SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Diving in Icy Waters Using a Biomimetic Material - By : Hanen Hattab,

Diving in Icy Waters Using a Biomimetic Material


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Divers in wetsuits

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Today, garments owe their functional efficiency to intelligent materials and fabrics. These fabrics expand a garment’s usage and optimize its protective function. Since the development of the biomimetic approach in the early 2000s, engineers, architects and designers have been resolving conceptual issues by mimicking nature. A team from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology found inspiration in the animal world, using two systems to outfit an elite unit of the US Army, producing a garment that will also prove useful in other areas.

As its name suggests, artificial blubber is a material that mimics fat. That is to say that the material performs the same function as body fat in protecting from the cold. It is used in the design of diving suits that can withstand icy water temperatures. The artificial blubber is the result of a two year-long collaboration between Michael Strano professor of chemical engineering, Jacopo Buongiorno, professor and director of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, and the United States Navy. The technology meets requirements expressed by the Navy SEALs, the US Navy’s special force, to optimize and make scuba diving safer. Indeed, the best diving suits on the market are not warm enough to allow for submersion in Arctic waters, rivers, or ponds covered with ice for more than ten minutes. Some models can be easily tampered with, which can be life-threatening for users, as in the case of dry suits whose internal surface is kept away from the skin by a pump operated by divers to blow air inside the suit.

Drysuit

Neoprene drysuit

This type of suit involves special diving techniques and a pump malfunction can be fatal for the diver.

Researchers at MIT and George Mason University have designed a material that can be used to make a simple suit that does not require special systems or manipulation by divers.

Source of Inspiration

The team was inspired by two animal strategies to fight against the cold. In order to maintain their body temperature, species living in polar areas have special protection systems:

  • A layer of insulating material that significantly slows body heat loss, for example seal and whale fat.
  • Air pockets trapped in fur or feathers, as found in otters and penguins.

 

 

Manufacturing Method

The artificial blubber is made from standard neoprene wetsuits. These suits are placed in high pressure, 243 kPa, in a heavy inert gas environment for about one day. The technique involves replacing trapped air in the neoprene structure with the heavy, inert gas (such as xenon or krypton). The study showed that a diver wearing this type of treated suit can withstand temperatures below 10 °C for 2 to 3 hours.

The next step is to find a manufacturing process that can trap xenon or krypton in the neoprene structure. The material obtained with the current study method will be tested by users to collect more information on its performance.

The study entitled “Noble-gas-infused neoprene closed-cell foams achieving ultra-low thermal conductivity fabrics,” published in the RCS Advanced journal in June 2018, was co-authored by Jeffrey L. Moran, Anton L. Cottrill, Jesse D. Benck, Pingwei Liu, Zhe Yuan, Michael S. Strano and Jacopo Buongiorno.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un matériau biomimétique pour plonger dans les eaux glaciales - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un matériau biomimétique pour plonger dans les eaux glaciales


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Plongeurs en combinaison

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

De nos jours, le vêtement doit principalement son efficacité fonctionnelle aux matériaux et tissus intelligents. Ces derniers diversifient ses usages et optimisent sa fonction protectrice. Depuis l’expansion de l’approche biomimétique au début des années 2000, les ingénieurs, les architectes et les designers résolvent des problématiques conceptuelles en mimant la nature. Une équipe du Massachusetts Institute of Technology s’est inspirée de deux systèmes du monde animal pour habiller une unité d’élite de l’armée américaine. Le vêtement qu’elle a créé sera aussi utile dans d’autres domaines.

Comme l’indique son nom l’artificial blubber est un matériau qui imite la graisse. On s’empresse de dire que le matériau remplit la même fonction que la graisse joue dans la protection contre le froid. Il sert à concevoir des combinaisons de plongée qui résistent aux températures des eaux glaciales. L’artificial blubber est le fruit d’une collaboration entre Michael Strano professeur en génie chimique, Jacopo Buongiorno, professeur et directeur du Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering et la marine de guerre des États-Unis (U.S. Navy) qui a duré deux ans. La technologie répond aux besoins exprimés par les Navy SEALs, la force spéciale de la US Navy pour optimiser et rendre plus sécuritaire la plongée sous-marine. En effet, les meilleures combinaisons de plongée du marché ne permettent pas de rester dans les eaux arctiques, les rivières ou les étangs recouverts de glace plus d’une dizaine de minutes. Certains modèles sont même facilement altérables, ce qui peut représenter un danger pour la vie des utilisateurs, notamment les combinaisons étanches, dont les parois internes sont maintenues à distance de la peau grâce à une pompe manipulée par les plongeurs afin de souffler de l’air à l’intérieur.

Une combinaison de plongée étanche

Combinaison étanche en néoprène

Or non seulement ce type de combinaison implique une méthode particulière de plongée, mais en plus le dysfonctionnement de la pompe peut s’avérer fatal pour le plongeur.

Les chercheurs du MIT et de la George Mason University ont conçu un matériau qui permet de fabriquer une combinaison simple ne nécessitant aucun système spécial ou manipulation par les plongeurs.

Source d’inspiration

L’équipe s’est inspirée de deux stratégies animales de luttes contre le froid. Afin de préserver leur température corporelle, les espèces qui vivent dans les zones polaires possèdent les systèmes de protection suivants :

  • Une couche de matière isolante qui ralentit considérablement la perte de chaleur du corps, comme la graisse des phoques et des baleines.
  • Des poches d’air emprisonnées dans la fourrure ou les plumes, comme chez les loutres et les pingouins.

 

Méthode de fabrication

L’artificial blubber est fabriqué à base de combinaisons standards de plongée du commerce, en néoprène. Ces combinaisons sont placées à haute pression, à 243 kPa, dans un environnement de gaz inerte lourd pendant environ un jour. La technique consiste à remplacer l’air trappé dans la structure du néoprène par un gaz lourd et inerte (comme le xénon ou le krypton). L’étude a montré qu’un plongeur ayant revêtu une combinaison ainsi traitée peut résister à des températures inférieures à 10 °C pendant 2 à 3 heures.

La prochaine étape consiste à trouver un procédé de fabrication qui permet de piéger le xénon ou le krypton dans la structure du néoprène. Le matériau obtenu avec la méthode de l’étude actuelle sera testé par des utilisateurs afin de collecter plus d’informations sur ses performances.

L’étude s’intitule « Noble-gas-infused neoprene closed-cell foams achieving ultra-low thermal conductivity fabrics » et a été publiée dans la revue RCS Advanced en juin 2018. Elle a été coécrite par Jeffrey L. Moran, Anton L. Cottrill, Jesse D. Benck, Pingwei Liu, Zhe Yuan, Michael S. Strano et Jacopo Buongiorno.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *