SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Hot Tensile Strength Micromachine for Aeronautics - By : James William Chuitcheu, Damien Texier, Philippe Bocher,

Hot Tensile Strength Micromachine for Aeronautics


James William Chuitcheu
James William Chuitcheu Author profile
James William Chuitcheu is a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and is also a Teaching Assistant at ÉTS.

Damien Texier
Damien Texier Author profile
Damien Texier is a CNRS researcher at the Clément Ader Institute. He is working on the micromechanics of heterogeneous materials, graded materials and thin materials.

Philippe Bocher
Philippe Bocher Author profile
Philippe Bocher is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research includes manufacturing processes, aerospace, residual stress, characterization of manufactured parts, and improvement of material properties.

A micromachine evaluating properties of materials for aerospace

The featured image was bought on Istock.com. Copyrights.

SUMMARY

The article summarizes results achieved to date through the implementation of the design methodology. It briefly reviews the instrumentation (for the measurement of local deformation and non-contact temperature on the sample) used on the high temperature machine, as well as its limits, and presents the final solution. It describes the design created as part of this research, followed by numerical validations. And finally, it shows the technological benefits of implementing this design and its different areas of use

Editor’s Note

This follows the article entitled Determining Properties of High Temperature Materials. This article presents the micromachine designed to characterize mechanical responses of materials at high temperatures.

Brief Description of the Micromachine

After implementing the methodology, a preliminary machine was designed, which addresses the above-mentioned issues. For the moment, the proposed solution is merely conceptual. It consists of a large cylindrical sealed enclosure used for testing under controlled atmosphere. Inside the enclosure, a semi-elliptical thermal oven with infrared lamps is used to increase the temperature of the samples. A mechanical actuator (not taken into account in the design) located outside the sealed enclosure applies force on the traction line by means of a sealed passage in order to perform tensile tests. The chosen heating solution works on all types of materials (conductors, insulators, etc.) and in all atmospheres (gas, vacuum, air), and also allows substantial thermal reactivity, needed to achieve thermal cycling“Thermal cycling isThe subjection of a substance to a number of temperature and pressure cycles in succession.” Ref. http://thesciencedictionary.org/thermal-cycling/. The preliminary micromachine designed as part of this research integrates scientific and technological developments from previous work [1, 5, 6].

Instrumentation Overview

Figure 1 A caliper, an traditional instrument used in other contexts

In choosing the instrumentation for local deformation measurements, it should be noted that kinematic field measurement techniques have developed in the last twenty years in accordance to emerging needs for measuring structural deformation heterogeneity. Earlier extensometric techniques, basically strain gauges, provide only one-point measurements and cannot determine a structure-scale field without installing a multitude of measurement sensors. The new techniques led to deformation diffusion according to the geometry of each part, and to guiding the design of their shape, optimizing their thickness [10]. The experimental local fields determined by these methods served as the basis for validating numerical prediction simulations, such as finite element calculations. The fact that these techniques are based on the principle of “no contact with the sample” has also motivated their development. Indeed, having no contact with the observed sample avoids mechanical and thermal interactions between the measuring apparatus and the part, which can change results, particularly when dealing with ultrathin materials.

Later, these techniques were developed on a finer scale than that of the structure (tens of centimetres), on the one hand, to study the mechanical behaviour of heterogeneous materials like concrete and fibre composites and, on the other hand, to study deformation diffusion during draw-forming“a sheet metal forming process in which a sheet metal blank is radially drawn into a forming die by the mechanical action of a punch. It is thus a shape transformation process with material retention.” Réf. Wikipedia. More recently, with improvements in numerical simulation performance and refinements in behavioural laws, new techniques have emerged, intended for the microscopic study of metallic material behaviour [11, 12]. Of particular note are the studies on cracking mechanisms. This is why, in the current state of the art, many different techniques have been developed for very specific applications. They use different means of investigation (laser, white light, camera, optical microscopy) and their measurement is based on various physical principles (interferometry, optical imaging). Techniques are available with varying performance, particularly in terms of local measurement accuracy and size of the area being analyzed.

Technical Instrumentation Selected for the Micromachine

Instrumentation with no contact

Figure 2 Example of no-contact temperature measurement

These techniques are classified into four main categories: methods using photoelasticity“Photoelasticity describes changes in the optical properties of a material under mechanical deformation.” Ref. Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photoelasticity moiré techniques, holographic interferometry methods and image analysis methods. Among these techniques, photoelasticity and holographic interferometry“Holography is the two-step process of recording a diffracted light field scattered from an object, and performing image rendering. (…) If the recorded field is superimposed on the ‘live field’ scattered from the object, the two fields will be identical. If, however, a small deformation is applied to the object, the relative phases of the two light fields will alter, and it is possible to observe interference.” Ref. Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holographic_interferometry methods are not applicable in our context. Their millimetre investigation scale is too imprecise. In addition, photoelasticity requires depositing a photo-elastic film on the sample surface, and holographic interferometry methods use optical materials and a laser. Such devices are not compatible with microstructure observation during the mechanical testing.

The other two techniques can be used with different observation devices: optical and laser microscopy, scanning electron microscope, etc. Moiré methods require the use of special systems that are too expensive for the small micromachine described in this paper in order to achieve higher accuracy. This technique was thereby rejected. Image analysis techniques are the most appropriate for measuring local deformation coupled with complementary techniques of optical and electronic observation by marker tracking. Therefore, the image correlation technique, more suitable to our current needs, is the one selected. It allows for automatic evaluation with speeds that are compatible with current computer technology. It also provides sub-pixel precision (below-pixel) to measure displacements below the normal resolution of digital images.

The fact that this technique is capable of extended application to out-of-plane component displacement measurement through digital image correlation“Digital image correlation and tracking is an optical method that employs tracking and image registration techniques for accurate 2D and 3D measurements of changes in images. Compared to strain gages and extensometers, the amount of information gathered about the fine details of deformation during mechanical tests is increased manyfold.” Ref. Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_image_correlation, for better evaluation of the plane stress tensor components, constitutes an additional argument justifying this choice. It should be noted that for this research, a translational motion mechanism was designed along the three axes (x, y and z) to move the microscope lens, facilitating focus and tracking of the observed area on the sample. With regard to thermal mapping, there are several temperature measurement techniques, with contact and without. In this research, non-contact techniques were selected for the above-mentioned reasons, and an optical pyrometer was used in addition to the thermocouples (type K) for temperature regulation [1, 4].

A micromachine perfoming test under controlled atmosphere

Figure 3 Micromachine designed for the research

Digital simulations of the different micromachine sections were carried out in order to allow adequate design of the mechanical test bench.

Conclusion

Our goal was to provide a versatile and adaptable enclosure for any type of commercial mechanical test bench. To create the micromachine, which is the subject of this functional research, all the necessary components must also be selected and added as needed to make it work: brine pump, K thermocouples, vacuum gauges, gas pressure sensors, argon pump, air blowers, aluminum sheets for testing with corrosive or oxidizing gases, sample temperature control device, deformation and temperature measuring device, sealed enclosures (vacuum gauges, thermocouples, gas pressure detectors, gas inlet and outlet). The next steps involve drawing parts, machining the parts and, finally, performing the actual assembly of the micromachine to test its performance.

This micromachine could address industrial materials characterization issues found in many industrial sectors (issues including high-temperature surface reactivity, coated materials, irradiation, etc.). Moreover, this test bench would also meet the needs of fundamental research on environmental interactions/mechanical properties, free surface tests/interface, etc.

 

James William Chuitcheu

Author's profile

James William Chuitcheu is a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and is also a Teaching Assistant at ÉTS.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : DYNAMO – Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics  LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

Damien Texier

Author's profile

Damien Texier is a CNRS researcher at the Clément Ader Institute. He is working on the micromechanics of heterogeneous materials, graded materials and thin materials.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

Philippe Bocher

Author's profile

Philippe Bocher is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research includes manufacturing processes, aerospace, residual stress, characterization of manufactured parts, and improvement of material properties.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : DYNAMO – Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics  LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Une micromachine de traction à chaud pour l’aéronautique - Par : James William Chuitcheu, Damien Texier, Philippe Bocher,

Une micromachine de traction à chaud pour l’aéronautique


James William Chuitcheu
James William Chuitcheu Profil de l'auteur(e)
James William Chuitcheu est étudiant à la maîtrise au Département de génie mécanique et assistant d’enseignement à l’ÉTS.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Damien Texier
Damien Texier est chargé de recherche CNRS à l’Institut Clément Ader. Il a été postdoctorant et associé de recherche à l’ÉTS. Il travaille sur les matériaux hétérogènes, les matériaux à gradients et les produits minces.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Philippe Bocher
Philippe Bocher Profil de l'auteur(e)
Philippe Bocher est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les procédés de fabrication, l’aérospatiale, la caractérisation des produits manufacturés et l’amélioration des propriétés mécaniques.

Une micromachine évaluant les propriétés des matériaux pour l'aéronautique

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com. Des droits d’auteur s’appliquent.

RÉSUMÉ:

L’article présente de façon sommaire les résultats obtenus à la suite de la mise en application de la méthodologie de conception. Il fait une brève revue de l’instrumentation (pour la mesure de la déformation locale et la température sans contact sur le corps de l’échantillon) utilisée sur la machine à haute température, tout en mentionnant leurs limites et présente la solution finale. L’article présente la conception réalisée dans le cadre de cette recherche suivie de quelques validations numériques. Et pour terminer il montre les retombées technologiques de la mise en œuvre de cette conception et ces différents domaines d’utilisation.

Note de l’éditeur

Cet article fait suite à Déterminer les propriétés des matériaux à haute température. Il présente la micromachine conçue pour caractériser la réponse mécanique des matériaux à des températures élevées.

Description sommaire de la micromachine

À la suite de la mise en application de la méthodologie présentée, une machine préliminaire a pu être conçue, répondant aux enjeux énoncés précédemment. La solution proposée n’est que conceptuelle pour l’instant. Elle est constituée d’une grande enceinte cylindrique étanche permettant de faire les essais sous atmosphère contrôlée. À l’intérieur de cette enceinte, un four semi-elliptique à lampes infrarouge permet la montée en température des échantillons. Un actionneur mécanique (pas pris en compte lors du design) situé hors de l’enceinte étanche permet l’application d’un effort sur la ligne de traction au moyen d’un passage étanche pour réaliser les essais de traction. La solution de chauffe choisie fonctionne sur tous les types de matériaux (conducteurs, isolants, etc.) et dans toutes les atmosphères (gaz, vide, air), et permet aussi une réactivité thermique conséquente, nécessaire pour réaliser du cyclage thermiqueCycle thermique que subit la pièce, consistant en un chauffage à température d’austénitisation, puis d ’un maintien à température suivi d ’un refroidissement rapide.. La micromachine préliminaire conçue dans le cadre de cette recherche intègre les développements scientifiques et technologiques de travaux précédents [1, 5, 6].

Instrumentation : un tour d’horizon

Figure 1 Pied à coulisse

En ce qui concerne le choix de l’instrumentation pour la mesure de la déformation locale, notons que depuis une vingtaine d’années, les techniques de mesure de champ cinématique se sont développées suivant les besoins naissants de mesure d’hétérogénéités de déformation dans les structures. Les techniques anciennes d’extensiométrie, essentiellement les jauges de déformation, fournissent uniquement une mesure en un point et ne permettent pas la détermination d’un champ à l’échelle de la structure sans la disposition d’une multitude de capteurs de mesure. Les nouvelles techniques ont permis la répartition des déformations en fonction de la géométrie des pièces et de guider la conception de leur forme, l’optimisant du point de vue de l’épaisseur [10]. Les champs locaux expérimentaux déterminés par ces méthodes ont servi de base pour valider les simulations numériques de prévisions, telles que les calculs par éléments finis. Le fait que ces techniques reposent sur le principe « sans contact avec l’échantillon » a également motivé leurs développements. En effet, l’absence de contact avec l’échantillon observé permet d’éviter les interactions mécaniques et thermiques de l’appareil de mesure avec la pièce, pouvant modifier a mesure, en particulier pour les matériaux ultraminces.

Plus tardivement, ces techniques ont été créées d’une part, à une échelle plus fine que celle de la structure (quelques dizaines de centimètres) pour l’étude du comportement mécanique de matériaux hétérogènes comme les bétons et les composites à fibres, d’autre part, pour l’étude de la répartition de la déformation lors de la mise en forme par emboutissage« L’emboutissage est un procédé de formage qui consiste à transformer une tôle plane en une forme creuse de géométrie plus ou moins complexe. Ce procédé nécessite une presse hydraulique ou mécanique équipée d'un outillage constitué essentiellement par un poinçon et une matrice. » Réf. Le feuillard technique du CQRDA. Plus récemment, avec l’amélioration des performances des simulations numériques et le raffinement des lois de comportement, de nouvelles techniques sont apparues, destinées à l’étude microscopique du comportement des matériaux métalliques [11, 12]. On peut citer en particulier les études sur les mécanismes de fissuration. C’est pourquoi dans l’état de l’art actuel, on rencontre beaucoup de techniques différentes qui ont été développées pour des applications très précises. Elles utilisent des moyens d’investigation différente (laser, lumière blanche, caméra, microscopie optique…) et leur mesure s’appuie sur des principes physiques variés (interférométrie, imagerie optique…). On dispose de techniques présentant des performances diverses, particulièrement sur le plan de la précision de la mesure locale et la taille de la zone analysée.

Technique d’instrumentation retenue pour la micromachine

La micromachine devra être équipée d'instruments sans contact

Figure 2 Exemple de mesure de température sans contact

On classe l’ensemble de ces techniques en quatre grandes classes (les méthodes utilisant la photoélasticité« Propriété (...) qu'ont certaines substances transparentes isotropes de devenir biréfringentes sous l'influence de déformations élastiques. » Réf. Termium les techniques de moiré, les méthodes d’interférométrie holographique, les méthodes d’analyse d’images). Parmi ces techniques, la phtoélasticité et les méthodes d’interférométrie holographique« Procédé de mesure faisant intervenir (...) deux images holographiques superposées pour faire apparaître les parties d'une pièce où les contraintes se manifestent. » Réf. Termium ne sont pas applicables dans notre contexte. Leur échelle d’investigation, de l’ordre du millimètre, est trop grossière. De plus, la photoélasticité nécessite de déposer à la surface des échantillons un film photoélastique et les méthodes d’interférométrie holographique utilisent, quant à elles, du matériel optique et un laser. De tels dispositifs sont peu compatibles avec une observation de la microstructure au cours de l’essai mécanique.

Les deux autres techniques peuvent être utilisées avec différents moyens d’observation : microscopie optique et laser, microscope électronique à balayage électronique, etc. Les méthodes de moiré nécessitent l’utilisation de systèmes particuliers dont les coûts sont hors de portée pour une petite micromachine comme la nôtre afin d’atteindre une très bonne précision. Pour cela, nous rejetons donc cette technique. Les techniques d’analyse d’images sont les techniques les plus appropriées à la mesure des déformations locales couplée aux techniques complémentaires d’observation optique et électronique par suivi de marqueurs. Dès lors, notre choix se tourne vers la technique de corrélation d’images, plus adaptée à nos besoins actuels. Elle permet un dépouillement automatique dont la rapidité est compatible avec les moyens informatiques actuels. Elle assure également une précision subpixellique (en dessous du pixel) qui permet des mesures de déplacement en deçà de la résolution même des images numériques.

Le fait que cette technique soit capable d’étendre son application à la mesure de la composante hors plan du déplacement par stéréocorrélation d’images« La stéréo-corrélation d’images est une méthode innovante qui permet d’obtenir des champs de déplacement sur toutes les surfaces observées, lors de leurs chargements en cas de contrainte, et non plus uniquement de manière ponctuelle comme le permettent les moyens traditionnels (jauges, accéléromètres), permettant ainsi une information plus riche et plus pertinente. Un atout indéniable pour la comparaison avec les outils de prédiction numériques. » réf. Sopemea, pour une meilleure évaluation des composantes planes du tenseur des déformations, constitue un argument supplémentaire justifiant ce choix. Il est à noter que pour cette recherche, nous avons conçu un mécanisme de déplacement en translation suivant les trois axes (x, y et z) pour déplacer la lentille du microscope afin de faciliter la focalisation et le suivi de la zone observée sur l’échantillon. En ce qui concerne la cartographie thermique, il existe plusieurs techniques de mesure de température, par contact et sans contact. Pour notre recherche, nous sommes allés vers des techniques sans contact pour les raisons évoquées plus haut, et nous avons utilisé un pyromètre optique en complément de thermocouples (type K) pour la régulation de la température [1, 4].

Micromachine effectuant des essais sous atmosphère contrôlée

Figure 3 Micromachine conçue au courant de la recherche

Des simulations numériques des différentes sections de la micromachine ont été réalisées dans le but de permettre un dimensionnement adapté du banc d’essai mécanique.

Conclusion

Notre objectif était de proposer une enceinte polyvalente et adaptable sur tout type de bancs d’essai mécanique commercial. Pour rendre la micromachine qui fait l’objet de cette recherche fonctionnelle, il faut également choisir et ajouter au besoin tous les composants nécessaires pour la faire fonctionner (pompe à eau glycolée, thermocouples K, jauges de vide, détecteurs de pression de gaz, pompe à argon, souffleurs à air, feuilles d’aluminium pour les essais avec gaz corrosifs ou oxydants, appareillage pour la régulation thermique de la température de l’échantillon, appareil de mesure de la déformation et de la température, passages étanches : jauges de vide, thermocouples, détecteurs de pression de gaz, entrée et sortie de gaz. Les étapes suivantes seraient de passer à la phase de dessin de définition des pièces, de les faire usiner et de passer finalement à l’assemblage proprement dit de la micromachine afin de tester ses performances.

Cette micromachine permettrait de répondre à des problématiques industrielles de caractérisation de matériaux présents dans de nombreux secteurs industriels (problématique de réactivité de surface à haute température, matériaux revêtus, irradiés, etc.). Qui plus est, ce banc d’essai répondrait également aux besoins des recherches fondamentales portant sur les interactions environnement/propriétés mécaniques, essais de surface libre/interface, etc.

 

James William Chuitcheu

Profil de l'auteur(e)

James William Chuitcheu est étudiant à la maîtrise au Département de génie mécanique et assistant d’enseignement à l’ÉTS.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique  DYNAMO – Équipe de recherche en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Damien Texier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Damien Texier est chargé de recherche CNRS à l’Institut Clément Ader. Il a été postdoctorant et associé de recherche à l’ÉTS. Il travaille sur les matériaux hétérogènes, les matériaux à gradients et les produits minces.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Philippe Bocher

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Philippe Bocher est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les procédés de fabrication, l’aérospatiale, la caractérisation des produits manufacturés et l’amélioration des propriétés mécaniques.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie aérospatial 

Laboratoires de recherche : DYNAMO – Équipe de recherche en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés  LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *