SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Aerodynamic Modeling of the World’s Fastest Business Jet - By : Marine Segui, Émily Thompson, Ruxandra Botez,

Aerodynamic Modeling of the World’s Fastest Business Jet


Marine Segui
Marine Segui Author profile
Marine Segui is a Master's student and research assistant in the Department of Automated Manufacturing Engineering at ÉTS. She is working on the performance analysis of the Cessna Citation X jet equipped with a morphing wing system.

Émily Thompson
Émily Thompson Author profile
Émily Thompson is a student at the ESTACA Engineering School in Paris and was a trainee at LARCASE in the summer of 2017.

Ruxandra Botez
Ruxandra Botez Author profile
Ruxandra Mihaela Botez is a professor in the Systems Engineering Department at ÉTS. She specializes in modelling and simulation for aircraft, helicopters, aerial systems and morphing wings.

Cessna Citation X business jet
SUMMARY

For a morphing wing study on the Cessna Citation X, the LARCASE team has developed an aerodynamic model of the aircraft using OpenVSP, NASA’s open source aerodynamic design and calculation software. The resulting aerodynamic polars were then compared with those from a certified flight simulator: a maximum difference of 0.070 was noted on the lift coefficient and 0.006 on the drag coefficient for incidence angles of less than 5 degrees.

Introduction

In recent years, the aerospace industry, increasingly aware of global warming affecting the whole planet, is striving to reduce its own toxic gas emissions [1]. Highly committed researchers at the Research Laboratory in active control, avionics and aeroservoelasticity (LARCASE) are working on possible methods to reduce aircraft fuel consumption [2-11]. One method is to study the pros and cons of an airplane equipped with a morphing wing system. The purpose of this concept, developed by NASA, is to adapt an aircraft wing shape in flight to minimize the drag. Nowadays, this technique has been the subject of aerodynamic studies showing encouraging results, conducted within the framework of the CRIAQ 7.1 and MDO-505 projects in which LARCASE participated [12-16]. The new challenge aims to adapt this morphing wing technology on an airplane similar to those we use for traveling, such as the Cessna Citation X business jet.

Methodology: To develop an aerodynamic model of the Cessna Citation X using OpenVSP

Graph of modifications made to the LARCASE performance model

Fig. 1 Modèle de performance établi par le LARCASE et modifications (en rouge) à y apporter

The LARCASE team started with a performance model as described in Fig. 1. Based on flight conditions entered, the model calculates the amount of fuel that would be used by the aircraft. For these calculations, the program draws information on the aircraft from aerodynamic and engine manufacturer’s data tables. To evaluate the amount of fuel required for the Cessna Citation X should the aircraft be equipped with a morphing system, the program presented in Fig. 1 must be adapted to consider the proposed geometry (Geow wing, Geof fuselage and Geov vertical tail). The aircraft’s original aerodynamic tables must therefore be replaced by other data based on the new geometry. Therefore, replacing the aerodynamic tables by an aerodynamic model becomes relevant.

Digitalization of the Cessna Citation X measurements

Fig. 2 Overview of Cessna Citation X fuselage digitalization

Aerodynamic calculations were made with the OpenVSP solver. To execute the calculations, this open-source software from NASA requires information on the aircraft’s geometry. However, such information is confidential and not public, making it necessary to work around the problem. So, the outer forms of the aircraft were extracted from photos and plans using a digitalization process. This involved using a digitizer software to cover the airplane layout and pinpoint the outline with blue crosses (Fig. 2). Once the whole contour was defined, the software showed the coordinates of each point. They were then scaled using the reference lengths of the aircraft, which are public knowledge (wingspan, height, length, etc.). With this information, OpenVSP can then interpret the aircraft’s geometry (Fig.3) and execute the aerodynamic calculations of the interaction between the air and this geometry.

Digitalized measurements of the Cessna Citation X

Fig. 3 Modeling the Citation X with the OpenVSP software user interface.

Simulation Results

The entire Cessna Citation X cruise flight envelope was covered during the simulations, with a Mach number ranging from 0.6 to 0.9 and an angle of attack of -2 ° to 10°. Figure 4 shows some of the results that helped to evaluate the model’s quality.

Lift and drag coefficients of the Cessna Citation X

Fig. 4 Comparison of lift and drag coefficients from the OpenVSP model with reference coefficients from the flight simulator.

It should be noted that the OpenVSP software estimates aircraft aerodynamic coefficients based on the “Vortex-Lattice” (VLM) method. This method is considered imprecise because it makes many assumptions to simplify calculations and achieve speedy resolution. However, the results presented in Fig.4 show that the estimation obtained was fairly accurate as the two data series were very close. To ensure confidentiality, the axes were standardized, otherwise a maximum difference of 0.070 would have been observed on the lift coefficient and 0.006 on the drag coefficient.

Conclusion

So far, the results in this project of evaluating a morphing wing for the Cessna Citation X have been encouraging. In fact, following the results obtained with OpenVSP, the aerodynamic model seems to be able to provide aerodynamic coefficients CL and CD close to those delivered from the Cessna Citation X. Consequently, the aerodynamic model has been validated. In this way, this model could eventually replace the aerodynamic tables of the performance model.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please see the following conference paper:

M. Segui, G. Ghazi, R. Botez and Emily Thompson. “Design, Development and Validation of a Cessna Citation X Aerodynamic Model using OpenVSP Software,” 2018 Modeling and Simulation Technologies Conference, AIAA AVIATION Forum, (AIAA 2018-3895).

Marine Segui

Author's profile

Marine Segui is a Master's student and research assistant in the Department of Automated Manufacturing Engineering at ÉTS. She is working on the performance analysis of the Cessna Citation X jet equipped with a morphing wing system.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

Émily Thompson

Author's profile

Émily Thompson is a student at the ESTACA Engineering School in Paris and was a trainee at LARCASE in the summer of 2017.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

Ruxandra Botez

Author's profile

Ruxandra Mihaela Botez is a professor in the Systems Engineering Department at ÉTS. She specializes in modelling and simulation for aircraft, helicopters, aerial systems and morphing wings.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Modélisation aérodynamique du jet d’affaire le plus rapide du monde - Par : Marine Segui, Émily Thompson, Ruxandra Botez,

Modélisation aérodynamique du jet d’affaire le plus rapide du monde


Marine Segui
Marine Segui est étudiante à la maîtrise et assistante de recherche au Département de génie de la production automatisée de l’ÉTS. Elle travaille à l’analyse des performances du jet Cessna Citation X, équipé d’un système d’aile déformable.

Émily Thompson
Émily Thompson Profil de l'auteur(e)
Émily Thompson est étudiante à l’École d’ingénieurs ESTACA Paris et a été stagiaire au LARCASE à l’été 2017.

Ruxandra Botez
Ruxandra Mihaela Botez est professeure au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Elle est spécialiste en modélisation et simulation de vols d’aéronefs, d’hélicoptères, de systèmes de vol, et d’ailes déformables.

Le jet d’affaire Cessna Citation X

L’image d’en-tête provient de flickr.com, source. Licence CC 2.0

RÉSUMÉ:

En vue d’une étude d’aile déformable sur le Cessna Citation X, le LARCASE a développé un modèle aérodynamique de l’avion en utilisant OpenVSP, un logiciel de conception et de calcul aérodynamique à code source ouvert proposé par la NASA. Les polaires aérodynamiques obtenues en sortie ont ensuite été comparées à celles issues d’un simulateur de vol certifié : une différence maximale de 0,070 a pu être observée sur le coefficient de portance et de 0,006, sur le coefficient de traînée, pour des angles d’incidence inférieurs à 5 degrés.

Introduction

Depuis quelques années, de plus en plus sensible au réchauffement climatique qui affecte la planète, l’industrie aérospatiale s’engage à réduire ses émissions de gaz toxiques [1]. Particulièrement engagés, les chercheurs du Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité (LARCASE) travaillent sur les éventuelles méthodes qui permettront de réduire la consommation de carburant d’un avion [2-11]. L’une d’elles consiste à étudier les avantages et les inconvénients d’un avion à porter une aile déformable. Ce concept, développé par la NASA, a pour but d’adapter l’aile d’un avion au cours du vol afin de minimiser les forces de frottement. À ce jour, cette technique a fait l’objet d’études aérodynamiques encourageantes, notamment menées dans le cadre des projets CRIAQ 7.1 et MDO-505 auxquels le LARCASE a participé [12-16].

Le nouveau défi consiste à adapter cette technologie d’aile déformable sur un avion représentatif de ceux qui peuplent notre ciel, le jet d’affaire Cessna Citation X.

 Méthodologie : Développement d’un modèle aérodynamique du Cessna Citation X au moyen de OpenVSP

Schéma des modifications apportées au modèle de performance du LARCASE

Fig. 1 Modèle de performance établi par le LARCASE et modifications (en rouge) à y apporter

Le LARCASE dispose à la base d’un modèle de performance comme décrit en Fig. 1. Selon les conditions de vol définies en entrée, le modèle permet de calculer le débit de carburant qui serait utilisé par l’avion. Pour effectuer le calcul, le programme puise les informations relatives à l’avion dans des tables de données aérodynamiques et motoristes. Afin d’évaluer la quantité de carburant qui serait nécessaire au Cessna Citation X s’il était équipé d’un système déformable, nous devons modifier le programme présenté en Fig. 1 de manière à ce qu’il prenne en compte la géométrie proposée (aile Geow, fuselage Geof et empennage vertical Geov). Les tables aérodynamiques originales de l’avion doivent donc être remplacées par d’autres données dépendantes de la géométrie. Pour cela, la solution de remplacer les tables aérodynamiques par un modèle aérodynamique s’ouvre à nous.

Numérisation des dimensions du Cessna Citation X

Fig. 2 Aperçu de la numérisation du fuselage du Cessna Citation X

Les calculs aérodynamiques ont été effectués au moyen du solveur OpenVSP. Pour réaliser les calculs, ce logiciel à code source ouvert proposé par la NASA nécessite de renseigner la géométrie de l’avion. Cependant, celle-ci étant, en détail, confidentielle et non connu du grand public, il a été nécessaire de contourner ce problème. De ce fait, nous avons essayé d’extraire les formes externes de l’avion, à partir de photos et de plans, par un procédé de numérisation. Ce dernier consiste, à l’aide d’un logiciel dédié à la numérisation, de parcourir le plan de l’avion, en déterminant le contour par des points représentés par des croix bleue (Fig. 2). Finalement, lorsque l’ensemble du contour a été défini, le logiciel nous permet de connaitre les coordonnées de chacun des points. Une fois ces coordonnées obtenues, il est alors possible de les mettre à l’échelle en utilisant les longueurs de référence de l’avion, connues du grand public (envergure, hauteur longueur, etc.).

Avec ces renseignements, OpenVSP peut alors comprendre la géométrie de l’avion (Fig.3) et effectuer les calculs aérodynamiques correspondant à l’interaction entre l’air et cette géométrie.

Dimensions numérisées du Cessna Citation X

Fig. 3 Modélisation du Citation X dans l’interface utilisateur du logiciel OpenVSP.

Résultats des simulations

Toute l’enveloppe de vol de croisière du Cessna Citation X a pu être couverte lors des simulations, soit : un nombre de Mach allant de 0,6 à 0,9 et un angle d’attaque, de -2° à 10°. La figure 4 présente une partie des résultats qui ont permis d’évaluer la qualité du modèle.

Coefficients de portance et de trainee du Cessna Citation X

Fig. 4 Comparaison des coefficients de portance et de traînée obtenus par le modèle OpenVSP aux coefficients de références, issus du simulateur de vol.

Il est nécessaire de préciser que le logiciel OpenVSP estime les coefficients aérodynamiques de l’avion selon la méthode « Vortex-Lattice » (VLM). Cette méthode est considérée comme peu précise, car elle émet de nombreuses hypothèses pour permettre de simplifier les calculs et d’obtenir une résolution rapide. Toutefois, les résultats présentés en Fig.4 montrent que l’estimation obtenue est assez précise puisque les deux séries de données sont très proches. Les axes ont été normalisés par souci de confidentialité, sinon une différence maximale de 0,070 aurait pu être observée sur le coefficient de portance et de 0,006, sur le coefficient de traînée.

Conclusion

Les résultats obtenus jusqu’à présent dans ce projet d’évaluation de la possibilité d’une aile déformable pour le Cessna Citation X sont encourageants. En effet, au vu des résultats obtenus par OpenVSP, le modèle aérodynamique ici construit, capable de fournir des coefficients aérodynamiques CL et CD à partir de la géométrie du Cessna Citation X, a été validé. Ce modèle pourra dans une prochaine étape remplacer les tables aérodynamiques du modèle de performances.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article de conférence suivant :

 Segui, G. Ghazi, R. Botez et Emily Thompson. « Design, Development and Validation of a Cessna Citation X Aerodynamic Model using OpenVSP Software», 2018 Modeling and Simulation Technologies Conference, AIAA AVIATION Forum, (AIAA 2018-3895).

 

Marine Segui

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Marine Segui est étudiante à la maîtrise et assistante de recherche au Département de génie de la production automatisée de l’ÉTS. Elle travaille à l’analyse des performances du jet Cessna Citation X, équipé d’un système d’aile déformable.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Émily Thompson

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Émily Thompson est étudiante à l’École d’ingénieurs ESTACA Paris et a été stagiaire au LARCASE à l’été 2017.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ruxandra Botez

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ruxandra Mihaela Botez est professeure au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Elle est spécialiste en modélisation et simulation de vols d’aéronefs, d’hélicoptères, de systèmes de vol, et d’ailes déformables.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)