SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Modeling Bitcoin Network Performance - By : Yahya Shahsavari, Kaiwen Zhang, Chamseddine Talhi,

Modeling Bitcoin Network Performance


This article was granted the Best Paper Award during the 1st IEEE International Conference on Decentralized Applications and Infrastructures (DAPPCON 2019).

Yahya Shahsavari
Yahya Shahsavari Author profile
Yahya Shahsavari earned an MSc in Information and Communication Technology from Iran University of Science and Technology, Iran, in 2016 respectively. Currently he is pursuing his PhD degree in the FUSÉE laboratory at ÉTS.

Kaiwen Zhang
Kaiwen Zhang Author profile
Kaiwen Zhang is a professor in the Department of Software and IT Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include blockchain technologies, publish/subscribe systems, massive multiplayer online games, and software-defined networking.

Chamseddine Talhi
Chamseddine Talhi Author profile
Chamseddine Talhi is a professor in the Department of Software and IT Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include engineering security solutions for Mobile, IoT and Cloud environments, Optimized.

The Bitcoin network

The header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

This article is a short presentation of a theoretical Bitcoin network model to understand the impact of important parameters, such as block sizes or number of connections per node, on the performance of the system, such as the time it takes to fully propagate new information in the network. This model allows researchers to better understand Bitcoin functions and to predict its reaction if changes are made to the network configuration. It can also be used to design better blockchain networks for applications other than Bitcoin.

Introduction

Blockchain is gaining attention as a newly emerging technology in both academia and industry: from cryptocurrencies to decentralized applications (e.g. cloud storage) and cases of pervasive use (e.g. IoT, health care, legal and law enforcement). In addition to their potential as a disruptive technology, blockchain systems currently face major performance issues, which hinder their widespread adoption as an alternative to other data management solutions. Therefore, it is essential for blockchain developers to choose the right distributed ledger technology (DLT) system and tune it accordingly to maximize its performance in a specific application and infrastructure. To assist blockchain architects in this design process, it is necessary to analyze blockchain networks from the theoretical perspective to predict and compare the performance of various blockchain designs.

A theoretical model will help blockchain designers achieve a better understanding of the underlying blockchain dynamics and characteristics which impact its performance. A theoretical model can also accelerate the development of a blockchain system by quickly discovering a theoretically optimal initial design, which is preferable to an incremental design through iterative benchmarking.

Although the scope of this article (and thus this background section) is limited to Bitcoin, our theoretical model can be applied to other blockchains like Ethereum.

Background on the Bitcoin Network

The anatomy of the Bitcoin network is depicted in Figure 1. Bitcoin operates in a public peer-to-peer network, where any machine is free to join and connect to any other already in the network [1]. When a node receives a transaction or block, it verifies the transaction or block. If it is valid, the node relays it to other nodes.

Overwiew of the Bitcoin architecture

Figure 1. Anatomy of Bitcoin

Each participating node in the blockchain network maintains a connection pool, with connections to other peers active at all times. The default number of connections to other peers plays an important role in the performance of Bitcoin.

Information Dissemination

In order to update the blockchain, transactions and blocks must be disseminated over the network. To accomplish this, Bitcoin and most other blockchains use a gossip protocol. In order to avoid saturating the network with redundant copies of transactions and blocks, Bitcoin employs a pull-based approach to sharing data, where each node requests copies of missing data from others.

Sending nodes notify neighboring nodes of the availability of a transaction or block, once it is verified, using an inventory message (inv) to all existing nodes in their connection pool. An inv message consists of transaction or block hashes that are now available and ready to be sent.

When a node receives an inv message for a block or transaction which it does not yet have, it replies with a getdata message. This message contains the hash of requested transactions or blocks.

Once the sender node receives the getdata message, it will send the requested block or transaction to the receiver. This process is depicted in Figure 2.

Exchanging blocks in a blockchain

Figure 2: Inventory-based block exchange

 

Analytical Model

To model a Bitcoin network, we used the graph model introduced by Erdős and Rényi [2]. This graph has properties suitable for modeling peer-to-peer networks found in blockchain systems.

We define an overlay network as a graph G(V,L) where V is the set of vertices and L is the set of links between nodes. For example, if there is a link between node i and node j, then (i,j) ∈ L. Furthermore, we represent a random graph using Gp(N), where N  is the total number of nodes and p is the independent probability that there exists a link between any two selected nodes in the peer-to-peer overlay network. In this work, we assume that N  is significantly large, as it is in the Bitcoin network (Currently N≅10,000).

Random Graph Construction

In general, this random graph model has several characteristics: (i) If p > 1/N then a giant component exists with high probability (w.h.p.). (ii) If p ≥ (log N)/N then all nodes become part of the giant component and Gp(N) becomes a connected graph.

These connectivity properties are vital for a blockchain network to operate properly. With a sufficient p value, each node has likely more than one path to reach any other node, using different outgoing links. In such a network, removing one link does not cause network partitioning because the entire system stays connected. Network partitions must be avoided in a blockchain network, as they guarantee that blockchain forks cannot be resolved as long as the partitions stay isolated, thus compromising the integrity of the data on the ledger.

Verification and Validation

We implemented this model using the popular network simulator OMNET++.  A limited demo of this simulation is illustrated in the following video.

 

To validate the accuracy of the theoretical model and its implementation, we used a dataset mined from the Bitcoin network. The results are depicted in Figure 3. The boxplots show the propagation delay of the blocks in the real Bitcoin network versus block sizes. The simulation results and theoretical values are almost identical and follow the empirical results. Block propagation delay increases almost linearly with an increase in block size. For the smaller blocks, quartile sizes are comparatively smaller. The main reason is that in small block sizes, the delay is caused by the signal propagation delay. As for big blocks, the delay originates from the limited network bandwidth. The impact of different values for a default number of connections on block propagation delay for different network sizes is depicted in Figure 4. Increasing the number of connections will always lead to a faster network.

Speed of block propagation according to block size

Figure 3. Model results: block propagation delay vs. block size

Speed of block propagation according to network size

Figure 4. 100% block propagation delay vs. network size for different numbers of connections

Conclusion

In this article, we developed a model for the calculation of Bitcoin performance using block size and a default number of connections per node. We validated our analytical model through simulation and compared to real data measured from the Bitcoin network. Although the throughput of Bitcoin can be increased by choosing a larger size for blocks, this can cause a significant increase in block propagation time. The delay can be reduced by increasing the average default number of connections per node but the drawback is increased traffic overhead in the network.

Our future work will focus on using this model to study the impact of different parameters on the probability of occurring forks in the system.

Additional information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following conference article: Shahsavari, Y.; Zhang, K.; Talhi, C. 2019. “Performance Modeling and Analysis of the Bitcoin Inventory Protocol”. IEEE DAPPCON. San Francisco, USA.

Yahya Shahsavari

Author's profile

Yahya Shahsavari earned an MSc in Information and Communication Technology from Iran University of Science and Technology, Iran, in 2016 respectively. Currently he is pursuing his PhD degree in the FUSÉE laboratory at ÉTS.

Program : Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : FUSÉE- Fast Unified Scalable Event processing Event messaging 

Author profile

Kaiwen Zhang

Author's profile

Kaiwen Zhang is a professor in the Department of Software and IT Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include blockchain technologies, publish/subscribe systems, massive multiplayer online games, and software-defined networking.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : FUSÉE- Fast Unified Scalable Event processing Event messaging 

Author profile

Chamseddine Talhi

Author's profile

Chamseddine Talhi is a professor in the Department of Software and IT Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include engineering security solutions for Mobile, IoT and Cloud environments, Optimized.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LASI – Computer System Architecture Research Laboratory 

Author profile


Research laboratories :

FUSÉE- Fast Unified Scalable Event processing Event messaging 

Field(s) of expertise :

Blockchains

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Modélisation des performances du réseau Bitcoin - Par : Yahya Shahsavari, Kaiwen Zhang, Chamseddine Talhi,

Modélisation des performances du réseau Bitcoin


Cet article s’est mérité le prix du Best Paper Award à la 1re conférence internationale de l’IEEE portant sur les applications et les infrastructures décentralisées (DAPPCON 2019).

Yahya Shahsavari
Yahya Shahsavari Profil de l'auteur(e)
Yahya Shahsavari a obtenu une maîtrise en technologies de l’information et des communications de l’Université des sciences et technologies de l’Iran. Il poursuit actuellement ses études de doctorat à l’ÉTS, au laboratoire FUSÉE.
Laboratoires de recherche : FUSÉE 

Kaiwen Zhang
Kaiwen Zhang est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et informatique de l’ÉTS et le chef du laboratoire FUSÉE. Ses recherches portent notamment sur les chaînes de blocs et les systèmes de publication/abonnement,

Chamseddine Talhi
Chamseddine Talhi Profil de l'auteur(e)
Chamseddine Talhi est professeur au département de génie logiciel et informatique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les solutions de sécurité d’ingénierie pour les environnements mobiles, IdO et nuagiques

Le réseau Bitcoin

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Nous vous présentons ici un modèle théorique du réseau Bitcoin pour aider à comprendre l’impact de paramètres importants (volume des blocs, nombre de connexions dans un nœud) sur les performances du système comme, par exemple, le temps nécessaire à la propagation complète de nouvelles informations dans le réseau. Ce modèle permet aux chercheurs de mieux saisir les fonctions de Bitcoin et d’en prévoir la réaction si des modifications sont apportées à la configuration du réseau. Il peut également servir à concevoir de meilleurs réseaux de chaines de blocs pour des applications autres que Bitcoin.

Introduction

Dans le monde universitaire et l’industrie, une attention croissante est accordée à la technologie émergente qu’est la chaîne de blocs ou le blockchain,: cryptomonnaie, applications décentralisées (stockage en nuage) et utilisation généralisée dans des cas précis (IdO, soins de santé, droit et application de la loi). Bien qu’elle a le potentiel d’être une technologie de rupture, les systèmes de chaînes de blocs présentent toutefois des problèmes majeurs de performance, limitant leur adoption généralisée par rapport à d’autres solutions de gestion de données. Par conséquent, les développeurs de chaînes de blocs doivent choisir la technologie de registre distribué (DLT« registre simultanément enregistré et synchronisé sur un réseau d’ordinateurs (…) Un registre distribué n’a ni administrateur central ni stockage de données centralisé. » Ref. Wikipedia. https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Registre_distribué) appropriée et en optimiser les performances à l’intérieur d’une application et d’une infrastructure déterminées. Pour aider les architectes de chaînes de blocs dans ce processus de conception, il est nécessaire d’analyser ces réseaux du point de vue théorique afin de prévoir et de comparer les performances de différents concepts.

Un modèle théorique aidera les concepteurs à mieux comprendre la dynamique et les caractéristiques sous-jacentes de la chaîne de blocs ayant une incidence sur ses performances. Un modèle théorique peut également accélérer le développement d’un système de ce type en produisant rapidement un concept initial théoriquement optimal, ce qui est préférable à un concept incrémental découlant d’une longue évaluation de performance itérative.

Bien que la portée de cet article (et donc son contexte) soit limitée au Bitcoin, notre modèle théorique peut être appliqué à d’autres chaînes de blocs comme Ethereum.

 Contexte du réseau Bitcoin

L’anatomie du réseau Bitcoin est illustrée à la figure 1. Le Bitcoin fonctionne sur un réseau public pair à pair, où tout poste peut se connecter à tout autre poste présent sur le réseau [1]. Lorsqu’un nœud reçoit une transaction ou un bloc, il effectue une vérification. Si le bloc est valide, le nœud le transmet à d’autres nœuds.

Schéma de l’architecture Bitcoin

Figure 1. Anatomie du Bitcoin

Chaque nœud du réseau de la chaîne de blocs gère une réserve de connexions, soit des connexions à d’autres postes activées en tout temps. Le nombre par défaut de ces connexions joue un rôle important dans les performances de Bitcoin.

Diffusion de l’information

Pour mettre à jour la chaîne de blocs, les transactions et les blocs doivent être diffusés dans tout le réseau. Pour ce faire, le Bitcoin et la plupart des autres chaînes de blocs utilisent un protocole épidémique. Afin d’éviter de saturer le réseau avec des copies redondantes de transactions et de blocs, le Bitcoin a recours à l’approche de partage de données par extraction, où chaque nœud demande des copies des données manquantes à d’autres.

Les nœuds expéditeurs informent les nœuds voisins de la disponibilité d’une transaction ou d’un bloc, vérifié au préalable, en envoyant un message d’inventaire (inv) à tous les nœuds de leur réserve de connexions. Un message inv contient des hachages de transactions ou de blocs désormais disponibles et prêts à l’envoi.

Lorsqu’un nœud reçoit un message inv pour un bloc ou une transaction qu’il ne possède pas, il répond avec le message get data. Ce message contient le hachage des transactions ou blocs demandés.

Quand le nœud émetteur reçoit le message get data, il envoie la transaction ou le bloc demandé au destinataire. Ce processus est décrit à la figure 2.

Échange de blocs dans une chaîne de blocs

Figure 2 : Échange de blocs dans l’inventaire

Modèle analytique

Pour modéliser un réseau Bitcoin, nous avons utilisé le modèle de graphe proposé par Erdős et Rényi [2]. Ce type de graphe présente les propriétés nécessaires à la modélisation des réseaux pair à pair dans les systèmes de chaînes de blocs.

Nous définissons un réseau superposé comme étant un graphe G(V,L), où V est l’ensemble des sommets et L, l’ensemble des liens entre les nœuds. Par exemple, s’il existe un lien entre le nœud i  et le nœud j, alors (i,j) ∈ L. De plus, nous représentons un graphe aléatoire par Gp(N), où N est le nombre total de nœuds et p la probabilité indépendante qu’il existe un lien entre deux nœuds ciblés dans le réseau superposé pair à pair. Dans ce travail, nous supposons que N est très volumineux, comme dans le réseau Bitcoin (actuellement N≅10 000).

Construction du graphe aléatoire

En général, nous établissons les caractéristiques suivantes pour notre graphe : (i) Si p > 1/N , alors un composant géant existe avec une probabilité élevée (w.h.p.). (ii) Si p ≥ (log N)/N, alors tous les nœuds font partie du composant géant et Gp(N) devient un graphe connecté.

Ces propriétés de connectivité sont essentielles au bon fonctionnement d’un réseau de chaîne de blocs. Si la valeur  est suffisante, chaque nœud dispose vraisemblablement de plusieurs chemins pour atteindre un autre nœud, par différents liens sortants. Dans un tel réseau, la suppression d’un lien n’entraîne pas de partition du réseau, car tout le système reste connecté. Il faut éviter les partitions dans un réseau de chaîne de blocs, car elles empêchent la résolution des fourches (forks) d’être résolues tant que les partitions restent isolées, ce qui compromet l’intégrité des données du registre virtuel (ledger).

Vérification et validation

Nous avons élaboré ce modèle à l’aide du simulateur de réseau bien connu OMNET ++. Une courte démonstration de cette simulation est illustrée dans la vidéo suivante.

 

Nous avons validé la précision du modèle théorique et sa mise en œuvre à l’aide d’un ensemble de données extrait du réseau Bitcoin. Les résultats sont illustrés à la figure 3. Les boîtes à moustache indiquent le délai de propagation des blocs dans le réseau Bitcoin réel par rapport au volume des blocs. Les résultats de la simulation et les valeurs théoriques sont presque identiques et conformes aux résultats empiriques. Le délai de propagation d’un bloc augmente de façon quasi linéaire par rapport à l’augmentation de volume du bloc. Pour les plus petits blocs, les quartiles sont proportionnellement plus petits. La raison principale est que, dans les blocs de petit volume, le retard est causé par le temps de propagation du signal. Quant aux gros blocs, le retard est lié à la limite de la bande passante. La figure 4 illustre l’influence d’un nombre de connexions par défaut sur le temps de propagation de blocs dans des réseaux de différentes tailles. Augmenter le nombre de connexions mènera toujours à un réseau plus rapide.

Vitesse de propagation des blocs selon leur volume

Figure 3. Résultats du modèle : délai de propagation des blocs c. leur volume

Vitesse de propagation des blocs selon la taille du réseau

Figure 4. Délai de propagation de bloc de 100 % c. la taille du réseau pour différents nombres de connexions

Conclusion

Dans cet article, nous avons élaboré un modèle de calcul des performances Bitcoin selon le volume des blocs et le nombre de connexions par défaut dans un nœud. Nous avons validé notre modèle analytique par simulations et l’avons comparé aux données réelles mesurées dans le réseau Bitcoin. Bien que le débit du Bitcoin puisse être augmenté à l’aide de blocs de plus grand volume, une augmentation importante du temps de propagation des blocs pourrait en résulter. Ce délai peut être réduit en augmentant le nombre moyen de connexions par défaut dans un nœud, mais aurait pour conséquence une surcharge de trafic sur le réseau.

Nos travaux futurs porteront sur l’emploi de ce modèle pour étudier l’impact de différents paramètres sur la probabilité d’apparition de fourches dans le système.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article de conférence suivant : Shahsavari, Y.; Zhang, K.; Talhi, C. 2019. « Performance Modeling and Analysis of the Bitcoin Inventory Protocol ». IEEE DAPPCON. San Francisco, États-Unis.

Yahya Shahsavari

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yahya Shahsavari a obtenu une maîtrise en technologies de l’information et des communications de l’Université des sciences et technologies de l’Iran. Il poursuit actuellement ses études de doctorat à l’ÉTS, au laboratoire FUSÉE.

Programme : Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : FUSÉE 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kaiwen Zhang

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kaiwen Zhang est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et informatique de l’ÉTS et le chef du laboratoire FUSÉE. Ses recherches portent notamment sur les chaînes de blocs et les systèmes de publication/abonnement,

Programme : Génie des technologies de l'information  Génie logiciel 

Laboratoires de recherche : FUSÉE- Fast Unified Scalable Event processing Event messaging 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Chamseddine Talhi

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Chamseddine Talhi est professeur au département de génie logiciel et informatique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les solutions de sécurité d’ingénierie pour les environnements mobiles, IdO et nuagiques

Programme : Génie logiciel  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LASI – Laboratoire en architecture de systèmes informatiques 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Laboratoires de recherche :

FUSÉE 

Domaines d'expertise :

Technologie de chaîne de blocs 

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *