SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The More Electric Aircraft—The Future of the Aeronautic Industry - By : Jérémy Chambon, Ouassima Akhrif,

The More Electric Aircraft—The Future of the Aeronautic Industry


Jérémy Chambon
Jérémy Chambon Author profile
Jérémy Chambon holds a Master’s degree in electrical engineering from ÉTS and specializes in modeling and optimization of synchronous machines using the finite element method. He is also research professional.

Ouassima Akhrif
Ouassima Akhrif Author profile
Ouassima Akhrif is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. Her research interests are bifurcation analysis, nonlinear geometric and adaptive control, and drone and flight control.

the more electric aircraft will reduce impacts on the environment

The featured image was bought from Istock.com. Copyrights.

SUMMARY

Over the last decade, the aerospace design community has been embracing the utilization of electricity to provide increasingly larger proportions of the power requirements for developed aircraft. Driven primarily by the desire to enhance fuel economy and reduce the environmental footprint of powered flight, the trend towards greater electrical usage on modern aircraft has led to several research projects focused on developing new and innovative Propulsion and Power System architectures. The aim of the research is to develop a simulation platform for the electric power distribution system. Developing numerical models and simulation tools is necessary to create more efficient electrical system designs. Simulation tools offer limitless solutions in increasing system robustness while reducing expensive aircraft flight tests. It could also be possible to study a large number of operational scenarios and to detect failure conditions.

Introduction

Over the last decade, the aerospace design community has been embracing the utilization of electricity to provide increasingly larger proportions of power requirements for developed aircraft. Driven primarily by the desire to enhance fuel economy and reduce the environmental footprint of powered flight, the trend towards greater electrical usage on modern aircraft has led to several research projects focused on developing new and innovative Propulsion and Power System architectures.

The more-electric concept is a new technological target for aerospace manufacturers, which involves reducing fuel consumption, improving power efficiency, as well as the possibility of significantly reducing aircraft weight. In conventional aircraft, multiple systems are based on the use of hydraulic, mechanical, pneumatic and electrical energy sources. These types of energy have different drawbacks like efficiency, emissions, reliability and maintenance costs, especially with hydraulic and pneumatic systems. The goal of the More Electric Aircraft concept is to replace pneumatic and mechanical systems with electric systems in order to reduce weight and size, and improve fuel efficiency. It is necessary to increase the efficiency of electrical systems and components in aircraft to generate, distribute and utilize electrical power.

Electric Propulsion Architectures

Electrical propulsion in aircraft could reduce carbon emissions, but only if new technologies meet specific criteria: required power, weight, and reliability. Six different electric propulsion architectures are considered [1]. As shown in the following figures, one is all electric, three are hybrid electric, and two are turboelectric [2].

  • All electric
  • Hybrid electric
    • Parallel hybrid
    • Series hybrid
    • Series/parallel partial hybrid
  •  Turboelectric
    • Full turboelectric
    • Partial turboelectric

These six architectures are based on different electric technologies: batteries, motors, generators and converters. The only source of propulsion power in all-electric systems are batteries instead of gas (Figure 1); turbine engines are used in the hybrid systems for propulsion and to charge batteries. However, the batteries provide energy for propulsion during specific phases of flight.

The all electric architecture of the more electric aircraft

Figure 1 All Electric architecture

In a parallel hybrid topology (Figure 2), a battery provides energy to the electrical generator and a turbine engine (turbofan) is placed on the shaft that directly controls a fan. However, the turbofan is powered by fuel. It is also possible, at any given time, to choose between these two types of energy to provide propulsion.

The parallel hybrid architecture of the more electric aircraft

Figure 2 Parallel Hybrid architecture

In a series hybrid architecture (Figure 3), the gas turbine or turboshaft drives an electric generator, transforming mechanical energy into electrical energy, providing power to the motors and charging the batteries. The fans are mechanically mounted on the electric motor shafts. This type of architecture represents the distributed propulsion concept because it uses several motors and fans.

The series hybrid configuration of the more electric aircraft

Figure 3 Series Hybrid architecture

The series/parallel-partial hybrid is a combination of parallel and series hybrid configurations (Figure 4). A gas turbine or turbofan is powered by fuel and drives an electric generator. The turbine shaft includes a fan and an electric generator. The turbine-driven generator delivers energy to the batteries or motor and the batteries can also power these motors if needed. Propulsion is generated by the fan on the turbofan, with the distributed fans mounted on the multiple motors or both.

The serie/parallel partial hybrid configuration of the more electric aircraft

Figure 4: Series/Parallel-Partial Hybrid architecture

Full and partial turboelectric architectures (Figure 5) do not use batteries for propulsion during flight. They will rather use gas turbines to directly drive one or more electric generators, which power inverters and motors. These electric motors control the distributed electric fans.

The turboelectric and partial turboelectric of the more electric aircraft

Figure 5: Full and partial turboelectric architectures

Partial turbo electric architecture uses electric motors coupled with fans, and a turbofan controlled by a gas turbine to provide the propulsion power. In the case of a full turboelectric system, only electric motors are used for propulsion. Neither architecture relies on batteries nor energy storage technologies. The controllers and electrical components in a full turboelectric system are less advanced and complex than in a partial turboelectric system. Above all, the command will be less complex to implement in a full turboelectric architecture because controlling a multiple electric motor is well-established for electrical engineers.

Turboelectric and other electric propulsion architectures are well adapted to a distributed propulsion for aircraft instead of hybrid-electric and all-electric systems. Indeed, specific power and power capacity required of batteries are very limited for long flights. Turboelectric propulsion is a promising future line of research in the development of advanced propulsion, and could reduce CO2 emissions.

Simulation of More-Electric Aircraft Power Systems

Developing tools and processes is necessary in the development of aerospace-grade Integrated Electric Propulsion Systems (IEPS) in modern aerial vehicles. The aim of our research project is to create a simulation platform for the electric power distribution system in order to analyze network stability issues, harmonic content“Harmonic is multiple of the fundamental frequency and it can be voltage and current in an electric power system are a result of non-linear electric loads. Harmonic frequencies in the power grid are a frequent cause of power quality problems. Harmonics in power systems result in increased heating in the equipment and conductors, misfiring in variable speed drives, and torque pulsations in motors. Reduction of harmonics is considered desirable.” Ref. Wikipedia, electromagnetic transients“A transient event is a short-lived burst of energy in a system caused by a sudden change of state. The source of the transient energy may be an internal event or a nearby event. The energy then couples to other parts of the system, typically appearing as a short burst of oscillation.” Ref. Wikipedia and electrical faults. The approach in the development of these simulation models in real time is divided into three phases. Figure 6 represents the different phases of a simulation.

Simulation steps of the more electric aircraft

Figure 6 Simulation steps

 

The first step is to collect the different models required to perform the simulation. The vast majority of these models are available in the MATLAB-Simulink simulation software toolbox. Otherwise, it is necessary to develop numerical models and simulation tools to create more efficient electrical system designs—to correct design errors and to eliminate prototyping steps. These models must be as accurate and faithful as possible. By using the available data and hypothesis, power system component models are connected to show their capability to perform comprehensive simulations. Another important work in this phase will be to adjust the parameters required by these models (machine parameters, controller gains, etc.)

The second phase is to build the complete model in offline simulation“Opposite to real-time simulation.”. Offline simulation achieves several goals. The first objective is to determine the viability of the completed model by avoiding precision deterioration caused by the discretization“Discretization is the process of transferring continuous functions, models, variables, and equations into discrete counterparts. This process is usually carried out as a first step toward making them suitable for numerical evaluation and implementation on digital computers.Ref. Wikipedia required for the real-time transition. The second objective is to study the effect of model separation“It’s an optimization step that consists to divide the global modal into sub-models to solve equations faster.”. Separation is the end of the optimization step and is required to start the computing task on multiple processors during the real-time simulation. Since the delays introduced by this separation have an impact on the simulation accuracy and stability, it is very important to study their effects thoroughly.

Once the offline simulation phase has been completed, the third and last phase is to implement the model in real time. Real-time simulation tools offer the computational speed advantage and allow to study a very large number of operational scenarios within a reduced time. It could also be possible to study large numbers of operational scenarios and detect failure conditions. Moreover, such tools can provide real-time synchronized simulations and allow interfacing with external physical equipment (hardware-in-the-loop). This type of interfacing is used to validate physical controllers, improve design and develop models through the analysis of black-box type physical device performance waveforms.

Figure 7 represents a typical simulation platform for a More Electric Aircraft Power system by combining a high-accuracy aircraft model with power system devices like power converters, generators, active and static loads.

Facility used to study the more electric aircraft

Figure 7 More Electric Aircraft Power Systems Development.

Jérémy Chambon

Author's profile

Jérémy Chambon holds a Master’s degree in electrical engineering from ÉTS and specializes in modeling and optimization of synchronous machines using the finite element method. He is also research professional.

Program : Electrical Engineering  Aerospace Engineering 

Research laboratories : GREPCI – Power Electronics and Industrial Control Research Group 

Author profile

Ouassima Akhrif

Author's profile

Ouassima Akhrif is a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. Her research interests are bifurcation analysis, nonlinear geometric and adaptive control, and drone and flight control.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : GREPCI – Power Electronics and Industrial Control Research Group 

Author profile


comments
  1. Benny says:

    I spent a great deal of time to locate something such as this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
L’avion plus électrique ou l’avenir de l’industrie aéronautique - Par : Jérémy Chambon, Ouassima Akhrif,

L’avion plus électrique ou l’avenir de l’industrie aéronautique


Jérémy Chambon
Jérémy Chambon Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jérémy Chambon détient une maîtrise en génie électrique de l’ÉTS et est spécialisé dans la modélisation et l’optimisation des machines synchrones selon la méthode des éléments finis. Il est aussi professionnel de recherche.

Ouassima Akhrif
Ouassima Akhrif Profil de l'auteur(e)
Ouassima Akhrif est professeure au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Ses projets de recherche portent sur l’analyse de bifurcation, la commande géométrique non linéaire et adaptative et la commande de vols et de drones.
Programme : Génie électrique 

L'avion plus électrique aura moins d'impacts sur l'environnement

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com. Des droits d’auteurs s’appliquent.

RÉSUMÉ:

Depuis la dernière décennie, le secteur aérospatial s’est fixé comme objectif de développer des avions qui intègrent de plus en plus de systèmes électriques permettant d’augmenter graduellement la proportion d’énergie électrique utilisée. Essentiellement motivée par la volonté d’accroître l’économie de carburant et de réduire l’empreinte environnementale des vols, la tendance des avions modernes à utiliser davantage l’énergie électrique a donné naissance à plusieurs projets de recherche axés sur la création de nouvelles architectures innovantes de propulsion et de systèmes électriques. La recherche a pour but de développer une plate-forme de simulation pour système de distribution d’énergie électrique. Le développement de modèles numériques et d’outils de simulation vise à concevoir des systèmes électriques plus efficaces. Les outils de simulation offrent des solutions pour augmenter la robustesse du système tout en réduisant les tests en vol coûteux. Ils rendent également possible l’étude d’un grand nombre de scénarios opérationnels et la détection des conditions entraînant des défaillances.

Introduction

Depuis la dernière décennie, le secteur aérospatial travaille à la conception d’avions plus électriques permettant d’augmenter graduellement la proportion d’énergie électrique utilisée. Essentiellement motivée par la volonté d’accroître l’économie de carburant et de réduire l’empreinte environnementale des vols, la tendance des avions modernes à se reposer davantage sur l’énergie électrique a donné naissance à plusieurs projets de recherche axés sur la création de nouvelles architectures innovantes de propulsion et de systèmes électriques.

Pour les constructeurs aéronautiques, le concept « plus électrique » est une nouvelle cible technologique qui consiste à réduire la consommation de carburant, à améliorer l’efficacité énergétique et à réduire considérablement le poids des avions. Dans les avions classiques, les systèmes multiples reposent sur des sources d’énergie hydraulique, mécanique, pneumatique et électrique. Ces types d’énergie présentent différents inconvénients quant à l’efficacité, aux émissions, à la fiabilité et aux coûts d’entretien, en particulier pour ce qui est des systèmes hydrauliques et pneumatiques. L’objectif de l’avion plus électrique est de remplacer les systèmes pneumatiques et mécaniques par des systèmes électriques afin d’en réduire le poids et la taille, et d’améliorer le rendement énergétique. Il devient donc nécessaire d’augmenter l’efficacité des systèmes et composants électriques des avions pour générer, distribuer et utiliser l’énergie électrique.

Architectures de propulsion électrique

La propulsion électrique pourrait réduire les émissions de carbone, mais seulement si les nouvelles technologies répondent à des critères précis de puissance, de poids et de fiabilité. Six types d’architecture de propulsion électrique sont envisagés [1]. Comme le montrent les figures suivantes, l’un est tout électrique, trois sont hybrides électriques et deux sont turboélectriques [2].

  • Tout électrique
  • Hybride électrique
    • Hybride parallèle
    • Hybride en série
    • Hybride partiel en série/parallèle
  • Turboélectrique
    • Tout turboélectrique
    • Turboélectrique partiel

Ces six architectures sont fondées sur différentes technologies électriques : batteries, moteurs, générateurs et convertisseurs. Les batteries, au lieu de l’essence, sont la seule source de propulsion dans les systèmes tout électriques; les moteurs à turbine dans les systèmes hybrides servent à la propulsion et au chargement les batteries (figure 1). Toutefois, les batteries fournissent de l’énergie de propulsion pendant certaines phases de vol.

La configuration tout électrique de l'avion plus électrique

Figure 1 Architecture tout électrique

Dans une topologie hybride parallèle (figure 2), une batterie fournit de l’énergie au générateur électrique et un turbomoteur (turbopropulseur) est placé sur l’arbre qui commande directement l’hélice. Toutefois, le turboréacteur fonctionne au carburant. Il est également possible, à tout moment, de choisir entre ces deux types d’énergie pour assurer la propulsion.

La configuration hybride parallèle de l'avion plus électrique

Figure 2 Architecture hybride parallèle

Dans une architecture hybride en série (figure 3), la turbine à essence, ou le turbomoteur, entraîne un générateur électrique, transformant l’énergie mécanique en énergie électrique pour alimenter les moteurs et charger les batteries. Les hélices sont installées mécaniquement sur les arbres du moteur électrique. Ce type d’architecture illustre le concept de propulsion distribuée, car il comporte plusieurs moteurs et hélices.

La configuration hybride en série de l'avion plus électrique

Figure 3 Architecture hybride série

L’architecture hybride partielle en série/parallèle combine les configurations hybrides parallèles et en série (figure 4). Une turbine à gaz ou un turboréacteur est alimenté de carburant et entraîne un générateur électrique. L’arbre de turbine se compose d’une hélice et d’un générateur électrique. Le générateur, entraîné par la turbine, fournit de l’énergie aux batteries ou au moteur et les batteries peuvent également alimenter ces moteurs si nécessaire. La propulsion est générée par l’hélice du turboréacteur, la distribution des hélices se trouvant sur les moteurs multiples ou les deux.

La configuration hybride partiel en série/parallèle de l'avion plus électrique

Figure 4 Architecture hybride partielle série/parallèle

Les architectures tout turboélectriques et partielles (figure 5) n’utilisent pas de batteries pour la propulsion en vol, mais plutôt des turbines à gaz pour entraîner directement un ou plusieurs générateurs électriques, qui alimentent les onduleurs et les moteurs. Ces moteurs électriques commandent les hélices électriques distribuées.

Les configurations turboélectrique et turboélectrique partiel de l'avion plus électrique

Figure 5 Architectures turboélectriques complète et partielle

L’architecture turboélectrique partielle est formée de moteurs électriques couplés à des hélices et un turboréacteur commandé par turbine à gaz pour fournir la puissance de propulsion. Dans le cas d’un système tout turboélectrique, seuls les moteurs électriques assurent la propulsion. Ces architectures ne reposent ni sur des batteries ni sur des technologies de stockage d’énergie. Les contrôleurs et les composants électriques dans un système tout turboélectrique sont moins avancés et complexes que dans un système turboélectrique partiel. Surtout, la commande sera moins complexe à réaliser dans une architecture tout turboélectrique, car la commande d’un moteur électrique multiple est relativement simple.

Les architectures de propulsion turboélectrique et autres s’adaptent bien à la propulsion distribuée plutôt que les systèmes hybrides électriques et tout électriques. En effet, la puissance et la capacité que doivent fournir les batteries sont très limitées pour les vols de longue durée. La propulsion turboélectrique constitue un sujet de recherche prometteur en matière de propulsion avancée et pourrait mener, par le fait même, à la réduction des émissions de CO2.

Simulation de systèmes d’alimentation d’avions plus électriques

Il est nécessaire de concevoir des outils et des processus de niveau aérospatial dédiés à la conception de systèmes de propulsion électrique intégrés (IEPS) pour les véhicules aériens modernes. Notre projet de recherche a pour but de créer une plate-forme de simulation pour le système de distribution d’énergie électrique afin d’analyser les problèmes de stabilité du réseau, le contenu harmonique« Les courants harmoniques sont dus à la présence de charges électriques non linéaires dans un réseau électrique. (…) ces courants harmoniques sont la cause de l’apparition d’harmoniques de tensions qui affectent alors les autres clients du réseau de distribution. (…) L’installation de filtres, passifs ou actifs, le choix d’un couplage de transformateur adapté ainsi que de montage d’électronique de puissance produisant moins d’harmoniques sont autant de solutions pour limiter le taux de distorsion du courant et de la tension électrique. » Ref. Wikipedia, les phénomènes transitoires électromagnétiques« Un certain nombre de phénomènes électriques correspondant à des variations brutales des grandeurs électriques d’un système ou d’un réseau peuvent être regroupés sous l’appellation « transitoires électromagnétique ». On peut y trouver les phénomènes de résonnance, de ferrorésonnance, de surtensions à front plus ou moins rapide telles que la tension transitoire de rétablissement aux bornes d’un disjoncteur ou celle suivant un impact de foudre, ou encore l’impact du courant d’enclenchement des transformateurs. » Ref. Capsimulation.com et les défaillances électriques. L’approche dans la conception de ces modèles de simulation en temps réel se divise en trois phases. La figure 6 représente les différentes phases d’une simulation.

Les simulations qui seront faites portant sur l'avion plus électrique

Figure 6 Les étapes de simulation

La première étape consiste à rassembler les différents modèles requis pour effectuer la simulation. La grande majorité de ces modèles existent déjà dans la boîte à outils du logiciel de simulation MATLAB-Simulink. Sinon, il est nécessaire de développer des modèles numériques et des outils de simulation pour concevoir des systèmes électriques plus efficaces (pour corriger les erreurs de conception et éliminer des étapes de prototypage). Ces modèles doivent être aussi précis et fidèles que possible. En utilisant les données et les hypothèses existantes, les modèles de composants de système d’alimentation sont interconnectés pour démontrer qu’il est possible d’effectuer des simulations complètes. Un autre travail important lors de cette phase consistera à ajuster les paramètres de ces modèles (paramètres machine, gains contrôlés, etc.)

La deuxième phase consistera à construire le modèle complet en simulation hors lignePar opposition à « simulation en ligne ». NDT. La simulation hors ligne comporte plusieurs objectifs. Le premier objectif est de déterminer la viabilité du modèle complété en vérifiant qu’il n’y a pas diminution de la précision causée par la discrétisation« Discrétiser une variable quantitative c’est, mathématiquement, transformer un vecteur de nombres réels en un vecteur de nombres entiers nommés « indices de classe ». C’est pourquoi effectuer cette transformation se dit en langage courant « réaliser un découpage en classes ». En statistiques, discrétiser c’est à la fois réaliser cette transformation mathématique, nommer et justifier les classes. » Ref. univ-angers.fr nécessaire à la transition en temps réel. Le deuxième objectif est d’étudier l’effet causé par la séparation des modèles« Étape d’optimisation qui consiste à diviser le modèle entier en sous-modèles pour résoudre les équations plus rapidement. » NDT. La séparation est la dernière étape de l’optimisation et est nécessaire aux calculs effectués sur processeurs multiples pendant la simulation en temps réel. Puisque les délais causés par cette séparation ont une influence sur la précision et la stabilité de la simulation, il est très important d’étudier leurs effets en profondeur.

Une fois la phase de simulation hors ligne terminée, la troisième et dernière phase consistera à mettre en fonction le modèle en temps réel. Les outils de simulation en temps réel offrent l’avantage de la vitesse des calculs et permettent d’étudier un très grand nombre de scénarios opérationnels dans un temps réduit. Ils pourraient également permettre d’étudier un grand nombre de scénarios opérationnels et de détecter les conditions de défaillance. De plus, de tels outils peuvent fournir des simulations synchronisées en temps réel et permettre l’interface avec un équipement physique externe (hardware-in-the-loop). Ce type d’interface sert à valider les contrôleurs physiques, à améliorer la conception et à concevoir des modèles grâce à l’analyse des courbes de performance des appareils physiques de type boîte noire.

La figure 7 représente une plate-forme de simulation typique pour un système d’alimentation d’avions plus électriques combinant un modèle d’avion de haute précision avec des appareils contribuant à la propulsion comme des convertisseurs de puissance, des générateurs, et des charges actives et statiques.

Montage utilisé pour étudier l'avion plus électrique

Figure 7 Conception de systèmes d’alimentation électrique pour avions plus électriques

Jérémy Chambon

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jérémy Chambon détient une maîtrise en génie électrique de l’ÉTS et est spécialisé dans la modélisation et l’optimisation des machines synchrones selon la méthode des éléments finis. Il est aussi professionnel de recherche.

Programme : Electrical Engineering  Aerospace Engineering 

Laboratoires de recherche : GREPCI – Power Electronics and Industrial Control Research Group 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ouassima Akhrif

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ouassima Akhrif est professeure au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Ses projets de recherche portent sur l’analyse de bifurcation, la commande géométrique non linéaire et adaptative et la commande de vols et de drones.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : GREPCI – Groupe de recherche en électronique de puissance et commande industrielle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *