage à Montréal (27 % de l’eau est de qualité mauvaise à très mauvaise dans le tronçon Montréal-Sorel). Des résultats comparables sont obtenus lors de l’analyse de micro-invertébrés (petites créatures biologiques), d’espèces envahissantes et de contaminants toxiques présents dans l’eau, les sédiments et les espèces de poissons.²

La qualité de l’eau du fleuve Saint-Laurent

En réalité, la région métropolitaine de la province est loin d’être la seule à vivre ce problème; de nombreuses municipalités européennes luttent depuis des siècles pour accroître la qualité de leurs eaux usées.

Le passé

Le confort dont nous jouissons quant à l’accès à l’eau et à sa gestion est le fruit de siècles de dur labeur de la part des ingénieurs et des grands chercheurs. À Munich, le confort de la vie urbaine n’a pu évoluer que lorsqu’un lien direct entre la qualité de l’eau et la santé humaine a été établi.1

Les canaux de MunichEn 1811, le premier canal fermé dédié à l’eau pluviale de Munich s’est rapidement révélé insuffisant. Les résidents se servaient secrètement des 20 km de voies d’eau dispersées et non centralisées pour y déverser leurs eaux usées (qui ruisselaient ensuite dans l’Isar). Cette habitude a entraîné la mort de nombreux Bavarois et visiteurs étrangers lors de l’exposition industrielle de 1854.

Ce n’est qu’après une troisième épidémie de choléra en 1873, au cours de laquelle plus de 1500 personnes ont perdu la vie, que la gestion de l’eau a été prise au sérieux. La ville a ainsi embauché de nombreux experts, notamment J. Gordon, ingénieur britannique, et Pettenkofer pour nettoyer le village de mille habitants. Toutefois, malgré leurs efforts, la capacité de purification naturelle de l’Isar a été dépassée par l’accroissement de la population.4

 Le présent

Aujourd’hui, 80 millions de mètres de cubes d’eau sont filtrés et purifiés annuellement par la Gut Marienhof. En 1989, la Gut Großlappen, considérée comme l’une des meilleures stations d’épuration, a coûté 300 millions d’euros à la ville de Munich. La qualité de son effluent permettrait même la baignade pendant les mois d’été. Ensemble, les deux stations contribuent à protéger l’Isar en desservant les 1,5 million de résidents actuels et pourront accommoder une augmentation de la population allant jusqu’à 3 millions de personnes.5

Séparer pour mieux traiter

Nous réalisons maintenant que le cycle naturel de l’eau doit être respecté pour pouvoir optimiser le processus de purification. FRANKISCHE, l’entreprise où j’ai effectué mon stage, a pensé à simuler ce système prédéfini pour préserver les effluents.

L’Association allemande de l’eau, des eaux usées et des déchets (DWA) a mis au point une méthodologie complète de calcul et de planification de la gestion des eaux pluviales. À titre de vérificateur externe, l’Institut allemand de la technologie de la construction (DIBt) décerne ensuite des certificats pour les produits s’étant révélés conformes à ces principes.

Le premier principe est de séparer les eaux usées des eaux de précipitation. La construction de nouvelles installations doit prévoir différentes canalisations de sorte que l’eau la plus propre ne soit pas contaminée par les rejets domestiques, commerciaux ou industriels.

Le deuxième principe est de purifier l’eau selon la zone de captage (données sur les précipitations locales, type de surface et potentiel de contamination résultant des activités humaines environnantes).

Enfin, les troisième et quatrième principes recommandent de créer un bassin de rétention pour limiter le débit dans les cours d’eau naturels et éviter les inondations.

La photo ci-dessous illustre l’approche élaborée par FRANKISCHE pour protéger et préserver les cours d’eau naturels et les eaux souterraines.

Les solutions de Fränkische

1-Transport 2-Traitement 3-Stockage 4-Effluent : les étapes de la gestion décentralisée des eaux pluviales proposées par FRÄNKISCHE.

L’avenir

Il semble que, partout dans le monde, la gestion de l’eau se soit toujours faite en réaction à un problème. L’Europe, ayant constaté la dégradation de ses fleuves naturels, a finalement adopté une méthodologie proactive et protectrice.

Espérons que d’autres initiatives comme Les Ruelles Bleues-Vertes naîtront à Montréal. Cette résolution prévoit la collecte à faible coût de l’eau de pluie des toits afin de réduire le fardeau des égouts municipaux. Un nouveau projet pilote mené par les autorités municipales vise à faire de l’utilisation de l’eau de pluie une norme.

Nous devons redoubler nos efforts pour préserver l’essence même de la vie. Évitons les erreurs que d’autres ont fréquemment commises dans le passé. Le prix que nous payons aujourd’hui pour de meilleures infrastructures définira le fleuve Saint-Laurent de demain.

Jules Rodschat

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jules Rodschat est étudiant au baccalauréat au département de génie de la construction de l’ÉTS. Il a été conseiller au Fonds de développement durable de l’ÉTS et est membre de l’association du bâtiment durable (ABD).

Programme : Génie de l'environnement  Génie de la construction 

Profil de l'auteur(e)